Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clementis etc in a narrow,shallow border

Options
  • 30-03-2018 4:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

Hi

complete gardening novice here so hoping someone can advise me. I have a narrow border between the wall of the house and the footpath. About 6ins wide and about 1 foot deep. After that 1 foot or so is the debris etc from the foundation of the house.
    I was looking to plant clementis in the border (its about 18 ft long) and let it grow up the wall of the house to about 5ft in total.

My question is: is that border deep/wide enough to support the like of clementis growing 5ft or so high and spreading widthways to cover the wall?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,437 ✭✭✭✭looksee

The short answer is no. Six inches wide (out from the wall) does not even get it out of the rain shadow of the wall, and a foot of depth is not sufficient (especially in that dry area) for anything much bigger than say a sedum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭jay0109

Damn it, my fault. Should have made the border bigger when the footpath went in last year. Really wanted to get something tall growing in there to take the bare look off the wall.
    Might try ivy...it grows everywhere without much coaxing. I've a lot of the common variety around the garden and when I pull some of it up at times, there's not a lot of root to it. Not the common ivy thought, there's another type I've seen with a lighter coloured leaf in parts, will try that one

• Registered Users Posts: 28,437 ✭✭✭✭looksee