Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Ford Focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Saw a 2019 Focus on the road this morning. Such a bland design, it looks years old already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

you used to be able to go to a northern dealer and say i want this car on southern plates what price and theyd sort it.
    my neighbours always buy new southern reg fords from the ford main dealer in derry and i doubt they would do it if the price wasnt right !

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭kooga

Agree with previous posts can't understand why no 1.5 in Ireland even if they just put that engine in the top trim level.

To compare to the golf - the 1.5 is only in highline trim and is €1,700 more than the 1.0 in highline trim both are in VRT Band A4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Went to a dealer about buying a 151 Ford Focus, he told me not to waste my money as they were a terrible car. He had 1 and didn't know what he was going to do with it, even though he had nothing else we were interested in!
    I hope the new model is better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,543 ✭✭✭Ryath

Saw a 2019 Focus on the road this morning. Such a bland design, it looks years old already.

A lot depends on trim level and colour choice. I thought the St-Line was quite nice and the interior is much better than the old one.

global-Europe_Focus_STLine-352450.jpg?

Don't like the grill on the Zetec model
    d43864c90df075c94489ddbe4ca5ffe9471acf7f07f1ae5c5492d38c9721cddc.jpg

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Went to a dealer about buying a 151 Ford Focus, he told me not to waste my money as they were a terrible car. He had 1 and didn't know what he was going to do with it, even though he had nothing else we were interested in!

Ah yes a dealer that doesn't want you to buy his used car.

Rare beasts. Perhaps mythical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

Ah yes a dealer that doesn't want you to buy his used car.

Rare beasts. Perhaps mythical?

Funny that story as the focus is the bread and butter of a lot of dealers and an easy enough sell

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Philb76 wrote: »
    Funny that story as the focus is the bread and butter of a lot of dealers and an easy enough sell

Yep.

2nd best selling new car here too in 2015, but the buying public haven't a scooby doo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

Like the new focus and seeing loads of them and also the vw polo seems to be selling well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Seeing quite a few ST lines on the road, I like them. I wish they would have flipped the front grill upside down like it was in the mk3. Doesn't look as aggressive anymore. Wonder how it'll look on the ST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭neeb03

I replied to Ford Ireland to ask why the 1.5 is not available as the garages could not tell me either, here is their reply:

"Thank you for your response. Unfortunately due to Tax and Vrt reasons the 1.5 Litre Focus Ecoboost 182ps will not be introduced to the Irish Market. Regrettably, dealers are unable to special order vehicles which are not destined for Ireland. Thank you for taking the time to contact our offices. Kind regards"

This argument makes no sense as that engine is available in Ireland in a more powerful version in the Fiesta ST3. 6 variants of the petrol version are available in Germany and throughout europe. Ireland get 1 petrol and 2 diesels!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,531 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Forget about Ford Ireland, all you are getting off them are default copy and paste computer says no answers. Best start ringing dealers around the country to see if they can get one in from the UK for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

neeb03 wrote: »
    I replied to Ford Ireland to ask why the 1.5 is not available as the garages could not tell me either, here is their reply:

"Thank you for your response. Unfortunately due to Tax and Vrt reasons the 1.5 Litre Focus Ecoboost 182ps will not be introduced to the Irish Market. Regrettably, dealers are unable to special order vehicles which are not destined for Ireland. Thank you for taking the time to contact our offices. Kind regards"

This argument makes no sense as that engine is available in Ireland in a more powerful version in the Fiesta ST3. 6 variants of the petrol version are available in Germany and throughout europe. Ireland get 1 petrol and 2 diesels!!!!!!!!!!
    roughly translated means the markets too small and we cant be bothered bringing a load of different cars

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

or go yourself.
    Ive a 162 Focus ST3 and there was no way in hell I was getting one in Ireland.
    Dealers wouldn't bring it in and the one I did find wanted to charge me a huge amount. Just popped over to the UK and brought it in myself.

or go yourself.
    Ive a 162 Focus ST3 and there was no way in hell I was getting one in Ireland.
    Dealers wouldn't bring it in and the one I did find wanted to charge me a huge amount. Just popped over to the UK and brought it in myself.

