Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is Islam right for Ireland?

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

[/URL]

Your own link says he was criticised by local politicians and was suspended from duty. If you are arguing some conspiratorial cover up does it not need more than one person? And that's assuming he was fully aware at the time of his statement the full extent of what happened.

Slow meaning within 24 hours.

What relevance is that?

[/URL]

I hate to break it to you but it's not considered rape in Ireland either.

[/URL]

It's almost like it takes time to investigate sexual assaults and the media aren't given regular updates on them.

I agree.

I very much doubt that. I'd be fairly certain your views haven't changed in a long time.

Yes, if a person has been convicted of a mass sexual assault they should certainly not be allowed into the country.

Oh no your Grace, I don't mean a person, I mean the 2000+ migrants who committed sexual violence against German women. I suppose now you'll argue that it wasn't actually mass sexual violence. Can we deport them or would that be 'racist?'

And Archbishop, you won't even consider it odd that the chief of police lied and that the authorities tried to censor the police reports? I suppose it's racist to think about this things?

Oh well, all I can do is laugh. You probably consider yourself a feminist and yet the right of migrant men to enter Europe is more important the rights of European women to live in safety their own countries. Haha!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Oh no your Grace, I don't mean a person, I mean the 2000+ migrants who committed sexual violence against German women. I suppose now you'll argue that it wasn't actually mass sexual violence. Can we deport them or would that be 'racist?'

And Archbishop, you won't even consider it odd that the chief of police lied and that the authorities tried to censor the police reports? I suppose it's racist to think about this things?

Oh well, all I can do is laugh. You probably consider yourself a feminist and yet the right of migrant men to enter Europe is more important the rights of European women to live in safety their own countries. Haha!

Are you ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

You seem to be conveniently forgetting that, not a thousand years ago but within living memory : it was illegal to be gay in Ireland
    . .

Note that this is incorrect.

Homosexual acts were illegal.

Gay people walked hand in hand across St. Stephen's Green, perfectly legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Geuze wrote: »
    Note that this is incorrect.

Homosexual acts were illegal.

Gay people walked hand in hand across St. Stephen's Green, perfectly legal.

You will see men holding hands walking around in Pakistan as well (seen it myself btw). Doesn't change the laws that are in place........

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭Sponge25

Islam is incompatable with Western democracy. Muslims haven't left the world a better place for having been there. They are an existential threat to our Western culture and ought to be excluded from settling here. London, Europes foremost city has a white minority and a Muslim mayor, if we don't take a stand now I fear for our most sacred Europa.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Sponge25 wrote: »
    Islam is incompatable with Western democracy. Muslims haven't left the world a better place for having been there. They are an existential threat to our Western culture and ought to be excluded from settling here. London, Europes foremost city has a white minority and a Muslim mayor, if we don't take a stand now I fear for our most sacred Europa.

Ye wha?

A Muslim mayor that is more liberal than your average Tory........ and yourself for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

wes wrote: »
    A Muslim mayor that is more liberal than your average Tory........ and yourself for that matter.

Is that the mayor when asked about the 200 people coming back into Britain from a war zone and trained to fight against his own troops said it was because the Mets police budget didn't allow for them to be stopped. He gets destroyed every time he's interviewed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Is that the mayor when asked about the 200 people coming back into Britain from a war zone and trained to fight against his own troops said it was because the Mets police budget didn't allow for them to be stopped. He gets destroyed every time he's interviewed.

When is this charlatans term as mayor up?

If that was the case, you would have provided a direct quote and a link to the original interview. I have seen plenty of people take what he says out of context.

thebull85 wrote: »
    When is this charlatans term as mayor up?
    2 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Talks about Western democracy -- decries democratically elected mayor of London. Well done.

In any case -- your thinly-veiled opinions on Sadiq Khan are the very essence of the idiocy of your world view. On the one hand, Muslims are pilloried by those of your persuasion for not integrating and being incapable of liberalism, yet you still would underhandedly have us detest a liberal British Muslim whose service to the public is greater than anything you or I will ever achieve.

If that was the case, you would have provided a direct quote and a link to the original interview. I have seen plenty of people take what he says out of context.

Peers Morgan interview good morning Britain I think.look it up yourself.

