Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can the book be beaten... here for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭flos1964

Do i think horses are running on their merits...absolutely not...do i agree with it..absolutely not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭del roy

This thread should be closed.

why? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jayd0g

del roy wrote: »
    why? :rolleyes:

I've stopped betting but still following with interest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

This thread should be closed.

You don't have to read it if you don't want to, others might.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Ah ffs ..should I get the Kleenex out???

Depends on what you are planning to do ....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

Shemale wrote:
    Depends on what you are planning to do ....

Ok that's just weird💦💦

Good Morning,

Just a few words from myself as Del seems to be taking a little stick over my performance or should I say lack of performance.

This is my sixth year doing this and if someone had told me the possibility of going on such a run as this recent one I would have laughed at them however laughing at the moment I am not.
    I have asked Del to put this up on here as I think it is only fair people know whats happening with me.

Since I started backing just over six years ago I have won €34,700.
    Since this thread started 19-04-2018, 23:21 my current losses stand at €11,300.

Both above statements are to the penny and true.

Del has suggested he will be stopping at -100 pts. That's fine.

I have asked Del to continue putting up my selections on here until the 19/04/2019. This will take in the Cheltenham and Aintree festivals next year.

Apologies to anyone who has lost money on the selections.

Jerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Fair play for your post Jerry.

I wasn't aware of this thread early on when things were going well, I got involved for de bad times.

I knew what I was doing.

I had made money on your previous thread a few years back.

It is a very bad run. I stopped backing your picks a while back because of the bad run.

If your winning your a great lad and we are all richer and happier, if your losing, unhappiness and lighter pockets.

I appreciate that you and Del go to the bother to put up your tips and see through yeer promise to do so for the year.

I don't see any reason to be bitchy or nasty because of the bad run. I can understand people are entitled to their opinions good and bad. Most posters are civil even if picking holes in your methods. Nobody likes losing money. It can be hard to post positive posts when losing money.

Anyway it's a choice we make ourselves, no one is being forced.

I stil keep an eye on this thread and I hope the recovery is close. Might even jump back on if de good times return.

All the bes lads.

Lads
    talking to Jerry yesterday AND TO SAY losing is effecting him is not an understatement however I have asked him why so few bets and he said "he is almost scared to have a bet lately".
    I do not know how much Jerry is prepared to lose but I have told him rightly or wrongly he must resort back to his usual ways, this one bet nearly every 5 days is not the way if he is doing so, only because he is nervous about having a bet.

Look, the way I see it is if he thought the thread would stop when he hit -100 he may have been being too careful.
    Now that I have told him I will continue to put up all the bets until 19/04/2019 he can revert back to what he was doing.

I hope next April I am not saying, we need a bigger screen. to fit all the digits in the winning/losing section.

P.S
    I was not going to post the apology from Jerry as no one forced anyone to follow however he insisted I did.
    I am down a good few quid myself but it's certainly been some rollercoaster.
    Anyway I too will post my losses when I hit the -100. (just waiting for the Mrs to lose her laptop). only joking before anyone starts about addicted gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭flos1964

Like the man says no one is being forced...hope you turn the corner soon...best of luck .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

Agree nobody is forcing anybody to punt these...
    The only question I would like to know the answer to is why Jerry regularly puts up EW bets in races with really crappy EW terms? I am genuinely curious as to what the thinking is, as far as I can see they are long term losing bets whatever way you look at it...

Agree nobody is forcing anybody to punt these...
    The only question I would like to know the answer to is why Jerry regularly puts up EW bets in races with really crappy EW terms? I am genuinely curious as to what the thinking is, as far as I can see they are long term losing bets whatever way you look at it...

I will ask him to explain this.

3.35 Cantango 2pts e/w 9/1 4 places powers 1/5 odds

Cantango comes back down to a mid eighties mark 85 and gets nearly perfect racing conditions this afternoon,
    soft ground, class 3 handicap.
    R. HORNBY rides the horse for the first time today, he has had five winners in the last month so keeping his toe in the water.
    A.Balding was very sweet on this one a while back but he ran no sort of race.
    Today he says
    Contango has been really disappointing this season so I have tried the visor on him at home and they have certainly woken him up. If he translates that to the course today he would be a very well handicapped horse! Could run a big race.

P.S
    Regarding going back to having a bet almost everyday, that's not for me I'm afraid as I like certain horses at certain prices so I will hold my fire until the good national hunt races start.

Jerry

163 bets
    12 winners
    -80.5pts

4.30 hathal 2pts e/w 25/1

5.30 encore champs 5/2 3pts win

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

That's more like some sensible bets :)

Im gonna try them too.

