Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many of the 10 commandments have you broken?

• 12-03-2018 1:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭

Well it's off to hell with me then...
    Here is the list:
    1. “I am the Lord thy God, thou shalt not have any strange gods before Me.”
    2. “Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.”
    3. “Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.”
    4. “Honor thy father and mother.”
    5. “Thou shalt not kill.”
    6. “Thou shalt not commit adultery.”
    7. “Thou shalt not steal.”
    8. “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.”
    9. “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife.”
    10 “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s goods.”

How many have you broken?

Me? - 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10
    Not sure about 4.. I am sure I have dishonored them at some stage. 9.. I have lusted after many people, not sure how literal this is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,320 ✭✭✭davo2001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Probably only No. 2, but repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Do you mean the new ten commandments, or the original ten commandments - the first set of stone tablets that Moses smashed in anger:
    I. Thou shalt worship no other god.

II. Thou shalt make thee no molten gods.

III. The feast of unleavened bread thou shalt keep.

IV. Six days thou shalt work, but on the seventh day thou shalt rest.

V. Thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, of the firstfruits of wheat harvest,
    and the feast of ingathering at the year’s end.

VI. Thrice in the year shall all your men children appear before the Lord God.

VII. Thou shalt not offer the blood of my sacrifice with leaven.

VIII. Neither shall the sacrifice of the feast of the passover be left unto the morning.

IX. The first of the firstfruits of thy land thou shalt bring unto the house of the LORD thy God.

X. Thou shalt not seethe a kid [ie, a young goat] in his mother’s milk.

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Y’all need Jesus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

seamus wrote: »
    Do you mean the new ten commandments, or the original ten commandments - the first set of stone tablets that Moses smashed in anger:
    I. Thou shalt worship no other god.

II. Thou shalt make thee no molten gods.

III. The feast of unleavened bread thou shalt keep.

IV. Six days thou shalt work, but on the seventh day thou shalt rest.

V. Thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, of the firstfruits of wheat harvest,
    and the feast of ingathering at the year’s end.

VI. Thrice in the year shall all your men children appear before the Lord God.

VII. Thou shalt not offer the blood of my sacrifice with leaven.

VIII. Neither shall the sacrifice of the feast of the passover be left unto the morning.

IX. The first of the firstfruits of thy land thou shalt bring unto the house of the LORD thy God.

X. Thou shalt not seethe a kid [ie, a young goat] in his mother’s milk.
    I didn't know he spoke old timey English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Well it's off to hell with me then...
    Here is the list:
    4. “Honor thy father and mother.”
    8. “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.”

4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are the only ones in any way valid, so probably only 7. Ok 9, too. :o

On the other hand, I haven't kept any slaves or raped anyone, and those aren't commandments, so it would make you wonder about the people who made these ones up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Unsure the specifics for breaking number 4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

1, 2, 3, 6more than once 7, 8, :( least I’ll be warm down below when I die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

Whats the churches official line on number 5, I have killed lots of things just not people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

kieran. wrote: »
    Whats the churches official line on number 5, I have killed lots of things just not people?

Oh **** I could be adding 5 to my list also then we need clarification from a cleric :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

What was the first mention of a motor bike in the bible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Well I was doing 2 while committing 5 all because i got caught doing 6,9 & 10...

See you in hell fookers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

The not killing a person one is the only one I haven't broken......so far! Watch this space folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Must you honour your mother and father if they encourage breaking the commandments?

What if they're serial killers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

In Judaism that stuff was just the 'mission statement' and then followed the list of 613 commandments.
    To be a real bad ass you have to check off those 613.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

My faith has 8 i really rather you didn'ts.

Of these, i've broken 3, and occasionally 5.

http://flyingspaghettimonster.wikia.com/wiki/The_Eight_I%27d_Really_Rather_You_Didn%27ts

Of the christian 10,

Yup

Yup

Yup

Kill what? Plenty of animals, no humans.

Does it count if herself joins in?

Shamefull moment long ago. Yup.

Yup.

Yup.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

Holy Mother of divine Jaysus a shower of adulterers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

You really don't need 10 commandments.

2 is all you need.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Bob Gray

I coveted my neighbours wife's goods, does that still count as 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Nice try officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Im sure everyone has broken number 5. Kill covers all living organisms does it not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

kneemos wrote: »
    Must you honour your mother and father if they encourage breaking the commandments?

What if they're serial killers?

catch 22. You're ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I don't know what some of them mean tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Half way there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Are Am Eye wrote: »

John. 3.17 accord to the gospel of 'boards.ie', Thou shall not perform a punishment over take on the neighbours wife.

Re Adultery... Is that sex with another man's wife, or do you need to be married to have broken it? (never been married)

With the exception of killing (I'm assuming that means people), I've broken them all. But then, I always knew I was a terrible Catholic. No great surprise there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

the Catholic church, huh? :rolleyes: amirightguys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I live by the 4 Demandments, brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭Cordell

In Judaism that stuff was just the 'mission statement' and then followed the list of 613 commandments.
    To be a real bad ass you have to check off those 613.

It would be easier to list just the ones you didn't break then.
    Also, as a general rule, if you need clarification from a cleric about whether or not you broke a commandment, then you did, no need to bother the good priest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

The not killing a person one is the only one I haven't broken......so far! Watch this space folks.

Lies. You killed King Duncan.

Out, damned stain!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Define neighbor please.

TallGlass wrote: »
    John. 3.17 accord to the gospel of 'boards.ie', Thou shall not perform a punishment over take on the neighbours wife.

Good, original and incorporates the thread topic....but

I prefer the traditional Moses came over the mountain in Triumph *

*triumph is bike.

Question 2: What is the first mention of football in the Bible ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

fxotoole wrote: »
    Lies. You killed King Duncan.

Out, damned stain!!

Now now, that was the husband, not myself, he just needed a bit of encouragement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Holy Mother of divine Jaysus a shower of adulterers!!!

And lots of people who apparently worship strange Gods.

Anyway if you have committed adultry you’d be stupid to say it online as your wife may well be able to use the search or history function.

I didn’t, honey.

Re Adultery... Is that sex with another man's wife, or do you need to be married to have broken it? (never been married)

With the exception of killing (I'm assuming that means people), I've broken them all. But then, I always knew I was a terrible Catholic. No great surprise there.

Yeh. Who’s the false God?

*triumph is bike.

Jesus went up and got nailed on the cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭rtron

If I had an abortion, does that mean i've done 5?

rtron wrote: »
    If I had an abortion, does that mean i've done 5?

Pretty sure that’s catholic teaching.

*triumph is bike.

QUESTION 3: What is the first mention of diarrhoea in the bible?

:D Moses took the two tablets and went up on the mount.

Is smoking mentioned at all in the Bible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Most of them. Except for killing and coveting your neighbours donkey or whatever the fcuk it is.

Noah. He was floating his stock while everyone else was in liquidation.

If your parents commit murder, the bible directs all the members of the village to stone them to death.
    If you or the village do not, then the next village must do so, killing your village into the bargain, so its not really an option not to do so.

So, are you as am idividual exempted from stoning your parents as a point of honour, or do you do them honour by doing the right thing and stoning them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

Probably only No. 2, but repeatedly.

Me too, except number 5 for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

I killed a man father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If I worship (believe) in no God's at all, does that count for the first one?

I'd say only number 5 i havnt broken.

Don't think I've born false witness against my neighbor..although if he doesn't sort out that hedge..