Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018 Mod warning post 9350 and 9421

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

spockety wrote: »
    There is always a lot of talk about how well the club is progressing, the team that is being built, and the impact that Klopp is having. The one thing which is overlooked is the impact that our performances are having on Klopp himself.

He is a developing coach, who in spite of outward confidence is still human at the end of the day. What he is seeing on the pitch, and how it has manifested itself in a semi final berth in the Champions League, will reinforce his view that he is at the right club, being given the right resources, and that his approach to the game is worthy of the belief he has in it. The psychology of the manager is not something that gets much air time, but it's just as important as the psychology of the players.

100% agree.

Look back over the past 2 years of Klopp. We used to be nervous whenever we conceded a corner! In the last 20mins even at Anfield we were nervous wrecks demanding for the final whistle to be blown. We couldn't defend! We didn't know how to close out a game. Liverpool have only 1 way of playing which is attack. Too many players get injured with Klopps pressing style.

Now, we look composed and purposeful. We have a clear way of playing and a style that can defeat even the most defencive units.
    We are far better at the back, Robertson/Trent/Virgil/Karius have become a really decent outfit - that can only improve as they play more together.

Our strength in depth is pretty good on the most and hopefully we will increase that over the summer.

Klopp exhumes a certain sort of confidence that can only be admired. We were probably all skeptical of him over Trent/Gomez/Moreno/Lovren/Selling Coutinho and his pressing style taking its toll on players - but he has evolved this team. He has grown them into a serious group that can really take the club forward.

Very exciting times for us to support this club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Dickerty wrote: »
    Coutinho helping that number greatly! But VVD cost a big slice of that.

I don't think it will look much worse in September. Keita and one more big money move is all I expect.

We will need a replacement keeper, as Migs won't stay as second choice, and Ward isn't good enough.
    We don't need a defender, we have 9 to choose from.
    We have plenty of midfield options, with Kaita replacing Can (assuming)
    I think we bring in another front 3 or attacking mid option, but no idea who. Klopp surprised everyone going for Mané, Salah, Ox, Robertson and Wijnaldum. So God knows who it might be!

We definitely need a defender and midfielder. 2 if Can leaves.

I think next season is a season where the club can take a good run at the league and quality players are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Coutinho helping that number greatly! But VVD cost a big slice of that.

I don't think it will look much worse in September. Keita and one more big money move is all I expect.

We will need a replacement keeper, as Migs won't stay as second choice, and Ward isn't good enough.
    We don't need a defender, we have 9 to choose from.
    We have plenty of midfield options, with Kaita replacing Can (assuming)
    I think we bring in another front 3 or attacking mid option, but no idea who. Klopp surprised everyone going for Mané, Salah, Ox, Robertson and Wijnaldum. So God knows who it might be!

Don't agree with this mentality at all. It has to be quality not quantity. Moreno, Lovren , Matip, Klavan: There have to be questions marks over them.

In fairness Lovren has improved since VVD's arrival but all could be upgraded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

World Cup will give the papers something to talk about for a month so that should help on the rumours but after it if anyone has a great World Cup the papers will be a nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

At least we know we will only get who klopp wants , not committee signings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,090 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I would strongly disagree there.

Klopp is more open to TC signings than anyone else. It's how he operated at Dortmund also - having a DoF there in Zorc.

I thought it was well known how Klopp wanted to sign Julian Brandt last summer, but the TC (I think Edwards in particular) insisted on signing Salah instead.

Salah, Mane, Firmino all TC signings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

A keeper, a Central defender, two midfielders & two forwards should be what we are looking for in the summer.

Klopp has stated many times the "committee" convinced him to sign Salah when he wasn't sure if he was the right player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

FitzShane wrote: »

Klopp is more open to TC signings than anyone else. It's how he operated at Dortmund also - having a DoF there in Zorc.

I thought it was well known how Klopp wanted to sign Julian Brandt last summer, but the TC (I think Edwards in particular) insisted on signing Salah instead.

