Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018 Mod warning post 9350 and 9421

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Blondie919 wrote: »
    No wonder there’s none of them going to the World Cup.

+100

Disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,295 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

For such an attacking team Liverpool have only been awarded 3 pens all season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

I'm glad Henderson got through the game and hopefully Alexander-Arnold will be fit for Wednesday. Given how thread bare the squad is the result is okay. The top 4 finish is in our own hands just ned to avoid defeat against Chelsea next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Frustrating today. Stoke were Stoke and the Paul Lambert hoodoo continues.

Refs were awful.

No need to read anymore into this. Wednesday is clearly on their minds and it was not the normal 11.

All completely over. Any result against Chelsea will do.

Either way just beat Brighton and top 4 is secure.

Now recover and roll on Wednesday.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

klose wrote: »
    I won't miss Stoke and West Brom next season anyways good riddance. It was a poor performance and we clearly had both eyes on the second leg which I suppose is fair enough, still in our hands to finish top 4 so can't complain too much.
    Joe gomez has regressed so much since his injury its very worrying, moreno although he didn't have a bad game can't hold a candle to Roberton. We were poor against West Brom and turned it on against Roma, I'm expecting the same Wednesday.

Cardiff could be up next season and they actually boast about kicking players :confused: Twice as bad IMO as either of the above

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Not a pen imo (the handball shout). More understandable for it to be given than the Milly one, but neither are pens. The rules are clear, has to be a deliberate act, I can't understand why some refs still give these.

Some of the holding from Pieters could have been given though.

Could have been a lot worse with that Shawcross miss. A draw keeps it in our hands even if we lose to Chelsea.

Draw is a bit frustrating, but a loss would've been a disaster

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Alonso77

Gotta get out of this mentality of having mind on "bigger games". If in future we are in the running for the lg with a few games to go and also in champs lg latter stages we gotta show a lot more than recently

Alonso77 wrote: »
    Gotta get out of this mentality of having mind on "bigger games". If in future we are in the running for the lg with a few games to go and also in champs lg latter stages we gotta show a lot more than recently

If going for the league i am sure it would have been different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Lucky we didn't lose it in the end. Shawcross probably should have scored there looking at it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

You can see why none are going to the World Cup

The standard in the PL in general is poor but the reason there's none going is because Clattenburg - an awful ref also - can no longer ref in the WC and he was the only PL ref on the list. They don't hand out matches in the WC based on how your season's gone.

That all said, Marriner was fucking awful today. As was his assistant.

If going for the league i am sure it would have been different

Shouldn't be though. That's the point. Klopp said in presser that he wanted today to be like the biggest game of season. Be interested to see his reaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Sofa Spud

Hopefully Swansea can hit the kinda form they had earlier in the season and they're still fighting for survival, albeit not quite as much as those around them but a draw is definitely not inconceivable.

In terms of today's performance, it does show that although there are options that we like, and some Spanish ones that we don't, the dept in the squad is not what is needed for a credible title shot next year.
    The drop down in quality from the optimum starting 11 is too much and it'll mean some nasty decisions for Klopp in terms of who he keeps and who he lets go - Ings is not good enough, no matter how much we like him, and he deserves to be getting regular starts elsewhere. Keita will be a great addition to midfield, hopefully the Ox can maintain his progress when he comes back, Millie definitely has at least one more season left in him at the pace he's shown this year, Hendo has been more consistent this year and Gini has promise that needs to be shown each game, but would you keep Lallana? Lovren has improved but enough?

We win the CL (no Jinx!) and keep our stars and Liverpool, with Klopp, can become a destination team and not a selling, or reluctant seller to Barca, team.
    There'll be funds available, so it'll be very interesting to see what Klopp does in the next window, and more tellingly, who goes - time for a bit of a cleanout that will sting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

What Liverpool need is a bigger and better squad.

When your fall back position at LB is Moreno and it's Ings at centre forward you are in trouble. Klopp needs two grade A first 11's if any progress is to made in the face of Man City's squad as it is never mind how it'll look come September 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Shouldn't be though. That's the point. Klopp said in presser that he wanted today to be like the biggest game of season. Be interested to see his reaction.

? But he played a mad looking squad. Listen, he's gonna say stuff like that in the presser, that's his job. I personally wouldn't want them going out and running their legs off for this game. One point. No injuries. Be grand.

