Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Preparing for my Mam's retirement

Options
  • 27-03-2018 10:35am
    Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭

My mam lives in public housing and will be receiving at state pension. She is not married and has few savings. I am her only son. She is now 65.
    I am a college graduate and I am earning a reasonable salary in the tech sector. Although I am now becoming financially comfortable I am worrying about what to do as my mam continues to age. I understand that nursing home care costs and arm and a leg. Should I be doing something like paying nursing home insurance now or will she be covered under the Fair Deal? If its the latter, will they be looking to take my assets also or just hers (she won't have any)?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,568 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Fair play to you to be considering this. I suspect she will not be eligible for fair deal as this is designed to avoid selling a property while the owner is alive, if she does not have a property it will not be relevant.

I do not know much about nursing home costs, but https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/list/4/olderpeople/nhss/costs.html may help with some of the information - note that the costs given are not necessarily what the resident will pay, that will depend on their income.