Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Employers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,614 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

If your age was mentioned in an interview you can sue. 10k compo a pop

No you can't.
    Its not illegal to ask someone their age. It's illegal to use their age to discount them from being considered for the role.

If you had the same qualifications and experience as another candidate but they used your age to count against you and offered the job to the other person, that would be illegal, but obviously, difficult to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Start smoking there is no other way...

Go to the toilet a lot.... It works.

I do smoke. I'd have one a day, run out and back in and be as quick as I can. They go out for 15 minutes at a time. They don't work when they're in anyway so they may as well be out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Anything to do with TEFL here in Spain, the employers are gangsters and work you hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Greyfox wrote: »
    Ah only Lyons will do..

I'd kick you out of the interview just for that

If you are going to choose Lyons over Barrys, well how can a company trust your judgement on anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I was offered a position in a maintenance team with a fairly well known hotel , some of the conditions included being always on call with no call allowance or overtime because I lived the closest to the hotel , work six days a week and get paid for five and I could eat as much as I wanted all for the princely sum of 10 Euros an hour .

I turned it down and they wanted to know why .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,281 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

thebull85 wrote: »
    people here actually complaining that their employers are not paying for their tea, sugar etc
    Yous all need to get a grip.

If a company with dozens to hundreds of employees can't put a facilities department together capable of sorting out at least a milk order, then I suspect that's only the tip of the iceberg... busted toilets, dodgy heating, inadequate equipment and hardware... It shows an employer who is definitely not actively interested in employee wellbeing.
    This is a disinterested employer... which is bad.

Of course, I'd rather be dealing with my own milk and teabag purchasing, than an employer who appears actively interested in screwing over its employees on pay, conditions, benefits, overtime, working hours etc
    This is a hostile employer... which is worse.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Prospectors

Your Face wrote: »
    Probably the company I left a few months ago.
    I liked the job, my work and my colleagues.
    It was the general environment that became increasingly toxic.
    Loads of people left in a short period.
    I always wondered why the top management were shocked at the high turnover.

Very similar experience, got on with a great bunch of people, but worked on average 15 hours O/T unpaid per week, got phone call during my child's christening, phone calls at 8-9pm at home, coming in some Saturday and Sunday mornings, after one weeks leave had over 180 emails backed up. Well known multinational. Needless to say, left as soon as I had a better offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

American multinationals are making their employees into robots.
    I have worked in a couple and I really noticed the increasing control levels as time went on. What sickens me the most is how visiting American "execs" are treated like Gods. The Irish management falling over themselves to lick their holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Don't ever, ever, ever, ever accept any job from Hartley People in Waterford.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

odyssey06 wrote: »
    If a company with dozens to hundreds of employees can't put a facilities department together capable of sorting out at least a milk order, then I suspect that's only the tip of the iceberg... busted toilets, dodgy heating, inadequate equipment and hardware... It shows an employer who is definitely not actively interested in employee wellbeing.
    This is a disinterested employer... which is bad.

Of course, I'd rather be dealing with my own milk and teabag purchasing, than an employer who appears actively interested in screwing over its employees on pay, conditions, benefits, overtime, working hours etc
    This is a hostile employer... which is worse.

ah here.. yous all must have great jobs. Im just a peasant earning 12 quid an hour, thankful for a lunch break at all

thebull85 wrote: »
    ah here.. yous all must have great jobs. Im just a peasant earning 12 quid an hour, thankful for a lunch break at all

Well there's no excuse for treating employees badly whether they are on 12 quid an hour or 1200 quid an hour.

But an employer who hires highly trained employees on 50,000 - 100,000 a year ... well, in the time it takes them to go out for a coffee, or buy milk, or wait on their old\slow computers or computer systems to catch up with them could have fixed a customer's problem, answered an urgent email etc
    So the employer is saving a few cents here but wasting tens of thousands elsewhere. Time is money. So yeah, at that level, they would be bad employers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,608 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Well there's no excuse for treating employees badly whether they are on 12 quid an hour or 1200 quid an hour.

But an employer who hires highly trained employees on 50,000 - 100,000 a year ... well, in the time it takes them to go out for a coffee, or buy milk, or wait on their old\slow computers or computer systems to catch up with them could have fixed a customer's problem, answered an urgent email etc
    So the employer is saving a few cents here but wasting tens of thousands elsewhere. Time is money. So yeah, at that level, they would be bad employers.

why would they be going out getting coffe and milk on company time. bring it with you or go on your own time

Or have a proper facilities department...

And a lot of the staff would be answering emails not on company time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Don't ever, ever, ever, ever accept any job from Hartley People in Waterford.

That makes no sense, they only deal with bad employers ?:confused:
    mikemac2 wrote: »
    Executive cars and limos lined up to take them to their hotel. Our canteen was shut down because they moved out all the tables and setup up the chairs for the “town hall” which many never bothered to attend to. There were security guards checking our badges every time we entered which is fair enough but they never bothered before.

