Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Golf MK4 Dipetane

Options
  • 22-04-2018 8:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

HI, I'm New to boards - first thread
    I have a VW GOlf Mk4 1999 1.4 16V Petrol with 180K Miles on the clock
    Failed NCT Emissions with Dipetane in the petrol
    Lambda 1.06 CO 0.56 cvol%
    Put 1 Lt in 3/4 of a tank for 300 miles before test and
    put 1/2 lt into 1/4 of a tank 60 miles immediately before test - Failed
    Did not drive car in 5th gear for lest 400 miles
    Going putting new catalytic converter in before re-test
    and unsure whether or not to replace the lambda sensor
    Whats your opinion on the above and
    What is your recommended ratio for Ditethane before NCT
    Thanks in advance

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Your lambda value is out and no amount of dipetane is going to fix that, it's also unlikely that the sensor is faulty.

You need to fix the lambda problem to pass.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 GerTim

Thanks toyotafanboi for reply
    How do i fix the Lanbda problem?
    will a new catalytic converter solve the lambda problem?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Tuco88

Not sure about diptane and other additives, I wounder is it the hard drive people do putting in the diptane do that does the trick.

I remember seeing a diesel fitter putting a drop of petrol into a big CAT dozer once talk about a spring clean.