Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish woman gang raped by 6 men in Czech hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

professore wrote: »
    If we go down that road we should also regulate women's behaviour and what they wear. Some women dress like pornstars. Should we make them wear burkas?

Huh? You don't see any difference between violent porn and women's clothes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Huh? You don't see any difference between violent porn and women's clothes?

Should we ban 50 shades too? Most men I know don't like violent porn - it's actually women who prefer it. If men liked it they would have been beating down the doors to watch 50 shades.

A quarter of straight porn searches by women are for videos featuring violence against their own sex. Five percent of searches by women are for content portraying nonconsensual sex. While men still search for significantly more porn than women, search rates for these more extreme types of sexual content are at least twice as common among women than men.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.vice.com/amp/en_au/article/bm9w7v/why-are-so-many-women-searching-for-ultra-violent-porn

The height of sexual abuse in Ireland happened in an era where all porn was banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

No one is saying ban all Muslims. I am saying they should have to follow our social norms if they want to live here, and the vast majority do.

They certainly shouldn't be given a free pass to act like savages because its their "culture". Same thing goes for rugby players or anyone really.

You mean we should judge individual people for their actions and behaviours?

Now there's a novel idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Should we ban 50 shades too? Most men I know don't like violent porn - it's actually women who prefer it. If men liked it they would have been beating down the doors to watch 50 shades.

Right. So now it's (poor written) erotic literature and women's clothes that are the same as violent porn?

Not really sure how this is a response to 'maybe violent porn should be regulated'. But you know, feel free to continue banging on about how women dress, mulims and ****e books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Somebody else mentioned coverups in relation to reporting. Let me ask you this, how many rapes in Ireland are reported in the news? The reality is it's simply not a standard thing to report on rapes. When a story on rape appears in the media, particularly national media, it's an exception. Is there a particular reason for you to be more concerned about the reporting on immigrants committing sexual assault than the much more prevalent issue of nationals doing it?

Good post.

I'm doubtful you'll get a reply though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I really can't see the attraction of trolling, especially on such an emotive subject.

My post is a legitimate comment and I stand by it 100%..
    It's my personal view, an observation that I've been on the receiving end of by 'boastful' parent/parents on numerous occasions throughout the years.
    It would be my first foremost thought as they inform me of their daughters travels.
    It's just the way I process information, I get similar thoughts when I see journalists heading of to war-torn Countries, and that's bearing in mind such travels would be first and foremost logistically scrutinised with guides and security in place....

not a troll at-all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭irishrebe

irishrebe wrote: »
    I often stay in hostel dorms when I travel and sometimes there are men in them. Am I and all the other women who do the same putting ourselves in danger for not assuming every man is a potential rapist? .

IMHO Yes.

Ive been travelling alone and staying in hostels for 30 years on  and off.

I would never stay in a mixed dorm if i was on my own or even travelling with only one other woman.   Countries where i have applied this policy include Australia, fiji, Ireland and many more.

The vast majority of men aren't rapists.  But all it takes is one who has lowered inhibitions due to alcohol.  Id rather take basic precautions to avoid the situation.
    Right, so basically we ARE to assume that all men are potential rapists. That's what you're saying. You've just reworded it to sound less sinister. It's just funny to me, reading through the thread, that the very same men who agree that it's irresponsible for a woman to stay in a hostel dorm where there might be men are those same men who ALSO accuse women of being hysterical liars for recounting experiences of sexual assault and harassment (because according to them, it just doesn't happen) and for treating all men as a threat. Some impressive mental gymnastics there. Really impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Right, so basically we ARE to assume that all men are potential rapists. That's what you're saying. You've just reworded it to sound less sinister. It's just funny to me, reading through the thread, that the very same men who agree that it's irresponsible for a woman to stay in a hostel dorm where there might be men are those same men who ALSO accuse women of being hysterical liars for recounting experiences of sexual assault and harassment (because according to them, it just doesn't happen) and for treating all men as a threat. Some impressive mental gymnastics there. Really impressive.

Women can't win. If we take precautions we are assuming all men are rapists, if we take men at face value we are being irresponsible.

