Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you sue a pub landlord for slander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭cryptocurrency

You don't need any legal advice from the amateur lawyers here. You have it all worked out. You won't even need any professional legal advisers in court.

I pity the poor bar owner.

I’d say I pay a company to leaflet every house in the neighborhood explaining the situation and calling on them to pony up with when we know doesn’t exist or come clean and apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

I’d say I pay a company to leaflet every house in the neighborhood explaining the situation and calling on them to pony up with when we know doesn’t exist or come clean and apologies.
    Make sure to leave out the unproven anti english elements of your complaint which could of course be considered defamatory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Just make sure the delivery people respect the No Junk Mail notices on houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Why didnt you start a fight and get barred for real

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Answer to op is yes you can.

The question is, will you win?

What is your loss that you want to be compensated for and can you prove that loss.

Are you willing to wait 3 years for the case to come up and are you willing to pay the legal fees if you lose?

So, of course you can sue them, but the reality is that unless it was very public and has caused you substantial loss, the costs, time investment and hassle will not be worth it and it is relatively easy to frustrate such a case and drag it on for 5+ years.

bobmalooka wrote: »
    Make sure to leave out the unproven anti english elements of your complaint which could of course be considered defamatory

Of course. You just explain you are a UK national of exemplary character who frequented the place a number of times for a glass once in a while. You knew nobody or engaged with anyone there. The continue to explain your horror and offer a reward if anyone can offer any evidence to back the allegations made against you and your good name as the premises itself has now retreated to silence once they were called up on their fabrication. ...

I’d say it would make you scan over it a bit longer the the lastest pizza menu or the local TD news

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Answer to op is yes you can.

The question is, will you win?

What is your loss that you want to be compensated for and can you prove that loss.

Are you willing to wait 3 years for the case to come up and are you willing to pay the legal fees if you lose?

So, of course you can sue them, but the reality is that unless it was very public and has caused you substantial loss, the costs, time investment and hassle will not be worth it and it is relatively easy to frustrate such a case and drag it on for 5+ years.
    You can call them out publicaly in many way as I said in my last post. I am leaving the city premanatly soon and will not be returning for some time so I have no issue on it being common knowledge it is me calling them out.

Of course. You just explain you are a UK national of exemplary character who frequented the place a number of times for a glass once in a while. You knew nobody or engaged with anyone there. The continue to explain your horror and offer a reward if anyone can offer any evidence to back the allegations made against you and your good name as the premises itself has now retreated to silence once they were called up on their fabrication. ...

I’d say it would make you scan over it a bit longer the the lastest pizza menu or the local TD news

What type of evidence? Eye witness account do?

Yes, best to say UK instead of English.

What type of evidence? Eye witness account do?

Of what...an event that didn’t happen. Easy. When did it happen...coached witness says agreed time and date. I produce a airline ticket and a record of me in Iraq or whatever at that time. Yeah they haven’t a clue where they are going with this.

What conditions will you have to claim the reward is the point I’m making?

Edit: with a reward being offered plenty of characters in my local would have recollections of an english guy rowing in there, god knows what dates - only remember him from arguing over the value of bitcoin in Iraq

So far, they appear to be ahead. They barred you out of their premises, and you are on the internet at midnight moaning about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Yes, best to say UK instead of English.

True, but it shouldn't be an issue, we're all from the British Isles ultimately.

Oh of interest Would discussing your work with your other half rack people off at the bar...if said work was uk military linked / contacrtor etc..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Jaysus, talk about petty focking pedantry.

True, but it shouldn't be an issue, we're all from the British Isles ultimately.

Some of the local residents could be from countries which had trouble with the English in the past, e.g. their patriotic football supporters.

Yes some view that this way with their English team shirts in pub to watch two English teams and their tattoos of English teams. Odd folk really.

Very few English nationals play for those clubs.

Really? And this support is a sudden new thing because if this international influx of players. Get. Off .the. Stage.

Don’t say that out loud, some people record their conversations in case there’s a perceived slight they might want to pursue. We call them normal folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭sm3ar

What pub was it?

Really? And this support is a sudden new thing because if this international influx of players. Get. Off .the. Stage.

It goes back to the time when it was mostly Irish, Northern Irish, Scots and Welsh who played for those teams.

Ah here...mostly. When was this mostly time. Irish people supporting teams because of Welsh and scots along with a couple of Irish..ridiculous notion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

This thread has really nose dived now.

sm3ar wrote: »
    What pub was it?

I said Dublin west. That’s enough for now. Let’s see what the landlords investigation brings before it either dies or continues on to the next stage.

Don’t say that out loud, some people record their conversations in case there’s a perceived slight they might want to pursue. We call them normal folk.

I think the shock of the refusal was enough for me to turn in watch and ask for an explaination of such behavior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

I like how people are responding with legal advice for a guy who just quoted the data protection act...who ordered a half pint....with a watch recording his every move....with a bulletproof alibi for any date ever.

How is it so easy to fool people. SMH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Have you contacted your solicitor yet? Surely you have him scared sh1tless with recording your earlier meetings and threatening him so that he’ll call to your house immediately to discuss your issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

I hope you’re recording this thread OP, some serious suing could be had.

