Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Real Madrid vs Liverpool - Champions League Final - 26th May 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭dmc17

Dunphy telling an anecdote Hamann told him about Karius having an LK plate. 'He thinks he's a superstar in his own head'. Hamann must have been fuming watching the match.

LK1 = Learner Keeper no.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

****ting myself. Going to be a lot of goals and I am terrified Lovern or someone else will go full Lollerpool.

Well it happened anyway. Full Lollerpool!!!

Feel very sorry for Karius on one hand as he must be devastated. But the sorry ****er should never wear a Liverpool shirt again.

This time last year, I asked the question about when Klopp should be held accountable fo the defensive issues. Thankfully, the VVD signing vindicated him and I am hopeful he can identify a keeper that will have the same effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

Pretty poor that none of the Liverpool players went to Karius when he was on the ground crying. Especially the captain should be there and pick him up.

Henderson's been missing since 7.45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

As much of a bad night for salah, it'll be about karius, hiw 1 fkin player never consoled the dude. Feel sorry for the man. Not good enough, fair enough, but captain be the man and back the guy on the pitch.
    For all of klopps cleverness at attack he's made a fool of Mignolet and Karius all season

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

The criticism of klopp is hilarious in relation to karius. Klopps faith in him led Liverpool to a champions league final they had no right to head to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Yep called it eariler and made some nice cash from it.Liverpool bench might as well not been even there.Karius is a fraud.
    Now on to the world cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭kerplun k

Fair play to the Liverpool fans. It’s devastating to lose a final like that, but the fans showed some class to give Karius a reaction like that at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    The Salah Karius narrative really shouldn't be the story from this game. Madrid absolutely dominated the second half and could've won pulling up

They didnt hammer them. Take the 2 mistakes away and we could be watching extra time now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Is that Shay Given on the podum??

Does everything have to be the 'end of an era' with Dunphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,843 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

MrMac84 wrote: »
    All the blame for me is with Klopp. He’s stuck by this joker time and time again!! He should have swolled his pride and replaced him!

Loyalty is a great attribute and quality in anyone but you need a ruthless ambition in top level sport and by being loyal or overly so or two sentimental...it’s just a weakness.

• Does everything have to be the 'end of an era' with Dunphy

He said the same thing about Madrid last year I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Madrid were poor tonight. Only when Bale came on did they look threatening. They have no pace in midfield or upfront without Bale. Ronaldo doesn't have the top pace anymore.

Liverpool did well to get there. I thought £75 million was crazy for Van Dyke but he has been very good. Spend £50 million on a decent keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Dunphy telling an anecdote Hamann told him about Karius having an LK plate. 'He thinks he's a superstar in his own head'. Hamann must have been fuming watching the match.

Nothing to write home about in fairness

toyota_corolla_2012_2012_toyota_corolla_corolla_1_4d4d_terra_2240121502819571493.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,584 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Dunphy telling an anecdote Hamann told him about Karius having an LK plate.

Thought for a sec you meant he has a car regged in Limerick :o

Scrap the cap!

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    He said the same thing about Madrid last year I think

And Barca, Bayern, Spain, Italy, English football, Italian football, defenders, forwards, etc etc over the past five years

I'm sure he's bothered, but I'm done with Ramos

Ramos lifting the cup...........................scenes in Liverpool right now .........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

2 terrible errors and the greatest ever CL final goal beat us.

We were fine. Real are a superbly efficient machine, used to winning. And they didn't overrun us at all. Even without Salah. It's not like we ever looked like properly buckling.

It'd be lazy analysis to say we didn't do enough. Real didn't either really. We just had a keeper who lost the fúcking plot.

Proud of the team.

• Ramos lifting the cup...........................scenes in Liverpool right now .........................

I lifted it with him in my heart
    I'm the Ramos of boards so I've been told :D

spockety wrote: »
    The criticism of klopp is hilarious in relation to karius. Klopps faith in him led Liverpool to a champions league final they had no right to head to.

