Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018 Mod warning post 9350 and 9421

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

ebbsy wrote: »
    I have reported this scumbag and excuse of a human being.

Excuse of a human being lol.

Ffs talk about sore losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Looking at Sergio Ramos' little jink into Karius, that was a horrible, nasty, cynical bit of work.

It was this behaviour that a lot were worried about before the match.

His fouling - arguably tactical fouling - went a long way towards deciding the tight game.

The ****er will do anything to win. Wish we had a small tiny bit of that about us sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I have reported this scumbag and excuse of a human being.

This is nonsense. I don't know what it is about this forum but the choice of language is embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

jayo26 wrote: »
    Ok that's fair points and I'd agree but I'd also say salah wasn't in the game before he went off.

And yes next year keita comes in but what are klopp objectives next year then? What does he have to achieve?

I would assume the owners want him to get CL football for the following season, see if he can take us as far as possible in the CL and do well in the PL. Anything above that is a bonus.....

The sooner so called fans waken up and realise the owners are not going to put the club at risk by over spending the better, nor are they going to pump in their own money and treat the club like a toy. Klopp is not a throw money at me trainer....he wants to build something slowly that will stand to the club for years to come. Just like the owners..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Ok that's fair points and I'd agree but I'd also say salah wasn't in the game before he went off.

And yes next year keita comes in but what are klopp objectives next year then? What does he have to achieve?

Top 4 again but not such a large gap to first and challenge for a cup.

Don't forget that Liverpool haven't had successive CL runs since Rafa left. Top 4 two years in a row is progress.

There were plenty of lads in the United thread asking how they could challenge City for the league when City spent 30% more than them. Well United have spent quite a bit more than Liverpool so do those same rules apply for Liverpool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

This is nonsense. I don't know what it is about this forum but the choice of language is embarrassing.

Actually it's quite appropriate. Scum of the eatrthand worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Weird thing is the defence played really well tonight. 2 Karius howlers and a goal of the season accounted for the 3 goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

I would assume the owners want him to get CL football for the following season, see if he can take us as far as possible in the CL and do well in the PL. Anything above that is a bonus.....

If that's the majority of fans aims for the team then yes he can easily play his sexy football then so and maybe that's the problem all along is they are settling for nearly season's.

Weird thing is the defence played really well tonight. 2 Karius howlers and a goal of the season accounted for the 3 goals.

Loveren was excellent tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Very solid performance from the back 4 in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

Thought they were excellent.

Need to develop less reliance on front 3 for when we lose one. And for when Firmino is having an off day.

Also though gini went well. Ghosted pass his man a few times. And generally kept things moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

And they called us paranoid for saying for weeks in the build up that Madrid were masters of the dark arts. It's quite sickening to watch,even when they are not playing us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not like he's been fortunate enough to get Southampton or Ajax in a final.

Good luck with that, you tend to meet decent teams in finals nowadays, not muck.

He is a nearly man, the stats back it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ok so when klopp took over nearly 3 years ago what were his targets? Get the club back into top four and play nice football? Make the odd final here and there?

What's his minimum target next year? What does he have to achieve? Play nice football?

He can't fail really.

It's all well and good taking snippets from what I have post and ignore the the parts where I'm discussing the manager.

His objective is to do the best he can. Three finals in three seasons, two of them against City and Madrid (and the other against the EL specialists), sure it's galling losing them but Liverpool are reaching finals on a regular basis again. As for the league consolidate top 4 status is vital and he is doing that fighting against City, Utd and Chelsea with a smaller budget albeit one that's growing thanks to the CL run and better commercial deals.

Next season add Keita (done), Fekir (almost done it seems), a CM/DM type and a proper keeper and maybe a striker (Origi back?) Liverpool might have a squad.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

MrMac84 wrote: »
    I’m used to accusations been thrown at me. It was a genuine question.

I'm more of a lurker than a poster in this thread, but it's quite apparent that you are not suited for moderation of this thread and I'm not sure you'd show any more qualities in any other thread.