Colour me shocked. The CEO called to have a town meeting and many couldn't be arsed, and the company was sold... Who could see that coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Musgraves. Worst company to ever work for.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Musgraves. Worst company to ever work for.

Jaysus, don't tell us Musgraves didn't supply ye tea bags! :eek:

Slave labour. Contantly working on a timer/headset. Its demoralising work for a pittance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,608 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Or have a proper facilities department...

And a lot of the staff would be answering emails not on company time.

they shouldnt be wasting thier own time like that.

its great if a employer wants to supply tea and coffee but if they dont that doesnt make them bad employers

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Slave labour. Contantly working on a timer/headset. Its demoralising work for a pittance.

Slave labour is banned. Yes, I know you that ;)

Sounds like a typical call centre, and part of the job. Usually these types of jobs have a high turnover, but I doubt it's particular to Musgraves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Max Prophet

No you can't.
    Its not illegal to ask someone their age. It's illegal to use their age to discount them from being considered for the role.

If you had the same qualifications and experience as another candidate but they used your age to count against you and offered the job to the other person, that would be illegal, but obviously, difficult to prove.

Nonsense. That's the excuse Halligan used when he got into trouble for asking an applicant if she was married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Your Face wrote: »
    Anne in accounting is having an affair.

knew it. could smell the sex off her

Slave labour is banned. Yes, I know you that ;)

Sounds like a typical call centre, and part of the job. Usually these types of jobs have a high turnover, but I doubt it's particular to Musgraves.

Nothing like a call centre were all you lift is a phone. You could lift a few tonnes of meat or fruit and veg in the space of a couple of hours in Muslaves and still not be hitting your targets.

mikemac2 wrote:
    I'd kick you out of the interview just for that.

If you are going to choose Lyons over Barrys, well how can a company trust your judgement on anything?

Close escape for that interviewee. Interviews are a 2 way street, if I picked up a Barry's vibe on site during an interview, I'd say thanks but no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Specialun wrote: »

Her sex is on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,396 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

I'm not sure this is the thread for "my job is worse than yours" and if you're convinced it is, stop doing it! Work takes up so much of life, no point in being unhappy.

JCX BXC wrote: »
    I'm not sure this is the thread for "my job is worse than yours" and if you're convinced it is, stop doing it! Work takes up so much of life, no point in being unhappy.

This is the internet. What else are you supposed to do with a light hearted conversation only look to create an argument and win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Deminiman

I work for a large company which employs upto 1000 people. I get paid minimum wage for 40 hours a week. But I've to work weekends for free and for 6 months of the year I work between 60 to 90 hours a week. No extra pay... and it's full legal, it's classed as agriculture. Try earning less than half the minimum wage, and we still don't get tea bags!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Specialun wrote: »

The double entry system has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

American multinationals are making their employees into robots.
    I have worked in a couple and I really noticed the increasing control levels as time went on. What sickens me the most is how visiting American "execs" are treated like Gods. The Irish management falling over themselves to lick their holes.

So true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

jaxxx wrote: »
    Share your experience with bad employers, whether it be little things or big things.

Obviously it doesn't need to be said but I'll say it anyway, don't be directly naming/mentioning businesses or anything. It's common sense and I shouldn't need to say it, but common sense isn't so common anymore so I'll say it anyway.

I'll start it off. I worked in a relatively small/medium sized company a few years ago, about 30-40 employees. We had a little canteen, but we had to bring our own tea bags, own cutlery, own milk, own sugar, we pretty much had to bring everything except the kettle. It's miraculous the place had running water.

You think that's bad.

I worked in a place were the teabags were Lyons!!!!!!!

I'm a Barry's man!!

Have a case going through the LRC now. Hoping for 150k !!

jjmcclure wrote: »
    You think that's bad.

I worked in a place where the teabags where Lyons!!!!!!!

I'm a Barry's man!!

You deserve a bottle of cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

You deserve a bottle of cop on.

Have you tasted Lyons???!!! Your dismissal of my injury offends me Sir. You are now part of the case!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Teabags (lyons boo), coffee sugar and milk supplied.
    Training up to our ears, have to buy our own work clothes (no big deal), pay good(im happy), good section manager, poorish team leader, staff toilets/cloakroom very clean, dinners each day fir 3euro each, but only downside is some employees who are lazy whining asses. But theres always a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,939 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

jjmcclure wrote: »
    jaxxx wrote: »
    Share your experience with bad employers, whether it be little things or big things.

Obviously it doesn't need to be said but I'll say it anyway, don't be directly naming/mentioning businesses or anything. It's common sense and I shouldn't need to say it, but common sense isn't so common anymore so I'll say it anyway.

