Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battletech - Kickstarter game pre release game play

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

What are the two hp bars? I've done a bit of googling and came up with nothing about the HUD.

Red is structure, white is armour.

It really isn't friendly to beginners. You'll see DFA listed in the attacks from the very start, but I haven't seen it explained that it's Death From Above, which is a jump jet attack landing on an enemy, hence the self damage in red in brackets.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I'm lucky that I've played Mechwarrior online so I understand some things :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

So I've been pretty much stuck into this since it was released and I've learned some things.

First of all, it is somewhat unstable, but I found moving to windowed mode instead of fullscreen has been a big help. There's some optimisation work to be done for sure as I get pretty fierce framerate drops at times. I'm just going to install the latest Nvidia drivers now to see if I get any improvements.

As for the game itself - it's challenging, bordering on properly hard. The cinematics accompanying the story looks great and gives it a real space opera feel. The mix of managing your business and stomping all over things is done very well and now that I'm also managing upgrades to my ship, it'll be more of a challenge. You have a monthly bill to be paid and from there you can determine how much you're paying out for the next month (you can save money at the cost of team morale).

I've already started a second attempt which has been a much happier time after getting brutalised in my first attempt). Take some time to do 2 or 3 additional missions before advancing the story (there are 3 significant missions that start the story off, they're the same every playthrough with some minor variation depending on your chosen backstory). Doing this will let your pilots learn some skills, let you find some useful salvage and learn what sorts of ways to play your individual mechs. Sensor Lock is great against light mechs as it removes 2 Evasive which will make your subsequent shots against that target more manageable and as an added bonus, you'll be able to launch LRMs at the target from pretty much anywhere. I have a modified Centurian medium mech that has 3 LRM10's including an upgraded one I bought in a shop, so I'm shooting 30 missiles which will take most mechs to Unsteady which will leave some others to finish knocking it over. I put a guy with Evasive and Sensor Lock in a light mech to spot for the artillery Centurian and it punishes Light and Medium mechs hard.

There's a cover mechanic that isn't terribly clear (scenery acts as an obstruction for direct fire, but not for missile salvos if you've been spotted) and it's important to keep your Evasive stat up unless you've got Bulwark on your pilot. Try to pick individuals off from the pack if you can, I'm sure that goes without saying, but if you get ganged up on, you can be in real trouble, even with mostly light mechs stripping your armour away. Heat Management takes a bit of getting used to, but once you remember where to look on the screen (middle of the left edge of the screen), you'll be grand. Remember to spend your morale out on the field; Vigilance will keep you alive and Precision Shot will make the baddies dead :D

One thing I'd like to get a bit more understanding on is optimal weapon ranges. Is there any indicator in the game? Or is my chance to hit with certain weapons just based on the landscape/cover of the enemy?

EDIT: Ah ok so when I move, depending on what weapons I have turned on the brightest part of the arc is the optimal range for all those weapons. That helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Doge wrote: »
    Ah i just meant a real time combat game in First Person and especially in VR.

Vox Machine looks promising but I'd rather see something bigger budget with cooler mechs.

I didn't realise there was a newer version of that out. I played the original demo on the DK1 and DK2 and even then it was one of the best demonstrations available (though a little boring).

• Registered Users Posts: 10,743 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

One thing I'd like to get a bit more understanding on is optimal weapon ranges. Is there any indicator in the game? Or is my chance to hit with certain weapons just based on the landscape/cover of the enemy?

EDIT: Ah ok so when I move, depending on what weapons I have turned on the brightest part of the arc is the optimal range for all those weapons. That helps.

ye cant see it very well if at all on snow maps though :/

• Registered Users Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

There is an Arc as you say that will be different shades of grey to tell you range. Also, after you have clicked to move somewhere but before you confirm it, you can mouse over enemy mechs and it tells you in the bottom right the percentages to hit.

