Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

samjames wrote: »
    richard bruton introducing a universal charge which is the same only rehashed, i never watch rte or any of the irish stations as total rubbish, as for bruton never had any time for that man

They have introduced nothing yet, they are flying a kite to see who shoots at it. If you own a device that is capable of receiving a TV signal then you must pay the tax, the excuse that you don't watch it does not work in front of the judge. The fact that you pay the tax and don't watch RTE content indicates that the RTE TV services is failing its public service remit and is wasting taxpayer funds that could be better used to fund childrens hospitals or even a national broadband scheme.

You have to earn a multiple of €160 in order to pay the RTE tax and yet you have no say in the range of potential content provided to you. Must likely what is happening is most people are only watching programs where new content is generated e.g. news, weather, Primetime and the late late show which probably amounts to maybe 5 hours (including advertisements) total viewing time a week and this is what most people mean when they say they don't watch RTE, because they have flicked to another channel when a repeat programs is on.

In addition another factor maybe that RTE or other stations are turned on but everyone is tapping away on their smart phone or tablet and not really watching the television, but that still gets counted as watching TV.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,314 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

They have introduced nothing yet, they are flying a kite to see who shoots at it. If you own a device that is capable of receiving a TV signal then you must pay the tax, the excuse that you don't watch it does not work in front of the judge. The fact that you pay the tax and don't watch RTE content indicates that the RTE TV services is failing its public service remit and is wasting taxpayer funds that could be better used to fund childrens hospitals or even a national broadband scheme.

You have to earn a multiple of €160 in order to pay the RTE tax and yet you have no say in the range of potential content provided to you. Must likely what is happening is most people are only watching programs where new content is generated e.g. news, weather, Primetime and the late late show which probably amounts to maybe 5 hours (including advertisements) total viewing time a week and this is what most people mean when they say they don't watch RTE, because they have flicked to another channel when a repeat programs is on.

In addition another factor maybe that RTE or other stations are turned on but everyone is tapping away on their smart phone or tablet and not really watching the television, but that still gets counted as watching TV.

I have too much questions about how RTE will access information, based on your internet service provider, or the devices that may require a contract with someone who obviously isn't RTE.

This 'plan' seems like a tax that will just be enforced-there won't be any kind of checks to see if you own a device that is capable of viewing RTE or listening to any of their radio stations.

In short, it stinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

I have too much questions about how RTE will access information, based on your internet service provider, or the devices that may require a contract with someone who obviously isn't RTE.

This 'plan' seems like a tax that will just be enforced-there won't be any kind of checks to see if you own a device that is capable of viewing RTE or listening to any of their radio stations.

In short, it stinks.

The plan is to get every house in Ireland to pay

Doesn’t matter what they dress this up as. At the end of the day they will call it a washing machine license if they thought every house in Ireland had one

• Registered Users Posts: 17,469 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Shefwedfan wrote: »

Doesn’t matter what they dress this up as. At the end of the day they will call it a washing machine license if they thought every house in Ireland had one

Doesn't matter how much RTE get they will always want more for less returns

As others have said if they are not purely supporting only home grown content (that means supporting independent studios and not Joe et al) and keeping the investment in Ireland instead of lining the purse strings of other broadcasters then they have no place as a PSB

fritzelly wrote: »
    Doesn't matter how much RTE get they will always want more for less returns

As others have said if they are not purely supporting only home grown content (that means supporting independent studios and not Joe et al) and keeping the investment in Ireland instead of lining the purse strings of other broadcasters then they have no place as a PSB

Oh I know, throw another 50 million at them and it will be the same s**t on the stations but presenters will be all sorted with extra cash....it’s a waste of time

Oh totally. Plus if you're using a vpn, you can easily hide the sites you're accessing, by hiding your IPN.

One thing that keeps lingering on my mind is-say you have a contract with Vodafone, or 3 mobile, or Virgin broadband or whoever for your broadband or internet. You have a contract with them, the details of which are private, and not to be shared with anyone who isn't in the contract.(It's why it's a contract). It's a private agreement between you and the company.

So if RTE want to know if you have access to the internet, they have to go and obtain your details (illegally) from your I.S.P.
    Ditto if you have a phone contract with any contractor-information about that contract cannot be obtained legally.
    And what if you say 'well, that device belongs to my child-it was a birthday gift'-do they tax the kid?

