Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I be a primary teacher??

Options
  • 08-05-2018 8:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hi, I'm a leaving cert student and have a short time to decide on what I want to study at third level. Basically, I'm deciding between studying to become a primary school teacher or to study business/commerce.
    With teaching, I love kids and think I’d be really good at it. With the economy the way it is though I’m not sure I should be a teacher. I'm scared that I won’t make enough money to make a good living. My mam is a teacher and says that I really have to take that into consideration, as a lot more money is to be made in business world.
    But on the other hand, personally I think I'd much rather do a job I love for less pay.
    So whats the lifestyle like on a teachers salary? Do any current teachers have any advice for me as I decide on what I should do?
    Thanks in advance for any replies.

Comments

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

"Loving kids" is only the start of it, do you have experience of working with children in a role like coaching, where you'd have to "teach" them something?