Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Sceptics thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

sexmag wrote: »
    Exchanges dont just list coins on request,most have stringant application processes's, they want proof of the coins application, white papers, proof of community involvement etc to avoid such things happening and even if they didnt and just listed it,it will have little to no volume on an exchange like that so will be pointless

If that's the case I'm not sure how trumpcoin got on exchanges

https://www.trumpcoin.com/

Theres a lot more. I'm not talking about getting on binance. I'm talking about any exchange that will allow you to convert to Bitcoin or any other coin.
    In terms of volume, If i control all the coins because no one has bought any surely I can control the volume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

seannash wrote: »
    In terms of volume, If i control all the coins because no one has bought any surely I can control the volume.

So you're hypothetically planning on wasting ETH or BTC (trading fees) to pump the volume of a shítcoin nobody wants?

I mean...try it I guess. The second anybody notices your pumped volume they'll size up your worthless shítcoin and notice that nobody except you owns any.

The crypto markets act like penny stocks and I'd reckon there are tons of plebby shítcoins being used for money laundering on whatever terrible exchange you can imagine, but expecting random outsiders to jump into the mix to let you offload your bags seems desparately hopeful. e.g. Why should I buy your coin/token?

grindle wrote: »
    So you're hypothetically planning on wasting ETH or BTC (trading fees) to pump the volume of a shoin nobody wants?

I mean...try it I guess. The second anybody notices your pumped volume they'll size up your worthless shoin and notice that nobody except you owns any.

The crypto markets act like penny stocks and I'd reckon there are tons of plebby shoins being used for money laundering on whatever terrible exchange you can imagine, but expecting random outsiders to jump into the mix to let you offload your bags seems desparately hopeful. e.g. Why should I buy your coin/token?
    No I get that, and I'm not saying I'm going to do this but if someone wanted to do this its entirely plausible. Keep the volume low over the course of a year and you could potentially wash all your coins with a few accounts.
    Not expecting any randomers to jump in at all. I guess my question is if I place a sell order at Market rate, does it need a buyer on the other end or does the exchange take those buys.

I guess my question is if I place a sell order at Market rate, does it need a buyer on the other end or does the exchange take those buys.

You need a buyer on the other end, the only interaction the exchange will have with your coin is accepting your trading fees and your withdrawal fees if you move some of your MagicBean2018 off the exchange. Which they'll then try to sell.

God, if exchanges were happily buying every shítcoin at any price at any moment we'd all be rich and exchanges would be impoverished.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

You need a buyer on the other end, the only interaction the exchange will have with your coin is accepting your trading fees and your withdrawal fees if you move some of your MagicBean2018 off the exchange. Which they'll then try to sell.

God, if exchanges were happily buying every shítcoin at any price at any moment we'd all be rich and exchanges would be impoverished.

Just on the highlighted bit, surely they'll never have them to sell, they're only offering to them for sale at which point they'll execute the exchange with the actual buyer. If I have 1000 MagicBean2018 on say Binance, the only way I can convert that to any other coin is if the exchange has a buyer for those 1000 MagicBean2018? The exchanges that have FIAT pairs will typically only have BTC/FIAT pairs or maybe ETH/FIAT pairs, so you still have to get rid of your MagicBeans before you can make a withdrawal. I'd guess they operate FIAT wallets in a similar enough manner, so they're not actually left holding large amounts of even the bigger crypto coins.

smacl wrote: »
    Just on the highlighted bit, surely they'll never have them to sell, they're only offering to them for sale at which point they'll execute the exchange with the actual buyer. If I have 1000 MagicBean2018 on say Binance, the only way I can convert that to any other coin is if the exchange has a buyer for those 1000 MagicBean2018? The exchanges that have FIAT pairs will typically only have BTC/FIAT pairs or maybe ETH/FIAT pairs, so you still have to get rid of your MagicBeans before you can make a withdrawal. I'd guess they operate FIAT wallets in a similar enough manner, so they're not actually left holding large amounts of even the bigger crypto coins.

While you're trading on the exchange you're trading with a human or their representative bot but some exchanges take withdrawal fees in the form of the token being withdrawn (a bit barmy if you ask me as I wouldn't want to touch most of them with a 20ft pole).
    HitBTC does this & they're famous for having cripplingly high withdrawal fees. Fees went over $100 for some coins during the January madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Even I can’t explain this massive drop. Was it the Tether ‘audit’ not being an audit, or the Japanese exchanges getting the slap down and being told to improve on how they verify their customers? Or something else?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭kaymin

Even I can’t explain this massive drop. Was it the Tether ‘audit’ not being an audit, or the Japanese exchanges getting the slap down and being told to improve on how they verify their customers? Or something else?