Just move on, don’t go back to the bar.

Oh, and, Allez allez allez.

Gregk961 wrote: »
    I like how people are responding with legal advice for a guy who just quoted the data protection act...who ordered a half pint....with a watch recording his every move....with a bulletproof alibi for any date ever.

Well being out of the country most of the time is enough of a alibi. I doesn’t need much more but when I’m away my movements on location are limited to a point so it isn’t hard to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Truth? Since you were there before I’d imagine you pissed him off somehow. Do you go out of your way to annoy people? I’m getting that vibe off some of your posts. Just let it go. Pedantically obsessive people are the worst.
    On the bright side at least you have a cool watch.

Gregk961 wrote: »

I believe he/she may be relying on the Interception of Postal Packets and Telecommunications Messages (Regulation) Act, 1993.

Which may not be relevant to the type of recording in question.

I believe he/she may be relying on the Interception of Postal Packets and Telecommunications Messages (Regulation) Act, 1993.

Which may not be relevant to the type of recording in question.

I’d say the mass leafleting calling him out as a bullsheffer is the way to go. Ball be in his court then to move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Op please upload the recording so we can judge for ourselves

I’m starting to think that this thread is just to let everyone know that the OP has an iPhone and Apple Watch.

I’d say the mass leafleting calling him out as a bullsheffer is the way to go. Ball be in his court then to move.

I think the professionals in this area expect about one in a hundred to show any interest in this type of material. A lot of it is dispatched unread to the dustbin.

I’m starting to think that this thread is just to let everyone know that the OP has an iPhone and Apple Watch.

With android pay??? What

Wow. With 4g??

I agree, can’t go wrong. You look like the bigger man and will definitely have them throwing money at you.
    Solid investment

I think the professionals in this area expect about one in a hundred to show any interest in this type of material. A lot of it is dispatched unread to the dustbin.

True as it’s all the same guff and it gains no traction but this is a different approach and a different point. It could well raise some talking points for people to share be it online or where every after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

I wonder does the op 'travel' much?

Wow. With 4g??

https://www.eglobalcentral.eu/huawei-smart-watch-2-wifi-bluetooth-carbon-black.html?gclid=CjwKCAjwwbHWBRBWEiwAMIV7E-kqqmaMAAmiCx5RtkCnXownjfndrG6lce0hG5KB5JkmR0jlVS6FfxoC_7oQAvD_BwE

Twice the price when I got it. Be half the price again in six months as with most tech. It is excellent I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Oh of interest Would discussing your work with your other half rack people off at the bar...if said work was uk military linked / contacrtor etc..?

Yes. On the other side of the coin however, If I were in Belfast, I wouldn't pop into The Diamond Jubilee and chew the fat about 'how this could be Mayo's year' and enquire why they don't seem to have anything by the Wolfe Tones on the jukebox. Common sense should prevail. Also note that unless your a woman or a middle aged wealthy American gent rocking a tweed cap one does not order a glass of Guinness. Or a glass of anything, in any pub EVER. Order a pint and drink half ffs. You people though, divide and conquer as they say! I'm enjoying it anyways, I'm holed up in a hotel in town at the moment and getting great entertainment from it all. I've spent most of the day in hospital, and I've to be back at ten in the morning for an x-ray. I'm getting my head examined. Given where I live it was more economical and practical to book in here for the night, have a drink, a bit of J Edgar and maybe a bit of porn.. Then I stumble across this beauty. I hate to say it but I find your crisis quite amusing. I have my drinks and my bit of dust sorted, but I haven't even picked up the remote control. No blushes for me in the morning when checking out having to pay 12 quid for premium channels haha. Nice one guv'nor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

If people are allowed to just say stuff what is stopping me paying for the whole area to be leafleted with the story of the event and calling on them to name this date or cctv or whatever they claim it was. And prove it’s not just anti English nonsense

And you berated another poster for having so little going on in their lives?! Entertaining the leaflet approach is going full retard, despite your exaggerated inference it's pretty much the same as the landlord's insult to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

.... but naming the pub is a step too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

He was probably caught in the corner pulling the plum off himself. The glass of Guinness was the final straw though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Its not an argument you are going to win. If there was any proof that it is not you (cctv etc.) which he said he does not have, then they can turn around and just not serve you for the inconvenience of being found to be in the wrong.

The 'ol bouncer trick of "not today/tonight" or "you have had enough" regardless of what you have or have not drank that day previous to entering the pub.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

What strikes me most about the OP’s post is that he had taken his child to the pub. Now people do bring children to pubs now and then and have a meal but let’s face it a lot of drinking is done by the adults whilst the children are bored out of their minds. I’m so grateful that my parents weren’t pub goers who dragged my siblings and myself there at weekends. Didn’t stop me becoming an alcoholic though.

A pub is no environment for a child. I remember years ago seeing a group of extremely inebriated adults in a hotel bar in Cork city whilst most their children ran amock. Two small girls were crying, asking their mammy to take them home. Is that right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

With android pay??? What
    Wow. With 4g??

Turns out the OP couldn't afford the Apple watch.