Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenager found guilt of hate crime for......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Great scenario, hombre.

:pac::pac:

School / college closed today?

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

Please ignore the trolls, there is scope for agreement here be you left, Center or right, this is an absolute abuse of power and going down this path should scare all thinking individuals, where does this end? Even if your not to worried now as your "side" is exercising their "power" what if a proper right wing government gets into power and seeks their "revenge"? I'll guarantee one thing, I'll not be seen as a hypocrite then, my opinion on this Orwellian sh1t won't change, we must protect free speech and expression at all costs. When they start burning books the burning of people usually follows.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Gravelly wrote: »
    School / college closed today?

Oh fantastic burn, just fantastic.

If you want to be serious, we could talk about how that is a bit on the personal abuse side.
    Pepefrogok wrote: »
    Please ignore the trolls, there is scope for agreement here be you left, Center or right, this is an absolute abuse of power and going down this path should scare all thinking individuals, where does this end? Even if your not to worried now as your "side" is exercising their "power" what if a proper right wing government gets into power and seeks their "revenge"? I'll guarantee one thing, I'll not be seen as a hypocrite then, my opinion on this Orwellian sh1t won't change, we must protect free speech and expression at all costs. When they start burning books the burning of people usually follows.

Please ignore the trollspeople that are zero craic.

I could also point if being serious on all things that must be serious because we are in a serious thread about serious stuff that calling people trolls is against the charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Orwell would have been gobsmacked, though - he always assumed the Fascism would be Right-Wing in origin. :pac:

Oh fantastic burn, just fantastic.

If you want to be serious, we could talk about how that is a bit on the personal abuse side.

No worse than your own attempt.

Gas man - throws out the smartarsery, and then gets all offended when he gets it back. Almost snowflake-like one might say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ooh ooh, thwow him to the gwound again, Centuwion, and this time stwike him vewy woughly!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That's a really ****ing stupid series of events and both the PC and the judge involved should be facing inquiries into their decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Cool virtue signalling bro, or is it broette on this account?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

No worse than your own attempt.

Gas man - throws out the smartarsery, and then gets all offended when he gets it back. Almost snowflake-like one might say.

0 offense hombre, I've thicker skin than that.
    Actually scratch that, I'm offended that you have insinuated that I am snowflake-like. Are you comfortable that the person that you have accused of not being in school/college is almost snowflake like? Like are you really comfortable that you who has just swanned into this thread and complain about mods and insult intelligence of others is using the term snowflake-like to get a rise out of someone?

Think about it, gas man, you of such incredible wisdom and intellect has insinuated that I am snowflake-like. Surely you in your intellect raising ability is better than that.

And I'm going to add a smiley face here to hopefully convey that this is light hearted and not to be taken serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

How could this possibly be in the spirit of the law.
    Quoting someone else's written work should not be considered hate speech. It wasn't directed towards anyone.
    Hope no white people have done audiobooks of Hemingway or mark twain. They'll be going straight to prison.
    As will the cast of white chicks and django in chains.

Hope this gets appealed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Really? Haha to a girl who posted lyrics from a song she liked as tribute to a friend who died being dragged through the courts She was given an eight-week community order, placed on an eight-week curfew and told to pay costs of £500 and an £85 victim surcharge. The victim surcharge is for the police woman who felt hurt at having to read it. To me this is very dangerous.

I’m sorry… :(

not sorry… :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Good to see the mods avoid trying to raise the intellectual level of debate beyond idiotic one-liners.

BTW, ask a grownup to explain the difference between a story and a scenario. Might be enlightening.
    God you weren't so concerned about the 'intellectual level of debate' when posting that tripe earlier

0 offense hombre, I've thicker skin than that.
    Actually scratch that, I'm offended that you have insinuated that I am snowflake-like. Are you comfortable that the person that you have accused of not being in school/college is almost snowflake like? Like are you really comfortable that you who has just swanned into this thread and complain about mods and insult intelligence of others is using the term snowflake-like to get a rise out of someone?