There is also the chevron system so you can tell at a glance. As you mouse over move locations with your own mech, the enemy mech will have 1 to 4 chevrons on either side of him....each of these chevrons represent your weapons. The chevrons turn from grey, to white, to yellow etc. which tells you at a glance what the best range is for your particular weapons.

So for example if you have a mech with 1 Large laser and 4 medium lasers and you look at the ENEMY mech.....at long range the enemy will have one chevron.....for the large laser. When you move closer, he will now have 2 chevrons as your medium lasers are in range. They change colour to indicate the best range.

Is there a time limit/penalty for delaying the priority/storyline? missions or will I just run out of side contracts?

I remember on my first playthrough of Xcom taking my time and then reading that the longer you take you get sh*thard enemies in a really tough level that you could have avoided by speeding through the storyline instead. Just assuming something like that won't be happening here.

Anyone mess with the default mech loadouts yet?

Negotiating contracts. Do you prioritise anything in particular or leave as default?

Is there a time limit/penalty for delaying the priority/storyline? missions or will I just run out of side contracts?

I remember on my first playthrough of Xcom taking my time and then reading that the longer you take you get sh*thard enemies in a really tough level that you could have avoided by speeding through the storyline instead. Just assuming something like that won't be happening here.

Anyone mess with the default mech loadouts yet?

Negotiating contracts. Do you prioritise anything in particular or leave as default?

There's no penalty for delaying, you're actually encouraged to do this in one of the early story missions.

loadouts are fun when you customise them!

Contracts, depends on what you need more, cash or gear, always handy to have 1 priority salvage incase you run into a badass mech you dont have yet, or a rare (+++) bit of gear

There's no penalty for delaying, you're actually encouraged to do this in one of the early story missions.

loadouts are fun when you customise them!

Contracts, depends on what you need more, cash or gear, always handy to have 1 priority salvage incase you run into a badass mech you dont have yet, or a rare (+++) bit of gear

That's good to hear. Took a contract there and whilst I won I got fairly rekted. Repairs and healing was over a month. Learning with each battle though.

EDIT: Are light mechs really worth keeping around? I put my scout pilot into a medium mech and the lack of view distance was negligible vs increased firepower/armor although it is early days I suppose. I have just picked up an Locust 1s that will be packed with SRMs that might make me change my mind otherwise the starting light mechs are a bit puny.

When i do use them, i use them as scouts. A mechwarrior with sensor lock and piloting can do a lot of good in one.

Personal preference though, they tend to have a few stacks of evasion if you can keep them out of combat as opportunistic scouts, try to back them up with LRM carriers or AC snipers.

That's good to hear. Took a contract there and whilst I won I got fairly rekted. Repairs and healing was over a month. Learning with each battle though.

EDIT: Are light mechs really worth keeping around? I put my scout pilot into a medium mech and the lack of view distance was negligible vs increased firepower/armor although it is early days I suppose. I have just picked up an Locust 1s that will be packed with SRMs that might make me change my mind otherwise the starting light mechs are a bit puny.

They are essential for using long range weapons. Sensor lock removes all evasion from a target. Then bomb them with LRM's and PPC.

I now have a pair of Assault mechs and a handful of Heavies. I haven't used a Light mech since I was able to field all Medium (and now I mostly 1-shot them as soon as they appear). Sure, it's nice to be able to run around, but when you're facing 12 other mechs and support vehicles, I'd rather have 4 mechs and not 3.2.

But that's just me :P

• Registered Users Posts: 18,002 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

What are the two hp bars? I've done a bit of googling and came up with nothing about the HUD.

Great vid that explains the entire UI here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QckUSyYM2Fw

They are essential for using long range weapons. Sensor lock removes all evasion from a target. Then bomb them with LRM's and PPC.

Doesn't. Only removes 2 chevrons.

Running a mission. Long enough one, placed everything well, took out the enemy mechs really nicely keeping my damage to a minimum, lrm'd turrets to death just had to shoot some buildings. PC locks up.

UGH... dis game...