Two PP power ups.

4:30 @ 40/1
    5:30 @ 3/1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭ballyargus

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Two PP power ups.

4:30 @ 40/1
    5:30 @ 3/1

on who? and where do you find them on PP?

• Registered Users Posts: 42 awwalsh

well done Del.

awwalsh wrote: »
    well done Del.

Yes but its a long long way back.

164 bets
    13 winners
    -72.5pts

Thanks del, I actually got encore champs @ 4/1 after... Happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Yes but its a long long way back.

164 bets
    13 winners
    -72.5pts

Surely should read -77pts todays winner was advertised @ 5/2 not SP

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

ger664 wrote: »

That is the stupidest complaint I've read on this thread.

Well done del

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Looking forward to the moaners starting their own threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭razorhead

BOG!!!!

unless you had over €500 onit you would have got the better odds at sp.

4.25 boric 100/30 3pts win

Over the last five years trainer Mr S. Waugh has send 30 runners to Sedgefield resulting in five winners plus 4 placed horses.
    Boric has only raced twice at Sedgefield, one race being this race twelve months ago where he finished 2nd (3LB lower today) and another 3m plus handicap chase (10 runners) which he won.
    Boric ran second to Belmount (winner again since with a 6LB penalty) at Perth last month, he was also the winner of the Highland National at Perth.

I do realize he is only 4/29 in all jump races however he has not been out of the first two when racing here and when he has things in his favour like today he seems to run very well.

165 bets
    13 winners
    -75.5pts

8.40 florencio 8/1 2pts e/w

166 bets
    13 winners
    -79.5pts

8.30 ar saoirse 2pts e/w 20/1

166 bets
    13 winners
    -79.5pts

Where is this running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Where is this running?

It's tomorrow night.

Dundalk

Jerry just sent me this.

D.Marnane has quite a decent strike rate at Dundalk for a small trainer. He is 9/64 in the winning and 17 of his other runners were placed.
    The jockey he has booked has ridden four winners from seven rides, the horse has placed form at Dundalk when 10LB higher in the ratings so really he is not a 20/1 in my book.

Jerry

some info stuff just in from Jerry

6.45 amjaady 3pts win 5/1

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭gillamandango

Well, when your luck is out its definitely kicking you in the ass..Lost at least 10 lengths at the start..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭bookman2

some info stuff just in from Jerry

6.45 amjaady 3pts win 5/1

now we all know its easy to say afterwards but why didn't he back this EW as it was a bet to nothing?

168 bets
    13 winners
    -87.5pts

1.05 my mate mark 8/1 2pts e/w

that was another unlucky 1-- winner got first run. at least he had it ew!

BOOKMAN, all these unlucky ones are starting to add up. -86pts.

169 bets
    13 winners
    -86pts

3.10 sunblazer 2pts e/w 9/1

Are you still putting real money on them del?

bookman2 wrote: »
    Are you still putting real money on them del?

yes, €30 per point. I'm out at -100.

170 bets
    13 winners
    -90pts

3.40 blue hussar 2pts e/w 14/1

15.40 Blue Hussar Blue Hussar fit from a good run at York, is well handicapped on his best form, the trip will be a little sharp now but is a course and distance winner. Has to be involved in the finish today.

M.Hammond

3.40 blue hussar 2pts e/w 14/1

taking that bet without the fav
    getting @9/2

171 bets
    13 winners
    -94pts

1.45 Aristocracy 5pts win 5/1 max bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

So if this loses you are out after the next bet?

yes that's it for me Kelly however I have told Jerry I will post the bets up here until he either stops or his year is up.

I feel its only fair to people who lost or are following this thread.

I have to say I am shocked if someone had told me Jerry would lose 200 points on such a losing run I would have laughed at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

yea thats what i was hoping, that you would still put up his selections, best of luck either way

172 bets
    13 winners
    -99pts

Well lads I didn't get the year out of it but it is what it is. I will put a few of my thoughts up after Jerry finishes the thread.
    I will post the bets up as soon as I get them but I have called it a day punting them.

Good luck.
    Del

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

172 bets
    13 winners
    -99pts

Well lads I didn't get the year out of it but it is what it is. I will put a few of my thoughts up after Jerry finishes the thread.
    I will post the bets up as soon as I get them but I have called it a day punting them.

Good luck.
    Del

What about your one point?

Could be the ultimate comeback.

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    What about your one point?

Could be the ultimate comeback.

OK, so others will not say I gave up to early

€15 e/w or €30 win on the next bet. :D