Thanks but as to previous posts - €4500VRT on import plus VAT on new car imported from UK and all of this on top of the actual Ford asking price of the car

Buy a 6 month old car, no VAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭Alun

roughly translated means the markets too small and we cant be bothered bringing a load of different cars
    I've heard this argument before and it makes no sense to me. Surely there's little to no extra work involved from an administrative standpoint in adding all the models available in the UK to those available here. For less popular model variations, just don't import any stock, and allow the customer to order whatever they want from the factory if they're prepared to wait for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

think his point is he cant get a 6month old one as the car isn't even released yet.

@neeb03 contact one of the UK dealers and talk to them about having a look at one of the display models at a time down the line. ie. 6months from the release of the car. That's what my one was, contacted them and they came back to me 2months later when the car was 6 months old and 6,250 miles on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭chasm

I'd believe that actually, a relative of mine in the UK has driven fords for well over 20 years, had 15 reg ecoboost and had nothing but issues with it, so much so that they have vowed never to buy a ford again, not just due to the issues with their focus, but due to fords handling of it.
    There's a group on FB called Ford Ecoboost nightmares (or something along those lines) and the issues my relative had with their car is a common complaint, along with new engines and clutches having to be fitted on relatively young cars. The group are in discussion with solicitors on behalf of all those registering their car details and issues the last time I checked.

chasm wrote: »
    I'd believe that actually, a relative of mine in the UK has driven fords for well over 20 years, had 15 reg ecoboost and had nothing but issues with it, so much so that they have vowed never to buy a ford again, not just due to the issues with their focus, but due to fords handling of it.
    There's a group on FB called Ford Ecoboost nightmares (or something along those lines) and the issues my relative had with their car is a common complaint, along with new engines and clutches having to be fitted on relatively young cars. The group are in discussion with solicitors on behalf of all those registering their car details and issues the last time I checked.

The 1.0 Ecoboost was what we were looking at. He said they had caused untold trouble, needing engine changes, clutch problems are persistent, etc. He said he genuinely wouldn't sell it to us.

I had had Focus for years, found them great, and I was incredulous about what I was hearing. And it wasn't in a "Oh I've this great other car", he honestly told it as I have found out since it is. Have a Google lads, I hope new model is better!

That €4500 vrt quote is on a 1.5 ecoboost titanium x 180 2018 November with 6500km. It was the closet car with that engine I could find on the VRT calculator. The ST-X 182 1.5 eco boost was not listed there.

@neeb03 contact one of the UK dealers and talk to them about having a look at one of the display models at a time down the line. ie. 6months from the release of the car. That's what my one was, contacted them and they came back to me 2months later when the car was 6 months old and 6,250 miles on the clock.

This. I'd say you'd get a 6 month old one for £15-16K.

Assuming Brexit does not feck imports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭sam22

Hi we had a 2016 ecoboost and have to say the car was faultless. Just traded it in for a prereg titanium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,698 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

You could help it out buy suggesting he sell/give/donate it to a collage or a training centre. I am sure they would be delighted. If he can not or does not want to sell it then its worthless to him.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    You could help it out buy suggesting he sell/give/donate it to a collage or a training centre. I am sure they would be delighted. If he can not or does not want to sell it then its worthless to him.

Its not my place to tell him how to run his business. I thought fair play to him for not selling us an unfit car, even though we walked out about 15 minutes later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,698 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Its not my place to tell him how to run his business. I thought fair play to him for not selling us an unfit car, even though we walked out about 15 minutes later

I am not saying you tell him how to run his business. Sure if you ever meet him again and he still has that car you could say maybe some collage or training centre might take it. Just on idea that's all.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    I am not saying you tell him how to run his business. Sure if you ever meet him again and he still has that car you could say maybe some collage or training centre might take it. Just on idea that's all.

Sure PM me and I'll give you his details and you can tell him yourself. In the meantime, you might look up the spelling of collage (unless you mean the artistic type)

Just came across the Irish Times article about this new car and the reason for not having the 1.5 petrol engine available:

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/motors/new-ford-focus-still-the-most-fun-to-drive-of-any-mainstream-hatchback-1.3566672

Makes me even more angry!!!!!

If the WLTP is the reason for the 1.5 not being available here, why are they available across Europe and UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,018 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

If the WLTP is the reason for the 1.5 not being available here, why are they available across Europe and UK?

Because people here won't pay any more than 200 euro for tax.