Think about it, gas man, you of such incredible wisdom and intellect has insinuated that I am snowflake-like. Surely you in your intellect raising ability is better than that.

And I'm going to add a smiley face here to hopefully convey that this is light hearted and not to be taken serious.

Could you send me a brief summary of that? I lost interest somewhere around "hombre" as I don't really know any non-Spanish speaking people over 12 that use that term.

God you weren't so concerned about the 'intellectual level of debate' when posting that tripe earlier

Perhaps it went over your head, judging by the level of your contributions?

Could you send me a brief summary of that? I lost interest somewhere around "hombre" as I don't really know any non-Spanish speaking people over 12 that use that term.

It's probably the same as I feel about anyone using the term or any variation of the term 'snowflake' to insult someone.

And good work with that age insult again. Knocking it out of the park today, hombre!

It's probably the same as I feel about anyone using the term or any variation of the term 'snowflake' to insult someone.

And good work with that age insult again. Knocking it out of the park today, hombre!

Thanks pet.

Thanks pet.

I would just like to remind you of this:
    Good to see the mods avoid trying to raise the intellectual level of debate beyond idiotic one-liners.

Idiotic one-liners. You said it.

I would just like to remind you of this:

Idiotic one-liners. You said it.

Just trying to fit in hombre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'm with Stephen Fry on this. If you're "offended" by something, so what?
    “It's now very common to hear people say, 'I'm rather offended by that.' As if that gives them certain rights. It's actually nothing more... than a whine. 'I find that offensive.' It has no meaning; it has no purpose; it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. 'I am offended by that.' Well, so fcking what."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Cienciano wrote: »

Sticks and stones will break my bones etc. Perhaps a good beat of a stick is what people need when they describe words as "offensive". I don't think I could ever view someone as intelligent who claims to be offended by something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

In the UK, it's now headed roughly in this direction:

dennis-waterman-l-and-john-thaw-in-the-sweeney-51799740.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Perhaps a good beat of a stick is what people need when they describe words as "offensive".

Can't be going round suggesting that?! :eek:

Good thwack in the back of the neck with the skinny part of a fishing rod is what they need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Yeah, didn't he say that just before being extraordinarily offended by Jan Moir's article on the death of Stephen Gately?

Things are going to offend all our sensibilities from time to time. Doesn't mean you have to be an arsehole about it though.

The case being discussed is just pure bat **** crazy.

Or perhaps I just don't get off on it the way others seem to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

who would have thought Demolition Man would be the satire movie for this generation

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Or perhaps I just don't get off on it the way others seem to?

That, too, is possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

In people posting these threads every day? No merit at all

The OP itself, totally ridiculous. But can we not get an outrage quota for AH? These threads suck the life out of the place

Abso-fucking-lutely. We get it, like. But it's an easy way to earn kudos, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

That would be grand if Fry himself didn't rather publicly take the hump himself on a few occasions. He very much wanted to let people know that he was offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

See the usual posters adding nothing and trying to distract the conversation in the hopes of ultimately getting it shut down because their ideology of fascism is under the microscope.

Is the tin hat disturbing you in this heat?

Ideology of fascism? people trying to get the thread closed? Give it a rest dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Thought OP could be over reacting.

Reads link.....

Wow

That is seriously messed up.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

The police officer, PC Dominique Walker is a sister of school-boy Anthony Walker who was murdered in Liverpool 7 years ago. She joined the police to make a difference and is in the Hate Crime Unit so I'd say its safe to say that she will never be attending burglary calls or any other police work for that matter as she has a cushy number in that unit. I hope she's real proud of herself, she has successfully prosecuted a teenager for posting bloody song lyrics. What a fuggin joke!!

Help! I'm being murdered!!!!!!!

I'm sorry, we cannot answer your call right now, all our officers are busy investigating hurt feelings on the internet, please hold, if your call is really urgent perhaps you might try tweeting something offensive, in which case an officer will be with you shortly.....

