Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018 Mod warning post 9350 and 9421

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

There’s the possibility of Lovren pelting the ball against his face 3 times though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Turtyturd wrote: »
    More nervous at the horrible thought of Villa being back in the Premier League.

Nah..bring it on. We always give the Villains a roasting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Had about 8 pints last night so that helped with knocking me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

fyfe79 wrote: »
    A bit lousy on non-Pool fans, no?

Liverpool have confirmed that Salah isn't fasting for 3 days (Thursday, Friday, today), so he'll be grand. He'll be adding those 3 days at the end of Ramadan.

Are you 100% on this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

More nervous at the horrible thought of Villa being back in the Premier League.

FFS man...

You need help, if you're thinking of Villa on a day like today.

I'm guessing its one for the list... but still.

not yet wrote: »
    60 Cigs in: Check

Blood pressure monitor powered up: Check

Bottle of strong whiskey: Check

Big boy pants on: Check

Neighbours warned: Check

1984 LFC shirt washed and ready: check (3 sizes to small)

Lemon and honey for hoarse throat: Check

Viagra on stand by if we win: Check..

That time again..

I'm putting 80 Euro on 17-17 next goal the winner..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Stomach is turning. 7.45 can't come sooner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

We got a match today?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

We got a match today?

Apparently Villa are trying to get back into the Premier League!!

couldn't be arsed myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Sofa Spud wrote: »
    This was when my best mate, also a fan since the mid 70's, got sick and began to shut himself off from friends as he didn't want to talk about it. I was able to get through to him by texting updates from matches (he could never get streaming to work) and that's when I became a long time lurker on this thread so I had links to send him or could pick up other peoples better informed opinions to have something to talk about and sound a lot more knowledgeable about the game and the team than I really was - thanks! Favourite memory of the 13/14 season was the 5-1 against Arsenal - was texting the scores and couldn't keep up (3 goals in 10 mins, no?) so I called, wondering if he'd pick up and when I told him it was now 4-0, I heard him heartily laugh for the first time in a while...

The last text I sent that he was able to pick up was when we secured CL last year. Today I'm heading to Dublin to meet up with the old gang to remember him in on his first anniversary - mad how it feels like yesterday since we sat in McSorleys skulling pints watching the 2005 final, thinking this is a game we'll never forget. It's funny, the week after the funeral I thought about how the 26th would be a Saturday this year and checked to see if the final would be today and then laughed and said, go on bud, pull some strings. So he we are, to say that whatever happens tonight will be emotional is a complete understatement. Every time I watch the team now it always more than 11 blokes in Red or florescent orange kicking a ball around, tonight doubly so... Love this team, and thinking about what Klopp said in his very first presser - I believe!

YNWA - wherever and with whoever you're watching the match tonight, enjoy!

If today wasn't emotional enough.

I don't really have any words for that, but thanks for sharing man. Genuinely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

On the bowl 3 times already this morning. Can't handle this.

I've 5 euro worth of bets down.

Liverpool to win 3-2 -> €2 @ 20/1.
    Mane first scorer and Liverpool win -> €2 @ 12/1.
    Salah first scorer -> €1 @ 5/2.

I can't be bothered to bet on Real to win to help ease the pain if we lose tbh.

Was half thinking of going with Trent for that last euro bet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Well, gave up trying to get back to sleep after being woken up at 6am - mad to think 12 hrs from know we'll be half way through the game. Too sleep deprived to know how I feel, somewhere between grumpy, jittery, apprehensive and whatever the opposite to relief is.

No idea how it's gonna work out 'cos the pessimist (an optimist with experience) in me wants to believe and my gut is that this team will leave nothing, NOTHING, on the pitch except the sweat of total commitment.

Whatever happens, proud of this team, proud of what they've achieved with what they have and already looking forward to next season. But first, there's a game that could define this team for the coming years.

Followed this team for 40yrs this month, took the success of the late 70's and 80's for granted - my birthday is mid-May and it felt like my birthday parties always had rice crispie cakes and Liverpool in the FA Cup final on the telly. Luckily lived in Germany for the Souness years and lost my connection to the team - became more of an ABU as the Ferguson years took hold, came back when Houlier began to win trophies, liked Rafa and was back on board by 2005 and then lived through the false dawns and then the utter frustration of Woy.

Thought we'd hired David Brent after watching Being:Liverpool (remember the protrait Rodgers had of himself in his house and the 3 envelopes sh!te?) but figured he seems to know what he's up to. As I discovered water based viewing options online in the 12/13 season I was able to never miss a match. This was when my best mate, also a fan since the mid 70's, got sick and began to shut himself off from friends as he didn't want to talk about it. I was able to get through to him by texting updates from matches (he could never get streaming to work) and that's when I became a long time lurker on this thread so I had links to send him or could pick up other peoples better informed opinions to have something to talk about and sound a lot more knowledgeable about the game and the team than I really was - thanks! Favourite memory of the 13/14 season was the 5-1 against Arsenal - was texting the scores and couldn't keep up (3 goals in 10 mins, no?) so I called, wondering if he'd pick up and when I told him it was now 4-0, I heard him heartily laugh for the first time in a while...

