Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A new playtoy - 181/2 Tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭roosterman71

It will be in the yard in less than 48 hours. Probably won't be there myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I'm guessing Fendt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

kay 9 wrote: »
    Not long now

I might take a day off from work for the unveiling!!

Fnck that. Take the day off. Once in a lifetime event on most farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hope it arrives when it's supposed to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

Give us an oul clue

Fnck that. Take the day off. Once in a lifetime event on most farms.
    Yeah I'd like to, but I'm not blessed with the days off quota. Need them for the silage craic at home, and have a baby due at the end of July as well so I better keep what few I have. Plus I want to go to the ploughing in September!
    Reggie. wrote: »
    Hope it arrives when it's supposed to
    Yeah it will be on Friday sometime. Dealer rang us today. Will be getting the formal rundown on the ins and outs Saturday then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Yeah I'd like to, but I'm not blessed with the days off quota. Need them for the silage craic at home, and have a baby due at the end of July as well so I better keep what few I have. Plus I want to go to the ploughing in September!

Your entitled to 2 weeks off paternitity leave from work, think you get about 440e for the 2 weeks from the state. If you work it right you could get paid for doing your silage and not use your holidays. Your o/h will be happy I let you know about that one..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Yeah it will be on Friday sometime. Dealer rang us today. Will be getting the formal rundown on the ins and outs Saturday then

Sure stick on the kettle and we'll all post photos here for you before you come home :pac:

I'll take it down the road a rip to run it in for you - save you the hassle... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I saw a 181 jd 6120m with loader on its way to a new home today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

As the others said it’s often a once in a lifetime buying a new tractor on a farm. On the other hand you’ll probably have more than the one child.

I’ll get my coat...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I still haven't figured out the connection, ploughing match maybe??:confused:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I still haven't figured out the connection, ploughing match maybe??:confused:

I'm missing something here, but I don't get ya :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Farmers Journal (@farmersjournal) Tweeted:
    The dealer heard recently that a driver of a John Deere tractor got a shock when he received a speeding ticket
    https://t.co/I1A5CYm4CV https://twitter.com/farmersjournal/status/1004827342433288192?s=17

Something to look forward to.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I'm missing something here, but I don't get ya :confused:

~~8 months ago, and now you're getting a new tractor and hopefully a new driver for it.......

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    ~~8 months ago, and now you're getting a new tractor and hopefully a new driver for it.......

I don't think he's getting paid for ploughing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Any pics roosterman?

It's not here yet. But it's not far away. Horsing rain now too so getting the run down on the ins and outs of it could be a pain in the hole

Just got a call - 5 mins away

Is it there yet? :p

I see it, I see it, I see it

Be back later......

I see it, I see it, I see it

Be back later......

Don't dirty it

Ah ffs! :pac:

Whoaaaa

Whoaaaa

Drive it like you stole it. :)

I hope there's drone footage of this arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Drive it like you stole it. :)

I hope there's drone footage of this arrival.

With a sound track from Scooter... Ha ha ha

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xaIkWUH3wpE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Should put it on Facebook live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Final predictions..? Landini I guess

A Claas

Snowfire wrote: »
    Final predictions..? Landini I guess

Nah he hasn't good taste :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

FFS it's worse than waiting to see who shot JR.

Nah he hasn't good taste :D

Massey it is so...

So here she is. A Fendt 312 with compact loader

2018_06_08_20_39_13.jpg

2018_06_08_20_39_26.jpg

And sure tis only savage! Initial thoughts:
    • it's bigger inside than the JD
    • it will take some time to get used to driving it
    • it only fits half way into one of the sheds cos it's an inch too high!
    • it's mine

Drove it up a few miles along the road and it bombed away over 40km/h but it didn't feel like it was doing that speed. And it's pure comfy inside with the cab and front suspension.

The bucket is 7ft, and it's feckin massive. It's a very different view out the window compared to what I'm used to. And the loader, bonnet, everything is bigger.

I'd a run through of the different buttons, settings, etc. But need more time to get used to them. There's loads of options, settings, etc that I need to play with. Probably never need most of them though, but they are there if needed!

So why a Fendt? Why the hell not lads and ladies? Had the money, she came in 15k more than the other option which was a 6120M Deere. And there is a big difference in terms of tech and comfort between them. I felt the 15k spend was worth it. To be honest, I had said if the difference came in at more I'd have gone the Deere route. So after hard bargaining things fell into what I had budgeted.

Finally, as for the auld lad, he's not a fan. Fierce complicated he says, hard to get in and out of he says. So he's gonna take some convincing to even drive it.

JD 6125 me thinks

So here she is. A Fendt 312 with compact loader

2018_06_08_20_39_13.jpg

2018_06_08_20_39_26.jpg

And sure tis only savage! Initial thoughts:
    • it's bigger inside than the JD
    • it will take some time to get used to driving it
    • it only fits half way into one of the sheds cos it's an inch too high!
    • it's mine

Drove it up a few miles along the road and it bombed away over 40km/h but it didn't feel like it was doing that speed. And it's pure comfy inside with the cab and front suspension.

The bucket is 7ft, and it's feckin massive. It's a very different view out the window compared to what I'm used to. And the loader, bonnet, everything is bigger.

I'd a run through of the different buttons, settings, etc. But need more time to get used to them. There's loads of options, settings, etc that I need to play with. Probably never need most of them though, but they are there if needed!

So why a Fendt? Why the hell not lads and ladies? Had the money, she came in 15k more than the other option which was a 6120M Deere. And there is a big difference in terms of tech and comfort between them. I felt the 15k spend was worth it. To be honest, I had said if the difference came in at more I'd have gone the Deere route. So after hard bargaining things fell into what I had budgeted.

Finally, as for the auld lad, he's not a fan. Fierce complicated he says, hard to get in and out of he says. So he's gonna take some convincing to even drive it.

Nice wann. Is that an MX loader? Hope he gave a few toys with it too...ha ha

I like the extra view for seeing the loader up high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Well may you wear!!
    Have you got the 2 piece mirrors ? On the new mf here and they're the best thing since sliced bread I think. Never have to turn around at all now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Well wear as they say, hope she's lucky for you.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Nice wann. Is that an MX loader? Hope he gave a few toys with it too...ha ha

I like the extra view for seeing the loader up high
    Yeah the curved glass is deadly. And there's a wee blind then that can come down if the sun is in yer eyes there from the glass being higher. The loader is a 4x75 Compact.
    Well may you wear!!
    Have you got the 2 piece mirrors ? On the new mf here and they're the best thing since sliced bread I think. Never have to turn around at all now
    Yeah 2 mirrors on each side. And they are electric too :D

Lovely looking job, health to wear and safe driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Health too ware.
    Looks a great machine 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

welcome to the club,;)they are some bus, well ware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Yeah the curved glass is deadly. And there's a wee blind then that can come down if the sun is in yer eyes there from the glass being higher. The loader is a 4x75 Compact.

Yeah 2 mirrors on each side. And they are electric too :D

Ye jammy ####
    Think I'll price one next time.........only price though

Well wear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Well Ware as others have said I hope she will be lucky for you

"Vorsprung durch technik".

Advancement through technology.

Well wear. Lovely machine.
    There can't be too many of those in this country.

Stay lucky. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Best of luck with her roosterman. Quare jealous