Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipperary Town- what the he’ll happened?

• 26-04-2018 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭

It’s like everyone has given up in life. Half the townspeople were very nice and the other half were very rude. Everyone there is either overweight or gummy mouthed (even teenagers, Colgate dodgers) and stink of cannabis or alcohol. 50% of the shops on the main street are closed and derelict. I was last in this town in 2010 mid recession and it wasn’t this bad. Talk about recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Agreed. I'm from near Cahir and Tipperary is regarded as a complete and utter kip of a town. Full of cream crackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

i was there once circa 1992, and it was an outrageous kip then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's a long way to Tipperary....

Thank fcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

What really kills the town is that there is no road bypass. All the heavy traffic just beats up and down the town all day. With all that noise, fumes, dust and vehicles its not a place people want to go to shop, socialise or work so the economy there sucks. And then with all that traffic it's not possible to do the town up in any significant way that would make in the slightest bit attractive.
    On top of that, there is actually feck all there - no big businesses, no tourist attractions, nothing to interest anybody.

It really is a hole at the moment.
    The only way that I could see things improving is if the ring road is built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,912 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

As long as Cahir stays fine I’m happy.

Have to pass thru Tipp town for work which is annoying.

2 very nice golf courses mind you!

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭kfrp

Most towns in Tipp are kips though.

Carrick On Suir
    Clonmel
    Tipperary

All places best avoided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

It’s like everyone has given up in life. Half the townspeople were very nice and the other half were very rude. Everyone there is either overweight or gummy mouthed (even teenagers, Colgate dodgers) and stink of cannabis or alcohol. 50% of the shops on the main street are closed and derelict. I was last in this town in 2010 mid recession and it wasn’t this bad. Talk about recovery.
    kfrp wrote: »

Carrick On Suir
    Clonmel
    Tipperary

All places best avoided

Two Limerick lads saying some towns in Tipp are kips - pot calling the kettle black there I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭yabbav

Tip was always known as a cream cracker county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

marvin80 wrote: »
    Two Limerick lads saying some towns in Tipp are kips - pot calling the kettle black there I think.

I’m not from Limerick. I went to UL and never updated my location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

This is not news, place has always been a dump. Look at it this way, when Carrick on Suir and Thurles can legitimately look down their noses at you, your town is f*cked.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Tipp Town is undoubtely one of the biggest sh1tholes I've ever set foot in, I've had numerous bad experiences there over the years. Full of gurriers, bints and braindead lowlifes.

I'm not running down the whole county, there's some lovely towns in Tipperary but Tipp Town certainly isn't one of them.

It could quite possibly be the biggest dive in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I don't know what the he'll happened but it is definitely a she'll of its former self.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Agreed. I'm from near Cahir and Tipperary is regarded as a complete and utter kip of a town. Full of cream crackers.

Cahir is beautiful actually. Love the castle and the river walks.

It's amazing how such a nice place could be so close to Hell.

Carrick On Suir
    Clonmel

Tipperary

All places best avoided

I don't know much about Tipp town to give an informed opinion on it as I'm from the South Eastern side of the county but I can honestly say Carrick and Clonmel are two very well kept towns with absolutely great people in them.

Omackeral wrote: »
    I don't know what the he'll happened but it is definitely a she'll of its former self.

Failed political systems, failed institutions and failed governance.

Dan Breen who was born up the road fired and took bullets for what he thought would be a better country. He must be turning in his grave

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

In fairness most medium to large sized towns in Ireland are terrible places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,547 ✭✭✭Stigura

Had a mate lived in Tipperary. He topped himself.

Tip top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

i drove through Tipperary about 10 years ago when I was moving to Cork and it looked a pleasant town ;there was a street market in progress .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I don't know much about Tipp town to give an informed opinion on it as I'm from the South Eastern side of the county but I can Carrick and Clonmel are two very well kept towns with absolutely great people in them.

Have a passing acquaintance with them and your take makes sense.

I quite like Clonmel particularly.

Tipp town has issues though. It is a different story.

To save it - do what Limerick did - focus on what is good and promote it, regenerate the areas that have fallen back.

In Limerick's case there was plenty to go on - UL/culture/sport.

Tipp town could be gateway to Aherlow. There is music there. Also sport.
    The ringroad idea sounds good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭opinionated3

topper75 wrote: »
    Have a passing acquaintance with them and your take makes sense.

I quite like Clonmel particularly.

Tipp town has issues though. It is a different story.

To save it - do what Limerick did - focus on what is good and promote it, regenerate the areas that have fallen back.

In Limerick's case there was plenty to go on - UL/culture/sport.

