Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interclub Competitions

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭frink

Played Junior Cup at the weekend. Came 3rd in the Strokes Qualifying and then comfortably won the Semi Final. I sat out the final but we managed to nick it and now into the last 8 of Leinster now.

Easily the most enjoyable weekend's golf I've had in a long time, great team spirit and we all get on well together. Makes those late Sunday evenings of practice worthwhile!

Makes me wish that I said that I wanted to be in the Jimmy Bruen team now!

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Irishdaywalker

Just wondering if any of you or teams will be potentially effected by the Leinster Finals in Greenore this year. The reason is the finals are due to be played over the Weekend of The Open and I'm sure many will be heading up to watch.

seems a strange date to be playing the finals with the open taking place, wonder could the leinster finals be potentially rescheduled?

interested to know what ye think.

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭jtown

Munster finals on this Saturday in Nenagh Golf Club

SEMI FINALS
    AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield 1st Tee 8.00 am Waterford Castle -v- Nenagh
    AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield 9th Tee 8.00 am Bandon -v- Killarney

AIG Pierce Purcell Shield 9th Tee 8.50 am Ballykisteen -v- Killarney
    AIG Pierce Purcell Shield 1st Tee 8.50 am Charleville -v- Douglas

FINALS OF BOTH 45 mins after last match from 1st Tee - Bruen Final first

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Dbu

jtown wrote: »
    Munster finals on this Saturday in Nenagh Golf Club

SEMI FINALS
    AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield 1st Tee 8.00 am Waterford Castle -v- Nenagh
    AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield 9th Tee 8.00 am Bandon -v- Killarney

AIG Pierce Purcell Shield 9th Tee 8.50 am Ballykisteen -v- Killarney
    AIG Pierce Purcell Shield 1st Tee 8.50 am Charleville -v- Douglas

FINALS OF BOTH 45 mins after last match from 1st Tee - Bruen Final first

Have a hunch the Ballykisteen will come good in the Purcell and Nenagh in the Bruen.
    Really hope Im wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 20,355 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Well nenagh should be odds on, on their home course

Leinster Finals on Saturday & Sunday in Greenore GC this weekend.

Pierce Purcell Saturday Semi (saturday)

Newlands v Royal Tara
    Cill Dara v Castlecomer

Junior Cup

Tullamore v The Island
    Waterford v Dun Laoghaire

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭evillive

Newlands v Royal Tara
    Cill Dara v Castlecomer

Junior Cup

Tullamore v The Island

Newlands win 3/2
    Cill Dara 3.5/1.5

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭A New earth

Newlands v Royal Tara
    Cill Dara v Castlecomer

Junior Cup

Tullamore v The Island

Dun Laoghaire look like winning the final against the Island at the moment, it started at 9

Dunlaoghaire win it 5-0

Cill Dara win 3-2 last match in pp won on 22nd

Thrilled to be part of winning team for Cill Dara , match played in best spirit I've experienced, Newlands and their supporters deserve utmost respect, neither club deserved to lose

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭jtown

Dbu wrote: »
    Have a hunch the Ballykisteen will come good in the Purcell and Nenagh in the Bruen.
    Really hope Im wrong

AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield Munster Semi-Finals

Nenagh 3-2 Waterford Castle

Ray Hurley & Padraig Hackett lost to Jamie Daly & Harry Belton 3&2
    Conor O’Dwyer & Tom O’Gara beat David Mahon & John McLoughlin 5&4
    Brian Freeman & Matthew O’Gara beat Liam Cody & Martin O’Callaghan 8&7
    Denis Corrigan & John Hogan lost to Dave Butler & Chris Doran 1 hole
    Michael Corrigan & Bernard Hackett beat Thomas Coffey & Eddie Shanahan 1 hole

Bandon 3-2 Killarney

John Carroll & Roger Pearson lost to Michael Maher & Dermot Roche 4&3
    Michael O’ Dell & Kevin Brophy beat Alan McSweeney & Derek O’Keeffe 19th
    Derek O’Driscoll & David Kelly lost to Jason Arthur & Andrew Garnett 19th
    Dave McLoughlin & Sean O’Donoghue beat Peter McEnery & Declan Kelly 2&1
    Michael O’Neill & Martin Dunlea beat Ian Cronin & Shane Connole 20th

AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield Munster Final

Nenagh 4-1 Bandon

Conor O’Dwyer & Tom O’Gara beat Jack O’Donoghue & Brian O’Donoghue 3&2
    Ray Hurley & Padraig Hackett halved Derek O’Driscoll & David Kelly called in (19th)
    Michael Ryan & Michael Scroope beat Michael O’ Dell & Kevin Brophy 3&2
    Brian Freeman & Matthew O’Gara beat Dave McLoughlin & Sean O’Donoghue 2 up
    Michael Corrigan & Bernard Hackett halved with Michael O’Neill & Martin Dunlea called in

