Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asking for a raise?

Options
  • 04-04-2018 12:41am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks, not a work 'problem' as such but would like to get some opinions on a situation...

So I've been working in my current position for six months. My employer is a very fair and decent person. I had a six month review recently and my employer expressed that they are very happy with my work. Without going into too much detail, my role is a combination of a few disparate roles (based on my skillset); so it's difficult to find salary comparisons out there.

As I said, my role has a few different aspects - lets call them X, Y and Z. When I was hired, I was given a job title and contract that reflected my responsibilities - X, Y and Z. However, my background and degree is in another area - let's call it Skill A. In the past three months at work, a project has come up that is largely based on Skill A, so I was given the project to develop, which I did in my own time outside of work. I didn't mind this because I understood it was a one-off project and it was enjoyable for me to get back into something that I used to do.

However, based on how the project has gone, my manager now wants A to be an ongoing aspect of the business going forward. I am the only employee skilled in A, so this work would all fall on myself. If I wasn't doing Job A, it would have been outsourced (or else the original project just wouldn't have been taken on in the first place).