Ah here he was chopping and changing keepers most of the 2/3 of the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,584 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

SuprSi wrote: »
    Thanks, I'd managed to avoid the Leinster result until your post and thought I'd be safe here! ��

Soz.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭Juwwi

And Barca, Bayern, Spain, Italy, English football, Italian football, defenders, forwards, etc etc over the past five years

You left out Ronaldo being a spoofer ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Never has the excellence of a front three paint over the weakness of the rest of the team than Liverpool this season.

With all the talk about Salah, Firmino and Mane, rightly so too for their consistency, it was assumed that the rest of the team improved incrementally. 

The flaws to Henderson's game, that drew the ire of Liverpool fans a year earlier, were apparently eradicated. The goalkeeper issue was seemingly addressed.

The apparent attacking instincts of Marcelo was seen as a weakness. Madrid's strength in depth wasn't acknowledged. 

Salah's injury was 100% a foul that was missed but also 100% accidental, but will be used as the excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

MrMac84 wrote: »
    All the blame for me is with Klopp. He’s stuck by this joker time and time again!! He should have swolled his pride and replaced him!

So you ban and card people tonight for calling players names but you can do it? I’m not surprised tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

He's just brilliant. He gives it absolutely everything. The type of player every teams wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Huge congrats to Real. Shame tonight's game was marred with the injury and dodgy goalkeeping but they just keep winning and you got to respect that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Bale interview was hilarious, he should have just said "feck it, I'm off!"

Ramos is the best CB in the world.

Every single one of us would have him in our team.

The pope can rest assure so!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Watch it or he will do you !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

This night went better than I could have ever imagined :D.

HALA MADRID.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

SlickRic wrote: »
    2 terrible errors and the greatest ever CL final goal beat us.

We were fine. Real are a superbly efficient machine, used to winning. And they didn't overrun us at all. Even without Salah. It's not like we ever looked like properly buckling.

It'd be lazy analysis to say we didn't do enough. Real didn't either really. We just had a keeper who lost the fúcking plot.

Proud of the team.

Come off it. Possibly the most spectacular, but he shinned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,661 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Ramos is the best CB in the world.

Every single one of us would have him in our team.

Not sure he's the best. One of the best anyway. But if everyone else hates him and their own love him thats says it all. He's a right f*cker but some battle axe.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

eagle eye wrote: »
    Zidane 3 for 3 now in the Champions league.

and will still get fired as they did so bad in the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

and will still get fired as they did so bad in the league

Not gonna happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Some teams just have a winning knack. They get 'over the line', even if they play below par.

2014 - Ramos 90th minute equaliser. Atletico wilt in extra time.

2016 - Griezmann has them by the throat. Misses a late penalty.

2018 - Just did enough. Ronaldo subdued. Salah sidelined. Bale steps up. Keeper at fault.

They won all those matches. They might/could have lost them all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Not sure he's the best. One of the best anyway. But if everyone else hates him and their own love him thats says it all. He's a right f*cker but some battle axe.

Can't stand the man, but he's the real MVP at Real, and has been for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Christ that was enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Lack of depth in the Liverpool squad is unreal. They've nothing and it finally caught up with them. Lallana ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Akrasia wrote: »
    Its just a game dude.

If we were talking about places outside England I would agree with him but no not in England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

What the hell is Marcelo doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That was beautiful.

Bale goal wow just wow and his 2nd was a beaut too

Far superior team won on night and well done 3 in row to them

Modric MOTM by the way.

Ridiculous player.

• SlickRic wrote: »
    Modric MOTM by the way.

Ridiculous player.

He's unreal

He was holding off two players pressing him all night

Didi is really starting to let himself go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

The question has to be asked, is Klopp a busted flush?

Perennial Underachiever.

3 final losses out of 3.

Lower points finish than last year.

The ultimate one trick pony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Delighted for Madrid, best team on the night won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Modric MOTM by the way.

Ridiculous player.

I thought Varane had a great game too FWIW.

Made some vital interceptions and read the game very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

robbie1977 wrote: »
    You left out Ronaldo being a spoofer ,

Kind of invisible for the most part tonight though, in fairness.