Mane stated Klopp triued to sign him at Dortmound to so I don't think he was TC signing,
    Can't see the TC signing, Klavan, Karius,Ox  or did they ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

A keeper, a Central defender, two midfielders & two forwards should be what we are looking for in the summer.

And two wing backs, two holding midfielders, two attacking keepers, 3 holding attackers and a dinner lady...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Rumour mill is going to be horrendous this summer again. Top 6 all with the clout and the need to spend, and the like of Salah, Kane, KDB, Hazard and DDG will all be subject to HUGE interest from Spain and PSG...

You just have to switch off man. Have to. There's a World Cup that runs over the early part of the window to be distracted by, and by then there should be actual signings and outgoings to be discussed.

There's nothing to be gained by following the rumour mill really. Consider the vast vast quantity of posts on this thread last summer around Coutinho and VVD moves that failed to happen in that window. It's a recipe for a ton of wasted energy, nothing more.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

No point getting rid of Klavan. Good squad member with bags of experience and hasn't let us down when called upon.
    If players of decent quality are happy to sit on the bench and perform when required i don't see the benefit of getting rid. Need a strong squad - too much upheaval and it can get a bit disjointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    No point getting rid of Klavan. Good squad member with bags of experience and hasn't let us down when called upon.
    If players of decent quality are happy to sit on the bench and perform when required i don't see the benefit of getting rid. Need a strong squad - too much upheaval and it can get a bit disjointed.

I'd keep Klavan for another year as cover. A call needs to be made on Matip, I thought he was impressive for the first dozen or so games last season, but he's deteriorated since, as well as being injury prone. Lovren has usurped him on merit, but I'd still like to see a first choice CB come in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Thank me i put Lukaku into FF team and made him captain lol

Triple Captain.....And Pogba too:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭jones

corwill wrote: »
    I'd keep Klavan for another year as cover. A call needs to be made on Matip, I thought he was impressive for the first dozen or so games last season, but he's deteriorated since, as well as being injury prone. Lovren has usurped him on merit, but I'd still like to see a first choice CB come in.

I'd love if they went in for Alderweireld imagine him and VVD as our starting CB's??? That's a league winning defence IMO.

I dont know what to make of the Lemar stuff he looks good (admittedly on youtube) but the money being asked seems crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Just feels to me like we're back to the Benitez days in terms of achievement, just with a different style*. If you start building a base of year in, year out CL qualification then you hope - given our budget - you nick one of the big two in a single season. That's all I ever hoped for really, we cast it aside in 2010 and we had to go through three managers and a difficult half decade to get it back.

I'm psychologically back to where I was between 2000 - 2009. We're in the mix, there will be bad days but plenty of good ones too. And you just hope it all falls perfectly enough to deliver a European Cup or League title.

That style (or perception of style) will offer Klopp more media protection and time from the fans than Benitez was afforded. The pitfall is that it will often be less dependable and bankable in certain situations and results will be more volatile. But it's a great place to be overall.

Spockety's point about the effect on Klopp is a good one, he should be feeling very good about the project thus far.

Inevitably, there will be a season that falls short of expectations ala 2009 - 2010. The challenge will be for us all to keep the faith when it comes and cross the fingers that the club keep their cool and give him more time on the basis of a record that contains ever more good than bad. But we certainly don't need to worry about that for the next few months at least, which is great.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Our biggest problem per se is City. I'd be certain they'll go out and splurge on whatever means necessary to increase their already hefty squad to compete better for the CL. $50 mill for them to sign a guy like Zaha for example is no issue, whereas we NEED to get signings like that right every time.
    In order for us to win the PL in the next 5 years even, we rely on United/Chelsea/City to all have - not OFF seasons like the Leicester one which was completely insane - but maybe a 75% season. At the moment we are flat out, slightly stretched and still clinging to 4th with the nugget of Semi Finals CL. Everyone was still a long way behind City ...

For us, need to stay in Top4 for the next 2-3 seasons, build our squad to the level that we can compete comfortably on all fronts. Then hopefully get our break and really go for the league.