The last text I sent that he was able to pick up was when we secured CL last year. Today I'm heading to Dublin to meet up with the old gang to remember him in on his first anniversary - mad how it feels like yesterday since we sat in McSorleys skulling pints watching the 2005 final, thinking this is a game we'll never forget. It's funny, the week after the funeral I thought about how the 26th would be a Saturday this year and checked to see if the final would be today and then laughed and said, go on bud, pull some strings. So he we are, to say that whatever happens tonight will be emotional is a complete understatement. Every time I watch the team now it always more than 11 blokes in Red or florescent orange kicking a ball around, tonight doubly so... Love this team, and thinking about what Klopp said in his very first presser - I believe!

Don't think I've ever been as moved by a post as I was by this. Hope yourself and your pals have a great night.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

A bit off topic but a great result in the referendum. I'll watching the counting and following it online to pass the time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

A bit off topic but a great result in the referendum. I'll watching the counting and following it online to pass the time now.

Are you teaching Fekir English by any chance?

That time again..

Your neighbour hopefully getting more action tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The day is finally here nervous,excited and smiling like a mad man ! Roll on quarter to 8 and let the game begin.

One thing that has stuck in my mind is that my late father always said to stick with a team during the barren years like you have it will always mean alot more when they win a trophy. He couldnt have been anymore right, i really hope its number 6 that is won tonight.

Are you teaching Fekir English by any chance?

Nah, my students are mostly those who want to be English teachers these days at university. A couple of former footballers but they would be from the 4th or 5th divisions of the German leagues and decided that teaching would be a better option for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Suppose I better pack my bag, woke up at 7, couldn't get back asleep and had a peddler and slept til 11, went up to Post Office for sterling, and now I just need to have a shower, shîte and a shave and I'm off to Liverpool later on to watch it....

Getting fairly real now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

Quick question...

I'm watching the match at a friend's house, but plan to record it to watch it again. What stations are showing it, and which would be the best one to record in terms of good coverage, especially after the final whistle if we win?

Thanks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Are you 100% on this..

Apparently in the Echo they spoke to Liverpool's nutritionist who said "Tomorrow and the day of the match he won't, so it's not going to affect him."

So it's Friday and Saturday (not Thursday, oops), if the Echo are to be believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭BrookieD

Well, gave up trying to get back to sleep after being woken up at 6am - mad to think 12 hrs from know we'll be half way through the game. Too sleep deprived to know how I feel, somewhere between grumpy, jittery, apprehensive and whatever the opposite to relief is.

No idea how it's gonna work out 'cos the pessimist (an optimist with experience) in me wants to believe and my gut is that this team will leave nothing, NOTHING, on the pitch except the sweat of total commitment.

Whatever happens, proud of this team, proud of what they've achieved with what they have and already looking forward to next season. But first, there's a game that could define this team for the coming years.

Followed this team for 40yrs this month, took the success of the late 70's and 80's for granted - my birthday is mid-May and it felt like my birthday parties always had rice crispie cakes and Liverpool in the FA Cup final on the telly. Luckily lived in Germany for the Souness years and lost my connection to the team - became more of an ABU as the Ferguson years took hold, came back when Houlier began to win trophies, liked Rafa and was back on board by 2005 and then lived through the false dawns and then the utter frustration of Woy.

Thought we'd hired David Brent after watching Being:Liverpool (remember the protrait Rodgers had of himself in his house and the 3 envelopes sh!te?) but figured he seems to know what he's up to. As I discovered water based viewing options online in the 12/13 season I was able to never miss a match. This was when my best mate, also a fan since the mid 70's, got sick and began to shut himself off from friends as he didn't want to talk about it. I was able to get through to him by texting updates from matches (he could never get streaming to work) and that's when I became a long time lurker on this thread so I had links to send him or could pick up other peoples better informed opinions to have something to talk about and sound a lot more knowledgeable about the game and the team than I really was - thanks! Favourite memory of the 13/14 season was the 5-1 against Arsenal - was texting the scores and couldn't keep up (3 goals in 10 mins, no?) so I called, wondering if he'd pick up and when I told him it was now 4-0, I heard him heartily laugh for the first time in a while...

I am a wreck today - thinking about family now gone that loved Liverpool as much as i do today, thinking about how they would be so proud of the boys effort this season and the style in which we play and to pull on a red jersey and support the boys tonight. Was just holding it together until i read the above.

Lets hope they are all up there pulling a few strings to bring big ears back home for a 6th time. Now there is dust in my eyes so please excuse me.... COME ON THE 'POOL > YNWA

I remember once watching a porno where the lad was giving it hammer and thongs to a lass from behind, when unexpectedly, he announced in a thick German accent, "Das is da Champions League!".