Your anti Liverpool bias has been all too obvious and indeed it is becoming quite annoying.

Now I say this, having received 2 yellow cards a few months back from you in the space of an hour. The issuing of such cards to me and fellow posters for basically us Liverpool fans making jokes amongst ourselves was bizarre to say the least. . You obviously couldn't understand the nuances of said posts. (Anyone remember the Yellow cards and posting of yellow jerseys etc). Yet all Posts receiving cards were deleted by you or someone with more authority while the cards penalty still stood.

I'll take a card for this no problem. Will I be banned?

I'll say it again to you....exactly as I said last time.

Kop yerself on.

Heaven knows how the Fcuk you moderate a Liverpool thread.

YNWA.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Top 4 again but not such a large gap to first and challenge for a cup.

Don't forget that Liverpool haven't had successive CL runs since Rafa left. Top 4 two years in a row is progress.

There were plenty of lads in the United thread asking how they could challenge City for the league when City spent 30% more than them. Well United have spent quite a bit more than Liverpool so do those same rules apply for Liverpool?

If United don't challenge for the league and champions league next year Jose will be sacked no doubt about it. He will be under enormous pressure if we don't win it.

Another season like this for United and Jose will deservedly be gone of course he will he has to continue progress the team it should be the same at any club that wants to win things.

This thread isn't for directing the United manager we do enough of that in the United thread ha.

Was Firmino on?
    Was Ronaldo on?

It might be harsh, but Salah didn't trouble Madrid when he was on the pitch.

It wasn't a game for the big names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Actually it's quite appropriate. Scum of the eatrthand worthless.

You ok hun?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Pepp1989 wrote: »
    Thought they were excellent.

Need to develop less reliance on front 3 for when we lose one. And for when Firmino is having an off day.

Also though gini went well. Ghosted pass his man a few times. And generally kept things moving.

I didn't think I'd say this a few weeks ago but I wouldn't be disappointed if TAA, Lovern, VVD and Robertson started next season. We need a new goalkeeper but the other four have been very good.

TAA for a 19 year old has been very good, with the odd mistake, this season and the experience of a World Cup will crown him. Lovern has improved with VVD beside him and hopefully that continues. VVD, one word to describe him - IMMENSE. Robertson has been consistently an 8 out of 10, one of the first names on the team sheet.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Was Firmino on?
    Was Ronaldo on?

It might be harsh, but Salah didn't trouble Madrid when he was on the pitch.

It wasn't a game for the big names

No Madrid had taken the sting out of pool before Salah went off. Bout 20 minutes of huff and puff and that was pretty much it.

Modric was immense, kroos didn't turn up, neither did Ronaldo and it was still won at a canter really.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

His objective is to do the best he can. Three finals in three seasons, two of them against City and Madrid (and the other against the EL specialists), sure it's galling losing them but Liverpool are reaching finals on a regular basis again. As for the league consolidate top 4 status is vital and he is doing that fighting against City, Utd and Chelsea with a smaller budget albeit one that's growing thanks to the CL run and better commercial deals.

Next season add Keita (done), Fekir (almost done it seems), a CM/DM type and a proper keeper and maybe a striker (Origi back?) Liverpool might have a squad.

Harry that's fair enough but I do think it goes hand in hand with expectations and the sexy football it is clearly lower objectives.

Do you think if klopp was under more pressure to win things that he would still be able get away with playing how he plays?

The pressure was on tonight and even before salah went off Liverpool had more possession but didn't create much clear cut chances that they usually would and salah got nowhere near the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The only criticism of Klopp is Karius imo.

Never for a second thought he was better than Mig and personally felt either keeper would have benefitted from the run in the team Karius got.

However, I think some need to consider whether they'd be this critical if City had tonked us in the quarter finals.

Need to be wary of criticism that essentially arises from him being a victim of his own success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

jbt123 wrote: »
    I'm more of a lurker than a poster in this thread, but it's quite apparent that you are not suited for moderation of this thread and I'm not sure you'd show any more qualities in any other thread.