Klopp has come a long way even since this campaign started. Hopefully he gets all he needs to take it further at the same rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Mane stated Klopp triued to sign him at Dortmound to so I don't think he was TC signing,
    Can't see the TC signing, Klavan, Karius,Ox  or did they ?
    The TC also looked at Mane under Rodgers. A Transfer Committee is a perfectly logical way to look at transfers anyway though - input from a bunch of specialists in different areas, with one person weighing this all up, and deciding (Klopp), rather than being limited to just the managers kniwledge. He’s obviously a man who appreciates other points of view, given the two lads that are hardly ever away from his side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Insofar as we can tell who was the driving force behind the big signings the transfer committee doesn't seem to have misjudged any player other than Markovic ( who is at Anderlecht in case anyone is wondering) which is a pretty damned good hit rate.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Our biggest problem per se is City. I'd be certain they'll go out and splurge on whatever means necessary to increase their already hefty squad to compete better for the CL. $50 mill for them to sign a guy like Zaha for example is no issue, whereas we NEED to get signings like that right every time.
    In order for us to win the PL in the next 5 years even, we rely on United/Chelsea/City to all have - not OFF seasons like the Leicester one which was completely insane - but maybe a 75% season. At the moment we are flat out, slightly stretched and still clinging to 4th with the nugget of Semi Finals CL. Everyone was still a long way behind City ...

For us, need to stay in Top4 for the next 2-3 seasons, build our squad to the level that we can compete comfortably on all fronts. Then hopefully get our break and really go for the league.

Klopp has come a long way even since this campaign started. Hopefully he gets all he needs to take it further at the same rate.

I agree with the sentiment of this post, if not everything in it. We need to be able to win the league with less than a 90 point total probably. We could conceivably get 85-88 points in a season, without having City/Utd levels of depth in the squad, but it is unlikely we can sustain enough to get 95 points or so. It is all relative though. It would be amazing to win the league though, moreso than the CL, fantastic as that would be. Hopefully next season won't be one where there is one team running away with it again, unless of course that happens to be us!

This season feels much better than last season, mostly because most of our poor performances came in the first half of the season, unlike last season when it was Jan-March when we played poorly. We will end up on a similar points total though, hopefully a bit higher. I think the fact that we have been better at beating the poor teams though is part of that too. Swansea away is so far the only game we've lost that we shouldn't on paper.

5starpool wrote: »
    ......We will end up on a similar points total though, hopefully a bit higher..............

It's mad in a way ............ we're on an incredible PL ppg haul and yet mightn't better last season's total by much at all.

Insofar as we can tell who was the driving force behind the big signings the transfer committee doesn't seem to have misjudged any player other than Markovic ( who is at Anderlecht in case anyone is wondering) which is a pretty damned good hit rate.

The previous manager publicly used the "Committee" as scapegoats for his own failures hence the reason it is used as a stick to beat the club with by the media etc etc when they need a sound bite.

But you are right they don't seemed to have misjudged players at all.

Even Markovic was a highly thought of youth player who they took a gamble probably over paying by 5 to 8 million on which really isn't huge in the grand scheme of things.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Just feels to me like we're back to the Benitez days in terms of achievement, just with a different style*. If you start building a base of year in, year out CL qualification then you hope - given our budget - you nick one of the big two in a single season. That's all I ever hoped for really, we cast it aside in 2010 and we had to go through three managers and a difficult half decade to get it back.

I'm psychologically back to where I was between 2000 - 2009. We're in the mix, there will be bad days but plenty of good ones too. And you just hope it all falls perfectly enough to deliver a European Cup or League title.

That style (or perception of style) will offer Klopp more media protection and time from the fans than Benitez was afforded. The pitfall is that it will often be less dependable and bankable in certain situations and results will be more volatile. But it's a great place to be overall.

Spockety's point about the effect on Klopp is a good one, he should be feeling very good about the project thus far.

Inevitably, there will be a season that falls short of expectations ala 2009 - 2010. The challenge will be for us all to keep the faith when it comes and cross the fingers that the club keep their cool and give him more time on the basis of a record that contains ever more good than bad. But we certainly don't need to worry about that for the next few months at least, which is great.