Personally I cross the street at night if there is a man behind me, it's automatic at this stage because it's been drummed into me to mind myself. Am I guilty of judging all men now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Right, so basically we ARE to assume that all men are potential rapists. That's what you're saying. You've just reworded it to sound less sinister.

Well if it's a man completely unknown to you then how are you supposed to know if they are a potential rapist or not? Anything is possible so if someone wants to take reasonable precautions then whats the problem. How the hell is it "sinister"?

I stayed in a shared dorm once and woke up to a strange man sitting on my bed staring at me. I wasn't travelling alone but if it was I would have felt totally vulnerable in that situation. Good for you if you don't. I wouldn't say it was "irresponsible" if you feel you can handle yourself in such a situation but why the need to try and guilt others for the way they feel?

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Right, so basically we ARE to assume that all men are potential rapists. That's what you're saying. You've just reworded it to sound less sinister.

Well if it's a man completely unknown to you then how are you supposed to know if they are a potential rapist or not? Anything is possible so if someone wants to take reasonable precautions then whats the problem. How the hell is it "sinister"?

I stayed in a shared dorm once and woke up to a strange man sitting on my bed staring at me.  I wasn't travelling alone but if it was I would have felt totally vulnerable in that situation. Good for you if you don't. I wouldn't say it was "irresponsible" if you feel you can handle yourself in such a situation  but why the need to try  and guilt others for the way they feel?
    Again, you are saying all men are potential rapists, and unless we know them 'well enough' (nobody has defined yet how well you need to know someone to be sure they won't rape you) then we need to be afraid. I'm not disagreeing. Just find the lack of logic here hilarious. If we assume men are dangerous predators by default and watch our back at all times, we're sexist, hysterical snowflakes with a victim complex. If we assume the best of men, we're idiots who deserve to be raped. I'm well aware, having been female my entire life, that this is the general line of thought. That you can never, ever do the 'right' thing and it will always somehow be your fault. It's just funny seeing people go round in circles trying to justify it.

eviltwin wrote: »

Women can't win. If we take precautions we are assuming all men are rapists, if we take men at face value we are being irresponsible.

Personally I cross the street at night if there is a man behind me, it's automatic at this stage because it's been drummed into me to mind myself. Am I guilty of judging all men now?
    As I said, the same idiots who start all the 'but not all men...' crap would be the very first to tell you it was your fault for not crossing the street, or even for being out at night at all. They just flip their argument as needed to blame women for a) having a victim complex or b) actually being victims.

No one is blaming women. All we are saying is don't go back to a stranger's house when drunk, because let's face it, you wouldn't do that while sober, would you?
    Or stay in a hostel where there are men, completely sober. Or get drunk at all when travelling. Etc. Etc. Etc. You know, all the stuff men do that is known as 'having a good time'. Because I was born with a vagina instead of a penis, I'm not allowed to do any of that without being blamed for anything that might happen.

To be fair anyone, man or woman, is taking a risk going back to a stranger's house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

If a man got drunk and went back to a strangers gaf he could also easily be raped. Having a penis instead of a vagina does not prevent rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm not allowed to do any of that without being blamed for anything that might happen.

There are lots of perfectly permissible things in this world which are also perfectly stupid.

I always remember my dad's advice to all of us when we were kids was "don't become a statistic".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

This is the kind of stuff that modern feminism has gotten badly wrong in my humble opinion - you shouldn't do those things, not because you'll get blamed, but because you will be potentially putting yourself at the mercy of bad people - that's not your fault, or men in generals fault, but it is reality. Unfortunately accepting reality is unfashionable of late.

Gravelly wrote: »
    This is the kind of stuff that modern feminism has gotten badly wrong in my humble opinion - you shouldn't do those things, not because you'll get blamed, but because you will be potentially putting yourself at the mercy of bad people - that's not your fault, or men in generals fault, but it is reality. Unfortunately accepting reality is unfashionable of late.

