Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tom Clancy's The Division 2

• Registered Users Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Finished the first mission at the Washington hotel (last time, the game crashed at the boss, no issues this time). I had read about a key you can pick up off a dead body propped against a wall in the meth lab place when you first enter the hotel. No glowing or map indication, just prompted to loot when beside it. The key opens a room in the hall just before the roof top section. Got a nice gun and body armour that was 200 above my previous armour, well worth looking out for. I had an awesome rifle that was 2 shotting most enemies but when I got to the last section of the mission, it had swapped out for an AR. Couldn't find it in my inventory but definitely didn't dismantle it. Will look for it later but was strange.

I noticed a lot more stuff on my 2nd time through that mission like how the place was used for dog fights and you can find one of the dogs still alive but behind a cage. He's standing beside a dead dog, Jaysus UBI, right in the feels. It made killing the hyenas that much better.

As for gear, I found a lot of stuff I instantly equipped throughout the mission. In div 1, most stuff I picked up was always below what I was carrying so was just rubbish.

Yeah I found what looked like a supply drop hanging from a parachute on top of the safe house near the Jefferson centre, got a blue rifle from it. Once you beat the second story mission in Jefferson centre you can play as end game characters with one for each specialisation with all gold and purple weapons and gear. You can use them in the invaded mission which is basically the Jefferson centre mission but with much harder enemies

• Registered Users Posts: 29,841 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

How did you find the black tusks? Heard they are fairly bullet spongey. That's my plan tonight, get to try the end game content and some darkzone action.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    How did you find the black tusks? Heard they are fairly bullet spongey. That's my plan tonight, get to try the end game content and some darkzone action.

Tried the start on my own and was getting slaughtered so left it alone. Been trying to get to dark zone but constantly getting killed on the way there

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Blackgator

Got to level 7 as quick as I could and headed to the DZ. Was easy going for a while as I was on as soon as servers went live. But then got killed many many times by 3 and 4 man groups. The DZ is no place for the solo player anymore. As there is no real healing in the game apart from the armor, it's almost impossible to take on 2 players yourself. It's become a sniping game, which doesn't work cause if u snipe one of the 2 players, he will get revived before u can down him. It's a very different DZ to the original.

On the plus side, for now anyway, all your gear is normalised in the DZ, so it doesn't matter what colour it is or what level. A level 1 Police M4 performs just the same as a level 7 purple.

Gonna try get as much skill power as I can and see what the seeker mine can do. Be fun if it's a one shot.

Blackgator wrote: »
    Got to level 7 as quick as I could and headed to the DZ. Was easy going for a while as I was on as soon as servers went live. But then got killed many many times by 3 and 4 man groups. The DZ is no place for the solo player anymore. As there is no real healing in the game apart from the armor, it's almost impossible to take on 2 players yourself. It's become a sniping game, which doesn't work cause if u snipe one of the 2 players, he will get revived before u can down him. It's a very different DZ to the original.

On the plus side, for now anyway, all your gear is normalised in the DZ, so it doesn't matter what colour it is or what level. A level 1 Police M4 performs just the same as a level 7 purple.

Gonna try get as much skill power as I can and see what the seeker mine can do. Be fun if it's a one shot.

Yeah seeker mine is great along with turret, could never get drone working. Also seen that they can be modded too, but you can't do so in the beta

• Registered Users Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

yeah that drone is confusing. All it does for me is pops up,drops it's bombs near me and all the baddies start shooting at me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Im not long after reaching world tier 5 in first division i ended up using the full striker gearset with warlord ak and m700 sniper.
    Look forward to the division 2, i dont know what a beta is but im guessing its a demo is it?
    I hope not too much is changed it will be hard to beat new york as a setting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Rob2D

I did the endgame mission there today. Infuriatingly difficult. Had to respawn a bunch of times to brute force my way through it. Those yellow drones are OP especially when you're getting rushed the whole time.

No healing poses a huge problem because they haven't changed how the AI operates. They'll still flank and rush to burst you down but now there's nothing you can do to stem the tide.

This coupled with what Blackgator said above about the DZ means that solo play could seriously be at risk in Division 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,539 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Got most the way through end game mission solo and then it crash, and matchmade a squad to finish.

The abilities being limited is annoying, doesn't give a good idea of gameplay. Like having a rock paper scissors with scissors lock out

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Being honest had no real insterest in this, after playing the demo I have changed my mind.

