Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OnePlus 6 stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭cython

Anyone else think of this when he was yammering on about the magnets in the bullets controlling the phone? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Guys, I'm still rocking my Galaxy S2 i got in february 2011. Still runs perfect but a bit slow loading multiple pages. :p I've had my eye on the one plus five but held off when i heard the oneplus 6 was coming out. Depending on how much it is i'll get it.

The performance will probably blow me away. haha It says on their website from €519 so i supect there maybe more than one model?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭cython

Sciprio wrote: »
    Guys, I'm still rocking my Galaxy S2 i got in february 2011. Still runs perfect but a bit slow loading multiple pages. :p I've had my eye on the one plus five but held off when i heard the oneplus 6 was coming out. Depending on how much it is i'll get it.

The performance will probably blow me away. haha It says on their website from €519 so i supect there maybe more than one model?

5 different models listed so far (3 spec levels spread across different colours): https://www.oneplus.com/ie/oneplus-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭ldr

cython wrote: »
    5 different models listed so far (3 spec levels spread across different colours): https://www.oneplus.com/ie/oneplus-6
    Yeah, I just checked again. Seems decent considering i paid €500 for my S2 when they first came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,110 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I'd say a fecking Sloth would be faster than an S2 at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,642 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Not that I give a ****e about them or believe anything he said about the wireless bullets (I have a brilliant pair of Sony wireless over-ear ones), the magnetic on/off is a very cool idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,895 ✭✭✭lertsnim

TitianGerm wrote: »
    I'd say a fecking Sloth would be faster than an S2 at this stage.

I thought the S5 was slow :eek:

Also, just looked up CEX, they'll give 153e for a 3. Not sure where you saw 250e.

Sorry it was the 3T 128GB that was the €256. I missed the T in the description.

haha, Yeah, I never change stuff ever few months because something better comes out. My Galaxy S2 is still working perfectly but it does annoy at some times opening/closing an app then it freezes or takes a while to load a browser website so i'm pretty sure i'll be getting one of these except the one with 6GB ram as i want more. The one at €569 alight but a bit of thinking over the days might make me for €600+.

lertsnim wrote: »
    I thought the S5 was slow :eek:
    I still have the box and manuals with even the earphones still in packaging. :eek:

haha, Yeah, I never change stuff ever few months because something better comes out. My Galaxy S2 is still working perfectly but it does annoy at some times opening/closing an app then it freezes or takes a while to load a browser website so i'm pretty sure i'll be getting one of these except the one with 6GB ram as i want more. The one at €569 alight but a bit of thinking over the days might make me for €600+.

What version of Android is the S2 on? Most of your apps must be ancient versions.

https://imgur.com/a/5yocvOL

https://i.imgur.com/5QWXgpo.png :D
    Scroll down. There's two pictures there

https://imgur.com/a/5yocvOL

https://i.imgur.com/5QWXgpo.png :D
    Scroll down. There's two pictures there

Wow... That thing should be in a museum :pac:

I don't know whether to be impressed or appalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I still have my HTC Desire running Cyanogenmod, also have a Galaxy Nexus and Nexus 5.. my daily is an OG Pixel XL though 😉

I don't know whether to be impressed or appalled.
    Apart from the battery dying in less than a few hours it's grand. I do disable and turn off the internet when not in use to preserve what's left but other than that and slow speeds compared to newer phones loading. It's grand, working perfectly. And as said previously, Some newer apps can't be installed or some older ones upgraded apart from one or two news apps. :pac:

It's also my first and only smartphone before that it was a Nokia 6131 then a Nokia 3200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

It's also my first and only smartphone before that it was a Nokia 6131 then a Nokia 3200

The difference in the image on the screen alone is going to melt your face off my friend :D

https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=9109&idPhone2=3621

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭Roberto_gas

Gr8 pricing and specs...really tempted...s9+ or this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,108 ✭✭✭micks_address

Gr8 pricing and specs...really tempted...s9+ or this ?

If camera is important then Samsung will be much better

Have to say, I don't get the rationale for the dual cameras having the same focal lengths. OnePlus have been really selling the camera though so will see what the reviews say.

If camera is important then Samsung will be much better

You don't know that just yet. One Plus seem to have put a lot of work into the camera after the critisism last year. We will will have to wait on reviews.

It's exactly the same spec camera?

https://www.engadget.com/2018/05/16/oneplus-6-vs-oneplus-5t-5-comparison/

It couldn't be. The 5T had no OIS and the 6 does. As far as I'm aware OIS is a hardware tool and not software.

Edit: that link says the front camera is the same but the rear cameras are upgraded.

It couldn't be. The 5T had no OIS and the 6 does. As far as I'm aware OIS is a hardware tool and not software.

