Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday world - the new breed of Scummer

• 01-05-2018 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭

I saw the SW had a feature on the new Limerick gangland scene. Didn't bother buying it as I would hold little faith in it but I am intrigued. Was it Dublin rag rubbish to sell papers as the Dublin fued has gone quiet or were they actually on to something? My gut says the former, am I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,514 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

It was advertised all weekend so it was their "centerpiece" feature...I didn't buy the thing.

It is easy to write this off, it is a rag, but it has an audience, it is the 2nd most circulated paper in the country, it is also owned by INM who publish the Irish Independent, (the newspaper that "declared" Limerick to be the Murder Capital of Europe) a paper that has on at least half a dozen ocassions over the last number of years "declared" that the Limerick Feud has been reignited.

This is reckless journalism in the extreme, I mean, it is hard enough for local gardai to keep the peace, which we have seen since 2010, without these rags pimping and hyping incidents and almost egging gangs on in "national" papers.

If the dublin press had focused as much energy on its own problems not just this city;s who knows it may not be the dysfunctional capital city it is today.

Irish journalism is in the gutter has been for decades, this city's reputation has been dragged into gutter with them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Is there anything in the article that is factually incorrect? I don't buy it so can't get offended by it yet.

No idea why Limerick would suddenly be dragged up again though. Maybe they'll do it by county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Lads, it's a bit sad if the Limerick forum is reduced to having a discussion about the SW. Maybe the Beano, but the SW? Let's move it up a few notches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Comhra wrote: »
    Lads, it's a bit sad if the Limerick forum is reduced to having a discussion about the SW. Maybe the Beano, but the SW? Let's move it up a few notches?

It isn't really, my OP was asking did the SW feature actually hold any weight or was it sensationalistic crap. I worked in education with some of the big name offspring years back and fully believed that I would read the name in the paper in years to come. Just asking has the circle turned yet..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Is it factual or lies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭Comhrá

It isn't really, my OP was asking did the SW feature actually hold any weight or was it sensationalistic crap. I worked in education with some of the big name offspring years back and fully believed that I would read the name in the paper in years to come. Just asking has the circle turned yet..

I can't really answer your question but the 'sensationalistic crap' bit would be my initial reaction. I haven't heard of any credibility given to the SW in many years and it doesn't even get a mention in any circles any more. When does it even get a mention in 'It says in the papers' on RTE radio or even a review on any of the mainstream radio, tv or other media outlets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Sunday world - the new breed of Scummer

HA! Your thread title is a work any sub-ed would be proud of...

Are they promoting their new hacks?

SW - give me ****ing strength!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

What pissed me off the most about it was that 95fm were advertising it too. It's disgusting enough to see the thing on shop shelves, but having the local radio station run down its own locale is truly depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Just listening to Eamon Dunphy's podcast with the journalist now. She's quite indignant about the reaction from people in Limerick to the piece. I don't think she realises how utterly damaging sensationalist reporting like this can be for a city. The Sunday World aren't the only culprits either. The Limerick Leader regularly trade off the crime narrative in order to sell papers and get clicks. I actually think the Limerick Leader are worse than the Sunday World because they do it very subtly and very constantly. The journalists of the Limerick Leader, Irish Independent and Sunday World will self-righteously say they are just doing a public service and reporting the facts, but none of them are so stupid not to know that how you present information influences how it is interpreted. And their reporting and editorial approach has done incredible damage to the city.

The piece (what I've listened to so far is short on details and has some glaring errors). She says there are 14 organised crime gangs in operating in the Limerick region, and says its staggering for a place with a population of 100,000 people. The Limerick region, I'd have thought, includes Limerick City, County, possibly North Cork, Tipperary and Clare, so it has a far larger population than 100,000. She has claimed that one of the McCarthys has moved to Birmingham and lives near one of the Kinahins and from this she is drawing the conclusion that all hell is going to break loose in Limerick.

The best way to combat such journalism is for Limerick to turn a blind eye to it and get on with creating a great city. If we put as much energy into improving the place as we do into crying about what people say about us we'd have the most attractive city in the country and it wouldn't matter what rubbish the gutter journalists, both within Limerick and outside it, try and spread.

https://soundcloud.com/thestandwitheamondunphy/ep-161-nicola-tallant-on-a-new-generation-of-limerick-gangs

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭MilfordBud

I'll choose to read the headline as referring to the "journalist" as the new breed of scummer.

The same "journalist" was retweeting stuff about Limerick "skuts" yesterday. Hardly unbiased.