I don't think it's just women who are at risk in those situations. Anyone by themselves getting drunk is being irresponsible, get drunk but realise if you are alone you are especially vulnerable. Doesn't matter if you are a man or a woman. I'd be equally concerned about my son doing that as my daughter.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I don't think it's just women who are at risk in those situations. Anyone by themselves getting drunk is being irresponsible, get drunk but realise if you are alone you are especially vulnerable. Doesn't matter if you are a man or a woman. I'd be equally concerned about my son doing that as my daughter.

It's usually when it comes to strangers' sons and daughters is where the ideology and hypocrisy sets in. I don't think the overwhelming majority of people would do anything but support precautionary actions of any kind (bar hysterics). I wouldn't blame any woman for crossing the road if 6'4" me is walking behind them on a dark street. There is a big difference between what the idealogues do and what they would have you do.

Gravelly wrote: »

I'm not saying don't be careful. I'm saying that you can't simultaneously deny women's accounts of harassment/assault and deny that women are more likely than men to be assaulted, and then tell women they need to take extra precautions because they're women. You can't have it both ways.

I could never understand the 'people with money psych' of yawww 'Imelda' is taking a year out to go backpacking/ travelling across STRANGE COUNTRIES around the World..
    All funded by Daddy/Mammy.
    And you think that's cool/ok?????
    Most normal parents would be concerned about their daughters heading into the local town for an evening!?
    Never met an 'Imelda' who would have a rich mammy and daddy who paid for them to travel the world.

cantdecide wrote: »
    I'm not allowed to do any of that without being blamed for anything that might happen.

There are lots of perfectly permissible things in this world which are also perfectly stupid.

I always remember my dad's advice to all of us when we were kids was "don't become a statistic".
    So where do we draw the line between what is stupid and what is just trying to enjoy your life? I don't think many people would call a man stupid for having a few drinks on a night out on holidays or staying in a hostel.

deny that women are more likely than men to be assaulted,

Do you mean ordinary assault? Because it's the lads are more likely to be assaulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Admin note - could posters please stop engaging with the re-reg trollls who come crawling out whenever this type of topic appears? They’re easy to spot, and please report them. It’s honestly tedious to have to clean up their drivel, and the responses to it.

dudara

So where do we draw the line between what is stupid and what is just trying to enjoy your life? I don't think many people would call a man stupid for having a few drinks on a night out on holidays or staying in a hostel.

No one would call a woman stupid for a few drinks. Take off the gender glasses.

pjohnson wrote: »

No one would call a woman stupid for a few drinks. Take off the gender glasses.
    There are people on this thread saying women shouldn't get drunk or stay in hostel dorms. If you're trying to tell me a man would get the same advice, you're deluded. Men can travel the world, sleep in couchettes on night trains, go drinking with random people, stay in dorms, all grand, all just having a good time. A woman doing the same is seen as taking huge risks and putting herself in danger. And then at the same time criticised for assuming the worst of men.

Riiiight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Also porn needs to be regulated. Violent and degrading porn of women is a huge factor in women not being respected.

Just like violent video games are a huge factor in mass shootings. Get a grip.

There are people on this thread saying women shouldn't get drunk or stay in hostel dorms. If you're trying to tell me a man would get the same advice, you're deluded. Men can travel the world, sleep in couchettes on night trains, go drinking with random people, stay in dorms, all grand, all just having a good time. A woman doing the same is seen as taking huge risks and putting herself in danger. And then at the same time criticised for assuming the worst of men.

Riiiight.

Apparently gender glasses are built in.

Well ideally men shouldn't do that either. Its not safe. I sure hope you wouldn't instill such recklessness into a son of yours. These men you keep harping about ARE being reckless and endangering themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Riiiight.

You do realise that men are more likely to be the victim of a violent crime?

So of course I would warn both a man or woman about getting drunk while on their own/with strangers in an unknown area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Well ideally men shouldn't do that either. Its not safe. I sure hope you wouldn't instill such recklessness into a son of yours. These men you keep harping about ARE being reckless and endangering themselves.

There's a big difference about what parents tell their children not to do and what should be given as sound advice re safety.

