Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt. 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

GSPfan wrote: »
    Smalling showing yet again how to survive a Summer transfer window. He’s not the worst but wish he wasn’t first choice.

Hopefully he isn't first choice next season, he's fine as a squad player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Herrera having a great game so far. Nearly playing like an old fashioned sweeper at times.

Rashford direct pacey running is a breath of fresh air and something we lack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Pogba been excellent this half. Shaw providing good width martial enjoying himself as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Just in now lads... anybody give us a quick briefing of the first half ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭xtal191

Pogba had a decent enough half

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

A little pedestrian. Feel we could smash these lot if we kicked up a gear or two.

Herrera using his time well to prove himself again. Rashford looking spry as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

MrMac84 wrote: »

Jose has allowed the players to put in a good performance that might win a game.

MrMac84 wrote: »

Have to say i enjoyed it.

Players playing well, good team goal we scored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

bangkok wrote: »
    Pogba been excellent this half. Shaw providing good width martial enjoying himself as well

Pogba has played well enough alright but I think Shaw has been underwhelming. Actually think Darmian has been the more impressive of the full backs.

Lingard has been poor enough apart from his involvement in the goal.

Nice to see the players trying to hunt the ball down high up the pitch when they don’t have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Not a bad half bit of a tempo for the most part to the game.

Rashford and Herrera stand out players for United so far.

Pogbas done ok. Been solid enough hasn't done anything to fault other tend his usual shooting from million miles out straight into player in front him!

We should win this 2 or 3 nil!

adox wrote: »
    Pogba has played well enough alright but I think Shaw has been underwhelming. Actually think Darmian has been the more impressive of the full backs.

Nice to see the players trying to hunt the ball down high up the pitch when they don’t have it.

Yea shaw not great but just providing good width giving martial/pogba more space.

Lingard hasnt been great

adox wrote: »

I share those same thoughts.

Also, I'd like to see more from Martial in this half. He was pretty anonymous and detached for the first 25 or so minutes and then slowly grew into the game.

I actually like we have no focal point in the team. Liking the interchanging up front and no high balls going in

Those front 3 are showing up anywhere any everywhere on the field. There were times in the first half Martial was occupying DM territory...

Wait a minute bangkok, are you just saying in a very careful way that you are happy that Lukaku is not in the team?

Get him lads! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,597 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I actually think that’s a player problem, players see Lukaku up top and think it will be safer to hoof it up to him instead of inviting pressure. You can visibly see Jose and Lukaku motioning to play the ball out from the back in most games and he gets frustrated.. Lukaku would be grand slotting in there if the players behind played in the same way

That kinda sums up Pogba lol.

astradave wrote: »
    I actually think that’s a player problem, players see Lukaku up top and think it will be safer to hoof it up to him instead of inviting pressure. You can visibly see Jose and Lukaku motioning to play the ball out from the back in most games and he gets frustrated.. Lukaku would be grand slotting in there if the players behind played in the same way

Exactly like how many times have we seen lukaku be the one that's out wide and crossing balls in but no player there to take up the space he has left.

The movement tonight is better test but it's as much to do with players playing for their future and for place against spurs then anything else.

Like look at pogba tonight he is making the odd stupid pass or whatever but at least he is actually running and trying to chase the ball down no one can tell me that's because other players ain't playing.... it's because he actually has to play for his position.

Shaw working hard!

We have gotten really lazy now.

And we are lucky not to give away a penalty now :/

Lord TSC wrote: »
    We have gotten really lazy now.

And we are lucky not to give away a penalty now :/

Nothing in that whatsoever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,314 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Looked like it should have been a penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I don't agree with Poll at all there tbh. Shaw got tight and put him off. Correct decision

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Sit back

Conceed

It's bound to happen

astradave wrote: »
    Nothing in that whatsoever

That was more a peno then Madrid one last week for me at least

Getting sloppy now with the passing.

I don't agree with Poll at all there tbh. Shaw got tight and put him off. Correct decision

Yep, if you give a penalty for that you would be giving 10 every game

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

It was like that against Everton too at the start of the year. Players were forced to use the ball a bit more intelligently, and they weren't too bad at it either.

Booked Smalling. Refs are ****ing ****

Thought it was a penalty myself. Regardless, Jones wasn't too fast getting back to try and cut out the pass.

How is that a yellow and a fk against Smalling.

Should of been the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,226 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Ref hasn't a clue.

Making decisions based on the loudness of the crowd.

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    How is that a yellow and a fk against Smalling.

Should of been the other way.

He seemed to ask the 4th official.. thought he can’t do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

No peno for me, just part and parcel of the game. Defo yellow for Smalling though.

I hate cynical tackles like that. As bad as a dive

I think Martial has been quite poor, although I did some of the first half.

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    I think Martial has been quite poor, although I did some of the first half.

His end product is shocking tbh. I think hes a straight up striker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Need a second.

Worrying to see us drop down a gear from the first half.

If United aren't careful here, there's a realistic danger of the thread getting invaded.

That sums up Darmian there. Opportunity to go forward with some courage, passes the ball backwards to end the attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Bournemouth fans are irritating as ****.

That sums up Darmian there. Opportunity to go forward with some courage, passes the ball backwards to end the attack.

To be fair he followed it up with a nice ball for Rashford I think Damian has been decent this game.

Boosh

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Need more counters like that

<3 Lukaku

Great stuff

Nice lay off by Martial. Good run and pass by Pogba. Nice finish by the big man.

What a goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Lord TSC wrote: »
    <3 Lukaku

Fantasy Premier League points incoming :D

Excellent goal.

And that's what lukaku gets you. Better without him he said haha your having a laugh.

Great great goal that's what's possible when they turn it on!