Your anti Liverpool bias has been all too obvious and indeed it is becoming quite annoying.

Now I say this, having received 2 yellow cards a few months back from you in the space of an hour. The issuing of such cards to me and fellow posters for basically us Liverpool fans making jokes amongst ourselves was bizarre to say the least. . You obviously couldn't understand the nuances of said posts. (Anyone remember the Yellow cards and posting of yellow jerseys etc). Yet all Posts receiving cards were deleted by you or someone with more authority while the cards penalty still stood.

I'll take a card for this no problem. Will I be banned?

I'll say it again to you....exactly as I said last time.

Kop yerself on.

Heaven knows how the Fcuk you moderate a Liverpool thread.

YNWA.

I got banned for this

2f985c19c0cfc77d7aeff7110280ec53.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

No Madrid had taken the sting out of pool before Salah went off. Bout 20 minutes of huff and puff and that was pretty much it.

Modric was immense, kroos didn't turn up, neither did Ronaldo and it was still won at a canter really.

Don't think it was a canter really. An outstanding goal and two keeper howlers won it for them. At 2-1 it still was possible that Liverpool would equalize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

God knows what the soccer forum is like now, haven't read through any of it since kick off.

My own 2 cents is I am glad Bale scored that wonder goal, made defeat ok to take.

Hope Karius is gone now even though I was defending him before kick off. Do feel sorry for him too, naturally, but not up to the job.

Everyone's head went down when Salah went off, was looking bleak from then on.

No shame in losing to Madrid, we kinda over achieved in the Champs League and we are back in it next year. A great season overall and certianly with some exciting additions to come in over the summer we have some mroe great days ahead.

In the cl, Liverpool are a team who Base their entire game plan on battering a team for 20min and getting themselves 2 up.

If that plan doesn't work, they are sort of bust. They struggle then to do anything else. I expected them to come out at the state of the second half all guns blazing, they didn't. Once I seen that, I knew they were beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

noodler wrote: »
    The only criticism of Klopp is Karius imo.

Never for a second thought he was better than Mig and personally felt either keeper would have benefitted from the run in the team Karius got.

However, I think some need to consider whether they'd be this critical if City had tonked us in the quarter finals.

Need to be wary of criticism that essentially arises from him being a victim of his own success.

Definitely better than Mig.
    Made more mistakes tonight that he had in his last ~30 appearances.

Must say I'm very happy with Klopp. Doing a great job imo...plays attractive football... Consecutive top 4 and getting to finals. It'll happen for this team.

Klopp has a good strike rate signing players too and improving them. His man management skills seem top. He is extremely entertaining and honest. Delighted he is our manager.

Excited to see what he can do next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭Ardent

razorblunt wrote: »
    Definitely better than Mig.
    Made more mistakes tonight that he had in his last ~30 appearances.

Sorry but that's horse****. He is a calamity waiting to happen - lots of recent examples like flapping at crosses and almost getting sent off against City in the quarters (he was blessed the linesman incorrectly ruled their penalty shout offside). He is no better than Mig, and arguably worse.

Blondie919 wrote: »
    Don't think it was a canter really. An outstanding goal and two keeper howlers won it for them. At 2-1 it still was possible that Liverpool would equalize.

Of course Liverpool were in the game for sure when it was just a goal, but they didn't really bother Madrid all that much barring the odd moment here and there. Madrid midfield, well modric just controlled the game really.

I thought Modric was the only midfielder tonight who looked like he had any class at all.

You get the legs of Milner and Henderson, but they don't have much class at the top level. Even Kroos showed like its time Madrid sold him. Modric different class even though he's getting old.

I thought Modric was the only midfielder tonight who looked like he had any class at all.

You get the legs of Milner and Henderson, but they don't have much class at the top level. Even Kroos showed like its time Madrid sold him. Modric different class even though he's getting old.

