Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault in IFSC/Spencer Dock. What the hell is wrong with this city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Collie D wrote: »
    That's a whole different level of scumminess. Who drives around with a brick to throw?

I laughed at your dad's reaction though :)

I laughed as well tbf!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Wheety wrote: »
    Why would not believe it? This stuff does happen.

For supporters of left wing liberal socialist politics these things do not happen and anyone like the OP claiming that these things do happen is a clearly a government shill.
    All the people on the lowest rung of the ladder are salt of the earth honest victims of the ruling civil war parties who have struggled to eke out a living from the meager rations we throw at them.
    They walk the streets daily in search of work but can find none because the capitalist pigs have the whole system sewn up.
    What the op experienced was most likely a desperate last ditch attempt by an unemployed father father of six with a bed ridden wife to steal something that he could sell so that he could afford to buy her some medicine.
    The OP was lounging around the financial quarter flaunting his wealth so obviously he deserved to be targeted.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

splinter65 wrote: »
    For supporters of left wing liberal socialist politics these things do not happen and anyone like the OP claiming that these things do happen is a clearly a government shill.
    All the people on the lowest rung of the ladder are salt of the earth honest victims of the ruling civil war parties who have struggled to eke out a living from the meager rations we throw at them.
    They walk the streets daily in search of work but can find none because the capitalist pigs have the whole system sewn up.
    What the op experienced was most likely a desperate last ditch attempt by an unemployed father father of six with a bed ridden wife to steal something that he could sell so that he could afford to buy her some medicine.
    The OP was lounging around the financial quarter flaunting his wealth so obviously he deserved to be targeted.

Now there’s some prime fantasist straw man nonsense.

The OP’s story seems plausible, if more than a bit unlucky. Not sure why it’s ‘sad’ that the ‘knackers’ parents might be claiming social welfare though. There’s genuine economic deprivation in the locality, and Ireland, just like Spain, which is where I assume the OP is from, has a welfare system to offer some sort of protection in those circumstances. Idiotic teenage pack mentality has really nothing to do with social welfare. It’s poor parenting.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,592 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

alastair wrote: »
    Now there’s some prime fantasist straw man nonsense.

The OP’s story seems plausible, if more than a bit unlucky. Not sure why it’s ‘sad’ that the ‘knackers’ parents might be claiming social welfare though. There’s genuine economic deprivation in the locality, and Ireland, just like Spain, which is where I assume the OP is from, has a welfare system to offer some sort of protection in those circumstances. Idiotic teenage pack mentality has really nothing to do with social welfare. It’s poor parenting.

The problem is you took the post seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

The problem is you took the post seriously.

I don’t take the post seriously, but the sarcasm was obviously genuine (as well as deluded).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

More extensive CCTV would be fought tooth and nail by the ICLU et al. It would apparently a bad thing to be able to identify places where the guards on the ground should be.

I would expect such opposition too. I think it's important that society allows itself to have a reasonable discussion on where the reasonable rights of privacy need to be traded off against the rights not to be assaulted or robbed.

Somebody else made the point that the cameras are useless as assailant will just cover their faces. I wonder what the potential would be to coordinate tags for people with multiple criminal convictions with cameras to aid in the identification of people who conceal their identity. I know the idea of tagging would be a red rag to some people, but I think the lack of safety or the person and property in some parts of Dublin means this really must be considered now. And yes, I would support the tagging of juveniles if they've clocked up enough arrests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

It's probably the same in most European cities, but more frequent and of a more petty nature here (well except for the recent JCB vs Supermarket incident).

There was about x7 fatal knife attacks in London in the last week, some say it's now the acid attack of the world, with petty crime rates higher than NYC.
    Today in Manchester a cop goes up against a sword waver. Yesterday the repetitive habit of a few young 50cc moped riders taking whatever they want, went up a notch on the Putney bridge (200k BBC tv camera during morning rush hour).

axh1co8.png

The whole moped gang thing is curious, as not so long ago the cops spend the day doing a fancy photoshoot^ with their new BMW motorbikes. Well if they actually took them out for a spin now again, along with a basic throw net, kevlar gloves and baton, then urban crime-levels might actually drop.

These specific BMW F800GS machines would actually be ideal for catching ruffians in most cities, and reducing street crime rather quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Rayo 2

Dublin city centre is a kip; dirty and ugly. Im living in the north inner city and it’s particularly bad here. The police are such a soft touch where they won’t even physically hassle the inner city rodents for fear of getting assault and harassment claims thrown their way. It’s pathetic that the little knackers have no fear of the police. And a bike left in the city centre is guaranteed to be nicked or vandalised. North inner city is devoid of anything worth showing outsiders or nice to live in if you are in anyway a decent human being.