Edit: that link says the front camera is the same but the rear cameras are upgraded.

Dual cameras:
    Wide-angle, 16MP, f/1.7, 1.12μm pixel size;
    Telephoto, 20MP, f/1.7, 1.0μm pixel size

Dual cameras:
    Telephoto, 20MP, f/2.6, 1.0μm pixel size

5t on top versus 6 on bottom. Looks same spec?

Dual cameras:

The link says 1.22 um on the 6? Your specs are also not including the OIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Your specs are wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

LTT Video of the oneplus 6 being made.

They really do have an top notch QC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Dual cameras:

Doesn't matter they have the same MP, they are different sensors overall with the 6 having a bigger one.

The 5t Rear cam1: 16MP (Sony IMX 398) Rear cam2: 20MP (IMX 376k)

6 Rear cam1: 16MP (Sony IMX 519) Rear cam2: 20MP Sony (IMX 376K)

Only the secondary cam looks to be the same, and even then it could be different software wise.

Also the OP6 has 1.22μm pixels, not 1.12 as your post suggests on the main cam. The main cam is indeed, an upgrade :)

Doesn't matter they have the same MP, they are different sensors overall with the 6 having a bigger one.

The 5t Rear cam1: 16MP (Sony IMX 398) Rear cam2: 20MP (IMX 376k)

6 Rear cam1: 16MP (Sony IMX 519) Rear cam2: 20MP Sony (IMX 376K)

Only the secondary cam looks to be the same, and even then it could be different software wise.

Also the OP6 has 1.22μm pixels, not 1.12 as your post suggests on the main cam. The main cam is indeed, an upgrade :)

Blame Engadget :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

marcbrophy wrote: »
    The difference in the image on the screen alone is going to melt your face off my friend :D

https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=9109&idPhone2=3621
    Pretty much anything nowadays is an upgrade for me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

So the Oneplus 6T - Wireless charging, better screen, Fingerprint scanner under screen (considering parent company oppo has in one of their models). What else??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,186 ✭✭✭✭listermint

coldfire1x wrote: »
    So the Oneplus 6T - Wireless charging, better screen, Fingerprint scanner under screen (considering parent company oppo has in one of their models). What else??

And the one plus 7

Sure you'd never buy anything if you only looked into the not yet materialized future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

We will know once Apple / Samsung start the next trend for others to copy. Thats for next year though.

6T will only be few months away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,186 ✭✭✭✭listermint

coldfire1x wrote: »
    We will know once Apple / Samsung start the next trend for others to copy. Thats for next year though.

6T will only be few months away.

Goodnight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Big chin for something that has no use? What is that all about?

If the T model comes out with under screen fingerprint reader and the chin gone then I'm in

fritzelly wrote:
    Big chin for something that has no use? What is that all about?

fritzelly wrote:
    If the T model comes out with under screen fingerprint reader and the chin gone then I'm in

They need to bend screen inwards to remove chin...apple has the patent for it....so doubt it will happen anytime soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

I'd love it if they went back to the look of the OnePlus One. They was such a different and refreshing looking phone for it's time and I think would still work well today with the minimum of changes. wish I never sold mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

I'll probably buy those earphones if they are any good!
    Would that design lend to audio bleeding? I don't want my office neighbours being interrupted by my noise :)

EDIT: Nevermind, some of the best features only work with OnePlus phones! Should have suspected that :)

Anyone purchased one? If so which variant?

I purchased the mirror black

ldr wrote: »
    Anyone purchased one? If so which variant?

I purchased the mirror black

Thought they weren't available for 5 days?

Amazon have them on pre order
    Amazon fr and de

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Amazon fr and de

Probably cheaper and you'll get it quicker direct from OP

Amazon fr and de

I think I'd prefer go with One Plus for this.

They've been excellent to deal with in the past and you can use a referral link to get a discount on accessories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

And I thought I was doing well keeping my S3 on the go :) But only as my podcast/music device for jogging mind you. Main phone is an LG G4 which does what I need, especially like the the camera performance. Will be interested to see the reviews of the OP6 to see if this is the shiney new device that makes me open the wallet.

Lads a separate referral thread ?

And the ordering/delivery/receipt of delivery nonsense that always plagues the OnePlus threads please.

"Ordered! Wish I had it sooner!"

"Don't worry man, you'll have it soon"

"Thanks bro, can't wait!"

"Mine is shipping!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

I can post up a referral code from me from oneplus.com (Get 20€ off on accessories and gear when you purchase a OnePlus smartphone), not sure if its on Boards policy or not (admins can you confirm or do you want a separate thread)

not familar with these codes, is this a once off code just for one person to use or can everyone(except me) use it?