I witnessed an assault a few years back from a reasonable distance. I called the police and they came. Once the police arrived I went into my apartment.

So society would probably tell me I did the right thing and also the safe thing. Maybe some people would think the right thing to do would be to intervene but the safest compromise was to not intervene but to do my social duty of reporting it.

I mentioned it to my parents and they started quizzing me on "did the guy see you" "did he see you going back into the apartment" "what if he comes after you" as if he was a mob kingpin who would disappear me so I couldn't testify against him. Really paranoid reactions.

That's what parents are like (generally) and the argument "would you advise your child to go back to a hostel/house party" etc. Doesn't have any bearing on whether it's actually all that risky to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,590 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

So of course I would warn both a man or woman about getting drunk while on their own/with strangers in an unknown area.

So why don't we see anything but sympathy for the victims of drunken physical assaults? There's been a few famous cases of assaults in dublin city centre over the years, some with horrific consequences. I don't think I've ever seen anyone say "what was he thinking going out in dublin city centre and drinking". Have you ever gone drinking in a city centre yourself? Got separated from friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gw80

givyjoe wrote: »
    Just like violent video games are a huge factor in mass shootings. Get a grip.

I think there might be somthing in that statement,
    This is just my opinion but with the huge amount of free accessible porn that is on the internet being beemed into sexually repressed third world countries, it giving some people the wrong impression of western women, as there is a lot of ordinary looking western women in porn.
    Its must be giving some of these people a very scewed impression, that all western women are easy or promiscuous, and i genuinely believe its is a factor in a lot of these sexual assaults commited by recent migrants.

Riiiight.

I'd say there's quite a bit more danger for a man in going to town in Ireland on a Saturday night than doing any of the above.

LLMMLL wrote: »

So why don't we see anything but sympathy for the victims of drunken physical assaults? There's been a few famous cases of assaults in dublin city centre over the years, some with horrific consequences. I don't think I've ever seen anyone say "what was he thinking going out in dublin city centre and drinking". Have you ever gone drinking in a city centre yourself? Got separated from friends?
    Exactly. I remember reading stories of men being randomly attacked in Dublin (killed, in some cases) and I don't remember ONE person asking what they were doing walking alone at night. Not one. They were (rightly) seen as unfortunate victims of bad luck. Attacked while just walking home after enjoying spending time with friends. Nobody was asking why they didn't get a taxi, what were they wearing, why were they out at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

And I suppose they think pizza delivery guys always get sex upon delivery of food too right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

The song "Hook in mouth" by megadeth comes to mind when I look at this thread.

"This song is about censorship,This song Is hook in mouth"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Riiiight.

Likewise I would give exactly that advice to men as well as women. Of course not all men are rapists but, in my experience in areas busy with young people travelling there is ALWAYS someone looking to take advantage and being assaulted for your money and gear can be almost as bad. If you got taken advantage of in the wrong part of the world you could genuinely wake up minus a kidney.

It'd be super to be able to breeze around the world solo without danger , but thats totally unrealistic, so why shouldnt everyone limit the risks to themselves whenever possible...?

Exactly. I remember reading stories of men being randomly attacked in Dublin (killed, in some cases) and I don't remember ONE person asking what they were doing walking alone at night. Not one. They were (rightly) seen as unfortunate victims of bad luck. Attacked while just walking home after enjoying spending time with friends. Nobody was asking why they didn't get a taxi, what were they wearing, why were they out at all.

What has that got to do with anything? In question here is meeting a stranger in a nightclub and going back to their bedroom on your own in a foreign country. Male or female this is a BAD idea. Not walking down a street and getting attacked. Two very different scenarios. The latter is just bad luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

What has that got to do with anything? In question here is meeting a stranger in a nightclub and going back to their bedroom on your own in a foreign country. Male or female this is a BAD idea. Not walking down a street and getting attacked. Two very different scenarios. The latter is just bad luck.

Why is it a bad idea????

This happens all over the world every night of the week.This is how many people came to exist!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

This is a quandry for the resident racist mysoginists that infest this site.

Wow thats the 1st thing that came to your mind ?