The north inner city may have its problems with anti social behaviour, but there are many decent human beings living there all their lives who have never caused anyone any trouble. The north inner city is not (as you say devoid of anything worth showing to outsiders) in fact it is one of the most historic and strongest communities not just in the city but in the country. People over the years have stood strong in the north inner city in dealing with serious drug problems (many caused by outsiders you refer to) and many have lost family members.So if you are not happy living in the north inner city maybe it's time to move.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Rayo 2 wrote: »
    The north inner city may have its problems with anti social behaviour, but there are many decent human beings living there all their lives who have never caused anyone any trouble. The north inner city is not (as you say devoid of anything worth showing to outsiders) in fact it is one of the most historic and strongest communities not just in the city but in the country. People over the years have stood strong in the north inner city in dealing with serious drug problems (many caused by outsiders you refer to) and many have lost family members.So if you are not happy living in the north inner city maybe it's time to move.

It is still full of scumbags, not point sugar coating it tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Anyone who wants to blame the parents, you will probably find them down on the boardwalk off their faces on drink or drugs :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

The north inner city may also be inhabited by plenty of decent salt of the earth types too, but they're not the ones leaving the abiding impression of crime and dirt. It needs to be added that the crime is not trivial: it's random assault and ocassionally murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

boombang wrote: »
    The north inner city may also be inhabited by plenty of decent salt of the earth types too, but they're not the ones leaving the abiding impression of crime and dirt. It needs to be added that the crime is not trivial: it's random assault and ocassionally murder.
    There is a relatively small but extremely nasty and highly destructive element in this city. They seem to enjoy attacking people just for the fun of it, not necessarily to mug them but because they enjoy hurting innocent people.
    I still think about that poor polish lad that got murdered a few years ago while was going to work early in the morning and met two of these absolute scumbags coming home off their faces. They stabbed him with a screwdriver in a totally unprovoked attack. There are more and more of these unprovoked attacks all the time, and like the OP's story and other posters the attackers seem to be getting younger all the time.

Another problem already mentioned is that there is absolutely no deterrent from the courts and clueless judges and even if they do get sent down serving time in prison is like a badge of honour or rite of initiation for these people anyway. They can spend the rest of their lives telling the social welfare that they can't get a job because of their criminal record.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Rayo 2

It is still full of scumbags, not point sugar coating it tbf

Not quite FULL of scumbags, as I say there are many decent hardworking people in the North inner city who abhor this kind of behaviour by scumbags as you describe them. However scumbags come in all shapes and sizes and can be found in all parts of the city, some just dress differently and look and talk differently, They are the sugercoated scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭VonLuck

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I don't know. I use Docklands train station every day and have been passing Spencer dock daily for 10 years and worked in the IFSC for 18 and do not see this anti social behavior that people seem to think is constantly present. Yes, the place is more deserted in the dark and the potential for crime increases but I can't say it feels more dangerous than any other area within Dublin's canals. Im not trying to undermine people's personal bad experiences, particularly OPs, but is it really that widespread in this area. I've never seen it. I've witnessed the congregation of youths drinking cans on those heatwave evenings but apart from them being noisy, they weren't being dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

There seems to be two problems WRT dealing with this stuff: lack of policing, and a judiciary system that's not effective. If the perpetrators are brought before the court, they may or may not receive custodial sentences. Crucial factors here are the cost of incarceration and the lack of incarceration places. So my solution would be to introduce corporal punishment for certain classes of crimes, such as assault. It would be quick, cheap, and effective: while these perpetrators laugh at a custodial sentence, and maybe even look forward to one, the don't like pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

yer man! wrote: »
    Place needs a Garda station of its own. More money needs to be poured into the gardai in general to get officers walking the area. No amount of CCTV will deter this behavior, actual police presence I think will have more of an effect.

Nah, whats really needed is more playgrounds, community centres, "feh-sill-ah-teeeeezzz"!! Why spend money on additional gardai to keep a lid in the place when you can give them new things to vandalise and destroy!

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭phoenix49

Tbh, I think there is a need for an organisation working to address antisocial inhumans (humans live in society). Yesterday while getting off a tram on Westmoreland, there were bunch of scumbags calling out a deliveroo cyclist on a traffic light and sending him their "regards". This is nonsense, that guy works and likely pays taxes, part of which goes to support these scums. Sometimes I think that American style of dealing with knackers is more fair - instead of attacking people for fun, they'd be busy thinking about basic needs like food and shelter. Hopefully there's a better solution to this, but what is worrying is that it seems that no-one really cares.

phoenix49 wrote: »
    Tbh, I think there is a need for an organisation working to address antisocial inhumans (humans live in society). Yesterday while getting off a tram on Westmoreland, there were bunch of scumbags calling out a deliveroo cyclist on a traffic light and sending him their "regards". This is nonsense, that guy works and likely pays taxes, part of which goes to support these scums. Sometimes I think that American style of dealing with knackers is more fair - instead of attacking people for fun, they'd be busy thinking about basic needs like food and shelter. Hopefully there's a better solution to this, but what is worrying is that it seems that no-one really cares.