I'll start it off. I worked in a relatively small/medium sized company a few years ago, about 30-40 employees. We had a little canteen, but we had to bring our own tea bags, own cutlery, own milk, own sugar, we pretty much had to bring everything except the kettle. It's miraculous the place had running water.

You think that's bad.

I worked in a place were the teabags were Lyons!!!!!!!

I'm a Barry's man!!

Quit the messing Troy, we know it's you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I've seen sites without even cold running water to wash hands.
    Seen sites with no heat in canteen. No heat in offices.
    Had a boss in London who wouldn't give me a day off with a months' notice. - quit that one fairly soon after. We were all self employed, day rate without overtime.
    Had a company owner in Bedford who flew over a fella from here to work with offer of accommodation. Put him in a cabin with a portaloo beside it and told him to join the gym if he wanted a shower.
    Had a company owner who refused to let me keep a site open if raining. Wanted all sent home with no pay.

There are all sorts of assholes running construction companies out there. Particularly Irish subbies in UK. Also main contractors who simply didn't pay subbies.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

what percentage of people actually like what they do or have a passion for it do you reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

Worked for a company in Dublin Airport that tried to get contracts to do everything. They offered 0-20 work contracts and offered horrible shifts such as 5am-9am or 9pm-1am, you literally had to be constantly asking for more and never reject anything they offered to get something better.

I missed one night after 2 &1/2 years after miscommunication and didn't get offered any hours for 3 weeks. Apart from certain harassing managers who were never qualified and only received roles due to nepotism from in compete management, I learnt how a company can loss all their contracts and how to get a great job else where.

I was never happier in 3 years being there than quitting that horrible company.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Lost my job when the recession hit and found work in a company that did something similar.
    The second I walked in, I knew it was sh*t, but it was that or lose the house.
    The factory hadn't been renovated since the 80's, heat didn't work in half the building, machines were constantly breaking down or fcuking up the product, we were shouted at like dogs in the street and pay was poor.
    At some stage everyone in the factory got a letter that they were let go and we had to re-apply for our jobs. Except there were now less jobs. Those who weren't re-hired were told they didn't qualify for redundancy.
    Then their jobs were filled with cheaper workers from Lithuania.
    The place was filthy dirty and the roof leaked.
    In the end they copied the factory in France and shut the Irish place down. The workers are still trying to get their redundantly.
    I can safely say that the German owners of the place were the biggest scumbags and criminals I have ever met. And to this day I don't know how anyone did not hit the older guy. He was an evil old man. Utter garbage.
    I left for a starting position in IT where I earned €7000 less, but it was the best move ever. I just got out there before they shut the place down. They never even acknowledged my letter of resignation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Lost my job when the recession hit and found work in a company that did something similar.
    The second I walked in, I knew it was sh*t, but it was that or lose the house.
    The factory hadn't been renovated since the 80's, heat didn't work in half the building, machines were constantly breaking down or fcuking up the product, we were shouted at like dogs in the street and pay was poor.
    At some stage everyone in the factory got a letter that they were let go and we had to re-apply for our jobs. Except there were now less jobs. Those who weren't re-hired were told they didn't qualify for redundancy.
    Then their jobs were filled with cheaper workers from Lithuania.
    The place was filthy dirty and the roof leaked.
    In the end they copied the factory in France and shut the Irish place down. The workers are still trying to get their redundantly.
    I can safely say that the German owners of the place were the biggest scumbags and criminals I have ever met. And to this day I don't know how anyone did not hit the older guy. He was an evil old man. Utter garbage.
    I left for a starting position in IT where I earned €7000 less, but it was the best move ever. I just got out there before they shut the place down. They never even acknowledged my letter of resignation.

The bigger issue is that they were allowed her away with it, not by the employees but by the authorities. Surely employees must have complained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,516 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

The bigger issue is that they were allowed her away with it, not by the employees but by the authorities. Surely employees must have complained?

'worker insecurity', it's good for us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I used to work for a wholesaler like Musgraves and we had to bring our own tea and coffee in. (Office breakroom). Warehouse staff fared better with "broken"
    ;)cases, from which a jar of coffee / pack of biscuits could be obtained. If you popped into the group buyer's office for a "chat" his office was full of samples, and he was happy to share his biscuits!

Aglomerado wrote:
    I used to work for a wholesaler like Musgraves and we had to bring our own tea and coffee in. (Office breakroom). Warehouse staff fared better with "broken" ;)cases, from which a jar of coffee / pack of biscuits could be obtained.

Know a chap that worked for them for many years, nasty company

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

A few sought legal advice, I kinda lost sight on it.
    Would like to know what happened, but I found it's difficult to claim your rights. Takes a long time and money, unless you happen to work for one of the few places that is a Union darling, otherwise they can't be arsed.
    Go to a solicitor and they'll suck air through their teeth and say "that could take years and cost you thousands"
    Being right is one thing. And it means fcuk all.
    And it shows why justice is for everyone. As long ad they have the money and time to pursue it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I worked for a car distributor in their compound picking orders of new cars for delivery. As a petrol head I loved the job and my colleagues were great most of the time so it was really fun most of the time!!

