Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018 Mod warning post 9350 and 9421

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

ricero wrote: »
    Forgot to mention bitter Didi was back again last night. Says we didnt play well over the two legs. Jasus the guy really is bitter that Klopp never gave him the call.

He can't seem to give Klopp a lick of credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Hamann has been misquoted then, he said Liverpool deserved to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

How good do people think Bayern are this year? Lewandowski has been exceptional with 35 goals in 40 games, without doubt their main threat. You would imagine Klopp and Buvac know him inside out which is a nice advantage.
    On the wings they have Ribery and Robben, two players hitting 34 & 35 years of age. They have a wealth of talent in midfield- Vidal, Thiago, Alaba, James and of course Manuel Neuer in goal.

I think Munich would be tough but possible. PSG easily beat them 3-0 in the group stages. In the first leg of the quarters Seville had them on the rack, went 1-0 up and were completely over running them in midfield. Then Navas put the ball into his own net and the momentum shifted. Up until that point Seville looked on for the upset.

Bayern would be tough but it has been shown that you can get at them. They couldnt handle the pace and counter attacking of Sevilla and we bring something similar to the table. Klopp and Buvac will have lots of pals in Germany to call on too, they would know Bayerns weaknesses better than the other teams in the draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

ricero wrote: »
    Forgot to mention bitter Didi was back again last night. Says we didnt play well over the two legs. Jasus the guy really is bitter that Klopp never gave him the call.

Surprised if Didi came out with that as he's always been fair and supportive of the team.

In no way a bitter like Whelan, Lawrenson and Houghton.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Surprised if Didi came out with that as he's always been fair and supportive of the team.

In no way a bitter like Whelan, Lawrenson and Houghton.

To be fair to Ronnie he doesn't like anything, same with Lawro. Great players but I wouldn't want to be stuck on a long journey with them :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

ERG89 wrote: »
    To be fair to Ronnie he doesn't like anything, same with Lawro. Great players but I wouldn't want to be stuck on a long journey with them :o

latest?cb=20091223121853

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

So Bournemouth then?

Would be handy to pick up 3 points here as I reckon we will rest a fair few players against West Brom before the first semi-final. Especially with that game being on the Sunday. Wonder will Salah play this weekend? Definitely felt like he wasn't quite at full fitness against City.

He looked a bit pale I though. And a bit out of it during the interview with Milner.

On the other hand, he could literally have been in direct communication with Zeus at the time, considering his godlike calm finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Dickerty wrote: »
    latest?cb=20091223121853

always thought Father Stone was Lawro (in looks anyway)

vlcsnap-00641.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

This Champions League run has paid for VVD and Salah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

The last time the big 4 league each had a team in the semi final was 1981 Liverpool beat Munich in the semi before beating Madrid in the final.

Inter was the Italian team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

David De Gea with his 5 million unbelievable saves.

99% of them were probably straight at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Hoping we draw Bayern. Think they'd be wholly unprepared for the pace of the game 'Pool would unleash on them. They've literally only played 1 decent team in this entire season, and that was PSG in the group stages, and they were soundly beaten 3-0 in the away fixture. The bundesliga has been fairly poor this year, with Dortmund a pale shadow of themselves. The one team who have it in themselves to raise their game, Leipzig, beat them as well.

It feels like a game where we could blow them out of the water in the first half of the first tie before they even knew what hit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Doesn't really matter who we get.....each team presents their own different challenges....each will be tough.

I dont really have a team I'm hoping for, I haven't seen a lot of those clubs domestically this year to make a judgement call on. Initially I thought Roma would be the team I'd like but I'm not so sure, I have a feeling it'll be Real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I actually can't get over our defensive performance over two legs vs Man City.

1 goal, and what, three shots on target conceded against one of the best sides in PL history?

Klopp has slowly made this side more pragmatic, wiser, and more stable over the past few months. We're finally starting to display some of the maturity that is evident in top sides. It started before VVD joined, but he has made a massive improvement, alongside Robertson, Karius, TAA and even Lovren stepping up in recent weeks.

It's a real whole team effort thing though. It's so much more comfortable watching games now as we have finally, in the first time that I can remember in years, actually learnt how to control games. We can soak up pressure without bricking it in recent weeks. Everyone seems to know their roles, their function etc. It's fluid in all phases.

Seriously, it must be when that defensive coach came in under Kenny (the lad who became West Brom manager) since we last had any confidence in our defence.

We have a really great and solid platform to push on from here. And all only 4 months after selling out best player, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Hoping we draw Bayern. Think they'd be wholly unprepared for the pace of the game 'Pool would unleash on them. They've literally only played 1 decent team in this entire season, and that was PSG in the group stages, and they were soundly beaten 3-0 in the away fixture. The bundesliga has been fairly poor this year, with Dortmund a pale shadow of themselves. The one team who have it in themselves to raise their game, Leipzig, beat them as well.