Nothing will happen because there is a huge industry devoted to making excuses for these people, and ignoring the serious problems that exist in many of our communities. I'm reminded of the shooting dead of a woman in Ballymun a few months ago. Newstalk interviewed some local councillors who mouthed the usual bleeding heart nonsense about the community being very close bla bla bla. About an hour later they spoke to local residents who all said the area was a dump and overrun by scumbags. People on the ground know what's happening but those in positions of power refuse to address any of the problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭neris

we (the state) have a huge big field up in North County Dublin that was paid over the odds for and has been let sit idle for the last 10 years due to recession etc, its now time to build the prison on this site and lock up these feral scum, who cares theres no transport links to the place so there mammy cant visit or they could be locked up 23 hours a day or theyve had "a hard life", why should these ****ers be allowed to make the lives of tax paying law abiding citizens hard for no reason

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭LoMismo

It's a really odd place, the IFSC. Or many parts of Dublin city centre in general. Like down at Grand Canal Docks, it's so nice on a sunny day, but often you just get hoards of kids jumping into the water and drinking etc., being noisy and annoying. I've never been in another city where there are unruly street urchins knocking around financial and tech districts.
    It's probably super snobby of me to ask why the hell they're even there? They're just a nuisance, and I've seen them hassling foreign workers, or running around the Fresh at Grand Canal Dock knocking things off the shelves etc just for their own amusement and to get a chase off the security guards. Actually I've seen that in the Fresh in Smithfield too.
    Is it just a legacy of Dublin being so damn poor in the past that we still have social problems in the inner city?

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭LegallyAbroad

LoMismo wrote: »
    It's a really odd place, the IFSC. Or many parts of Dublin city centre in general. Like down at Grand Canal Docks, it's so nice on a sunny day, but often you just get hoards of kids jumping into the water and drinking etc., being noisy and annoying. I've never been in another city where there are unruly street urchins knocking around financial and tech districts.
    It's probably super snobby of me to ask why the hell they're even there? They're just a nuisance, and I've seen them hassling foreign workers, or running around the Fresh at Grand Canal Dock knocking things off the shelves etc just for their own amusement and to get a chase off the security guards. Actually I've seen that in the Fresh in Smithfield too.
    Is it just a legacy of Dublin being so damn poor in the past that we still have social problems in the inner city?

They're from there. It is the workers who have moved in on their home patch. They're Das were jumping in to the same canal 40 years previous.

Worked in GCD for 5 years. Never had any hassle with the lads who jump in to the water etc., and no hassle in general despite my route home for a large part of that time being up the NCR.

Well, one young fella kicked a football in my general direction one lunch time. I just caught it and kicked it back.

I’ve never had any hassle either. I went to school in north inner city and would be down in Seville Place etc with friends that lived there, mostly all were nice. But then I wouldn’t be a target for dangerous kids unlike some foreign tech worker.
    Their Das didn’t have €30 Lidl wetsuits to jump in the river but maybe they were made from sterner stuff back then.

Dublin is very strange. Just off the main thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, there are very deprived areas - Sean McDermott street etc. If you go to paris, Brussels or Berlin it's very rare you see any sort of anti social behaviour because their deprived areas are far out in the suburbs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Yes Dublin has possibly more anti social behaviour than most cities because during the 20th Century its where all the social housing/working class areas were originally located or new ones were created as the wealthy people followed the western trend of moving to the surburbs. So the city was left to the poor as the wealthy moved outward, yes theres some exceptions like ballymun but dublin ha s huge concentration of social/working class housing in its immediate centre. Now that its the in thing to live in the city centre again for the wealthy its creating a bit of clash

It's also some kind of a rotten cultural thing though. We have a very generous welfare system, this behaviour can't be borne out of poverty. In Spanish cities, where I've spent lots of time, even in the less affluent areas people seem to behave themselves. There's some kind of attention seeking "mad b*stardism" phenomena in Ireland whether it's an Irish football fan climbing something dangerous in Paris to make a video for Facebook, or a local thug jumping someone in town to impress his mates.
    There's no reason social housing can't be mixed in the city centre, if they just didn't behave like animals.

It's also some kind of a rotten cultural thing though. We have a very generous welfare system, this behaviour can't be borne out of poverty. In Spanish cities, where I've spent lots of time, even in the less affluent areas people seem to behave themselves. There's some kind of attention seeking "mad b*stardism" phenomena in Ireland whether it's an Irish football fan climbing something dangerous in Paris to make a video for Facebook, or a local thug jumping someone in town to impress his mates.
    There's no reason social housing can't be mixed in the city centre, if they just didn't behave like animals.

Indeed. In countries like France the people share a sense of civic responsibility. It's why you rarely see dogs dirt on the footpaths, or illegal dumping. They can also drink in a social setting without getting legless. Unfortunately, the Irish tend to mirror our British counterparts: A yob culture where being ugly, nasty and ill-disciplined is the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭dubrov

Indeed. In countries like France the people share a sense of civic responsibility. It's why you rarely see dogs dirt on the footpaths, or illegal dumping. They can also drink in a social setting without getting legless. Unfortunately, the Irish tend to mirror our British counterparts: A yob culture where being ugly, nasty and ill-disciplined is the norm.

The grass is not always greener abroad. There are places on the outskirts of Paris where you would be begging to come back and live in the roughest places in Ireland.

dubrov wrote: »
    The grass is not always greener abroad. There are places on the outskirts of Paris where you would be begging to come back and live in the roughest places in Ireland.

On the outskirts though. Not where the flagship tech companies and tourists are.