Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

DCM 2018 - Mentored Novice Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    10-14 days of no running. 3-4 weeks of no serious efforts. That's what my physio advised anyway.

10 days of no running!!! Oh my god, I'll never last that long.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

aloooof wrote: »
    Humming and hawwing between 4:30 and 4:20, so decided to split the difference.

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    |Mr. Guappa|03:59:59|
    |coogy|03:45:00|
    |Helenasca|04:40:00|
    |roosterman71|03:50:00|
    |kittyclaws|04:50:00|
    |sann|03:40:00|
    |Summerflower|04:29:59|
    |Chippyrun|04:30:00|
    |Themadhouse|04:29:59|
    |Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|
    |imknackered|03:28:00|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|
    |yido1882|03:59:00|
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|
    |ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|
    |Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    |Applegirl26|04:30:00|
    |aloooof|04:25:00|

Adding myself back in.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    10-14 days of no running. 3-4 weeks of no serious efforts. That's what my physio advised anyway.

I was hoping to do the Clontarf half on the 17th November - I was thinking of doing a reverse taper leading up to it - would it be too soon to race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭MiketheMechanic

Happy Manicure Monday everyone - especially to the 2018 Novices :)

Was a novice in 2012 and have been following this brilliant series of threads since.

Best of luck to all.
    Now get those toenails trimmed :D

MtM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Adding myself back in.

you need to remove the quote tags around the table, otherwise people won't be able to quote the table in your message (and you might be dropped again)

Kellygirl wrote: »
    It depends on how you feel really I think as to how soon you are ready to run but all easy running either way for a couple of weeks. Cross training would be good too. If there’s a Parkrun near you everybody will be there in their DCM finisher’s tops the following week.

I was thinking of taking the following day off and on the Monday going for a very gentle super slow 3 mile. All easy gentle runs for the first 2 weeks or so.
    This probably sounds very conceited but I think I'll never get out there for a run in my DCM top! For the past 2 years I've looked in awe at anyone wearing one!
    I just hope they have small sizes left at the end, unlike the HM.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭smashiner

ariana` wrote: »
    Week 18 - can you believe it??!!! This time next week everyone of you will be marathon runners :D

If you haven't already made a list of everything you need to pack/organise then do it now! Here are some of the things to put on the list

- Cut your toe nails :eek:

+1 to this
    TOMORROW IS OFFICALLY 'TOE NAIL TUESDAY'.......far less exciting than 'Pancake Tuesday' but nonetheless an important milestone for all DCM runners :)

Ladies, be sure to get a nice pedicure and paint them toenails up for the big occasion......lads, get that blunt rusty scissors out of the press (yeah, you know the one), and hack at them toes and try not to take your eye out with the shrapnel while doing it :eek:.

Don't leave this task until a day or two before the DCM as you might regret after 10 miles.

The countdown is on....this is going to be great.....!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭PCX

10-14 days of no running post marathon sounds very conservative to me. 2 - 3 days off and then shortish runs at recovery pace. Easy pace should be fine after a week.
    No hard sessions or long runs for at least 3 weeks sounds about right though.
    That's what I've done post marathon anyway.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Adding myself back in.

Apologies Strawberry Swan!! Did I accidentally take people out??
    RayCun wrote: »
    you need to remove the quote tags around the table, otherwise people won't be able to quote the table in your message (and you might be dropped again)

Spot on Ray, thanks, think this is what happened, added in Strawberry Swan now:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Aoifemcc19

ReeReeG wrote: »
    Aaagh why can I not do the table correctly :(

Think You need a PHD in coding to do it - took me 4 goes

After dcm what's the general guideline for getting back to regular running? A day or two off and then back out there?

The general advice is 1 day recovery for every 1 mile raced! That doesn't need to be complete rest it can include very easy running. My advice is just to wait and see how you feel both physically and mentally (don't underestimate the mental break you may need after 18 weeks of following a plan quite strictly!). Run for fun for a couple of weeks anyhow, don't jump into another plan too quickly, some easy running and maybe a couple of park runs over the month of November :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

The general advice is 1 day recovery for every 1 mile raced! That doesn't need to be complete rest it can include very easy running. My advice is just to wait and see how you feel both physically and mentally (don't underestimate the mental break you may need after 18 weeks of following a plan quite strictly!). Run for fun for a couple of weeks anyhow, don't jump into another plan too quickly, some easy running and maybe a couple of park runs over the month of November :cool:

Yay, Parkruns!!! :):):)

Thank you so much Ariana. I'll take all your good advice on board.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

My plan is to get onto the bike for a few weeks. Limber up again that way, no impact and easy enough exercise.

The weather forecast is looking very iffy for the weekend, possibly even wintry showers but a cold snap from Thursday. I just hope it is dry and not windy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

After dcm what's the general guideline for getting back  to regular running? A day or two off and then back out there?

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭positron

My plan is to get onto the bike for a few weeks. Limber up again that way, no impact and easy enough exercise.

