Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

goose2005 wrote: »
    Also RTE don't import anything except from the UK and US. Every movie is from Hollywood, there is no effort to reach a little wider, I think people would tolerate subtitles.

I think they would. Netflix are showing a Lupin, a French language series, as being in their top 10 in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Well you're wrong there because I watched it yesterday, so that's at least one viewer :)

They can't properly fill the schedule on RTE1 and 2 as it is without a lot of repeats.

With the exception of RTÉ ONE in 2020 their plus 1services just take an audience from the main channel.

RTÉ3 would air RTÉ2's late night programs from 7pm followed by RTÉ2 from six that day

7pm Peaky Blinders
    8pm Bachelors Walk
    9pm NCIS: New Orleans
    10pm Prodigal Son
    11pm Neighbours
    11:30 Home and Away
    12am Mountains - Life Beyond the Clouds
    1am The Hunt
    2am Fleabag

Same for RTÉ4 but with RTÉ1
    7pm The Week in Politics
    8pm The Tommy Tiernan Show
    9pm Mrs America
    10pm Troy: Fall of a City
    11pm Call the Midwife
    12am Nationwide
    12:30 My Tribe - Mo Threibh
    1am EastEnders
    1:30 Grow, Cook, Eat
    Repeat, HD
    2am RTÉ News: Nine O'Clock and Weather
    2:35 Claire Byrne Live
    3:35 The Confessors

Obviously you schedule your late nights to suit 7pm so peaky blinders would end up on 3 at 9pm

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Skyfloater

McGaggs wrote: »
    I think they would. Netflix are showing a Lupin, a French language series, as being in their top 10 in Ireland.

You can add "Call my agent" to that, it's very good.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,965 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Elmo wrote: »
    elperello and political analyst

RTÉ 2024 strategy states

"We will move RTÉ's biggest sporting moments to RTÉ ONE"

Now while this does not mean the full suite of sporting event it does mean

Any Irish Rugby or Soccer Match
    The Semi-finals and Finals of the GAA Championships

Meanwhile if RTÉ2 was to be sold it would be sold with sporting events, perhaps this would just cover an agreement from the new owners to take any GAA games that might cause disruption to RTÉ ONE's schedule along with sports like UEFA Champions League which RTÉ are not planning to move over to RTÉ ONE.

You also seem to think that RTÉ should own all of the sporting rights that they currently own.

So you reckon the big audience events should be on RTE 1 which makes sense but why not continue to have an alternative schedule on RTE 2?

How much do you think RTE 2 would raise in a sale?

I don't think sporting rights are set in stone. RTE may lose some and gain others according to the market.

For instance if Formula 1 goes back to FTA when the Sky deal ends RTE could be in the running.

Overall I still think it would be a mistake to restrict RTE to only one full schedule channel.

elperello wrote: »
    So you reckon the big audience events should be on RTE 1 which makes sense but why not continue to have an alternative schedule on RTE 2?

Do you think it makes sense because RTÉ have made this decision. I would look at it more like this, RTÉ2 without sports flounders, removing Big Sporting Events from the channel would diminish their audience even further.

RTÉ could have an alternative schedule on RTÉ News.
    How much do you think RTE 2 would raise in a sale?

The sale would also include RTÉ2+1, 2FM and the extra digital stations 2XM, Pulse and Gold. Based on the value given to TV3, UTV Ireland and Communicorp Stations, I would suggested around €80 to €100million. Though this wouldn't be a reason for selling the stations.
    overall I still think it would be a mistake to restrict RTE to only one full schedule channel.

RTÉ is not restricted to one full channel schedule, it has RTÉ News and RTÉ ONE +1, and as I have already pointed out RTÉ ONE +1 does not need to be a full plus one service. Here is another idea for the 3 channels

RTÉ ONE as is
    RTÉ ONE +1 to become RTÉ plus (with no News programming, vast majority of programmes an hour later from RTÉ)
    RTÉ News to take RTÉ ONE news programming an hour later with alternative news programming at 6 and at 9, e.g. international News or sports news or Entertainment news.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,965 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Elmo wrote: »
    Do you think it makes sense because RTÉ have made this decision. I would look at it more like this, RTÉ2 without sports flounders, removing Big Sporting Events from the channel would diminish their audience even further.