It feels like a game where we could blow them out of the water in the first half of the first tie before they even knew what hit them.

Ye I'd like Bayern aswell. I know it was only pre season and you can't read much into it but we ran them ragged in the summer. I think klopp would find a way to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

There is 0% chance Real play Bayern in Semi. 0% , and yet no one will question it.

If it was Real, Bayern, Gothenburg and Poznan in the semis then there might be some merit in this.
    But no real reason why UEFA should want a Real v Bayern final so badly as to fix it. All teams are from the Big 4 leagues so there is no bad final as such - the English (through BT sports) are the biggest financial contributors and UEFA seem to have a love for England with 2 finals at Wembley this decade and 7 games in the 2020 Euros being hosted there (everyone else gets a mere 4).
    The Italian market could also do with a little tlc with their failure to qualify for the WC. So either Liverpool or Roma in the final is perfectly fine.

Madrid away on the Tuesday and at home the following Wednesday is what I predict.

Roma in the final to the winners of the Madrid Liverpool game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Nice assist from Naby tonight

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

We should be in for Sergej Milinkovic-Savic from Lazio - it's not a coincidence that they conceded 3 goals against RB Salzburg within 6 minutes os substituting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

I was wrong UEFA have switched times in the draws

11am for the Europa League Semi-Final / Final draw
    Midday for the Champions League Semi-Final / Final draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Madrid away on the Tuesday and at home the following Wednesday is what I predict.

Reckon we'll get Munich, away first leg on the Tuesday. Klopp's home-coming will be a massive draw for Uefa, they won't refuse that marketing opportunity - for Klopp versus Heynkes, read Balboa versus Apollo Creed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I was wrong UEFA have switched times in the draws

11am for the Europa League Semi-Final / Final draw
    Midday for the Champions League Semi-Final / Final draw

No, Midday and 13.00. CET is the same as British/Irish summer time. CEST is what Europe is on now.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

In fourteen hundred ninety-two
    Harry Kane sailed the ocean blue.

He had three ships and left from Spain;
    He sailed through sunshine, wind and rain.

He sailed by night; he sailed by day;
    He used the stars to find his way.
    martyos121 wrote: »
    April 11 his dream came true
    He got the goal he wasn’t due

“Mine! Mine!” Harry cried
    His heart was filled with joyful pride

But Harry Kane’s, the goal was not
    It was Eriksen’s, the cheeky sod
    Knex. wrote: »
    I like to rhyme, said Harry Kane
    So Tottenham will support me in my pain.
    Eriksen's goal?
    It was in his hole
    I breathed on it with my open mouth
    Cos I function like a dying trout.
    martyos121 wrote: »
    Little Chris Eriksen
    Sat in his camper van
    Eating his Christmas pie
    He put in his thumb
    And pulled out a plumb
    And Harry said “that’s my f**king plum you Danish twat!”
    Harry Kane is nobody's fool
    Has a shot like a kick from a mule
    He's from way down South
    When he opens his mouth
    He covers his teammates with drool.
    Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Terry and Kane are both the same
    Whether you're Christian
    Or whether you're Wayne
    Both shaft their teammates the truth must be told
    One steals your missus
    The other your goal
    Ryan Giggs is a terrible brother
    And Harry Kane would rob your Mother
    One shags a sibling's wife
    the other bets on his daughter's life
    Flip a coin between the two
    Sure enough, Kane will claim that too
    garra wrote: »
    Gobsmacked and shamed the yids did ponder,
    How one of their own - with hair a blonder,
    Could claim a prize his mate deserved,
    For all and sundry did sagely observe,
    Ne'er a strike of the head from the slack-jawed wonder.

Better Stock up on your absinthe and laudanum becuase the saps ride again and this time they know poetry.

Harry Kane, so vain
    Claiming the goal of the dane
    Never touched it, sap

It's been a long two days and I missed out on poetry 101 earlier so there ye go.

No, Midday and 13.00. CET is the same as British/Irish summer time. CEST is what Europe is on now.

BT advertised it for 11am and midday after the Europa League games tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,196 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Sky Sports saying draw is midday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    It's been a long two days and I missed out on poetry 101 earlier so there ye go.

Shocking effort.

We should have Toby present the award for the inaugral Poetry Fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

BT advertised it for 11am and midday after the Europa League games tonight

http://sport.bt.com/tv-guide-01363810618853

Wesbite has it listed for midday and 13.00

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Why does anyone care when the CL draw is on?........ Oh wait...... **** yea :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

Klopp has slowly made this side more pragmatic, wiser, and more stable over the past few months. We're finally starting to display some of the maturity that is evident in top sides. It started before VVD joined, but he has made a massive improvement, alongside Robertson, Karius, TAA and even Lovren stepping up in recent weeks.
    Klopp made a big thing of the mental training that the squad began during pre-season two years ago. Essentially the players have to forget about what has already happened and focus on the current situation and how they can affect it.