Tipp town could be gateway to Aherlow. There is music there. Also sport.
    The ringroad idea sounds good.

Do what Limerick did??? Are you serious? Have you been in the city centre after noon on a Friday or Saturday? It's lost its old charm completely! And as for regeneration?? All that's happened there is a load of undesirables have been exported to other areas of Limerick county, or worse still out to parts of Tipp and Clare to infect them with their particular brand of entitlement. No sir, Limerick is not the shining example that Tipp town should follow!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Carrick On Suir
    Clonmel
    Tipperary

All places best avoided

Hey that’s south Tipp

Don’t associate us good folk from the North with these!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

What’s a cream cracker?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

What’s a cream cracker?

A cream cracker is a flat, usually square savoury biscuit :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Kimbot wrote: »
    A cream cracker is a flat, usually square savoury biscuit :pac:

Ah you didnt:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Carrick On Suir
    Clonmel
    Tipperary

All places best avoided

Where ya from yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Hey that’s south Tipp

Don’t associate us good folk from the North with these!

Indeed, Roscrea, Templemore and the like are shining beacons of progress alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Tipp Town is undoubtely one of the biggest sh1tholes I've ever set foot in, I've had numerous bad experiences there over the years. Full of gurriers, bints and braindead lowlifes.

I'm not running down the whole county, there's some lovely towns in Tipperary but Tipp Town certainly isn't one of them.

It could quite possibly be the biggest dive in the country.

I can see you have never been to Athy. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Guide to the Irish Midlands.

Kilkenny for a day trip.

Errm....think that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I know a few people who did driving tests in Tipp Town and in their lessons they often had to deal with the hazard of stones being thrown at the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Greatest shíťhole of a place. Driving through is is akin to driving on the surface of the moon,probably more atmosphere on the moon though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

There's actually some nice parts to the town. In general it compares well to many parts of dublin (saying that as a dub). The main street gives an awful impression of the place and up St Michael's and James Connolly directions off the main street are unappealing.

When was the town much better and what was it like then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,932 ✭✭✭gifted

Carrick On Suir
    Clonmel
    Tipperary

All places best avoided

Couldn't agree more, tipperary towns are like their people....ignorant and best left alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was there in the early 90's, it was a complete sh!tholeback then too so can only imagine what an utter kip it is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

gifted wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more, tipperary towns are like their people....ignorant and best left alone.

Where ya from yourself that you’ve such a chip on your shoulder?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Tipp Town,Carrick,Nenagh and Roscrea are absolute sh!tholes. Sometimes I'll take backroads just to avoid Tipp Town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,558 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Someone dig up that "biggest sh1tholes in ireland" thread - think tipperary town won by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Ah now it's not that bad, and I say that as a Kilkenny woman :D

See we don't hate you that much :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Tipp town looks like Sorrento in comparison to Newbridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭josip

I've never been to Tipp town.
    Are people here saying it's actually worse than New Ross?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

It's one massive halting site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

It's not that bad. People like to be emphatic.
    It needs an injection of money and optimism, like a lot of smaller Irish towns after the recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,707 ✭✭✭flutered

tipp people never support anything, how many buissnes's have closed, how many are due to close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

It's one massive halting site.

I think you may be wrong there. There is one halting site adjacent to edge of the town afaik.
    Lots of local authority housing in and around the town. Some new builds on the outskirts. Selection of shops is decent enough

Bizarrely quite a few English folks have moved to Tipperary over the 2 decades. Go in to Dunnes or Tescos and you hear lots of UK accents and not from traveller folk either - strange but true ...

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Imagine being from Tip town and reading this thread!?
    Wouldn't you just sell your trailer home or wigwam and move on........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Imagine being from Tip town and reading this thread!?
    Wouldn't you just sell your trailer home or wigwam and move on........

Read?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭buried

Tipperary town is grand. Great little base if you want to explore the nearby mountains, which are class. I don't mind these sort of places at all, small Irish towns. They are their own places, all their own natural way, even if it is bleak, 99% of the planet is f**king bleak. What do people want instead? Streets filled with costa coffees and vodafone donut shops? F8*k that $hite

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Read?

Lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭josip

I think you're right. I've had a look around it on Google Maps. Seems bright and cheery.

b5wd5aO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Used to drive through it in the 1980s when visiting cousins in Limerick.
    Shocking kip.
    Once we stopped on the way home - went into a sit-down chipper.
    The spice burger I ordered was frozen in the middle.
    From where I was sitting, I could see the that the fire exit door was left open - leading into some yard or alleyway.
    I saw rodent eyes (more than one pair) staring back at me.
    Nightmarish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

gifted wrote: »

How is a town ignorant you stupid cu*t?