Japanese money laundering requirements according to this article:

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/06/22/bitcoin-tumbles-after-japan-watchdog-orders-exchanges-to-review-business-practices.html

The Chief Strategy Officer of Bitfinex has decided to leave the company.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-cryptocurrencies-bitfinex/bitfinex-chief-strategy-officer-departs-idUSKBN1JI2IN

Only 2 days after Tether (of which he was also CSO) released their statement of liquidity....

Philip Potter will be one of the main players when they eventually make a movie about this utter madness.

https://www.reddit.com/r/eos/comments/8u4kuh/block_producer_cartel_levels/

EOS’s decentralised model is completely broken. Cartels forming with massive voting power. What a fiasco. Perhaps the most wasteful and hyped product ever in this clusterfûck of a space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

https://www.reddit.com/r/eos/comments/8u4kuh/block_producer_cartel_levels/

EOS’s decentralised model is completely broken. Cartels forming with massive voting power. What a fiasco. Perhaps the most wasteful and hyped product ever in this clusterfûck of a space.

How many hours a day do you troll through threads and threads and site and sites to back your agenda of hatred for crypto?

This article is bit more unbiased and explains it better than a bunch of annons on reddit going in tandem like you and PPL to agree with each other

https://www.coindesk.com/eos-arbitrator-problem-crypto-governance-breakdown-explained/

How many hours a day do you troll through threads and threads and site and sites to back your agenda of hatred for crypto?

This article is bit more unbiased and explains it better than a bunch of annons on reddit going in tandem like you and PPL to agree with each other

https://www.coindesk.com/eos-arbitrator-problem-crypto-governance-breakdown-explained/

That article isn’t exactly selling the good news either chum. EOS was worth 12 billion at one stage. Brock Pierce and Dan Larimer made hundreds of millions and have exited stage left with the money of poor chumps who thought they were going to get rich ‘investing’ in this shîtcoin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

That article isn’t exactly selling the good news either chum. EOS was worth 12 billion at one stage. Brock Pierce and Dan Larimer made hundreds of millions and have exited stage left with the money of poor chumps who thought they were going to get rich ‘investing’ in this shîtcoin.

No sympathy for them Johnny! Anyone who thought it was a good idea to buy in to this scam from a weirdo like Brock Pierce deserves to lose all their money.

454367.png

Very very weird guy...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

Wow personally attacking someone because of there appearance ,clap clap this thread is just awesome well done be proud.

rapul wrote: »
    Wow personally attacking someone because of there appearance ,clap clap this thread is just awesome well done be proud.

It’s not just his appearance. He’s also a very dodgy individual who is widely suspected of being a nonce. The ethereum guy and Dan Larimer would be weirder looking than him.

He’s also a very dodgy individual who is widely suspected of being a nonce.

He's suspected of being an arbitrary number that can be used just once. Unusual, arguably even unique, but hardly worthy of a reprimand :pac:

smacl wrote: »
    He's suspected of being an arbitrary number that can be used just once. Unusual, arguably even unique, but hardly worthy of a reprimand :pac:

Ok, he’s suspected of being a kiddie fiddler then. Very sinister individual. I mean the only usage for bitcoin in its early days was for buying child porn and drugs on the darknet markets.

Not disputing it, but if you're calling someone out for child abuse and/or being a paedophile (are you?) you might want to provide some robust supporting references, consider using clearer language and avoiding slang terms.

Gold was used to buy wenchs and whores too in the early days,what's your point? Also on the other thread I provided 3 current real world usage of cryptos,1 here in Ireland, 1 currently in the world cup and 1 in Florida yet you conveniently ignored that and haven't replied like grindl said you wouldn't

He's also accused, no prosecutions or charges brought against him but sure in the last 12 months accusations have shown that they may as well be convictions based on the internet mobs trial by twitter

Gold was used to buy wenchs and whores too in the early days,what's your point? Also on the other thread I provided 3 current real world usage of cryptos,1 here in Ireland, 1 currently in the world cup and 1 in Florida yet you conveniently ignored that and haven't replied like grindl said you wouldn't

He's also accused, no prosecutions or charges brought against him but sure in the last 12 months accusations have shown that they may as well be convictions based on the internet mobs trial by twitter

240 billion of a market cap and a handful of places accepting it as a currency. Mostly places selling virtual crypto tat. This isn’t taking off. It’s slow, expensive, insecure, and in the case of EOS, way more centralised than any financial system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

240 billion of a market cap and a handful of places accepting it as a currency. Mostly places selling virtual crypto tat. This isn’t taking off. It’s slow, expensive, insecure, and in the case of EOS, way more centralised than any financial system.