It is surprisingly good.

Is anyone else playing on a PS4 pro, sounds like a jet engine playing this and it's actually ruining the game for me. I can't hear any chatter going on, can't go blasting the telly up to drown out the fans at night.

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Blackgator

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Being honest had no real insterest in this, after playing the demo I have changed my mind.

It is surprisingly good.

I'm the opposite. Was so excited for it after playing over 2000 hrs on the first game, but after this beta I'm not to interested. Have it for free from buying an AMD GPU, if it wasn't for that I don't know if I'd buy it.
    PvE is fun, but so hard to see other players in the DZ, and have to aim at them to see if they rogue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

The last 2 days have been the real turnaround for me. Twice. If you are the majority here you played 1, then also saw I was a major fan and defendant of it, I recognised the bad and at times was critical but at the end of my 500+ hrs unequivocally said I would pre-order 2 based on their much initially maligned but I think universally (in retrospect) appreciated year 2 non commercial upgrade phase. The first few days of this Beta were ****e for me, I wasn't going to cancel but again that was on faith. Last night after the patching it stabiised. for me I played with a friend who had zero issues since launch.
    It was great.
    I played some more solo and while as most I miss the world-on-the-edge but also in the middle of Xmas feel from 1 I began to appreciate the changes in this one. I died on a territory control mission earlier and while cursing my useless JTF clones who let the guys sneak up when I got back they had taken the point. I wasn't the only thing happening. Div1, lonely post-shock Xmas was wonderful. Div2 is not trying to be it, the ones left can actually do ****.

I stopped playing.

As much as I was finally being drawn in as this Beta is transient I didn't want to ruin any more of it for my proper play through.

So is a demo successful because it stops people wanting to play it?

TL;DR - pulled the plug on a hardware upgrade just to play this at uber fidelity...well yes and Warframe, (mebba Anthem) but really this.

yeah the beta's fine and all but I just want to get my hands on the full game. There's no sense of working towards something and building your character.

I have to say I'm slightly disappointed if anything (I don't regret pre-ordering) but as I screamed aloud getting stuck trying to escape through an open doorway yesterday I had to admit, I was expecting more.

Saw a video saying this was largely a cut and paste job from 1 and certainly a lot's the same but I think if any thing it's a tiny step back, in terms of how it plays

The first one was could be brutal when you were going through the story and hadn't leveled up but yeah I think the final faction here may be a bit tougher than anything in one other than a group of hunters

tried the endgame mission with some random players last night. Really difficult even with full team. We kept on dying in the second area of the mission as there are enemies that flank you from behind while the rest attack from the front. Got to the second underground garage part of the mission and got destroyed with most people just leaving. I'd say you would need all mics to actually make a difference and maybe the locked skills might help too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,539 ✭✭✭✭Varik

tried the endgame mission with some random players last night. Really difficult even with full team. We kept on dying in the second area of the mission as there are enemies that flank you from behind while the rest attack from the front. Got to the second underground garage part of the mission and got destroyed with most people just leaving. I'd say you would need all mics to actually make a difference and maybe the locked skills might help too.

Managed it easy enough myself. Tried solo with the sniper and only got past server room before game crashed. then swapped to guy with grenade launcher with a match made team with no mics and got through easy enough just a very long slog. Shotgun + LMG

From the sound of it I think you just pushed forward too fast. Except for the odd charging robot nothing got near us. Don't think there's anywhere they can flank if you hold back.

Varik wrote: »
    Managed it easy enough myself. Tried solo with the sniper and only got past server room before game crashed. then swapped to guy with grenade launcher with a match made team with no mics and got through easy enough just a very long slog. Shotgun + LMG

From the sound of it I think you just pushed forward too fast. Except for the odd charging robot nothing got near us. Don't think there's anywhere they can flank if you hold back.

Yeah I think you just need the right team and patience to get through it.

Is that the one where you end up with a named boss in a Plaza at the end. I did that with randoms and found it pretty easy - is there different difficulty settings, it's certainly not down to an abundance of skill at my end, I can't even get the drone to work.

I find I die a lot trying to tank the enemies, this places a lot more emphasis on the cover mechanic than 1

I didn't get to end game content due to lack of play time because of real life bollox but I've been reading the black tusks are not fun to deal with. I did a couple of sole missions and with co op lads on here. Some hair situations when you get flanked. I think the heavy elites run way too fast, vaulting over things like the wind. The fire bombs are deadly, was only able to shoot a small few out of the sky, will stick to dodging them. Never got to experience dark zone.