If you can't be bothered to post a link for your own claim, why should I bother to go looking for it?

Up to yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Is Islam right for |Ireland?

It's irrelevant because there will never be enough people in the country who want to implement Islamic ideals.

Hopefully there will be enough Socialists in Ireland to implement a Democratic Irish People's Socialist Republic. You know like they did in Limerick in 1919.

It's irrelevant because there will never be enough people in the country who want to implement Islamic ideals.

Hopefully there will be enough Socialists in Ireland to implement a Democratic Irish People's Socialist Republic. You know like they did in Limerick in 1919.

Its the bloody Socialists that want Islam in Ireland.

Pretty much any idea seems to be compatible with "Western Democracy", it's probably why the most extreme Islamic state in the Middle East is so buddy, buddy with Britain & America - Saudi Arabia.

It doesn't matter if your a mad Fascist Dictator like General Pinochet or Caudilla Franco or General Suharto or Pol Pot, as long as you collaborate with the West you can do what ever you like really, you can carry out a genocide as long as America gives you the green light.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

Better dead than red.

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    Its the bloody Socialists that want Islam in Ireland.

But that's because you are talking out your arse.

I'm a Socialist & I don't want any sort of Islamic state formed in Ireland. How Do you explain that? And I don't know one Socialist who has called for implementation of Islamic laws in Ireland.

Maybe your getting confused between Liberals & Socialists.

Socialists, a great bunch of lads...

SSr0 wrote: »
    Better dead than red.

Well during the French Revolution plenty of people did become dead instead of red & lost their head, some while they were sleeping in bed.

Socialists, a great bunch of lads...

Wow, randomly typed letters, cool.

Any comment on what that utter gobsh*te in the video said?

I didn't see any video. post it properly so I can see & I will tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

No it's not which we can clearly see from what has happened in other European countries. We are lucky to live in a country where the population is quite small and we don't have a major issue yet. I say yet because sadly plenty of those in power seem to want to import this culture into Ireland, The West needs to leave the Middle East alone, let them have their way of life and let's protect ours and not allow large numbers of Muslims in to the West. Sadly as long as the US and Zionists are in control war will continue in the Middle East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Just googled it. He said that the met had insufficient funds to track them all because of cutbacks. Cutbacks from the tories. And the police had to prioritise what they spend their money on.

Yet for some reason you hate him and not the tories. Or the police who made a decision based on cuts that were forced on them.

Yes, well he does sound like a gob****e, he also sounds like a Trotskyite.

We Democratic Socialists are 100% oppossed to the ideologies of
    Marxism-Leninism, Marxism-Leninism-Trotskyism or Marxism-Leninism-Stalinism ideas.

Most of my Socialism views were shaped by people like Tony Benn, Rosa Luxemburg, Noam Chomsky, Ken Livingstone etc...

Grayson wrote: »
    Just googled it. He said that the met had insufficient funds to track them all because of cutbacks. Cutbacks from the tories. And the police had to prioritise what they spend their money on.

Yet for some reason you hate him and not the tories. Or the police who made a decision based on cuts that were forced on them.

Where did I mention hate. But I was taken back that he didn't say it was a disgrace and condemn it would be a priority of his to insist funding is made available instead of sitting there as if its a Saturday night chat show.Did he even agree when Morgan said they should be found and thrown out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Your sadly mistaken if you think a far left government will stave of Islam when in fact they are the ones who are happy to get into bed with Islam.

No it's not which we can clearly see from what has happened in other European countries. We are lucky to live in a country where the population is quite small and we don't have a major issue yet. I say yet because sadly plenty of those in power seem to want to import this culture into Ireland, The West needs to leave the Middle East alone, let them have their way of life and let's protect ours and not allow large numbers of Muslims in to the West. Sadly as long as the US and Zionists are in control war will continue in the Middle East.

Their ideology is about spreading Islam and Sharia Law to the rest of the world. They would be doing what they are doing [terrorism, mass migration,etc] even if there wasn't a war in the Middle East.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Your sadly mistaken if you think a far left government will stave of Islam when in fact they are the ones who are happy to get into bed with Islam.

So the reds will get from under the bed for the muslims.....

