Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beyonce $100k to black colleges

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A quick google show that Beyonce also supports the following:

Some of them she has founded and she contributes to them. Saying that she is mean for donating $100k is a fairly narrow view on things.
    It's another slice of money on top of a much bigger pile that she donates already.
    If you extend to the work that her family does (parents/husband/sister) that's a massive amount of donations and charity work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

Why is it an issue if she donates money to a black college? She is donating money all over the place your just picking one of them and getting all pissy about it.

So she's going to pay for some of the fee's of one student?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

buried wrote: »
    I doubt the likes of Harvard needs the f**king help when the likes of Trump and his mates pay 100,000's of dollars to send their kids to establishment colleges so they can sit in a frat house partying like f**king animals then get the degree because daddies $$$$$$$$$

What a bullcrap post.
    But the generalisation is okay on here because it's aimed at white males.

If anybody used the "f**king animals" comment relating to black fraternities, the libs/fems of boards would go into meltdown.
    It's a sad commentary on sad people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭buried

Kivaro wrote: »
    What a bullcrap post.
    But the generalisation is okay on here because it's aimed at white males.

If anybody used the "f**king animals" comment relating to black fraternities, the libs/fems of boards would go into meltdown.
    It's a sad commentary on sad people.

It's okay because that's what actually happens over there. You saying it isn't or what?
    Also, where did I pin point at "White males"?

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,593 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

littelady wrote: »
    Hi There,

Beyonce has announced she is gifting $100,000 to black colleges in America.

If Donald Trump issued a statement stating he was benefiting white colleges (no such thing) there would be uproar.

I am on my phone and can't add links....sorry.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,816 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Probably knowing Trump.

In today's world everyone wants equality....Beyonce should have given her $100k to anyone worthy . To basically say blacks only need to apply is shameful

Have you ever heard of affirmative action?

Gender quotas and the like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    A quick google show that Beyonce also supports the following:

Some of them she has founded and she contributes to them. Saying that she is mean for donating $100k is a fairly narrow view on things.
    It's another slice of money on top of a much bigger pile that she donates already.
    If you extend to the work that her family does (parents/husband/sister) that's a massive amount of donations and charity work.

All deductible. For tax purposes she's been dead for several years.

I'm blatantly lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Harvard held a separate graduation ceremony for black students last year.

There is a wise man buried in Atlanta taken before his time. I'm pretty sure that such a ceremony wasn't part of his dream.

This nonsense will destroy America. Going on far too long. We need a new age of enlightenment - across the western world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

cruizer101 wrote: »
    Juts checked and she is worth $350 million, that's $350,000,000 (lots of zeros) so she gave 1/3500th of her wealth or approx 0.03%.

Fair play to you Beyonce you're so generous.

You’re right, she should just go on Internet forums and undermine charitable ventures instead. If one student benefits from this, then it’s worth it. As for saying it’s the equivalent of an Irish household giving €65 to a worthy cause, we’ll wouldn’t it be great if everyone actually did.

Thread is poisonous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

topper75 wrote: »
    There is a wise man buried in Atlanta taken before his time. I'm pretty sure that such a ceremony wasn't part of his dream.

This nonsense will destroy America. Going on far too long. We need a new age of enlightenment - across the western world.
    It's shocking. These people are setting us back half a century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Yeah, at least 50% of the time that that sentiment is uttered, it’s ill-researched.

Citation?

/runs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

If Bono ever donated €100,000 to schools/colleges in traditionally poorer areas, like Ballymun, Darndale, or wherever, is he being racist? Or classist, or whatever Ist takes your fancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Good for her, they need lightbulbs, must be hard to read in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,638 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Beyonce donates money and gets critcised by people who don't understand her background or why she's donating.

Would you prefer if she donated nothing?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You have to wonder about people graduating from Harvard, paying hundreds of thousands of dollars in tuition, walking into top-paying jobs and being convinced that they're part of the downtrodden underclass of Trump's America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,278 ✭✭✭Odhinn

It's shocking. These people are setting us back half a century.