Running a mission. Long enough one, placed everything well, took out the enemy mechs really nicely keeping my damage to a minimum, lrm'd turrets to death just had to shoot some buildings. PC locks up.

UGH... dis game...

Running a mission. Long one. Played everything beautifully. Kill last mech. Dropship arrives for evac...……………..and lands on Dekker killing him instantly.

:mad:

I don't normally reload but that was such bullsh*t I had to.

Kirby wrote: »
    Running a mission. Long one. Played everything beautifully. Kill last mech. Dropship arrives for evac...……………..and lands on Dekker killing him instantly.

:mad:

I don't normally reload but that was such bullsh*t I had to.

bwahahaha Isn't there an indicator on the ground that shows when there's the danger of that happening? Sure I've seen it :P

Is there a way to speed moves up in the game? I was doing an escort mission and having to watch the fecking AI move 4 trucks slowly was enough to drive me mad.

Also as just a general comment the missions can be a bit unclear at times. I've had missions where I think I'm just clearing some initial mechs before moving onto the meat and so I play conservatively, saving my armor etc then once those mech die I find that was it and I could have just blitzed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Jayd0g

bwahahaha Isn't there an indicator on the ground that shows when there's the danger of that happening? Sure I've seen it :P

Is there a way to speed moves up in the game? I was doing an escort mission and having to watch the fecking AI move 4 trucks slowly was enough to drive me mad.

Also as just a general comment the missions can be a bit unclear at times. I've had missions where I think I'm just clearing some initial mechs before moving onto the meat and so I play conservatively, saving my armor etc then once those mech die I find that was it and I could have just blitzed it.

Looks like you're not the only one craving a speed up button, reports that this will be present in Update 1

https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2018/05/03/battletech-patch-plans/

official blurb is that they're rolling out that fix as well as unexpected DLC - it actually sounds like they werent expecting the warm reception the game is getting.

as seen on their steam announcement yesterday:
    BATTLETECH: What's Next?
    First of all, to our Backers and new players alike - thank you for your incredible outpouring of love and support last week following the launch of BATTLETECH, and for sharing so many of your amazing game experiences with us. As a small developer, these stories mean the world to us. It's why we do this.

From the heartfelt reactions of our Backers, to the kind words from reviewers, to the epic marathons on YouTube, to the hysterical reactions on Twitch, to the goofy memes floating through social media, this week has been a whirlwind and we are thrilled to be on this ride with you.

Extra kind words and fun clip links:
    Waypoint[waypoint.vice.com]
    Polygonurl]www.polygon.com[/url
    GameWatcherurl]www.gamewatcher.com[/url
    Twitch Clip 1[clips.twitch.tv]
    Twitch Clip 2[clips.twitch.tv]
    Twitch Clip 3[clips.twitch.tv]
    We could easily fill this entire post and more just rounding up press and fan reactions to the game - but we'd rather talk about what's next. From the start of this project, we've viewed launch not as the end of the road, but as the birth of a living product. Over the course of development, you might recall that we often answered speculative questions about post-launch features or content with, "in success, all things are possible."

Well - thanks to you, this is the success we hoped for. And many things are now possible! We're working with Paradox on a roadmap for the next year of BATTLETECH development. This will include regular bugfixing, quality-of-life improvements, and free Updates adding new features to the game. Here's a look at the next few months of that roadmap.

****BATTLETECH Post-Launch Roadmap****

1. Compatibility / Performance Investigations
    Our launch last week wasn't perfect. A subset of players are experiencing hardware/system compatibility and performance issues that our team is working hard to investigate. Solutions for critical issues are always our top priority, and will be released as soon as they're available and tested. Typically, we will release patches to our public_beta branch on Steam for a few days for testing before we push them to the default branch.

On that note - last Friday we released our first patch to the public_beta branch for testing. Today, that 1.0.1 Patch went live - you can read the full changelog here. We expect to release more patches to public_beta in the coming days and weeks.