He was talking about the crowd needing to bring the same atmosphere as Tuesday night to lift the players energy levels.

mosstin wrote: »
    The standard in the PL in general is poor but the reason there's none going is because Clattenburg - an awful ref also - can no longer ref in the WC and he was the only PL ref on the list. They don't hand out matches in the WC based on how your season's gone.

That all said, Marriner was fucking awful today. As was his assistant.

I know that pointed it out here myself before but it is also fun to point out that none are still going

Talisman wrote: »
    He was talking about the crowd needing to bring the same atmosphere as Tuesday night to lift the players energy levels.

Yes and that didn't happen either. He seems happy enough though from post match interview.

What Liverpool need is a bigger and better squad.

When your fall back position at LB is Moreno and it's Ings at centre forward you are in trouble. Klopp needs two grade A first 11's if any progress is to made in the face of Man City's squad as it is never mind how it'll look come September 1st.
    In fairness Ings and Moreno being fallback squad players wasn't the problem today.

Moreno must have been watching this all day yesterday after he tried it

https://twitter.com/btsportfootball/status/989829723445342208

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

PENALTY

SerpentineDisastrousIlsamochadegu-size_restricted.gif

NOT A PENALTY

GloriousDampBorzoi-size_restricted.gif

PENALTY

LoathsomeUntidyArchaeocete-size_restricted.gif

NOT A PENALTY

giphy.gif

Oh and lest we forget this gem :)

IncomparableAncientBasilisk-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Maybe we'll be given a dodgy penalty in the Champions League Final.

have to get their 1st so shhhhhh say nothing about that until 9:45 on Wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Terrible ref lads but let's not lose our **** here.

No injuries today.

We only have to beat Brighton at home.

Lads were watching themselves before Wednesday.

It's all good.

Talisman wrote: »
    In fairness Ings and Moreno being fallback squad players wasn't the problem today.

No Moreno and Klopp would have played a 4-3-3, No Ings but a quality up to speed attacker and Liverpool probably would have won that regardless of the officiating.

ebbsy wrote: »
    Terrible ref lads but let's not lose our **** here.

No injuries today.

We only have to beat Brighton at home.

Lads were watching themselves before Wednesday.

It's all good.

Hopefully a dead rubber by then. Not at the moment though. Southampton currently winning. Would want Brighton getting a result at Burnley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Guys could ye please focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Hopefully a dead rubber by then. Not at the moment though. Southampton currently winning. Would want Brighton getting a result at Burnley.

Ah come on. Regardless of what happens between Southampton v Bournemouth, Liverpool are more than capable of beating Brighton at home.

Also, I think Chelsea will drop points before the end of the season.

Everything is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Good guy Liverpool doesn't want to relegate a team so we play for a draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Morzadec wrote: »
    Not a pen imo (the handball shout). More understandable for it to be given than the Milly one, but neither are pens. The rules are clear, has to be a deliberate act, I can't understand why some refs still give these.

Some of the holding from Pieters could have been given though.

Could have been a lot worse with that Shawcross miss. A draw keeps it in our hands even if we lose to Chelsea.

Draw is a bit frustrating, but a loss would've been a disaster

I thought today's one was fairly blatant, I have to say.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Ah come on. Regardless of what happens between Southampton v Bournemouth, Liverpool are more than capable of beating Brighton at home.

Also, I think Chelsea will drop points before the end of the season.

Everything is fine.

Absolutely. Would be just nice not to have them fighting for their lives if the result at Stamford Bridge hasn't gone our way.

Baring any injuries it will be full teams for the Chelsea and Brighton games with the 2 week break if they get to the CL final

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Our squad is bare thin at the moment. No injuries to key players today was more important for me than 3 points .

Imagine Firmino or Salah picking up a knock . Or Henderson/Milner. We got the point, prob should have won. Can't help but think all minds eyes and focus is on reaching CL final .

Absolutely. Would be just nice not to have them fighting for their lives if the result at Stamford Bridge hasn't gone our way.

Brighton in all likelihood are 1 point from safety if they draw today their goal difference at -15 is better than everyone below them.