AIG Pierce Purcell Shield Munster Semi-Finals

Charleville 4-1 Douglas

Michael Thompson & Ollie Kennelly beat Barry Keeshan & Colm Leen 2 up
    Trevor Barry & Danny Deady beat Bart Cremin & Henry Gallagher 1 hole
    Ciaran Herlihy & Paddy O’Kelly halved with Luke Dennehy & Stephen Barry called in
    Ger Mullane & John O’Keeffe beat Tom Kelly & Eoin Buckley 4&3
    Stephen Twomey & Eamonn Leahy halved with Liam Twomey & Pat Walsh called in

Ballykisteen 3.5-1.5 Killarney

James Nolan & Kevin O’Hora beat George Lenihan & Donie McSweeney 4&3
    Tom Ryan & William Hanley lost to Tommy Galvin & Derek Kelly 1 hole
    Joe McDonald & Michael Fitzgerald beat Brian Regan & Jack Knoblauch 3&2
    Kieran Ryan & Michael Ryan beat Harry O’Neill & Eddie McSweeney 5&4
    James Keane & Denis O’Brien halved with Paul Twiss & Enda Curtayne called in

AIG Pierce Purcell Shield Munster Final

Charleville 3-2 Ballykisteen

Michael Thompson & Ollie Kennelly beat James Nolan & Kevin O’Hora 3&2
    Trevor Barry & Danny Deady lost to Michael Ryan & Kieran Ryan 3&2
    Ciaran Herlihy & Paddy O’Kelly lost to Joe McDonald & Paddy Moloney 3&2
    Ger Mullane & John O’Keeffe beat Liam Downey & William Hanley 4&3
    Stephen Twomey & Eamonn Leahy beat James Keane & Denis O’Brien 1 up

Athlone won the Connacht mixed foursomes over the weekend with victories against Boyle in the semi finals and Athenry in the final in ballaghderreen golf club.

have to agree with you, we played them on Saturday, and the 2 lads I played where sound lads (may have been father and son) - gutted we did'nt get through to play in the final but the players for Newlands represented their club very well. Well done to Cill Dara on Winning Leinster

• Registered Users Posts: 31 1 of 7

Has anyone heard any update from Leinster golf in regards to the qualifying venues for the Pierce Purcell, Jimmy Bruen,etc. When are they normally released for 2020?

1 of 7 wrote: »
    Has anyone heard any update from Leinster golf in regards to the qualifying venues for the Pierce Purcell, Jimmy Bruen,etc. When are they normally released for 2020?

Dates for quals up on golfnet, no draws or clubs assigned venues yet, no venues for pp, , itjb venues identified alright

• Registered Users Posts: 15,973 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

evillive wrote: »
    Dates for quals up on golfnet, no draws or clubs assigned venues yet, no venues for pp, , itjb venues identified alright

i know our qualifying for PP is in Delgany, can't remember where i saw it or what dates it is on

• Registered Users Posts: 31 1 of 7

Yes, I believe one qualifier is in Delgany, Dates are 16/17 May for PP qualifying. I didn’t hear of any other venues. Sometimes they are given out at the Leinster golf adm. Thanks for the reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,973 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

We’re holding Junior Cup qualifying in May.

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Golfhead65

Any updates on venues for qualifying in Leinster Area, Jimmy Bruen, Pierse Purcell, Junior Cup

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭A New earth

Golfhead65 wrote: »
    Any updates on venues for qualifying in Leinster Area, Jimmy Bruen, Pierse Purcell, Junior Cup

Not out yet but I believe fairly soon

• Registered Users Posts: 27,161 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Beech park is one junior cup qualifier

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

GreeBo wrote: »
    Beech park is one junior cup qualifier

Portmarnock Links for the north Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Survey sent out concerning proposed changes to interclub comps.
    Changes including quarter finals where 1 team from Connacht, 3 from Leinster and 2 from both ulster and munster now instead of winners only from each province.
    What do ye reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Survey sent out concerning proposed changes to interclub comps.
    Changes including quarter finals where 1 team from Connacht, 3 from Leinster and 2 from both ulster and munster now instead of winners only from each province.
    What do ye reckon?

Definitely think option 2 is better... which is a restructuring of Inter-Club competitions into 8 relatively equal sized zones.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭martinkop

All for option 1, leave as is. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Don't like the sound of getting a pennant for being a semi finalist. Stick to the provincial structure.

Being provincial champion means more than being all ireland semi finalist, imo

• Registered Users Posts: 27,161 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Rikand wrote: »
    Being provincial champion means more than being all ireland semi finalist, imo

Does being Leinster champ mean more than being Connaught champ though?

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭martinkop

Depends where you're from for what it means personally.

Based solely on number of clubs, you could say a Leinster champ had to beat more opponents to become champ. Does that make them more champion? Are Man City more champion than Celtic or Dundalk? It gets a bit philosophical if you go down that debate.

Irrespective of province, I'd rather have a provincial champion pennant than a showed up for AI semi final and lost pennant (club would have great craic celebrating that one :()

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

In Jimmy bruen comp in Connacht its 18 teams played in full matchplay vs 92 in Leinster.
    Personally I only think of beating what's in front of you should be the only concern. There probably won't be a big difference with connacht structure with the introduction of a couple extra clubs.