RTÉ could have an alternative schedule on RTÉ News.

The sale would also include RTÉ2+1, 2FM and the extra digital stations 2XM, Pulse and Gold. Based on the value given to TV3, UTV Ireland and Communicorp Stations, I would suggested around €80 to €100million. Though this wouldn't be a reason for selling the stations.

RTÉ is not restricted to one full channel schedule, it has RTÉ News and RTÉ ONE +1, and as I have already pointed out RTÉ ONE +1 does not need to be a full plus one service. Here is another idea for the 3 channels

RTÉ ONE as is
    RTÉ ONE +1 to become RTÉ plus (with no News programming, vast majority of programmes an hour later from RTÉ)
    RTÉ News to take RTÉ ONE news programming an hour later with alternative news programming at 6 and at 9, e.g. international News or sports news or Entertainment news.

I thought maybe something like an All Ireland might be upgraded to RTE 1 and cover regular programming on RTE 2. I don't really mind if they do it the other way.
    If you try to run schedule on News it won't ne News any more.

That's a lot of money. I didn't know it would be worth that.

Again, if you change the remit of +1 and News one of them or both will become de-facto RTE 2. The schedules would have to be published and advertised in advance like RTE 2.

As I said before I'd be slow to part with RTE 2 but I can see how the chance of a windfall of 80-100 k would be attractive.

elperello wrote: »
    As I said before I'd be slow to part with RTE 2 but I can see how the chance of a windfall of 80-100 k would be attractive.

I wouldn't be selling it for the mulla. Personally as I have said I would make RTÉ2 and 2fm an independent broadcaster like Channel 4, should the government want to divest itself of the broadcaster that would be up to them. In any case some of the debt that RTÉ would have to move with the new broadcaster also, which would be far more attractive than the pay out.
    I thought maybe something like an All Ireland might be upgraded to RTE 1 and cover regular programming on RTE 2.

If RTÉ does move the big sporting events to RTÉ1 you can be guaranteed that they will be very little on RTÉ2 during those game.
    I don't really mind if they do it the other way.
    If you try to run schedule on News it won't ne News any more.

It has no schedule it is not a news channel. RTÉ news should repeat Sport analysis programmes, it should have arts and culture news. They have at last started repeating Nuacht TG4. It should air BBC Horizon, along with BBC Newsline.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭StevenToast

So RTE have been employing a Jimmy Saville for years......

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Eoghan McDermott has left the building!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

As long as they don't get Ciara Kelly to replace him.

She's some reprehensible scumbag.

Well Oprah had an audience of 725,000 views or 50% of the audience watching TV.

Few mentioning that RTÉ2 doesn't usually have news and current affairs.

I suppose this is why they have RTÉ2 for things like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

As long as they don't get Ciara Kelly to replace him.

She's some reprehensible scumbag.

Ooooh this should be good! Wait until the Ciara Kelly fan club find out you’ve criticized her!

She has fans? Plural?

She might want to watch her butt, Piers Morgan's gonna be looking for work soon. And I believe he has an IRish passport too. (One parent is Irish).

She has fans? Plural?

She might want to watch her butt, Piers Morgan's gonna be looking for work soon. And I believe he has an IRish passport too. (One parent is Irish).

She'd be a perfect fit for GMB, she could take over his seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

How can ginger cnut still front nationwide will suing her employer

Sharon Ni Bheolain's still presenting the news, despite not talking to her boss. And having thrown many s**t fits that she's not number 1.
    So much so, she often refused to work.
    She's still employed.

A buddy of mine said many people who were 'orange man bad' on their social media, or in their writing, etc etc Are going to be in trouble now.
    There's been a HUGE upsurge in the 'Pro-left' media in the last four years.