I'm curious what's your opinion on the Belfast rape trial ?
    Scumbags that were guilty that got away with it yeah ???

I got attacked by 3 guys in Dublin many years ago. Looking back I was tremendously naive and could have easily avoided it had I been more streetwise. Am I victim blaming myself?

What has that got to do with anything? In question here is meeting a stranger in a nightclub and going back to their bedroom on your own in a foreign country. Male or female this is a BAD idea.  Not walking down a street and getting attacked. Two very different scenarios. The latter is just bad luck.
    Because there are plenty of posters stating that women shouldn't walk alone at night, especially after drinking. Any time a woman does so and is raped or attacked, there's a load of people asking what she was doing walking alone and questioning her choice of attire. When a man does so and is attacked, people say how awful it is and what bad luck. People don't question his right to have been doing what he was doing, or imply he was an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Haven't you heard? Sharia law is widespread across Europe, the hordes are on our doorstep, they must be stopped.

pathetic

Because there are plenty of posters stating that women shouldn't walk alone at night, especially after drinking. Any time a woman does so and is raped or attacked, there's a load of people asking what she was doing walking alone and questioning her choice of attire. When a man does so and is attacked, people say how awful it is and what bad luck. People don't question his right to have been doing what he was doing, or imply he was an idiot.

Men and women face different dangers. A man generally is far less likely to be raped in this situation for many reasons, mainly biological. Therefore women should take different precautions than men.

This really feels like mansplaining but it's clearly necessary.

And of course there are lots of judgemental idiots out there too.

That sounds like a completely made up statement. It may not be but it sounds makeupable, unproveable statement.

Who are you talking about as being in a position to comment or not comment? Online posters? Newsreaders? What attacks are you talking about?

magentis wrote: »
    What has that got to do with anything? In question here is meeting a stranger in a nightclub and going back to their bedroom on your own in a foreign country. Male or female this is a BAD idea.  Not walking down a street and getting attacked. Two very different scenarios. The latter is just bad luck.

Why is it a bad idea????

This happens all over the world every night of the week.This is how many of us came to exist!!!!!

Did you not see the snapper?
    I'm wondering if some of the posters here still live in their parents' basement. Afraid to go to 'foreign' places in case they get a kidney stolen or their bank account emptied by some Latvian temptress in a bar. Like, I'm not saying people should throw caution to the wind, but Jesus, you need to live your life. Taking reasonable precautions and having some cop on is fine in most cases. I know people whose parents brought them up to be afraid of their own shadow and it hasn't done them any good. In fact, they're the most vulnerable, because they haven't learned any independence or life skills.

cantdecide wrote: »

That sounds like a completely made up statement. It may not be but it sounds makeupable, unproveable statement.

Who are you talking about as being in a position to comment or not comment? What attacks are you talking about?
    Of course it's unprovable. I don't copy and paste every single comment of every single article I ever read. I remember one case of a journalist (?) who was attacked and killed walking in South Dublin city centre. Read quite a bit about it on forums, newspapers online and heard people talking about it in real life. Don't remember anyone questioning why he was walking alone at night.

Men and women face different dangers. A man generally is far less likely to be raped in this situation for many reasons, mainly biological. Therefore women should take different precautions than men.

Talk about missing the point. I'm not talking about the type of attack. I'm saying that generally when these things happen to men, the reaction is shock and sympathy for the victim. Not blaming them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Mutant z wrote: »
    The followers of the religion of peace treat these women like pieces of meat its best for European women to not get romantically involved with them.

Or people who work for the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Appledreams15

Talk about missing the point. I'm not talking about the type of attack. I'm saying that generally when these things happen to men, the reaction is shock and sympathy for the victim. Not blaming them.
    when teenage boys said they were raped by priests, I don't remember anyone saying they should have been more careful, and not been alone with an older man.

Women are not respected worldwide, period. Therefore everything is the woman's fault, not the person that rapes her.

The question is: how do we change generations of misogyny, and get the majority of men to respect women? It is hard to change something that has existed for so long.

How many rapes have to happen, before countries start to put better protections into place