Great to see this too, top 10 rankings so far this season

1 FC Bayern München GER UEFA Champions League 10 28.000 1.942
    2 Liverpool FC ENG UEFA Champions League 10 27.000 3.900
    3 Real Madrid CF ESP UEFA Champions League 10 26.000 3.600
    4 FC Barcelona ESP UEFA Champions League 10 25.000 3.600
    5 AS Roma ITA UEFA Champions League 10 23.000 3.400
    6 Juventus ITA UEFA Champions League 10 23.000 3.400
    7 Club Atlético de Madrid ESP UEFA Europa League 12 22.000 3.600
    8 Manchester City FC ENG UEFA Champions League 10 22.000 3.900
    9 Sevilla FC ESP UEFA Champions League 10 21.000 3.600
    10 Tottenham Hotspur FC ENG UEFA Champions League 8 21.000 3.900

Augeo wrote: »
    It's mad in a way ............ we're on an incredible PL ppg haul and yet mightn't better last season's total by much at all.

13 points from our first 9 games is where the damage was done in terms of our points haul this season. We have 57 points in the subsequent 25 games. Obviously the season is over 38 games, but if the form of those 25 games was representative of the whole season it is 86/87 points. Wishful thinking of course, but it is a real basis for optimism that it has been sustained for that period. The fact that away games against City and Spurs were in the small group colour things in a false way, but if we are ok with injuries next season and summer signings bed in well, we should be able to get 80+ points next season which would again be good, even if not good enough to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

How many points do we need to secure top 4, is it 5?

Max points Chelsea can get is 75, so yea 6 points as long as Chelsea win all their games

87 Man City
    71 Man Utd
    70 Liverpool
    67 Tottenham
    60 Chelsea
    54 Arsenal
    52 Burnley
    43 Leicester
    42 Everton
    41 Newcastle
    38 Bournemouth
    37 Watford
    35 Brighton Huddersfield
    34 West Ham Palace
    33 Swansea
    28 Southampton
    27 Stoke
    24 West Brom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

At the moment we are flat out, slightly stretched and still clinging to 4th with the nugget of Semi Finals CL. Everyone was still a long way behind City ...

Little unfair considering Liverpool sit one point off second with less defeats and more goals scored than Man Utd and 10 points ahead of the team in fifth with a +19 goal difference with four games to go.

Yes City were well ahead of everyone but Liverpool beat them three out of the four times they met this season and there has been little to no consistency at the top from season to season for going on 5-6 years now, look how far Chelsea were ahead last year or City the last time they won the league.

Its vital Liverpool keep hold of their star players, something they haven't been able to do last decade. Its also important they add quality players in the obvious key positions that are lacking right now..when I say quality I don't mean more squad filler, again a big issue over the past decade+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Vicxas wrote: »
    How many points do we need to secure top 4, is it 5?

Most Chelsea can get to is 75 so we need 6 points mathematically although 5 should be enough and a result at Stamford Bridge changes the points picture a bit.

If Chelsea lose/draw away to Burnley on Thursday we can have it wrapped up if we beat West Brom on Saturday in the early game.

Yes, technically if Chelsea draw they can still finish above us if we beat West Brom, but there will be a minimum of a 19 goal difference gap, so it would be done and dusted 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,479 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Hope we can break 80 pts. It's so important to reach over 80pts.
    It's a marker for any team to be competitive in this league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Even Markovic was a highly thought of youth player who they took a gamble probably over paying by 5 to 8 million on which really isn't huge in the grand scheme of things.

Speaking of Markovic, am I right in thinking he's still on Liverpool's books? Where is he playing these days.

Even in pure financial terms, where you finish in the league has a relevance to CL income. The UK's pot is split between the top 4 (United as EL winners last season get none of this), and it goes 40/30/20/10, so we will likely still make a decent bit less than Chelsea in the CL this season, even if we win it!