Great idea. I found that gently spinning 30 mins on the bike (i have a turbo trainer) really helped recover the legs day after DCM.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Hedgehoggy

|hedgehoggy|03:43:30|

Hope I havent messed up the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭gypsylee

The table is looking great. I am in awe of all your target times :)

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Aoifemcc19

|Misky|04:45:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Now that it's less than a week away (!!!!) I think I need to get serious about deciding on a target. I mean, there's a table to be filled in and all now!

So my half time gives me predictions of 3:42 or 3:44.30 from runfastcoach and mcmillan. I have no intention of going anywhere remotely near either of those, nor do I think it would be possible. But I'd like to get under 4 hours, and if I'm honest I'd really like 3:55. I fully intend to go slower in the first half and see what happens, but should I be roughly aiming for 3:59 or trying to go a little quicker? Is 3:55 likely to be a stretch? I don't know what's a realistic approach or not, and I want to enjoy the day most of all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

eyrie wrote:
    So my half time gives me predictions of 3:42 or 3:44.30 from runfastcoach and mcmillan. I have no intention of going anywhere remotely near either of those, nor do I think it would be possible. But I'd like to get under 4 hours, and if I'm honest I'd really like 3:55. I fully intend to go slower in the first half and see what happens, but should I be roughly aiming for 3:59 or trying to go a little quicker? Is 3:55 likely to be a stretch? I don't know what's a realistic approach or not, and I want to enjoy the day most of all.

My prediction from those is much the same and I do wonder if I've gone too optimistic, but what decided me is the pacers available in the wave because I'm so bad at self-discipline. Fwiw I really don't think 3.55 is a stretch for you at all, but then there is the "first marathon" factor.

I'm not helpful at all really, sorry!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

ReeReeG wrote: »
    My prediction from those is much the same and I do wonder if I've gone too optimistic, but what decided me is the pacers available in the wave because I'm so bad at self-discipline. Fwiw I really don't think 3.55 is a stretch for you at all, but then there is the "first marathon" factor.

I'm not helpful at all really, sorry!
    Ah well you have the experience of one under your belt (and two training cycles) already so I don't think you're being too optimistic. Plus you're definitely in good form at the moment!

Thanks for the vote of confidence - it's the "first-marathon factor" that has me all confused alright! It's just such an unknown. Could be grand, could fall apart... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Just wanted to drop in and say well done to Ariana and the support crew for getting the 2018 Novices to where they are this year.

To the Novice Class of 2018 you have the hard work done look after yourselves this week and get yourself to the start line raring to go. Formulate your plan for the day and stick to it. You are going to be the best prepared novice runners toeing the line. At some point in the day it is going to get tough remember all your hard work and get through it.

This has been an epic journey; enjoy your first marathon.

And @ Lazare thanks to finally listening to us drone on about being sensible for the start of DCM17.

Go out there and smash this thing.

C ( 2016 Graduate and 2017 Support Crew).

eyrie wrote: »
    Now that it's less than a week away (!!!!) I think I need to get serious about deciding on a target. I mean, there's a table to be filled in and all now!

I agree with ReeReeG, i don't think 3:55 is a stretch at all, i think 3:50 probably isn't a stretch either in fact. But there is the 1st marathon factor that she mentions and you only get to do it once! Pick a time that is realistic but also that you will be proud of (it sounds like 3:50-3:55 might be it?). You have the right attitude to enjoying the day but you also have to factor in the chance of setting the target too soft and feeling a bit meh about it afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Alorra

|Misky|04:45:00|
    |Alorra|03:40:00|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Anyone getting more scared of the cold before the run than the actual run itself?

Didn’t think I’d be considering a second layer for a marathon!

eyrie wrote: »
    But I'd like to get under 4 hours, and if I'm honest I'd really like 3:55. I fully intend to go slower in the first half and see what happens, but should I be roughly aiming for 3:59 or trying to go a little quicker?

Run at 3:59 pace until Walkinstown roundabout, see how you feel then

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    Anyone getting more scared of the cold before the run than the actual run itself?

Didn’t think I’d be considering a second layer for a marathon!

Go to the charity shop and get loads of warm clothes to wear until just before the start of the race.
    Go to Penneys and get a cheap hat and gloves to wear for the first few miles

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭smashiner

The weather forecast is looking very iffy for the weekend, possibly even wintry showers but a cold snap from Thursday. I just hope it is dry and not windy.

I was delighted to see that we are in for a bit of cold snap as I was dreading a warm/humid day as I have experienced the DCM on a 'Fan Oven' day and it is not to be recommended!!

I just need to decide on whether I wear the planned short sleeve 'specially printed' orange top with my name on it or go with the less fun but more practical Night Run top with the long sleeves....decisions....decisions.

I also went to the physio on Friday and had a hip/thigh issue sorted, felt great afterwards. I then went sea swimming on Saturday morning and did a handy 12K run on Sunday morning and I am back to square one with my hip again. I am off to the physio tomorrow evening for one last session and then I am going to wrap myself in cotton wool for the week!

On a funnier note, I offered to drop my daughter to a show with her friend and I insisted that my wife didn't come with us and told her to stay at home and rest up as she was feeling a bit under the weather with a flu/cold and I amassed a few brownie points......the real reason was that I didn't want her in the car as I didn't want to catch any germs!! :D