The manner of Coutinho's exit helped galvanise the team spirit. Apart from Emre Can, the players in the squad want to be a part of Liverpool FC.

Injuries have reduced the squad to bare bones and in some ways this has also helped - it hasn't been possible to rotate players so the core players have developed a better understanding of each other.

We were all happy with 3-0 going into the game on Tuesday, expecting a defeat but ultimately winning the tie. Klopp was having none of that with the players - as far as they were concerned it was 0-0 and they were going to Manchester not just to win the tie, but to win the game. Van Dijk and Oxlade-Chamberlain both said similar things in interviews before the game. Who expected Liverpool to do so?

The discipline that the players showed is a sharp contrast to what we have seen before - Van Dijk didn't get involved with Sterling, Mane didn't give Ederson the reaction he was obviously looking for.

Each of these things have been possible because of the Zen-like simplicity of Klopp's philosophy and the hard work of the players.

Van Dijk is a key factor because his presence has brought much needed stability to the defence. It has allowed the midfield and forward players to focus on their own role and so the team has flourished.

Klopp described Man City's first half performance as a whirlwind - it yielded a single goal. What have Guardiola and Man City got left that they can throw at our team next season? Psychologically the team's performance in that game is massive.

But it's now in the past and the team have to focus on the next test which is Bournemouth. This is the real test of the team's development - sustaining consistent performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Sorted that for ya..

Never Jinx!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Never Jinx!

I'll just remind ya

We are Liverpool

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Shocking effort.

We should have Toby present the award for the inaugral Poetry Fest.

Come on! It was the only haiku
    not yet wrote: »
    I'll just remind ya

We are Liverpool

Beleive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Salah voted Liverpool player of the month for the 6th time, if he wins it again for April does he get a month of his choice thrown in for free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Salah voted Liverpool player of the month for the 6th time, if he wins it again for April does he get a month of his choice thrown in for free?

At LFC, Firmino is forever the bridesmaid, never the bride. Last year it was Mane walking down the aisle, this year its Mo. Any other team and Bob is wearing the white dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

He came across from Walthamstow
    Kane, Kane
    He steals other players goals
    Kane, Kane
    He jumped for it
    He missed the ball
    My god he'll try and claim them all
    Harry Kane, king of the ghost goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Harry Feckin Kane
    Desperate for the Golden Boot
    Sold his daughter's soul

Mo Bleedin Salah
    Scores for fun, and fun he has
    Blessed is Allah!

Harry Kane, Harry Kane,
    Slithers down the pitch,
    Harry Kane, Harry Kane,
    Goal-thievin' like a bitch,
    Sold his daughter's soul!
    What an arsehole!
    Harry Kaaane!
    Harry Kaaaaaane!
    HAAAARRRYYY KAAAAAAANE...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Enough already;(

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Enough already;(

Spoilsport!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Bring Kane's Daughter to the Slaughter!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Roma reveal draw

Was sent this, no idea how true it is but lets get the conspiracy theory going.

I personally don't believe it as I think UEFA would want a Bayern v Madrid final.

The ole draw conspiracies are gas "The UEFA draw is an absolute trash!!! Shame on @ChampionsLeague how can you pair Pool & City and leave out 3 spanish teams from meeting each other. Shame!!!"

Like lads in casinos losing their arse backing red as black came up the last 5/6 times.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Roma reveal draw

Was sent this, no idea how true it is but lets get the conspiracy theory going.

I personally don't believe it as I think UEFA would want a Bayern v Madrid final.

Well the Liverpool game is down for the 2nd of May which is a Monday.

No it's not ok Tin Foil Hat on.

71GV79NPpZL._UX425_.jpg

If it was a webpage to sell tickets from the Roma site it can be as simple as testing if the page is ready to go live or made live by accident. I assume the Roma website has pages ready to go advertising CL semi final tickets on sale for Real and Bayern also. These pages need to be coded and ready to go, I dont think they wait for the draw to code them.

I'm no expert so maybe someone in that line of work could explain it better. Its a stupid theory anyway IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

We have the most goals
    Most clean sheets ,
    Only unbeaten team ,
    We should fear no one
    Lets get old big ear's back  and rule Europe once more,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭54and56

Is this (https://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2018/draws/round=2000884/#/) the best way to watch the draw online?

I did a Google and YouTube search but all I get is a load of click bait other than the link above.

Is this (https://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2018/draws/round=2000884/#/) the best way to watch the draw online?

I did a Google and YouTube search but all I get is a load of click bait other than the link above.

yes draw is streamed live on the UEFA website

We have the most goals
    Most clean sheets ,
    Only unbeaten team ,
    We should fear no one
    Lets get old big ear's back  and rule Europe once more,

Worst Harry Kane poem yet....