Reddit seems to be complaining about the same stuff as here, I imaging ubi will be making some changes for launch and fixing the obvious bugs. Still looking forward to launch, really enjoyed what I played.

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Is that the one where you end up with a named boss in a Plaza at the end. I did that with randoms and found it pretty easy - is there different difficulty settings, it's certainly not down to an abundance of skill at my end, I can't even get the drone to work.

I find I die a lot trying to tank the enemies, this places a lot more emphasis on the cover mechanic than 1

Yeah it was the endgame invaded mission. I was mainly using shotgun and sub machine gun and was mainly out of cover so that's probably why I was unable to finish it

Yeah that sounds rough - does the shotgun guy not have a grenade launcher? - it's supposed to make short work of ads. I went with the sniper so was miles back wearing them down - headshots were doing crazy damage. Didn't notice a lack of ammo but saw after that the special ammo RNG drops from enemies. If the RNG is against you it makes it a lot harder apparently

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Yeah that sounds rough - does the shotgun guy not have a grenade launcher? - it's supposed to make short work of ads. I went with the sniper so was miles back wearing them down - headshots were doing crazy damage. Didn't notice a lack of ammo but saw after that the special ammo RNG drops from enemies. If the RNG is against you it makes it a lot harder apparently

I completely forgot that I had a grenade launcher :o

You're not going to be much use in the Apocalypse

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Flashdan

I did the end game mission and it was ok. Drones are annoying AF. Found there was not a alot of use for the sniper as it was quicker to shoot 100000 rounds into them to kill them. I like the stagger effect from the shotgun that would be nice for clearing areas with AOE.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

My two cents.....

Didn't get to play too many hours and decided not to like many of ye here as I'm going to have to do it all over again and don't want to spoil the surprise and more importantly my experience from the first game, is some of these main mission can be a serious grind and a once only affair (Russian consulate!....still have nightmares) My thought though are

Weapon attachments - a bit odd they are doing it but I suppose who want to grind a mission and get another silencer so probably a good thing.
    UI - A bit odd but I suppose again just takes getting used to
    Grenade/drone/RC/nade launcher spam from NPC - I see on Reddit this is a big bone of contention and I can see why. NPC's launching nades constantly at you and destroying your Armour. Cover doesn't seem to help either. What they need is trophy system skill that would be cool.

All in all looks like there is loads of content between main missions side missions etc so there will be plenty of hours to pumped into this. I also felt the urge in my pants to be grinding for those end game weapons and gear after the flavor they gave us. All these changes in the mechanics I think should be for the better, they had enough lessons learned from Div1 :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

So I'm in again;)

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Unfortunately didnt get any time to try the beta over the weekend, and from reading comments here, its hard to tell if people like it or not.

Some folk are saying its a slight step back from div 1 - are we talking Div1 at launch, or Div1 at the end of its life?, cause they were completely different animals. If its nearly as good as end life Div1, then I'm very happy to hear it, it'll surely evolve to be an even better game as it develops through its lifespan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

Unfortunately didnt get any time to try the beta over the weekend, and from reading comments here, its hard to tell if people like it or not.

Some folk are saying its a slight step back from div 1 - are we talking Div1 at launch, or Div1 at the end of its life?, cause they were completely different animals. If its nearly as good as end life Div1, then I'm very happy to hear it, it'll surely evolve to be an even better game as it develops through its lifespan.

I enjoyed my time in the game. Played it for the whole of Sunday taking part in the story mission, PvP and endgame content.

There were bugs, yes, twice the game did a CTD but whatever. There were also sound sync issues that were hard to live with at times. Never experienced any enemies just randomly popping up though. May have been the way I set the graphics options? Set it all to low but render distance at maximum.

Love the new environment! The dark grey / white backdrop from TD1 was not great for me at all. It was far too bland. This time round the world looks a lot more alive with a lot of variety.

The only reason why I won't be buying it on launch is because I learned my lesson from the first game. I'll wait 4 months for them to iron out things and then I'll pick it up.

Kids copy your emojis, this is actually better than petting dogs!

https://imgur.com/a/6TGnjdi

https://imgur.com/a/U9M0LdD