Does 1500 seem that much different than 1550 to you?:

Colleges that are set up for Black people exist because those colleges are located in communities where only Black people live.
    Those places are usually deprived areas. They could do with some help I should think. I doubt the likes of Harvard needs the f**king help when the likes of Trump and his mates pay 100,000's of dollars to send their kids to establishment colleges so they can sit in a frat house partying like f**king animals then get the degree because daddies $$$$$$$$$

This is the mental imagery that came to mind when I read that:

YerMZYY.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Dat azzz, lan' sakes chile... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Traditionally black colleges exist because black students were not allowed to attend other universities until relatively recently.

This is the mental imagery that came to mind when I read that

lol You 'triggered' yourself cuz, that's what you did. You yank buzzworded your own self!

Odhinn wrote: »
    Does 1500 seem that much different than 1550 to you?:
    How about 1960 to 2010?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

How about 1960 to 2010?

Well, black communities are incredibly underfunded in the US. Segregation still effectively exists and the US president claimed that the Nazis in Charlottesville had people of good character among them... So while things have improved. Racism is still alive and well. Beyonce is not the problem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The whites had guns and rounded up blacks and made them their slaves.

Later on, some of the whites came to the realization that having slaves is wrong, so they set them free.

Today on average, the whites earn 10 times more than the now free blacks.

and you've got people all worried about the whites.

:(:(:(:(

Who sold the slaves to the yanks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Beyonce is massively over rated. I've no idea how she's made that much money on the back of the throwaway bubblegum pop nonsense she peddles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

pitifulgod wrote: »
    Segregation still effectively exists

I'm sure donating to what are effectively black only schools will help end segregation.

lol You 'triggered' yourself cuz, that's what you did. You yank buzzworded your own self!

It's okay. Relax; those bulging neck blood vessels could do you harm.

Calling college kids " f**king animals" because they are on the other side of the higher education divide ........... says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,030 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Beyonce is a racist, who knew. Hmmm oh wait everyone did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Victim mentality is the rage these days, it's a shame people are bringing their kids up telling them they are victims and the evil whites owe you a living.

Most disturbingly is the "liberal" white elite in the US love this and go along with it.
    The USA is more divided then ever.
    Ticking time bomb.

It's okay. Relax; those bulging neck blood vessels could do you harm.

Calling college kids " f**king animals" because they are on the other side of the higher education divide ........... says it all really.

Awww Boo Hoo the poor frat house victims living off Daddies name and money. God love them, yeah your right they're not animals at all, animals don't deserve to be grouped in with that sort of infantile plastic trash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Awww Boo Hoo the poor frat house victims living off Daddies name and money. God love them, yeah your right they're not animals at all, animals don't deserve to be grouped in with that sort of infantile plastic trash.

If you were a millionaire would you not try and give your children the best education possible?

I'd make sure they weren't reliant solely on me, my surname, who I know or the money I made, that's for damn sure. What good are they if they have to rely on my cash or my name? Spoiled brats, that's all you are going to get, bags of trouble, because they know I'll bail them out at any beck and call. F**k that D. That's not on the higher edge of anything, just a bunch of grown infants still sucking on the infinite teat.

pitifulgod wrote: »
    Well, black communities are incredibly underfunded in the US. Segregation still effectively exists and the US president claimed that the Nazis in Charlottesville had people of good character among them... So while things have improved. Racism is still alive and well. Beyonce is not the problem...
    Underfunded? About 50% of the black community are on some form of welfare. The funding isn't working. Not to mention affirmative action - about 53% of black kids who go to university through affirmative action programs graduate. The national average is somewhere around 75%. This is largely down to black students getting places on the basis of skin colour rather than academic ability. Welfare programs have also resulted in a decrease in black participation in the workforce as well as a massive breakdown in the black family far in excess of other demographic groups leading to rampant criminality in many urban areas. It is in the interest of black community leaders and advocacy groups to propagate the victimhood trope to bolster their own position. Many black parents teach their children that white people hate them - what do you think that does to a child's confidence and ambition? It's a horrendous situation to be sure but largely fueled by people who think they are helping.

Now Harvard are segregating the graduation ceremonies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

Beyonce is a cnut.

That being said, I couldn't give a sh1t if she donates what is essentially a pittance to her, to a black college. Publicly stunt.

She's nothing but a fake, boring, insincere, money grabbing, gangsters mol. And her ar*e-lickers, sorry fans, are even worse.