As a massive fan of rap music, if anyone used Snap Dogg lyrics as a tribute to me I'd want them arrested as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

The UK is getting a bit ridiculous with this nonsense, in fairness. I know that the OP has an axe to grind but what happened over there is something that I think is quite concerning. Actually, it's worse than concerning. It's bloody stupid.

She posted some black person's lyrics on some social media, a screenshot got sent to Merseyside Police and a black copper got offended.
    The screenshot was passed to hate crime unit PC Dominique Walker, who told the court the term was "grossly offensive" to her as a black woman and to the general community.

Whatever your opinion of alt right reactionaries and their constant state of perceived victimhood, this case is stupid and sets a dangerous precedent.

I recommend reading the Liverpool Echo version of the story. It's actually sillier than the BBC one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

In people posting these threads every day? No merit at all

The OP itself, totally ridiculous. But can we not get an outrage quota for AH? These threads suck the life out of the place

So basically, you're just triggered upset that there are threads that draw attention to the crazy things of political correctness (a big part of your ideology, i assume) and in this particular thread, you can't do anything to debunk this story in the OP so you're trying to sh1tpost & derail the thread in the hope that it would make threads like this go away.

Just my 2 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

So basically, you're just triggered upset that there are threads that draw attention to the crazy things of political correctness (a big part of your ideology, i assume) and in this particular thread, you can't do anything to debunk this story in the OP so you're trying to sh1tpost & derail the thread in the hope that it would make threads like this go away.

Just my 2 cents.
    You see that little category up there, social and fun? Please explain to me where the fun is in people constantly posting these 'I'm so outraged at the latest liberal atrocity' threads? Every single day there is a new one. Now maybe some people get off on being constantly triggered by the PC brigade but it's not my idea of fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Now maybe some people get off on being constantly triggered by the PC brigade but it's not my idea of fun.

Triggering them on the other hand ;):p

You see that little category up there, social and fun? Please explain to me where the fun is in people constantly posting these 'I'm so outraged at the latest liberal atrocity' threads? Every single day there is a new one. Now maybe some people get off on being constantly triggered by the PC brigade but it's not my idea of fun.

This isn't your usual "Muslim refugee rapes a white chick", "Pink haired, trans lesbian that nobody ever heard says something dumb" or "Hard line Islamic cleric on benefits calls for nationwide ban on pork" thread. I get that there are a lot of alt-reich outrages posted in here and this OP is a MAGA head but this is more than their usual PC gone mad stuff.

There is a legitimate problem here. A person got prosecuted for writing some lyrics with the word "nigga" in them on the internet. That's really messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

£85 victim surcharge. The victim surcharge is for the police woman who felt hurt at having to read it.

WAT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

Versus the usual posters having their daily 'liberal outrage' thread

That's fair but if the story is exactly as the BBC reported it then they've given a 19 year old kid a Hate Crime conviction over something that was not even meant in a hateful way.

She had to pay an £85 pound victim surcharge because the police officer who had to look at the screenshot was grossly offended by it.

But it seems like she was just quoting lyrics?

Maybe this kid had no prospects in life anyway but I feel like a Hate Crime conviction is going to severely impact her future potential.

People seem to be either fine with this or just not aware.

Can anyone here with kids imagine if this was your kid facing a criminal charge over an Instagram post?

We're not talking theft or vandalism or something where you'd be mad at them for f*cking up their chances to get ahead in life. Just something they posted on the internet as a tribute to another kid who died and that's it, criminal record.

It seems ridiculously unfair and unjust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

CruelCoin wrote: »
    WAT

the bbc article doesn't say who the "victim" is, I'd assume it would be the person who reported her

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

This isn't your usual "Muslim refugee rapes a white chick", "Pink haired, trans lesbian that nobody ever heard says something dumb" or "Hard line Islamic cleric on benefits calls for nationwide ban on pork" thread. I get that there are a lot of alt-reich outrages posted in here and this OP is a MAGA head but this is more than their usual PC gone mad stuff.