I never buy the rag anyway but you'd wonder if a Liverpool/Sun style boycott of it would be a runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,005 ✭✭✭circadian

The Sunday World is a bastion of being economical with the truth and facts.

It has a string of controversies including giving away the location of Denis Donaldson not to mention publishing the picture of a man who hung himself on their front page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,853 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

It’s getting attention though isn’t it? Twitter, Facebook, boards. It’s giving them what they want. I’m sure the journalist is loving all the fuss over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭chicorytip

This is reckless journalism in the extreme, I mean, it is hard enough for local gardai to keep the peace, which we have seen since 2010, without these rags pimping and hyping incidents and almost egging gangs on in "national" papers.

Illegal drug importation/dealing by criminals and crime committed by drug addicts to fund their habits are facts of life in modern society. Of course, the vacuum created by the decline of the Keane/Dundon mobs is now being filled by a new breed. Turf wars and feuding inevitably ensue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

bil_clay wrote: »
    other than that , is anything she said untrue , no one likes bad press about there home town but is a head in the sand approach useful either , surely rising crime would deter people moving to limerick or large employers moving to the city ?

But isn't the whole thing just irrelevant to those of us who live in Limerick and those outside? Until recently I regularly worked in the areas that are mentioned in this thread. I was always treated with respect, humor and friendliness when out and about in these communities.I don't think I have my head in the sand about it. These articles really are just about sensationalising a jaded stereotype that really has little to no impact on the vast majority of Limerick people's lives.

The Irish Times, on the other hand, had an article in their weekend magazine about the real Limerick that we all know. A city that has issues, but through its friendly people, culture and unique urban resources makes it a city worth living in ;)

chicorytip wrote: »
    Illegal drug importation/dealing by criminals and crime committed by drug addicts to fund their habits are facts of life in modern society. Of course, the vacuum created by the decline of the Keane/Dundon mobs is now being filled by a new breed. Turf wars and feuding inevitably ensue.

Don't also forget, that crime reporting is a business in itself...a lot of journalists, local and national made a hell of a lot of money during the 2002-2010 years, Paul "The Scumbag" Williams published a few books on the topic, plenty of others built their careers covering/sensationalising Limerick crime...

I had a quick look on Nicola "Talentless" Tallant today, the absolute charlatan is justifying the piece on the taxpayers need to see how the €300 million Regeneration money was spent....now, I don't know a single person who would not welcome a comprehensive investigative piece about where that money was spent, what companies/people benefitted....but of course, that is real journalism...this new breed of scumbag (I am referring to the journalist) is trying to make a name for herself, position herself as some one with expertise, when we do see a violent incident/s she'll be best placed to profit!

The problem here is we can't win...ignore and it doesn't go away, react to it it gets worse...this city's image problem is nearing 40 years old!!

your overly defensive about any accusation of criminality in limerick , that wont achieve anything , compared to galway and cork , the bad estates in limerick are a sight to behold , that backs tallants point about limerick being unique in many ways for a city of its size

I am not at all defensive about accusations of criminality in Limerick, it is of pivotal importance that a city keep a tight rein on organised crime, this city in particular.

Absolutely, I understand that Limerick has a tendency to produce a type of anti social individual like no other Irish regional city. But Limerick is like no other Irish regional city either, you have to take the good with the bad, my problem is the unrelenting focus on the bad, this time it is the Sunday World, last time it was RTE, before that TV3 and on and on it goes...there is a toxic group think in Dublin Media, we all suffer for it, as in every Irish person, this city is affected by it.

Does Nicola Tallentless actually believe that a feature like this will in some way improve matters? Do you believe that? Have they ever?

I can't understand how Irish people, who consume Irish media, bury their heads in the sand when it comes to how toxic Irish media is.

nicola talant has no obligation to preserve or improve matters in limerick , she is reporting things as she sees them

i dont see why limerick should be unique or like no other city , are you saying it should be accepted that limerick is our version of bradford or baltimore ?

Ah come on, you know damn well I didn't mean Limerick is our version of Bradford or Baltimore, neither of whom by the way have suffered the indignity of a 40 year image problem by the way.

Do you think we are blessed with a vigilant and balanced national media?

i think we are cursed with an overwhelmingly pc left wing media ( where every opinion is near identical on the issues of the day domestic and abroad ) but the media is not all that relevant to limerick , even the media never reported anything one way or another about limerick , the issues would remain , its not like the low lives who make life difficult for people give a crap about what the media say or limericks rep

We are cursed with an impotent media, who classically avoid taking on any real investigative journalism, they are shamefully inadequate....like I said, why didn't she do a piece about where the €300 million went? Cause that would involve a lot of uncomfortable questions for the political class...I know this is the Sunday World who's target audience can really only look at pictures...but the SW is no different to the Irish Times really, or RTE for that matter.