This is the water charges, with a new coat on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,242 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Cant wait to see them extend the motor tax to everyone, regardless of vehicle ownership. Or property tax to all, even if you dont own your own home. Sure doesnt everyone use the roads, or spend the night resting above some piece of land?? Its only fair everyone pays, regardless of usage or situation, according to the govt/rte!!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,500 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

RTE want the licience fee added to either utility bills or property tax. There are huge issues with this. IF added to either every house would have to pay it. Even if these houses were vacant or not lived in. This would be an extra tax on all householders. If added to Property tax, landlords would have to charge a premium over the cost of 10-20% for times when the house is empty. If for any reason a house is vacant, longterm like a person is in a nursing home or is abroad working the licience would still have to be paid if added to the ESB or property tax.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Oh I know, throw another 50 million at them and it will be the same s**t on the stations but presenters will be all sorted with extra cash....it’s a waste of time

This has ALWAYS been the main problem. I will praise RTE when they deserve it (giving the green light to Love/Hate, being among the first to show The Handmaid's Tale, etc) and I will also acknowledge all the rubbish reality TV and the like such as Dragon's bloody Den and the 'talent' shows are everywhere else as well. I will also admit some people, a lot of people, are into this reality drivel and stations are providing this unintelligent audience with as much as this stuff as they can.

BUT when it comes to salaries of RTE's presenters, there is no excuse whatsoever. Near a million for Pat Kenny to give us a radio show and the abysmal chatshow The Frontline. Half a million to current Tubridy, 100s of 1000s to Ray D'Arcy, etc. as well? Are these worth it? No. The programmes they do lack invention and are giving us the same old faces over and over.

No wonder there is no money for much else when these 'stars' drain the coffers. Surely, these 'stars' could be paid normal salaries like everyone else? Sure, these 'stars' are replaceable if they don't agree?

RTE's dramas and the like have suffered. Love/Hate shows RTE can get their hands on good drama if they allocate the money to it. But Love/Hate clearly needed money to make it, unlike Striking Out or Taken Down, that were made on a shoestring. The former was as easy to make as a reality show and so was most of the only marginally better later series.

On the other end of the scale in RTE drama came the expensive but tame and poor Rebellion. It wasted copious amounts of money on a sanitised soapy drama that was in no way fitting as a 1916 tribute. Again, no one asked for this type of thing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

No wonder there is no money for much else when these 'stars' drain the coffers.

The reality is the fee's paid to these 'star' contractors is barely a drop in the ocean of RTÉ wastage.

It's the other hundreds/thousands of folks in RTÉ earning 6 figure salaries for doing very menial jobs (basically labourers) that is the real scandal.
    These folks are so unionised that I'm sure if you dared to tell them you were changing the quilted Andrex in the toilets to regular Andrex, they'd be out the door on strike quicker than you could say "wipe your arse". The compromise of course would be a weekly 'inconvenience' payment of €500 to keep all concerned happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Please do not give them any ideas; no matter how ludicrous.
    This though, in essence, seem to be the mantra of Fine Gael.
    I remember when the other shower were kicked out and Fine Gael came into power, and one of the first things the following day I read about were the extra taxes that they wanted to inflict on those of us who are contributing the most.

Yeah, punish the people who were bringing the country out of a serious recession.
    Fine Gael is a despicable party.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Has there ever been a strike/picket outside RTE Donnybrook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I'd love to see how that would be reported on by RTE.

"Protest against the media and free speech outside RTE by extremists linked to Alt-Right/Dissident Republicans/[insert bogeyman here]".

I remember the exact same tactic deployed against the Shell to Sea protestors on RTE news back around 2006; fawning press conference of government spokesperson saying it was the Real IRA while on TV3 the same evening you could watch Gardai batoning middle aged men and women doing a sit-in up in Mayo.

Print media will go along with it as they are thirsting for some of the media subvention expected from this household charge, as can be seen from their editorials in support of it. Expect dirt dug up on anyone remotely associated with the protest and used to smear all involved to shame them into silence.

I pass RTE HQ regularly and there are semi-regular protests at the RTE campus usually from groups complaining RTE is not giving their "interest" priority though most are outrage culture protests in recent months, the last group to protest about RTE itself was Ben Gilroys group Tiger Reborn, they only got coverage on the click-bait site "theliberal.ie".

Protest held at RTE over their “enormous salaries”, one-sided and “fake news”
    April 6, 2019
    Large group of protesters held a rally outside RTE headquarters in Donnybrook Dublin 4 this afternoon.

The protesters held banners that said “End corruption now”, and described what they said was one-sided coverage and propaganda and completely fake news.

It’s understood that the protesters also said that they’re sick and tired of the bias at RTE and the fake news that they’re peddling.

A Facebook Live video of the protest was posted on the Tiger Reborn Facebook page.

The protesters also were very angry about the mandatory TV licence fee that people were forced to pay by law. Protesters are also said to be extremely angry over the enormous salaries that are TV personalities are being paid including Ryan Tubridy on €495,000 a year and Ray Darcy on €400,000 a year.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The reality is the fee's paid to these 'star' contractors is barely a drop in the ocean of RTÉ wastage.