There is a legitimate problem here. A person got prosecuted for writing some lyrics with the word "nigga" in them on the internet. That's really messed up.

Yeah this case is mental, but it's the constant agenda pushing that you get sick of it and it's all part of it, taking the life out of the place as you can't even have a laugh in these types of threads.

silverharp wrote: »
    the bbc article doesn't say who the "victim" is, I'd assume it would be the person who reported her

Here's the Liverpool Echo link. It's a better write-up but it also doesn't make clear to whom the surcharge went.

Yeah this case is mental, but it's the constant agenda pushing that you get sick of it and it's all part of it, taking the life out of the place as you can't even have a laugh in these types of threads.

Oh I don't disagree with that. There are quite a few permanently outraged Daily Mail and Breitbart readers on here pushing the same agenda all the time but for once, the OP has a fair point. Stopped clocks and all that.

I dislike the OP as much as anyone (see Politics), but he's stumbled into something that should concern people of all political persuasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

silverharp wrote: »

I wonder if it's like the case against the Youtuber Count Dankula, where no complaint was ever made to the police and it was, in fact, the Scotish Police who took the case against him.

The £85 victim surcharge here is just farcical. If said PC is so offended by the lyrics posted by this teenager on Twitter, should she not go after the writer and singer of said lyrics as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The screenshot was passed to hate crime unit PC Dominique Walker, who told the court the term was "grossly offensive" to her as a black woman and to the general community.

What an absolute moron. "As a black woman.." as if that makes her opinion more valid. How is someone like this even working for the police? Are they recruiting by searching for the whiniest idiots they can find on Twitter?

And how did the police even find this post by the teenage girl? Do they have a special unit sitting around all day searching for hashtags or something or did someone with a grudge against her report it?

Here's the Liverpool Echo link. It's a better write-up but it also doesn't make clear to whom the surcharge went.

Wow. Something still feels "off" to me. Like maybe there is context like she was known for posting racist stuff or something?

A few points are kind of troubling.

"The content was then passed to Constable Dominique Walker, who is based within a specialist police hate crime unit."

"The court heard that Ms Walker was the sister of Anthony Walker, who was the victim of a notorious race hate murder on Merseyside."

How is this relevant to the case? So the cop who works in the hate crime unit is the sister of the victim of an extremely severe hate crime. Do they bring all hate crime allegations to her so they can leverage this in court? Like to give the accusation more weight?

What I also find interesting is... "Russell, who was charged with sending a grossly offensive message by means of a public electronic communications network, was found guilty following a trial."

But that is followed by... from the judge "the lyrics also encourage killing and robbing, so are grossly offensive".

If the lyrics encourage killing and robbing then isn't the original content just as offensive as the post on Instagram?

Is it even legal to purchase this content in the UK? You can buy Snap Doggs music on the itunes store, can listen to it on Spotify and on Google Play too.

So how are Itunes, Spotify and Google Play also not guilty of sending a grossly offensive message by means of a public electronic communications network?

District Judge Jack McGarva said: “There is no place in civil society for language like that."

How out of touch are these judges? I mean I wouldn't use that word but isn't our society is full of examples of language like that?

Would a local cinema in the UK be in trouble if they screened a Tarantino movie? The script is written by a white guy, right?

You know what's crazy?

She posted the lyrics as a "tribute" to a 13 year old lad who was hit by a car while out on his bike.

The CPS decided NOT to charge anyone over that.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news/liverpool-news/frankie-murphys-parents-say-decision-13614006

No sh!t, they didn't even charge anyone but they did manage to charge another kid over an Instagram post related to the lads death.

You make a lot of good points there, Max. Particularly about Snap's album and streaming services. If the logic behind this charge were top be applied consistently, the courts would be tied up for years. I'd like to see a protest in the UK where as many people as possible post the lyrics to their social media. It might show the absurdity of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The UK has become a scary place.

Bloody Police State at this stage.

No wonder gangsterism and organised crime are out of control in the big urban areas. Police are putting more time and effort into this crap than fighting actual crime.