Johnny/Paddy (I suspect you're the same person and use a VPN), you seem to spend an inordinate amount of time on a sector that you believe has zero use cases and is mostly comprised of scams. Many of your claims have been debunked here multiple times but you refuse to see reason (possibly because you regularly post while drunk :p). I suggest you find something more constructive to spend your free time on.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

el diablo wrote: »
    Johnny/Paddy (I suspect you're the same person and use a VPN), you seem to spend an inordinate amount of time on a sector that you believe has zero use cases and is mostly comprised of scams. Many of your claims have been debunked here multiple times but you refuse to see reason (possibly because you regularly post while drunk :p). I suggest you find something more constructive to spend your free time on.

I’m not Pintman Paddy Losty. This has been cleared up by the moderators, so please refrain from making such claims. My drinking habits having nothing to do with you either - even drunk I can see this space for what is is - a cesspit of scams, conmen, outrageous valuations, no real world usage, devestating impact on the environment etc. I think some of the true believers in this stuff around here appear to be on LSD, of were dropped on their head as a kid. Definitely not the smartest tools in the shed. :eek:

Finally, don’t tell me what to do. I’ve absolutely no intention of stopping posting here. It’s a disgrace that this is seen as investing - when it is nothing of the sort. If even one person doesn’t lose money as a result of my posts then I consider the effort worthwhile. I’m sorry for all the lads who lost money buying these fake coins with real money at hugely inflated prices, or who bought mining rigs that never make them money, but there’s no reason others should be led down the same path. The greater fool theory isn’t a sound investment strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭makeorbrake

Yawn

When is that McAfee lad going to eat his hat again. Think he made some ludicrous prediction like btc being 100,000 by the end of the year. Serious amount of egg on his face at the moment.

Also are people still defending EOS or are you just disagreeing with Mr. Flash and I out of stubbornness?

If people are serious about making money we should just invent our own coin. Flashcoin. Has a nice ring to it. Strong team of Devs led by pintman paddy losty. I'll cobble together a whitepaper and road map in an evening. We'll get h0neybadger to pre mine a good chunk of the coins. Say we're going to make transactions happen in a flash. Pump it on a load of telegram groups. Have some crypto dweeb on youtube say it's the next big thing. Then dump the lot and buy our lambos. What do ye say?

When is that McAfee lad going to eat his hat again. Think he made some ludicrous prediction like btc being 100,000 by the end of the year. Serious amount of egg on his face at the moment.

Also are people still defending EOS or are you just disagreeing with Mr. Flash and I out of stubbornness?

If people are serious about making money we should just invent our own coin. Flashcoin. Has a nice ring to it. Strong team of Devs led by pintman paddy losty. I'll cobble together a whitepaper and road map in an evening. We'll get h0neybadger to pre mine a good chunk of the coins. Say we're going to make transactions happen in a flash. Pump it on a load of telegram groups. Have some crypto dweeb on youtube say it's the next big thing. Then dump the lot and buy our lambos. What do ye say?

It isn’t his hat he intends to eat, Paddy. It’s his own cock!!! :eek:

Like the sound of Flashcoin. I’ll set up one of those twitter yokes, and say we’ve signed a partnership with Microsoft (renting a virtual machine in their cloud) and stuff like that. Flashcoin could be used to trace the supply chain of porter from the factory to your gob. Definitely raise at least a billion.

It isn’t his hat he intends to eat, Paddy. It’s his own cock!!! :eek:

What? The dirty fecker.

Rumours say it’s more a cocktail sausage than a bratwurst - if you get my drift?

In other news, the EOS boys have announced that they intend to rewrite their constitution. Mr Larimer made the announcement from his new base in the Cayman Islands. Tether is now the 9th most valuable coin, and yesterday it traded more than Bitcoin.

Yawn

You tired dude? Must be exhausting looking at all that red in your ‘portfolio’....

Who hurt you Johnny?

Bit of a sore head, Rapul. Was at a funeral yesterday and drank at least 12 pints of porter. A good funeral is better than a bad wedding. Suffering today though like a EOS bag holder.

Who hurt you Johnny?