2. General Bugfix (Late May)
    We expect to release at least one general bugfix/improvements patch later in May.

3. Localization (French, German, Russian) and Linux support
    These are both Kickstarter commitments and high priorities for our post-launch roadmap. (Along with a couple other Kickstarter commitments that didn't make it in for launch.) We don't have a more precise ETA yet for these items but will update you as soon as we do.

4. Update #1: Customization & Player Options (June/July)
    We're already beginning work on our first larger free Update to BATTLETECH. This Update is all about customization and reacting to common pieces of feedback that we've received from you on the game. Here's a list of items we're currently looking at for Update 1 this summer:
    Accelerated combat options - We're working on options for players who would like to accelerate the pace of combat missions.

MechWarrior customization - We know that many players would like to change the appearance, callsign, name, and voice of all their MechWarriors, not just their Commander. This didn't make it in for launch but we'll be adding it in Update 1.

Granular difficulty settings - A set of discrete options for players to customize the challenge level of the game in different areas.

MechLab / Store / Salvage quality-of-life improvements - Interface additions to reduce friction when buying and salvaging new items.

Tutorial-skip option - Allowing players who have already played the prologue missions to skip those missions when starting a new campaign, and get right to the Leopard.

Addressing difficulty spikes - We'll be working on smoothing out some issues with unexpectedly hard (or easy) content. Not to remove all difficulty variance, but to address clear outliers.

Live-streaming quality-of-life improvements - Audio persisting when alt-tabbed, for example.
    It's important to note that the exact contents of Update 1 may shift during development. Please consider these general directions and priorities. We'll post a more detailed and updated list of what's in the Update closer to its release.

5. More BATTLETECH!
    The above is just the beginning! We'll be continuing with more free Updates after Update 1, and we'd also love to release a larger paid content Expansion or two - but right now we're staying focused on bugfixes and immediate reactions to launch feedback. With your support, we could not be more excited to continue making BATTLETECH even bigger and better.

Thank you,
    HBS

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,406 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Nice to see different difficultly levels coming.

The amount of 90% shots I miss in this game........

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Just had my character PPCed in the head; 140 days recovery... Going to be a lot of mercing around until I'm back in the boat again and can continue the story mission.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Jayd0g

Giant Robot Amputation Pokemon sounds intriguing .....

https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2018/05/04/battletech-salvage-explained/

Or my newest favourite. Rng headshot killing both a heavy mech and a med, both mechs that I want and then realising I can only pick 2 pieces and rng decides to give me sh*t like heatsinks in the remainder parts.

Really enjoying this game. Love how it just lets you go at your own pace. No pressure to move the main story line on, difficulty seems reasonable so far. Haven't ventured into multiplayer yet as I don't want to ruin the fun of getting my own heavies and assaults for the first time.

I just wish it was A: a bit prettier and B: ran a bit better. It's a bit chuggy at times considering not a lot is going on on screen whether that be due to optimisation or the Unity engine.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,002 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

One problem im really having with this game is the varying difficulty of missions that are supposedly the same level.

Tried two 2 skull missions yesterday, one had 2 damaged heavies and was a relative walkover for my 4 mediums, the second had 3 mediums and 7 lights all pounce at the same time. Im fine if the game is difficult but that is a pretty bull**** difference in difficulty for supposedly the same level of mission.

The instability and bizarre difficulty ratings are, I believe, their top priority for fixes, so there's that, but I concede that they're both big problems for anyone who's on the fence about whether they want to pick it up or not.

Speaking of dodgy encounters with the RNG gods... I lost one of my primary pilots (10/7/9/7 stats) in a Battlemaster Assault Mechs to a fecking Locust alpha strike that took the head clean off. The salt was *very* real at that.

Liberate Smithon. 2 skulls.... Yeah right.... I'm continually getting rekted. Have had to 'cheat' and look how others completed it. Gonna try again when I feel less annoyed.

Yea, that one was a proper pain in the arse. I ended up
    completely ignoring the transports and turtled in the bottom right corner taking out anything that came up the hill and any turrets I had vision on