That money is separate from the performance related prize money obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I feel this is the best season City will have in the Prem under Pepe.  As I don't think they will gain as many points next year in fact i'd put money on it,
    I also believe sometimes you try to perfect a team great team and it can gets worse, Even if the preform on par with this season I just can't see them picking up as many points next term, They had some serious good luck at the begging on the season with loads of late winner's  and Palace missing a pen to beat them ,
    I think this will be peak Pep City in the Prem ,
    Although they will challenge and possible win it again I think every one gets closer to them next term ,

kopite386 wrote: »
    Speaking of Markovic, am I right in thinking he's still on Liverpool's books? Where is he playing these days.

On loan at Anderlecht.

4 games 1 assist 183 minutes of football according to transfermarkt.

I feel this is the best season City will have in the Prem under Pepe.  As I don't think they will gain as many points next year in fact i'd put money on it,
    I also believe sometimes you try to perfect a team great team and it can gets worse, Even if the preform on par with this season I just can't see them picking up as many points next term, They had some serious good luck at the begging on the season with loads of late winner's  and Palace missing a pen to beat them ,
    I think this will be peak Pep City in the Prem ,
    Although they will challenge and possible win it again I think every one gets closer to them next term ,

City will be how UTD were in the 00's for a few seasons, always at the top, always the team to beat.

The problem is a lot of the heavy hitters of the league are in a strange state. Power has shifted from London and the likes of Arsenal and Chelsea will need a massive rebuild in the next few years.

Utd are in a strange vacuum where they have all these talented players but no team spirit. The only ones that can challenge would be us and Spurs.

I don't think City will reach the highs they did this year but they will always be up there, at least until Pep leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Not convinced we will spend big on a keeper. Roma are looking for a fortune for Allison given the bargain we got Salah for. Not sure he's the answer but I think Klopp is going to give Karius a chance. Mignolet will probably leave and a replacement for him will come in. No idea who.

I don't think we'll sign another centre-half either.

Keita and another midfielder to arrive and a couple of players to rotate with the front three. Solanke probably goes out on loan and Ings possibly sold.

City will be how UTD were in the 00's for a few seasons, always at the top, always the team to beat.

The problem is a lot of the heavy hitters of the league are in a strange state. Power has shifted from London and the likes of Arsenal and Chelsea will need a massive rebuild in the next few years.

Utd are in a strange vacuum where they have all these talented players but no team spirit. The only ones that can challenge would be us and Spurs.

I don't think City will reach the highs they did this year but they will always be up there, at least until Pep leaves.

To say Utd can't challenge is a stretch. This season they can still get mid 80's in points, and that is with everyone saying how rubbish they are!

I'm hoping Mourinho will cause further division and they will suffer next season, but they could as easily get 90 points being similarly dull but effective as they have been this season for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

13 points from our first 9 games is where the damage was done in terms of our points haul this season. We have 57 points in the subsequent 25 games. Obviously the season is over 38 games, but if the form of those 25 games was representative of the whole season it is 86/87 points. Wishful thinking of course, but it is a real basis for optimism that it has been sustained for that period. The fact that away games against City and Spurs were in the small group colour things in a false way, but if we are ok with injuries next season and summer signings bed in well, we should be able to get 80+ points next season which would again be good, even if not good enough to win it.

If Liverpool had VVD from the start those first few games might have gone differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,090 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Da6ATRdX4AA02RK.jpg:large

To say Utd can't challenge is a stretch. This season they can still get mid 80's in points, and that is with everyone saying how rubbish they are!

I'm hoping Mourinho will cause further division and they will suffer next season, but they could as easily get 90 points being similarly dull but effective as they have been this season for the most part.

True actually

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Da6ATRdX4AA02RK.jpg:large

Please don't read into this its like a January to December tables. It just tells me we started the league badly and maybe would be better off now had we signed Van Dijk in the summer. Southampton may have been too...

True actually

De Gea is the only thing keeping Utd competitive with regard to the Top 4 (well other 3!), for a top side with all the money they've spent their defence is actually quite poor at preventing shots at goal and they are terrible on set-pieces interestingly.