Unfortunately they play the Manchester clubs next :(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Just out of a wedding to see we draw. I am fairly certain we will be able to get points needed so okay with the draw. No injuries are now the priority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Brighton will likely be safe by the time we play them. Thing is will we have all our players still fit by then? That game looks a lot different if we are missing any of the front three or we lose another midfielder between now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

We do nothing the easy way so it's just the norm that we will probably have to avoid losing to Chelsea to get top 4.

Games to keep an eye on

Next sat
    Stoke City 12 : 30 Crystal Palace
    AFC Bournemouth 15 : 00 Swansea City
    West Bromwich …15 : 00 Tottenham Hotspurs

Tue 08/05/18
    Swansea City 19 : 45 Southampton
    Chelsea 19 : 45 Huddersfield Town

Thurs 10/05/18
    West Ham United 19 : 45 Manchester United

No Moreno and Klopp would have played a 4-3-3, No Ings but a quality up to speed attacker and Liverpool probably would have won that regardless of the officiating.
    That's a ridiculous argument. Ings was the only player on the pitch to put the ball in the net but the officials decided he was offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Thankfully we didn't have to play Stoke or West Brom in the Champions League this year, would have wrecked our stats.

It's not, Ings was not on the level needed (not his fault), that he put the ball in the net to suggest he is good enough is a poor argument - Sturridge scored a few times last season but he is rubbish we all know that. A good enough forward is on a level that elevates everyone else around him. Ings isn't that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Morzadec wrote: »

Yeah this is spot on.

The Milner one was a **** up, but you'd wonder would he have given it at 0-0.
    Whatever he might have done, that doesn't make what the Stoke defender did a foul.

The point of handball rules is to stop you using your hands to gain an unfair advantage. It's not to punish players if the sanctified football is defiled by the filthy mitts of common men.

If your arms are in a reasonable position then it's not supposed to be a foul.

At that point your arms aren't any less valid a piece of your body to touch the ball with than your hip. That's also why the Solanke goal should have stood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

murpho999 wrote: »
    Need the 3 points...

Nope. Need three from the remaining two, or just one against Chelsea. And that’s only if they don’t drop points in other games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Two games away from the champions league on two fronts.

One path leads back to the start, the other to the top of the tree.

I want both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Roma have taken an early lead over Chievo, Schick with the goal. Gonna keep an eye on it and see how they look ahead of Wednesday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Sofa Spud

Just looking at the table, Burnley are pretty much locked-in for 7th and therefore the qualifying rounds of the Europa League.
    Fair dues to Sean Dyche, yo-yo'ed at first from Championship and PL and now he gets to play in the arse-end of Eastern Europe, not to mention the extra funds. They've been a bogey team for us, but it's a well deserved recognition for a manager that's over achieved with tiny resources compared to some big names that have achieved less...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

Sofa Spud wrote: »
    Fair dues to Sean Dyche, yo-yo'ed at first from Championship and PL and now he gets to play in the arse-end of Eastern Europe, not to mention the extra funds. They've been a bogey team for us, but it's a well deserved recognition for a manager that's over achieved with tiny resources compared to some big names that have achieved less...

Yes, and to the owners.

Didn't spend money they didn't have when they got promoted, then didn't blame the manager and sack him when they got relegated without spending money, then supported him as best they could to get back up and are spending wisely.

Sensible, long-term running of a club on all sides.

Chelsea take the lead 4 minutes in, no help from Swansea I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

martyos121 wrote: »
    Roma have taken an early lead over Chievo, Schick with the goal. Gonna keep an eye on it and see how they look ahead of Wednesday.

Are they playing a strong team?

It's not, Ings was not on the level needed (not his fault), that he put the ball in the net to suggest he is good enough is a poor argument - Sturridge scored a few times last season but he is rubbish we all know that. A good enough forward is on a level that elevates everyone else around him. Ings isn't that.
    FFS Harry - are you a school kid? Your team didn't win today boo ****ing hoo! There's no guarantee that your imaginary alternative options would have been available or had your desired impact on the game. Football doesn't work like that.

The squad is thread bare due to injuries - the depth and quality of replacements will hopefully be addressed in the summer.

Not losing any players to injury and not losing the game is all that matters.

I don't think I have to defend Ings but by your rationale questions must be asked about Salah because he certainly didn't elevate anybody's level today and he missed the best chance of the game. That kind of reasoning is just stupid - the energy levels weren't there, we didn't win, end of story.