He's a sick puppy rapul....with this nonsense about the 'public service' he's providing here. I will finally take the advice of others - I'm not engaging with that bitter and twisted muppet (or his fictional alter ego).
    There's plenty of pitfalls with a nascent technology and the nascent market that comes with it. As stated ad nauseum, there's absolutely nothing wrong with critique but the bitter invective from tweedledum and tweedledee tells another story. Neither of them will admit to ONE single positive attribute of crypto - there's absolutely no objectivity with that. Furthermore, they're not willing to leave the speculative aspect of it aside and stick with the technology. There's noone here that has ever suggested that putting money into crypto is a sound investment. There's no-one here that has not acknowledged that there are plenty of disreputable people that have flooded into this space. Of course they have - just as they will with any nascent 'market'. When things settle down in crypto, they'll move on to something else.
    Those people do NOT define cryto/blockchain/DLT. That doesn't mean that there is nothing tangible in the technology.

It's regrettable that these two imbeciles try and dominate the discussion by constantly repeating the same thing over and over (and if someone takes them to task and deconstructs a lot of the shíté they come out with, they won't engage).

Lastly, as regards his 'jibe' about my 'portfolio', I moored a yacht on the Pacific coast on Saturday evening, took a flight to a destination on the Caribbean coast this morning...all facilitated by Crypto. None of that is important but I mention it as perhaps this is the source of the bile and vitriole....didnt get in on the ground floor and doesn't like the types that did...
    Furthermore, I'm risk off right now -but I'm preparing to invest heavily again - it's only a matter of weeks before I do so.

He's a sick puppy rapul....with this nonsense about the 'public service' he's providing here. I will finally take the advice of others - I'm not engaging with that bitter and twisted muppet (or his fictional alter ego).
    There's plenty of pitfalls with a nascent technology and the nascent market that comes with it. As stated ad nauseum, there's absolutely nothing wrong with critique but the bitter invective from tweedledum and tweedledee tells another story. Neither of them will admit to ONE single positive attribute of crypto - there's absolutely no objectivity with that. Furthermore, they're not willing to leave the speculative aspect of it aside and stick with the technology. There's noone here that has ever suggested that putting money into crypto is a sound investment. There's no-one here that has not acknowledged that there are plenty of disreputable people that have flooded into this space. Of course they have - just as they will with any nascent 'market'. When things settle down in crypto, they'll move on to something else.
    Those people do NOT define cryto/blockchain/DLT. That doesn't mean that there is nothing tangible in the technology.

It's regrettable that these two imbeciles try and dominate the discussion by constantly repeating the same thing over and over (and if someone takes them to task and deconstructs a lot of the shíté they come out with, they won't engage).

Lastly, as regards his 'jibe' about my 'portfolio', I moored a yacht on the Pacific coast on Saturday evening, took a flight to a destination on the Caribbean coast this morning...all facilitated by Crypto. None of that is important but I mention it as perhaps this is the source of the bile and vitriole....didnt get in on the ground floor and doesn't like the types that did...
    Furthermore, I'm risk off right now -but I'm preparing to invest heavily again - it's only a matter of weeks before I do so.

Weird that someone who owns a yacht hops around the Carribean would get so worked up about a €240 charge for cancelling their boradband? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106387458

Also weird why you "had" to leave for central america suddenly...

<ignored>

Weird that someone who owns a yacht hops around the Carribean would get so worked up about a €240 charge for cancelling their boradband? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106387458

Also weird why you "had" to leave for central america suddenly...

Rich people don't get rich by just given their money away, especially for things they don't agree with.

Also he never said he owned a yacht,look up what the word moored means.

That and flying to a carribbean destination won't cost too much and certainly could be funded by crypto.

Any more plotholes you want to pick at from your confused understanding of what someone said?

I wouldn't waste your time sexmag. The fact that this fool went rummaging through my previous posts (posts totally unrelated to the discussion here) trying to find something....anything to throw at me tells all;

- that maybe I was right in my previous post - it's the green eyed monster that's the motivation. They weren't at the races and possibly don't like the sorts that were - when it comes to crypto.

- that they have no interest in an actual open discussion on crypto.

- in fact, there's no interest in a discussion on crypto at all as that last post of his/theirs has nothing to do with crypto or the discussion of same here.

Aside from that, what they came up with only served to confirm what I had said (despite a failed, desperate attempt to cast aspersions).

As mentioned, I won't be engaging directly with either tweedledum or tweedledee from here on in.

Less of the personals please, make. The greater fool theory is well known in cryptoland, but shouldn’t be used here as an insult. I can’t speak for Patrick, but I certainly have no regrets about not buying crypto. Most people lose money on it, and certainly anyone who bought in late December onwards. Never had interest in buying magic coins with real money just so I could flip em for more money. And HODL culture seemed a bit neckbeardy for my liking.

What time is it over in the Caribbean?