Here are the numbers for Utd over the post Fergie era (these numbers taken from redcafe discussion)
    Shots faced:

2013-14: 11.9 (6th least)
    2014-15: 10.1 (least)
    2015-16: 10.8 (3rd least)
    2016-17: 9.5 (5th least)
    2017-18: 11.8 (8th least, worse than Huddersfield, watford and all the big 6 teams)

(my edit - for comparison Liverpool allowed 7.4 shots, second only to City on 6.3)

Goals Conceded from set pieces:

2013-14: 16 (14th most)
    2014-15: 15 (14th best)
    2015-16: 10 (2nd best)
    2016-17: 10 (4th best)
    2017-18: 14 (15th best) (after 33 games!)

Some others stats - Utd keep makes 3.2 saves PG, Liverpool keeper makes 1.7
    City's makes 1.6. The only teams above Man Utd are Stoke, Swansea Burnley (!), Everton and Palace. Liverpool and City are the least troubled to make a save.

Total numbers so far Man Utd 106 saves, Liverpool 58, City 54. David De Gea is earning his crust

Interestingly the peno area shots saved for Liverpool is the lowest at 0.9. City is 1.0, Utd is 1.8 so twice as many. Liverpool's defence is actually doing it's job as it should. Hard to get much lower than .9 saved shots from within the peno area really. Looking through all the defence stats shows Liverpool and City are the best as snuffing out the danger be it at the last gasp or before there is an actual shot at goal and doing so without fouling at a high rate (again Utd numbers are quite high in this regard).

Oh yes, I'll take a punt and suggest that had Karius been made the No 1 stopper in the summer the goal conceded stats would be better even without Van Dyke's arrival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

I think we could do with a center back, a center mid, a pacey wide man and a striker.

We are solid at therapy but I can see either Lovren or Klaven leaving. While Gomez Matip and one of the former staying will be good back up, I think bringing in a center back to pair with vvd could help us even further. Is de frig still possible?

Keira coming in is gonna be brilliant but Can will be going. Hendo and gini are great to have and hopefully Milner will stay. But that is 4 players looking at 6 spots. Even keeping Can we would have only 5. We need more in midfield. I would like a solid defensive mid but I'm pretty sure we would be just after high energy pressing mids who can pass. Has groetzka confirmed Bayern yet? He will go there but would have been ideal for us. Maybe Meyer?

A wide man or two would help our front lads. Bailey and pulisic would be great and very possible options. Costly but with the amount of games we could have used them this season it would make sense.

A striker would help rotate with firmino. I like Solanke but he hasn't proven anything this year. We need a proven scorer to rotate. We are not getting Werner if united are in for him but maybe poulsen also at Leipzig could be an option? Obviously I'd prefer someone like cavani but we need reality here. A player who could be expected to play second fiddle but good enough to challenge for a first choice role.

Mignolet will leave in the summer and I don't think Ward is good enough to be number two behind Karius.

So I think we will buy a keeper to compete with Karius for the number 1 spot be that Alisson or someone else.

Klopp will not spend 70m on a stopper. Just cannot see it. The whole way his game is designed is to stop the ball getting anywhere near the peno area (see my post above for the numbers) so that's where he'll spend big if he is spending big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Mister Gooey

Mignolet won't be going anywhere. He's happy being on the bench and getting £120k per week. No other team would pay him that money. He will play (sit) out his contract!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dippers eh.....that's a new one.
    Klopp will not spend 70m on a stopper. Just cannot see it. The whole way his game is designed is to stop the ball getting anywhere near the peno area (see my post above for the numbers) so that's where he'll spend big if he is spending big.

I tend to agree with this, he talks about the player highest up the pitch being the first defender when we don't have the ball.

Karius has shown growth, is probably getting better and has loads of room to get better.

I'd rather invest in another quality centre half of defensive minded midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Mignolet won't be going anywhere. He's happy being on the bench

He didn't sound overly happy after he lost his place. Despite the money I think he wants to play. Be it at Liverpool or likely somewhere else now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Mignolet has one of those ‘we’ll definitely buy him after the loan’ Italian con jobs written all over him.

He could probably drop down to that level and look like a superstar.

Yep, and his numbers and his whole "scared/scarred" demeanour means it'll be hard to shift him to another PL club.