All a bit romantic, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Odhinn wrote: »

So the reds will get from under the bed for the muslims.....

All a bit romantic, really.
    The left Islamic allegiance has become a mainstream movement by this stage aka Corbyn, Galloway etc western socialists are the biggest supporters of islam in society except i suspect in Islamic countries themselves where they are actively suppressed and not a peak out of their fellow western socialists.

Not in this dimension. Some of us don't believe in tarring that many people with the same brush.

Odhinn wrote: »
    Not in this dimension. Some of us don't believe in tarring that many people with the same brush.

Those guys don't see the difference between not condemning all muslims and supporting Islam.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They conflate Islam with race.

Islam as a political ideology would have more in common with the Far Right.

Hitler for instance was an admirer.

They conflate Islam with race.

Islam as a political ideology would have more in common with the Far Right.

Hitler for instance was an admirer.

So why is the Right against them and left for them?

And LOL at trying to make Hitler right wing. The left has adopted many of his positions.

Christ. Is this the depth of the denial alt right people live in?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Quality of life deteriorates in a society.

People start voting for more right wing parties.

Left wing socialists have more to lose in the short term as a result of a right wing resurgence (them government jobs yo), so they will link up/align themselves with anyone and everyone that isn't right wing in order to keep the right out.

Leftist parties begin to double down on their ideology and the country swings further left.

Your country ends up looking more like Latin America/Brazil as a result as immigration is ramped up.

• Site Banned Posts: 297 ✭✭NKante

Political Islam is the problem really. Politics is totally embedded in Islam and that's what makes it dangerous and incompatible with liberal democracy. Muslims who practice their actual faith without the politics are no problem.

There are also non-political aspects of Islam which are also incompatible with liberal democracy and that can only be sorted out with reform like Judaism & Christianity went through.

LOL @ Capt Oblivious. Social Healthcare and Gun Control aren't exactly staple of right Wing policies is it? That's your sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

He's a fan Barrett from that fascist party nobody votes for. Which properly explains all the nonsense.

LOL @ Capt Oblivious. Social Healthcare and Gun Control aren't exactly staple of right Wing policies is it? That's your sides.

Holy crap you're serious. Hitler didn't implement gun control in Germany, it was already in place. What he did was loosen it for his type of people and restrict it for the people he was planning on murdering. Same goes with health care. He inherited a national system, gave himself more control and used it to euthanise thousands. So no, Hitler wasn't a proponent of left wing policies, he was an authoritarian and used his control over existing institutions to implement his nationalist vision.

It's truly amazing that people are suffering this kind of denial and delusion about their own politics that they have to try and make Hitler a leftie liberal to live with their choices.

Holy crap you're serious. Hitler didn't implement gun control in Germany, it was already in place. What he did was loosen it for his type of people and restrict it for the people he was planning on murdering. Same goes with health care. He inherited a national system, gave himself more control and used it to euthanise thousands. So no, Hitler wasn't a proponent of left wing policies, he was an authoritarian and used his control over existing institutions to implement his nationalist vision.

It's truly amazing that people are suffering this kind of denial and delusion about their own politics that they have to try and make Hitler a leftie liberal to live with their choices.

LOL@Captain Oblivious accusing anyone of being in denial and delusion. You've proven your denial [and willful ignorance] plenty of times in this thread.

Of course. Tell us more about how Hitler was not a fascist. You probably think the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is a democratic republic run by the people too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

Of course. Tell us more about how Hitler was not a fascist. You probably think the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is a democratic republic run by the people too.

Technically it is run by the people. Hamster wheels are Number 1 in clean energy.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

The left Islamic allegiance has become a mainstream movement by this stage aka Corbyn, Galloway etc western socialists are the biggest supporters of islam in society except i suspect in Islamic countries themselves where they are actively suppressed and not a peak out of their fellow western socialists.[/QUOT

The one that always gets me is the fact the feminists are aligned with and vocally supportive of the Islamacists. Must be a barely hidden desire to be dominated as expressed by the runaway success of "40 Shades of Grey".

Lol@Capt Oblivious thinking only people on the right can be fascists while the present left are the fascists.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 sjohn3454

Oh ffs just reading the comments and see the convos deteriorated to "Hitler was on the left" level of stupidity... sigh.