Gangsters mol? Is Jay-Z seriously into heavy stuff? He must be loaded from legitmate or seemingly legitimate business deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's depressing that R & B (rhythm and blues) or soul has gone from what it once was to the kind of soulless shit Beyonce inflicts on the charts. Then that other clown Kanye West attacks anyone who wins an award so he can steal their trophy and give to her.

OP Maybe you should steal her money and give it to someone you think deserves it. It's what Kanye West would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Beyonce is massively over rated. I've no idea how she's made that much money on the back of the throwaway bubblegum pop nonsense she peddles.

Shrewd business decisions.

Say what ye want about the music, you don't get to be a household name, and worth a ****load by being a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Gangsters mol? Is Jay-Z seriously into heavy stuff? He must be loaded from legitmate or seemingly legitimate business deals.
    Don't even think he's interested in hiding his past, in fact I think he even revelled in it in the early part of his music career. Google is your friend.

They're a pair of phoney money hungry scrubs. Her music is fcuking abysmal drivel. Pop pap for ageing "girlos" who don't actually have any real interest in music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Appledreams15

Hi There,

Beyonce has announced she is gifting $100,000 to black colleges in America.

If Donald Trump issued a statement stating he was benefiting white colleges (no such thing) there would be uproar.

I am on my phone and can't add links....sorry.
    It doesn't annoy me. Black people have been discriminated against

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,510 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They're a pair of phoney money hungry scrubs. Her music is fcuking abysmal drivel. Pop pap for ageing "girlos" who don't actually have any real interest in music.

Like westlife and the beatles? (Did you know that westlife had more UK No.1's than the beatles. That's scary)

I'm not into her stuff myself but targeting that demographic is nothing new.

Grayson wrote: »

Like westlife and the beatles? (Did you know that westlife had more UK No.1's than the beatles. That's scary)

True.

Don't think Westlife's music is living as long in the memory as The Beatles' has though. Plus to be fair to The Beatles, they evolved and grew musically and were actually songwriters and accomplished musicians into the bargain.

I wouldn't place much stock in chart positions when assessing music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,196 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Grayson wrote: »

If you want to be really sad look at the good songs they massacred and if you want to be happy look how much money they made for good artists.

Billy Joel, Phil Collins, Chicago, George Benson, Abba, Extreme, Air Supply, Bonnie Tyler, Diana Ross, Tony Bennett, Michael Buble, Bread, The Righteous Brothers, The Temptations, The Eagles all have had songs covered by those eejits.

I do think Beyonce is a bit mean just givin 100k, no matter what college it is.
    Oh and her music is shyte.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Defunkd

100k won't go far - unless it's being used to buy belts or proper sized clothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

Don't even think he's interested in hiding his past, in fact I think he even revelled in it in the early part of his music career. Google is your friend.

Oh for sure. It didn't hurt record sales; he had the street cred or whatever else they call it, 'being real' at that point. I was just wondering do leopards ever change their spots. Like he's up to his neck in fraud or something.

The pair of them have this Oprah style crass materialism/cringy believe in yourself/love everyone and maybe, just maybe one day you too can rap/sing a verse complaining about no room left in your parking garage for the next limited edition porsche or whatever. The kids just love it!

Say what ye want about the music, you don't get to be a household name, and worth a ****load by being a moron.

I'm old enough to be certain about very little in life, but I'm certain that Donald Trump's existence blows that idea completely and unequivocally as an uisce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

If Beyoncer want to tell the world she's giving away 0.28571428571429% of her net worth to a cause, perhaps up the stakes a bit 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,447 ✭✭✭Archeron

Who run da World?
    Gurlz

Repeat 15 billion times.

No wonder she is so rich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

All de single ladies,
    and so fourth.

Imagine living in an apartment below here, sure you head would be wrecked with all that stomping around type of dancing.
    Not to worry, she's out of harms way over in Beverly Hills with a monthly rates and staffing cost of round about 100k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

"If you liked it you should have put a ring on it". The only song I've ever heard that suggests if you like having intercourse with a woman you should take her somewhere to get a labia piercing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Archeron wrote: »
    Who run da World?
    Gurlz

Repeat 15 billion times.

h8C82EC3B

Omackeral wrote: »
    Archeron wrote: »
    Who run da World?
    Gurlz

Repeat 15 billion times.

h8C82EC3B
    She really does make awful, repetitive muck for music.