Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live TV games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

cms88 wrote: »
    I have questions about this.

Where has this obsession for having every game on TV ceom from?

I seen quite a lot of people complaining that the New York and Letriem wasn't on TV. New York have been playing in the championship for 20 years ans their games have never been on TV. Why now is it an issue?

That game and the Laois Wexford game are another example. People saying after the fact that they should have been on TV when they knew he games were good. Yet had the Laois Wexford game been poor the same people would be complaining.

The clamour isn't that people want EVERY GAME on TV is that the choices are perplexing.

Tyrone v Monaghan should be on TV. Football fans want to watch this.

It's probably likely to be more absorbing than Clare v Cork.
    The only saving grace is the amount of football that we'll get from the Super 8s. So we just have to wait.

I would imagine the real reason they aren't on is because not many people want to watch them. Is that too simple?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,500 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I'd prefer it as well but I think it's pretty marginal either way. If C v C wasn't on there'd be people making a compelling case as to why it should be. Your perfect set of 31 TV games would include some terribly bad choices in someone elses opinion.

From a football pov I'd be more worried about say missing out on a potential Mayo v Tyrone or suchlike first round qualifier, not sure what flexibility there is for swapsies as the qualifiers progress.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

It's probably likely to be more absorbing than Clare v Cork.
    Who would want to watch pulling and dragging in Ulster compared to the artistry of Munster hurling? Mad stuff.

Artistry? Get off your high horse.

I'd prefer it as well but I think it's pretty marginal either way. If C v C wasn't on there'd be people making a compelling case as to why it should be. Your perfect set of 31 TV games would include some terribly bad choices in someone elses opinion.

From a football pov I'd be more worried about say missing out on a potential Mayo v Tyrone or suchlike first round qualifier, not sure what flexibility there is for swapsies as the qualifiers progress.

During this conversation yesterday about TV games this was my one concern about R1 qualifiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Artistry? Get off your high horse.
    The truth hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I came on to this thread to find out why Tyrone v Monaghan isn't on any tv channel. It's a bit mad that a game like that isn't. It's not every sunday I get a chance to watch a game and the next time I can I mightn't be too bothered.

Patww79 wrote: »
    No artistry earlier but in general they're bang on. More often than not Munster hurling is the peak of Irish sport and more often than not Ulster football is a complete shítfest.

Pat now come on. It's easy to criticise games ye never watch. And we all came to quite a concensus yesterday.

It's been a long long time since Munster hurling has been the peak of Irish sport. Just like hurling overall.

I'd also be tempted to call Munster football championship as the nadir of Irish sport mind you.

The truth hurts.

The truth? I happen to think you're talking ballix. So you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,303 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

This won't be of any help to most people but just for information. Some games which are not televised live may be available on satellite feeds. The Tyrone Monaghan BBC feed is on the satellite at 16 East. The channel name is Brewster Park Clean Spare, indicating that the satellite truck was in Enniskillen and they did not change the feed name. Clean feeds are those with no screen captions for time or score, Dirty feeds have the captions.

I have a 1.1 metre satellite dish with a motor which can turn to different satellites.

Brewster Pk Clean Spare_0160 12692_V_7200_20180520_172756.jpg

This won't be of any help to most people but just for information. Some games which are not televised live may be available on satellite feeds. The Tyrone Monaghan BBC feed is on the satellite at 16 East. The channel name is Brewster Park Clean Spare, indicating that the satellite truck was in Enniskillen and they did not change the feed name. Clean feeds are those with no screen captions for time or score, Dirty feeds have the captions.

I have a 1.1 metre satellite dish with a motor which can turn to different satellites.

Brewster Pk Clean Spare_0160 12692_V_7200_20180520_172756.jpg

That's good to know for future.

Weather matching the gawk on McConville.

I'll need to pick your brains over your set up soon when I move into the new gaff. Mental note to BS. Mental note.

There are a few of us on the Foreign Satellite forum.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=622

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057701967

Most of the feeds now are in the 4:2:2 format which can't be resolved on any normal satellite receivers. But they can be streamed to a PC which is where I got those pictures. But a lot of them are also encrypted. You need a big dish and a motor.

I wouldn't invest a lot of money now because the trend is already there to move to fibre back to the studios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Real issue with Ulster games is that BBC have decided not to bother showing them any more.

Yesterday was a bit mad with at least 5 games that you would watch so impossible to show them all. Game in Wexford was brilliant, as apparently was Mon/Tyrone,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Real issue with Ulster games is that BBC have decided not to bother showing them any more.

Yesterday was a bit mad with at least 5 games that you would watch so impossible to show them all. Game in Wexford was brilliant, as apparently was Mon/Tyrone,
    Nothing to do with BBC deciding not to bother, they can only show games that RTE show at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭howiya

Sky Sports have announced (unsurprisingly) that Meath v Tyrone is the qualifier they will show on Saturday week

A point somebody else has raised on twitter is that this game (or any qualifier on June 9th) was not included in their original list of games.

http://www.skysports.com/gaa/hurling/news/30543/11363682/sky-sports-reveals-2018-gaa-championship-fixtures

Are they dropping one of the hurling games they were going to show?

If I had read Sky's tweet I would have got the answer. They are dropping the Galway Dublin hurling game. Still showing Kilkenny v Wexford

Agree. There'll be something at stake in the qualifier at least. I think its a good decision. That weekend we get two live games in each code. RTE are split between hurling and football on the Sunday too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭thesultan

What games have we for Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,453 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

thesultan wrote: »
    What games have we for Sunday?

Ulster SFC Semi-Final - Monaghan vs Fermanagh @2pm on RTE

Munster SHC Round 3 - Waterford vs Tipperary @4pm on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Comortas peile na Gaeltachta on TG4 tomorrow from 5:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,453 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Meath-Tyrone is going to extra time. Sky look like they will continue showing it. What about KK-Wexford game starting at 7...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Meath-Tyrone is going to extra time. Sky look like they will continue showing it. What about KK-Wexford game starting at 7...

Sky blah blah, great coverage blah blah, much better than FTA blah blah,.....

Monumental fcuk up not showing the hurling, and showing the dregs of the football qualifier and it a dead game once extra time started.

Imagine the furore if it was RTE???