They haven't extended that indifference to this city and its problems however, quiet the contrary, I don't understand what you mean by media is not all that relevant to limerick...that make no sense at all. It is through Irish media that a lot of people create their perceptions of the place, it even affects how some Limerick people perceive the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

All it takes is for us to do our own bit for the city and the image it has to people not from the city and country. I passed a foreign couple today that were taking each others picture in front of King John's Castle and i offered to take their picture for them. It's gestures like this that will help the city's image

for its size , limerick is a very violent city by the standards of regional irish cities , it has a far bigger problem when it comes to lawless neighbourhoods than other irish cities , you only need to look at daft.ie to see evidence of this , houses can be bought for under 50 k in several limerick estates , only in the likes of a one horse town in leitrim or donegal is that the case , its an example of limerick being unique and for the wrong reasons

Ah, ok, I see now, you have bought into that tabloid version of the city, you missed another poster that was posting here a few days ago about house price rubbish and violence in this city, you won't be the last I suspect.

This city's issues are different to other Irish cities, not much worse, not much better just different...

Go away with your house prices rubbish...house prices in this country are highly dysfunctional and have been for about 15-20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭jonski

houses can be bought for under 50 k in several limerick estates ,

Several ? really ? I'd say you might be over exaggerating on that one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

bil_clay wrote:
    for its size , limerick is a very violent city by the standards of regional irish cities , it has a far bigger problem when it comes to lawless neighbourhoods than other irish cities , you only need to look at daft.ie to see evidence of this , houses can be bought for under 50 k in several limerick estates , only in the likes of a one horse town in leitrim or donegal is that the case , the cheapest house in galway or cork city is no less than 150 k , its an example of limerick being unique and for the wrong reasons

What's that now? You're saying property prices in an area are a measure of the criminality in it? For **** sake. That's beyond simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Sideshow Cecil

Been saying it for year, I wouldn't soak up piss with that rag of a paper!

the property market is a mess , i accept that , i was using the property market to illustrate a point , the chicken coup price tags of houses in certain limerick neighbourhoods are a barometer of how troubled those areas are and these are the areas the sunday world ran a piece on , there are no houses for 50 k in any part of cork or galway , kilkenny or any town with a population of over five thousand for the simple reason nowhere bar limerick has neighbourhoods which are so riddled with problems , again this is what tallant meant when she said limerick is unique

Agreeing with Tallant does not make you right, she is a Sunday World "journalist", who specialises in sensationalism and you have swallowed it hook line and sinker, we need people in this state to can see through thinly/subtly disguised narratives, until then we will be going around in circles.

You make the very same points a previous poster made about house prices and violence in Limerick just a few days ago...

zulutango wrote: »
    What's that now? You're saying property prices in an area are a measure of the criminality in it? For **** sake. That's beyond simple.

Wait until he starts going on about Galway!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Ah, ok, I see now, you have bought into that tabloid version of the city, you missed another poster that was posting here a few days ago about house price rubbish and violence in this city, you won't be the last I suspect.

It was the same guy. And he'll be back again soon. He's been at this crap for the better part of 8 years now.

This city brings out the worst in a certain type of Irish person...it's nuts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

To make it worse Niall Collins congratulated her on being a pro and to ignore the naysayers. What a dickhead. Sucking up to the media in case he gets the justice portfolio if FF get in at the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Agreeing with Tallant does not make you right, she is a Sunday World "journalist", who specialises in sensationalism and you have swallowed it hook line and sinker, we need people in this state to can see through thinly/subtly disguised narratives, until then we will be going around in circles.

This type of crime reporting does have merit. The work of Veronica Guerin is a good example. She paid with her life but her legacy - the creation of the CAB being the most significant outcome - has been a force of public good both at home and abroad, at least where the fight against crime is concerned.

chicorytip wrote: »
    This type of crime reporting does have merit. The work of Veronica Guerin is a good example. She paid with her life but her legacy - the creation of the CAB being the most significant outcome - has been a force of public good both at home and abroad, at least where the fight against crime is concerned.

How has it worked out for organised crime in Dublin?

Bear in mind the amount of gangland murders since 1996..there are well over 200 unsolved murders in Dublin, that was before the current vicious feud.