But the recent announcement of the axing of the Mash Report I think has people worried. (Also, Nish Kumar, dude. You could have gone out on a high, and thanked all the people who worked on your show, thanked the writers, the Beeb etc etc. Instead you just went 'Boris bad'... and came across like and entitled prat.)

While its obvious media bias has been 'pro-left' in the last few years, the biggest victim has been comedy. Legitimately. 'Trump bad' was the dead horse that they kept beating for four years. Now that horse has been sent to the knackery, and they've got nuthin'.
    So once they can't project onto others, they'll suddenly have eyes focused on them. (Think Edward R. Murrow turning the camera on Joseph McCarthy, and how swiftly McCarthy fell apart).

Remember the 'promise' Ryan Tubridy made a few weeks back? The 'promise' not to let the LLS become misery porn anymore? To promote uplifting stories?

How long did that last?

Tonight, on the LLS. We had death, death, a song about death courtesy of Nathan Carter, and more death.

And now there'll be a Late Late show on St Patrick's Day. So we can guarantee Nathan Carter will probably be there. Maybe Jason Byrne (probably, he hasn't been on TV fer a while. He'll probably be talking about death too).

• Registered Users Posts: 21,009 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Sharon Ni Bheolain's still presenting the news, despite not talking to her boss. And having thrown many s**t fits that she's not number 1.
    She's still employed.

A buddy of mine said many people who were 'orange man bad' on their social media, or in their writing, etc etc Are going to be in trouble now.

But the recent announcement of the axing of the Mash Report I think has people worried. (Also, Nish Kumar, dude. You could have gone out on a high, and thanked all the people who worked on your show, thanked the writers, the Beeb etc etc. Instead you just went 'Boris bad'... and came across like and entitled prat.)

While its obvious media bias has been 'pro-left' in the last few years, the biggest victim has been comedy. Legitimately. 'Trump bad' was the dead horse that they kept beating for four years. Now that horse has been sent to the knackery, and they've got nuthin'.
    So once they can't project onto others, they'll suddenly have eyes focused on them. (Think Edward R. Murrow turning the camera on Joseph McCarthy, and how swiftly McCarthy fell apart).
    Wha?

• Registered Users Posts: 82,520 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Organisation asleep at the wheel in reporting a 300 person funeral in Carrick-On-Shannon and a large wedding in Salthill today, Truth Matters my bollix. They will put a 10 person capacity shebeen front of house as a Covid killing field.

Oh it was a traveller wedding... so of course, 'No negative depiction of the travelling community is allowed'.

We got a bloody front page news story about Biden's dogs being sent back to his house (not the white house) because of a biting incident.

But nothing about about anything at home. And the rest of us will suffer a lockdown if there's ANOTHER spike in cases.

And they wonder why people protested the lockdown. I mean sure, there were prats who went for a party, but you'll find them anywhere.
    There were others who are still genuinely concerned if they'll have a business to run in a few months.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

She has fans? Plural?

Check out the radio thread. It makes for interesting reading.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I'm sure elperello will be along shortly to explain why only certain types of truth matter.

Students: bad,bad superspreading bastards,
    Travellers:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

She's still employed.

Great post. Don't mind the dismissive replies.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,341 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I always love on Saturday night when we’re watching the kids/family movie (tonight it’s Smallfoot), and halfway through the movie they have an ad break, and then also do the lotto draw.....

Either don’t show the movie, or don’t show the lotto, or show one or the other on a different channel ffs!!! Kids don’t take too kindly to a 10 minute break halfway through a movie..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 50 ✭✭Theworldisy

The lack of coverage of the Traveller events during the week is terrible but not unexpected. I seen the guards disperse about 30 people on the royal canal couple of weeks ago. Individual groups just out having food. While breaking the rules the groups had only four at most in them and well spread out. Yet its open season for the traveller community. If any one gets a fine bring pictures of these events to the court and ask why these events are not been held to the same laws. Rte are a shambles why are they not reporting these events.

