Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J1 in Boston

• 09-04-2018 10:52am
    Registered Users Posts: 10

Going on a j1 to Boston (Dorchester area) is where we're going and just wondering how much accommodation is there and any good, gaa(football)clubs there

• Registered Users Posts: 4 goonbag

Accomodation in Boston is expensive. You're looking at 800+ dollars per month for a room (thats the very minimum) so I would advise getting a few lads together and sharing a room if ye are just going for the summer. That way ye will have more money to spend on having the craic and enjoying yerselves. Also, most landlords want the first and last months rent up front, as well as a security deposit, which is usually one months rent as well. So basically you could be looking at 3 months rent upfront. Just be aware of that and have the cash!

Can't comment on the GAA, never played over there but Boston is very Irish, especially Dorchester, so you will definitely find something. Best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Farmer cork

Thanks very much from what I hear parts of Dorchester is very rough is that true?do many students/j1s go to Dorchester and south Boston

• Registered Users Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Thanks very much from what I hear parts of Dorchester is very rough is that true?do many students/j1s go to Dorchester and south Boston

Dorchester is s big area, and parts of it are rough.

On a map anything to the west of Dorchester Ave between Andrew Sq and Ashmont station are really no go areas.

Anything to the east is decent enough, and gets better the further south you go towards Quincy.

With reagrds to the GAA, games are played in The Irish Cultural Center in Canton, about 30 mins south of Boston, but teams are primarily based around Dorchester, South Boston and Brighton.

Check out http://gaaboston.com

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Farmer cork

Dorchester is s big area, and parts of it are rough.

On a map anything to the west of Dorchester Ave between Andrew Sq and Ashmont station are really no go areas.

Anything to the east is decent enough, and gets better the further south you go towards Quincy.

With reagrds to the GAA, games are played in The Irish Cultural Center in Canton, about 30 mins south of Boston, but teams are primarily based around Dorchester, South Boston and Brighton.

Check out http://gaaboston.com

We're going to adamsvillage near Quincy,anyone know what that's like

• Registered Users Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

We're going to adamsvillage near Quincy,anyone know what that's like

Nice area, it's in Dorchester but very much the good side of Dorchester. There are a few shops and a pub or two and a few places to eat around there. It's a fair juant to a subbway station (T station) but there are feeder buses.