<ignored>

Ugh last post in this thread and I mean it,less or the personals cop on Johnny pot kettle black much? And seriously we get your not into crypto no one gives a flying fcuk what you think just like you dont care or seem to actually read the facts when they are given to you,once again congrats lads you both come off as absolutely pathetic. I'm out.

Everyone is very precious in this thread.
    So what if some people shout down crypto. Dont engage with them and leave it at that.
    It is a sceptics thread after all and was started for the below reason

"Starting this so non-believers in cryptocurrencies, and blockchain as a tech, can have a place to discuss why"

<Ignored>

It is a sceptics thread after all and was started for the below reason

"Starting this so non-believers in cryptocurrencies, and blockchain as a tech, can have a place to discuss why"
    discussion
    dɪˈskʌʃ(ə)n/Submit
    noun
    the action or process of talking about something in order to reach a decision or to exchange ideas.
    "the committee acts as a forum for discussion"
    a conversation or debate about a specific topic.
    plural noun: discussions
    "discussions about environmental improvement"
    synonyms: conversation, talk, dialogue, discourse, conference, debate, exchange of views, consultation, deliberation; More
    a detailed treatment of a topic in speech or writing.
    "see Appendix One, for a more detailed discussion"

What everybody's cribbing about is their inability to discuss, not the points they're making. They hear the other side of the discussion and ignore it. That's not a discussion. If they want to start discussing the subject they can start at any moment but it will require more effort than repetitively bleating about everything being a scammy shítcoin.

What everybody's cribbing about is their inability to discuss, not the points they're making. They hear the other side of the discussion and ignore it. That's not a discussion. If they want to start discussing the subject they can start at any moment but it will require more effort than repetitively bleating about everything being a scammy shoin.
    I agree, that is what they are doing so don't engage or leave the thread.
    I think most people see this now but most sceptics threads on boards work this way with one side of the fence refusing to engage in discussion (Check out the conspiracy forum)

Also no need to dumb it down, I know what discuss means. FYI I'm pro crypto

That was for their benefit rather than yours, sorry it came across that way.

Grindle can you link to the post that you made about real world implementations of block chain. I want to analyse it again.

You can litterally go to coindesk and see an unlimited number of atricle showing companies and agencies using blockhain technology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Mod note (and in particular to JohnnyFlash) :

cop on. This constant snark and sniping is tiresome and , in some cases, borderline harrassment. Johnny, I agreed to let this thread continue with the hope that it would help provide a counterpoint to the rest of the forum, if you start trawling the rest of boards to make personal observations then its descending into trolling and basically being a dick.

make your case by all means but naysayers and proponents alike have both been warned not to gloat. So don't.

Namecalling / personal attacks will be responded to with suspension from posting from now on. that goes for both sides.

Posting accusations about a person, even if they are not boardsies, without a direct link to a credible (ie: mainstream media, court record etc) source of evidence will result in suspension until you can PM me suitable evidence. Think before you post.

LoLth wrote: »
    Mod note (and in particular to JohnnyFlash) :

cop on. This constant snark and sniping is tiresome and , in some cases, borderline harrassment. Johnny, I agreed to let this thread continue with the hope that it would help provide a counterpoint to the rest of the forum, if you start trawling the rest of boards to make personal observations then its descending into trolling and basically being a dick.

make your case by all means but naysayers and proponents alike have both been warned not to gloat. So don't.

Namecalling / personal attacks will be responded to with suspension from posting from now on. that goes for both sides.

Posting accusations about a person, even if they are not boardsies, without a direct link to a credible (ie: mainstream media, court record etc) source of evidence will result in suspension until you can PM me suitable evidence. Think before you post.

Hey. I didn’t trawl other forums. Case of mistaken identity there. I’m the one being called a fool etc. Doesn’t particularly bother me, as I’m made of sterner stuff than that, but what’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Hey. I didn’t trawl other forums. Case of mistaken identity there. I’m the one being called a fool etc. Doesn’t particularly bother me, as I’m made of sterner stuff than that, but what’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

I singled you out in particular because you are the one that requested this thread. I tell other users to ignore you if they dont like what you post but every single time someone posts something about you, you respond and escalate.

as you aptly put it with your goose and gander analogy, ignore comments and report. Dont respond on thread.

ps. apologies. it wasnt you, it was Pintman that dragged in other forum content. You did the accusation without context.

That was me that was trawling other forums. It was uncalled for and very low. I apologise unreservedly to makeorbrake for that. I will up my game and refrain from that kind of thing.

That's honourable and fair play for manning up

Can you guys do the same when we put valid/ serious points to your objections instead of deflecting or ignoring from what we say from now on?

If not there's no more point in having discussions