It's the other hundreds/thousands of folks in RTÉ earning 6 figure salaries for doing very menial jobs (basically labourers) that is the real scandal.
    These folks are so unionised that I'm sure if you dared to tell them you were changing the quilted Andrex in the toilets to regular Andrex, they'd be out the door on strike quicker than you could say "wipe your arse". The compromise of course would be a weekly 'inconvenience' payment of €500 to keep all concerned happy.

THey'd all have to go on a 3 week training course on how to use the new Andrex, safely.

sligojoek wrote: »
    THey'd all have to go on a 3 week training course on how to use the new Andrex, safely.

It's the 2010s they would be sent on unconscious bias training so they are made aware of their prejudice against people who use pink bog rolls.

It’s not just that, it’s these people who have been hired mostly because daddy worked their are then handed a budget to spent....they waste millions because these people are idiots....

The RTÉ player for instance has had how many revamps now? All at cost of millions each time, and it’s still s**t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

It’s not just that, it’s these people who have been hired mostly because daddy worked their are then handed a budget to spent....they waste millions because these people are idiots....

The RTÉ player for instance has had how many revamps now? All at cost of millions each time, and it’s still s**t
    For any other entity, that app would have been well fixed by now, and people would have lost their jobs if it wasn't. Looking at the app reviews, you get the sense that RTE really do not give a flying fluck about quality; either online or on television.

"Accountability" is a word that is never heard in the management offices at RTE. And why? Because they know that they'll get their money from us; irrespective of our protestations or expectation of quality.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,414 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Kivaro wrote: »
    For any other entity, that app would have been well fixed by now, and people would have lost their jobs if it wasn't. Looking at the app reviews, you get the sense that RTE really do not give a flying fluck about quality; either online or on television.

"Accountability" is a word that is never heard in the management offices at RTE. And why? Because they know that they'll get their money from us; irrespective of our protestations or expectation of quality.

Accountability is not a word heard heard often in the Public Service or State sponsored entities

Cidar
    AIB
    Extra
    Eir
    Sure
    Supervalu

Its the biggest game all season since last year, Mayo v Dublin. Huge audience and above are what RTE have sold for advertisement.

Do the advertising department even bother their arse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Of course. It all trickles down. RTE jobs (from the 'stars' to the most menial jobs) are paid over the top for what they do. ANYONE involved in the 'top shows' are going to land a fortune. On top of this, this redesign of the news is both expensive and 100% unneeded.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,434 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

One bit of good coming out of RTÉ One this evening was the first episode of Creedon's Atlas of Ireland. It was made by RTÉ Cork & by god it was brilliant stuff. If RTÉ makes more of this content for the average viewer; I would think they would be very happy with it's value of only a couple a quid a week for it's output.

Is that not a repeat of the same old Creedon stuff?

No, it's new.

It's about place names and the meanings. I've it recorded to watch tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭s8n

sligojoek wrote: »
    No, it's new.

It's about place names and the meanings. I've it recorded to watch tomorrow.

Are you hoping he makes the next one in Sligo ?

• Registered Users Posts: 82,341 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What I really hate is when they repeat homemade thrash (which results in additional payments to actors) a 2nd time and then put new unseen stuff on at 1am, like Grand Hotel, who makes these commercial suicide decisions, do they burn licence payers money's at weddings they attend for fun so to speak?

s8n wrote: »
    Are you hoping he makes the next one in Sligo ?

I wouldn't mind. I'd rather something educational than dancing competitions.

To be honest, I think it's beyond saving.

It's main issue being it isn't a public broadcaster. It's a government propaganda outlet. I saw Sharon Ní Bheoláin actually hounding a Minister (that runt Donohoe I think) a few months back. I actually rewound it back to savour the moment and make sure I just didn't have too much aspartame in me system. It was like watching Vincent Browne in his pomp. Aside from that its just softball questions and everyone giving each other hand shandies. Brian Dobson interviewing an FF/FG politician is like watching him catching up with an auld friend.

Look how many sporting events they've lost. Our GAA, Heineken Cup, Six Nations, etc all huge events.

How often do they provide a quality TV series or documentary?

Finucane and O'Rourke are the greatest waste of radio waves since the first broadcast in 1900 or whenever.

As mentioned, if Tubridy or Miriam O'Callaghan went to the BBC they'd be escorted out of the building. Obscene salaries from top to bottom.

The site issue was a great point brought up earlier in the thread, it should be sold off and relocated.

As for Dee Forbes herself, I wouldn't let her on a debs committee.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,341 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There's so much thrash being bankrolled the first step for anyone new at the wheel would be to stop people promoting personal projects or financial gain projects on the public dime, they make RTE look like QVC compared to BBC.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

I won't be paying the fee again this year. No matter what format. If you don't use rte or its services then there is no need to fund them.

Basically they can go **** themselves.