I though casimero was very good he broke up alot of play and his passing was nice and simple. Kross was underwhelming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭Ardent

He has been some signing for them. I forget what they paid Spurs for him but they got serious value for money.

I though casimero was very good he broke up alot of play and his passing was nice and simple. Kross was underwhelming.

Casemiro is casemiro, he does what he does, but I tend not to admire it much cos it's anti football.

Modric plays the game properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

I agree that Modric was class. I've been wondering about retrospective action on the Ramos/Karius incident. Does that action only happen in the Premier League? Is it even possible that it will be looked at or indeed dealt with? Probably it will be overlooked?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SM01

All I see is United lads desperate to convince us Klopp is doing shìte. That's an excellent sign.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

The Kenny documentary on bbc1 just there was a nice grounding antidote.

Casemiro is casemiro, he does what he does, but I tend not to admire it much cos it's anti football.

There is nothing anti football about stopping the other teams attackers from playing thats the objective of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Great shape? Bare 11 players. No plan B. No goal keeper and serial loser of a manger who’s lost 6 finals in a row and no trophy since 2012! Decent shape with style and good first team yes! Great shape? Far from it!!

Twat. Great manager, great progress, great shape. Get out of here ye nonce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Pepp1989 wrote:
    Klopp has a good strike rate signing players too and improving them. His man management skills seem top. He is extremely entertaining and honest. Delighted he is our manager.

Van Dijk will prove to be an exception in that regard. What a shocking waste of money! Just jogs around, posing. No aggression, presence or real footballing ability.

SM01 wrote: »
    All I see is United lads desperate to convince us Klopp is doing shìte. That's an excellent sign.

Not at all just discussing his objectives to be honest. Klopp is doing a good job I've said it but he is operating with no pressure what so ever because of the low targets.

Of you take it as a good sign then so be it at least your happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

Hard luck Liverpool. Man U fan here. Have to say I’ve a lot of respect for Salah and for Klopp. A good man and good manger. Played some superb football this year. Chin up chaps. Loads to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

This thread is a bit of a cluster**** right now.

Not a pool fan by any stretch but awful to see Salahs season end in that manner. What an amazing season and I hope he makes the world cup for at least some kind of consolation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Tbf Modric is only allowed to play the game properly as he has Casemiro doing the dirty work for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

What a disappointing night.

Nobody remembers the runners up but good old Karius's performance will certainly stand out.

The bench had little or no attacking options. Lallana hadnt played in months.

Ramos was by far the villain of the match, faking injuries and injuring Salah.

Klopp needs to draw up a list of transfer targets for the summer, Do I really need to say who needs to be shipped out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SM01

SM01 wrote: »

Not at all just discussing his objectives to be honest. Klopp is doing a good job I've said it but he is operating with no pressure what so ever because of the low targets.

Of you take it as a good sign then so be it at least your happy.

The notion there is no pressure or low targets is purely your own fiction. Also you come in attempting such a 'debate' after what could be considered an emotive loss, well excuse me if i think there's ulterior motives.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

duffman13 wrote: »
    This thread is a bit of a cluster**** right now.

Not a pool fan by any stretch but awful to see Salahs season end in that manner. What an amazing season and I hope he makes the world cup for at least some kind of consolation

The whole soccer forum is a cluster****. All the goading is just pathetic now. Lads just looking to get reaction and running back to their own forums when they do.

chicorytip wrote:
    Van Dijk will prove to be an exception in that regard. What a shocking waste of money! Just jogs around, posing. No aggression, presence or real footballing ability.

Righto

I remember the great finals of the past

This was muck. From both teams. Don't remember Navas having to do much, and he's a dodgy keeper, you'd have thought Liverpool might have tried to trouble him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

The whole soccer forum is a cluster****. All the goading is just pathetic now. Lads just looking to get reaction and running back to their own forums when they do.

Possibly, I gave up posting about 3 or 4 months ago, no particular reason but the forum has become too polarised, no interaction amongst opposing fans is not a good thing for the forum. It always gets petty and tiresome.