I always love on Saturday night when we’re watching the kids/family movie (tonight it’s Smallfoot), and halfway through the movie they have an ad break, and then also do the lotto draw.....

Either don’t show the movie, or don’t show the lotto, or show one or the other on a different channel ffs!!! Kids don’t take too kindly to a 10 minute break halfway through a movie..

They could easily air the Big Big Movie after the news and follow it by the lotto and the 9 news. No really need on saturday night to repeat Reeling In The Years.

Next week
    6pm six one
    635 RITY
    705 MOVIE
    845 Pat Short
    9:15 News
    9:45 Tommy T

Instead they could go with

6pm
    6:35 MOVIE
    8:15 Lotto
    8:20 News
    8:50 Tommy T

Of course no reason not to do Winning Streak via skype zoom etc

ligerdub wrote: »
    Great post. Don't mind the dismissive replies.

It's all good. I welcome disagreement. I can still respect someone if their opinions are different to mine.

Agree to disagree and all that.

RTE as an entity is rapidly losing credibility. Beginning of the end for them. To me, they seem to be part of the government coalition and have been with quite a while. A creative dead end in terms of writing drama. Absurd wages......They offer feck all to the taxpayer. The only thing that might save them is FFGs loyalty to them assuming they continue in power.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,589 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

RTE as an entity is rapidly losing credibility. Beginning of the end for them. To me, they seem to be part of the government coalition and have been with quite a while. A creative dead end in terms of writing drama. Absurd wages......They offer feck all to the taxpayer. The only thing that might save them is FFGs loyalty to them assuming they continue in power.

It is certainly a very challenging time for them, as the way we view TV is going to change dramatically over the next decade or so. It has already changed so much with the rise of the streaming services.

They will have to get with it, or become less relevant to the younger generations.

I wouldn't fancy being in charge of them! (although I'd take the big wages).

NIMAN wrote: »
    It is certainly a very challenging time for them, as the way we view TV is going to change dramatically over the next decade or so. It has already changed so much with the rise of the streaming services.

They will have to get with it, or become less relevant to the younger generations.

I wouldn't fancy being in charge of them! (although I'd take the big wages).

They choose to cut funding to both Comedy and Drama, along with Children's Content. They choose to ringfence funding to imported programming and 2FM (resulting in 2FM getting a portion of the licence fee since 2011).

A quote from the re-brand of 2fm
    For Healy it was important to make the changes to the station line-up first. When he joined RTÉ in June 2013 he was given a mandate by director-general Noel Curran to do whatever he had to do to make 2fm turn a profit – while also lowering the average age of its listenership. It’s a work in progress.

“The first thing we had to do was take our money back,” he says. But as the audience had aged well beyond the 15-34- year-olds it was meant to be targeting, his remit included “shagging out” the older listeners – losing them, in other words. A raft of presenters with the wrong kind of following were dispatched.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/media-and-marketing/rt%C3%A9-2fm-rebrands-for-era-of-visual-radio-1.2539857

The whole article is marketing taken from the book of Wall Street (The Film).
    This isn’t about a 2fm car sticker,” says Image Now....
    “isn’t just what it sounds like, it’s what it looks like”, ...to help 2fm future-proof itself beyond FM radio in this visual world, while claiming territory it describes as “nourishing entertainment”.
    The idea should be to trigger reactions all the way from “like”, “I didn’t know that” or “Oh, that’s new”, to “I can’t believe 2fm did that” and “Clever f***ers”.

Or as I like to say 2fm "thick as a plank".
    For Healy it was important to make the changes to the station line-up first. When he joined RTÉ in June 2013 he was given a mandate by director-general Noel Curran to do whatever he had to do to make 2fm turn a profit – while also lowering the average age of its listenership. It’s a work in progress.

8 years and no sign of profit or breakeven. Culminating in one of their stars leaving for some unknown known reason and to which most people regardless of age asking "Who?".