That's what I keep thinking of this morning.

Knex. wrote: »
    I remember once watching a porno where the lad was giving it hammer and thongs to a lass from behind, when unexpectedly, he announced in a thick German accent, "Das is da Champions League!".

Haha spat up my coffee reading this. Glad I didn't have my LFC t-shirt on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Reports of 5 metro stations closed in Kiev due to bomb alerts. Hope it’s just a false alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

murpho999 wrote: »
    Reports of 5 metro stations closed in Kiev due to bomb alerts. Hope it’s just a false alarm.

Hopefully police just overheard fans saying "boom" and over reacted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

jasonb wrote: »
    Quick question...

I'm watching the match at a friend's house, but plan to record it to watch it again. What stations are showing it, and which would be the best one to record in terms of good coverage, especially after the final whistle if we win?

Thanks...

I just googled that for you. Was very difficult.

It’s on RTÉ 2 and BT Sport.

As for what’s best a matter of opinion.
    Both have pros and cons.

Disgrace that Kiev got the final, nothing has gone right for LFC fans trying to get there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Got a serious craving for some breaded garlic filled chicken for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭DenMan

Just popped in from the Arsenal thread to wish you the best of luck tonight guys. I've a brother, whose a Liverpool supporter in China whose getting up to watch it. Good luck Liverpool. :)

I've a new book coming out tomorrow..

The joy of six

How many bales did you get out of it ?

I don't really understand this but I'm guessing It's a country thing:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

jasonb wrote: »
    Quick question...

Thanks...

RTE 2 and BT Sport 1 (or whatever it's called), also on youtube so it'll certainly be available for downloads quickly.

Got a serious craving for some breaded garlic filled chicken for some reason.
    DenMan wrote: »
    Just popped in from the Arsenal thread to wish you the best of luck tonight guys. I've a brother, whose a Liverpool supporter in China whose getting up to watch it. Good luck Liverpool. :)

For some reason, these two posts made me think....

Do the Chinese have proper chicken curry?

Knex. wrote: »

Are you related to Toby?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

RTE 2 and BT Sport 1 (or whatever it's called), also on youtube so it'll certainly be available for downloads quickly.

It's always BT Sport 2 for CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Charlie19 wrote: »
    I don't really understand this but I'm guessing It's a country thing:D

you said you might cut the neighbours grass,obviously its not that your neighbour has a hundred acres ready to be cut for silage but i was imagining that

33619945_636948046639079_2823189794455027712_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=515a4e34bd4ca053f53776a7db5330a8&oe=5B79F110

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Excitement building.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Enjoying the take of the neutrals for a variety of reasons.

Mate of mine is a massive Villa fan, so heading in to catch that game before the real final (double entendre intended).

Dourness of that will probably dampen my nerves and excitement sufficiently.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Hard to believe this day is here. It’s been a tough decade to be a Liverpool fan. So many false dawns and times when we were so so close and lots of times that were just pure depressing.

I was amazed and delighted when we signed Klopp up. Always liked him but I’m frankly in awe of him now to be honest and how he has turned this team into what it is and I have zero doubts not a single other manager in the world could have done what he has done with this team. We still have a ways to go to win the league but Klopp is the right man for us both on a personal and professional front. No matter what happens tonight I’m excited for the next few years.

Real Madrid V Liverpool in the European cup final. That just keeps going round my head. Enjoy it lads and see you on the other side.

murpho999 wrote: »
    I just googled that for you. Was very difficult.

It’s on RTÉ 2 and BT Sport.

As for what’s best a matter of opinion.
    Both have pros and cons.
    5starpool wrote: »
    It's always BT Sport 2 for CL.

Thanks lads, my Daughter was swinging out of me when I was on my phone, so I couldn't get a decent chance to search for it, and wanted a take on which station was the best.

After all that, I don't have BT Sport so RTE is my only option. Ah well, it makes no difference, if we lose I won't watch it, if we win I won't care if the coverage is bad! 😁

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

As I said in the match thread, not a Liverpool fan but really buzzing for this. Any word on teams yet, do ye expect lovern to start?

I'd be pretty confident the first 11 for Liverpool is obvious...

Karius
    TAA
    Van Djik
    Lovern
    Robertson
    Henderson
    Milner
    Gini
    Bobby
    Mane
    Salah

I supoose there's a chance that Clyne could replace TAA but that's it really. Lallana and Can aren't fit enough for 90 mins I believe, but great to have them on the bench...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

I think it would be harsh to bench Trent for Clyne. The kid deserves to start as he has helped get us here.

Mr.H wrote: »
    I think it would be harsh to bench Trent for Clyne. The kid deserves to start as he has helped get us here.

It would be harsh but I don't care who start there. Hopefully whoever Klopp picks does the business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Just hope klopp has a plan to deal with ronaldo and bale like he did with sane in mancity when trent had extra cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Today is going to be a great day!