However,

- It paid minimum wage
    - About a dozen compound staff including me were once left short a huge amount of overtime pay which led to a very tense confrontation - the manager had lazily doctored all of our clock cards and then blamed the accountant for it.
    - I was frequently called while commuting the 40km or arrived to be told 'go home, come in later'.
    - Long and unpredictable hours
    - We were given virtually no time for inspecting vehicles but were abused any time damage was found later - some staff were falsely accused of damage and made pay for it.

Safety problems;
    - the whole compound was peppered with open drains and missing and broken manhole covers. It was a wonder no one didn't break a leg in the black of night
    - Literally half of the whole compound was under water and mud
    - There were whole areas where there was just no lighting whatsoever (we often worked overnight) and we had to buy flashlamps and batteries ourselves
    - Huge pressure to unload ships so the speed limit was outright ignored... which lead to huge risk of being fired - they fired unwanted staff using false accusations of speeding
    - The compound minibus used for order picking was a deathtrap with no brakes
    - The 'canteen' had a massive rodent infestation
    - I was made buy my own PPE
    - Various out buildings were literally blowing down around us in stormy conditions
    - We were made work in said storms

The manager there was just a complete dead-eyed psycho. The day to day bullying and torment was like nothing I'd ever seen at work. One day he would be so charming and everything was wonderful, the next day he's standing over you, breathing down your neck, shouting and humiliating you and the following day, he was Mr. Charming again. Soon after I left, the compound supervisor was fired (basically for being a threat to the manager) and I signed his complaint to the company. There was at least another dozen signatures on the page and frankly, if the manager had been fired back then, I would have been very pleased.

The last I heard of him, he got fired after being held responsible for some dangerous driving around the shared port areas and had left the country. That's a nice thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,885 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

zweton wrote: »
    what percentage of people actually like what they do or have a passion for it do you reckon?

-10%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Deminiman wrote:
    I work for a large company which employs upto 1000 people. I get paid minimum wage for 40 hours a week. But I've to work weekends for free and for 6 months of the year I work between 60 to 90 hours a week. No extra pay... and it's full legal, it's classed as agriculture. Try earning less than half the minimum wage, and we still don't get tea bags!!

Similar in equestrian: up to 100 hour week, 7 days a week with a day off every month or so (meant to be a day off every week but that never happened). No pay except a crappy building that was called a house. 10 min break a day. Getting treated like a worthless idiot. Also no teabags, thought we did get a kettle in that house so I guess it wasn't so bad. We also had an oven we used to warm the kitchen because there was no heating.

Also worked in a shop where the manager was a bully and the owner didn't care. The manager would scream at staff in front of customers, trying to humiliate them. The rota would change regularly. It would be the same people asked to do extra hours for no extra thanks. The manager would often yell at one or two of the staff in particular about how stupid they were. She would give out about how filthy the place was even if it was just cleaned, or about how something wasn't done even if it was. She was always right though so there was no use in telling her otherwise. There was even a seperate section in the shop which was owned by a seperate company that I was trained in by that company but I did something wrong on a weekly basis according to the manager (I didn't do anything wrong, she just made stuff up). Kettle there too, but no teabags. We occasionally got a burst bag of sugar though, or the out of date baked goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭moycullen14

zweton wrote: »
    So true.

The problem with working for US companies is not the Americans, it's the irish management. The pandering and forelock tugging would sicken your hole.

Worked for a few US companies in the UK and the difference was startling. The brits seems to have a modicum of self-respect.

The problem with working for US companies is not the Americans, it's the irish management. The pandering and forelock tugging would sicken your hole.

The whole process is a load of ****e though, I suspect there will eventually be a big backlash from this approach to business at some stage, it's highly regressive and counter-productive. Been doing a bit of research into co-ops, maybe this is the solution and the way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

I worked with a contractors company. I might have to drive up to 3 or 4 hours to site and not get paid for it. If staying away from from home you could get 20 to 30 euro a night but it cost alot more to stay in a b&b especially at short notice and that was to feed yourself too. Lads often had to drive to the other side of the country in their own cars at their own expensive. Refused to take holiday leave because they were too busy even with months noticed and then not paid if they had a surplus of holidays or allowed to carry them over to they following year. Taking money out of wages to go into an non existent pension scheme. Guys might get a text at 815am on a Monday morning (worked started at 830) take the week off we have no work. No pay. Often not paid overtime or expected to work Sundays and bank holidays for flat pay. Boss was a bully and complete ass hole. The pay was poor too big turnover in employees as anytime things got quite they were let go.