Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

E3 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 33,742 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Nice.

Playstation should make some effort to say if games they show are multiplat instead of having everyone thinking they are exclusive.

https://twitter.com/WCGamingTweets/status/1006366902250364928?s=19

What's the difference between not explicitly saying "You can play this on other consoles" and blaring the words "World Premiere" before showing a trailer of a third party where you also don't explicitly say it'll be available on other consoles?

I doubt anyone thought it was exclusive. After all, Resident Evil 7 was released on Xbox One, and Capcom are releasing DMCV on both X1 and PS4. There was no indication anywhere that it might be an exclusive. Sony simply showed a trailer for the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Resident Evil 2 looks amazing. Can't wait to play that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Dammit Kiith, you got my hopes up there :(

That pretty much i mentioned still included a few big ones. Red Dead and Last of Us mainly. There may be a few others, but none that i was hugely interested in.

If only Sony would let the PC have it's first party titles like Microsoft are doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Penn wrote: »
    What's the difference between not explicitly saying "You can play this on other consoles" and blaring the words "World Premiere" before showing a trailer of a third party where you also don't explicitly say it'll be available on other consoles?

I doubt anyone thought it was exclusive. After all, Resident Evil 7 was released on Xbox One, and Capcom are releasing DMCV on both X1 and PS4. There was no indication anywhere that it might be an exclusive. Sony simply showed a trailer for the game.

They said when games were exclusive. Simples.

Playstation tried this before with Grand theft auto V before. Making its PS4 version seem exclusive and not saying anything for ages until they got a few pre orders in.

Twitter and other social media platforms were buzzing with the news that Resi 2 is a PS4 exclusive.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The biggest disappointment though is From Software's VR game not being a mech sim :(

I...I hadn't even thought this...

l3jq8eH.jpg?1
    Playstation should make some effort to say if games they show are multiplat instead of having everyone thinking they are exclusive.

Thats a core tenant of their marketing, everything has to be made out to be "Only on Playstation". Have seen the same 3rd party's trailer released on Nintendo/Microsoft and Sony Youtube channels; Ninty/MS has all the logos at the end (PS, MS, Steam, N, whatever) and the Sony ones will only have the PS logos.

Another prime example...KH3 trailer at MS conference has PS logo and Xbox logo at the end, one shown at Sony only has the PS logo. Could possibly argue its so SE can keep the Xbox reveal under wraps.

Its just marketing, now everyone will associate certain games with Playstation from the off.

They said when games were exclusive. Simples.

Playstation tried this before with Grand theft auto V before. Making its PS4 version seem exclusive and not saying anything for ages until they got a few pre orders in.

Twitter and other social media platforms were buzzing with the news that Resi 2 is a PS4 exclusive.

As did Microsoft with Rise of the Tomb Raider. It's marketing. You don't mention your main competitor and that the games you're showcasing will be on their system too. Unless something is said to be an exclusive, take it that it's not by default.

"Ba-da-ba-ba-bah I'm loving it... or you could also love a Burger King" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I don’t venture into this forum much anymore but any time I do, it’s the same tiresome bollox.
    A couple of clicks of a mouse could seriously improve the user experience here...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

As has been said the format of the show was bad but once it got going the games on show spoke to me far more than any other conference.

I have an interest in almost everything shown apart from ghosts of tsushima.

So even with the terrible idea to move people from once place to another I still think Sony's was the best show simply because of the games. I seen nothing anywhere else that's even close to the last of us 2 or Spider-man.

Just wish the last of us had given a release window of some sort.

Death Stranding looks weird as hell but I'm sure it'll be good and I'm happy for Kojima to have as much time as he needs so if he isn't ready to give a release window then grand.

Spider-man looks better than ever and we get to play it in a bit over 2 months.

Nice.

https://twitter.com/WCGamingTweets/status/1006366902250364928?s=19

Funny how when another company does it in a much more underhanded and insidious manner there are no complaints.

No one thought for a second that Resi 2 remake was PS4 exclusive, nor was there any indication at the event that it was. Say what you will about Sony but they never try and imply that non-exclusive games are exclusive or use confusing tags to give the impression.

As did Microsoft with Rise of the Tomb Raider. It's marketing. You don't mention your main competitor and that the games you're showcasing will be on their system too. Unless something is said to be an exclusive, take it that it's not by default.

"Ba-da-ba-ba-bah I'm loving it... or you could also love a Burger King" :D
    Rise of the Tomb Raider was a timed exclusive with 1 year between platforms. No issue with this. Sure look at No mans sky, Hellblade and Nier. All on Xbox or coming soon. Apples and oranges comparison.

What is desperate is showing a game with the aim to be deceptive for a couple of hours. You would have torn Xbox to shreds if the roles were reversed.

A bit more transparency needed there.

Rise of the Tomb Raider was a timed exclusive with 1 year between platforms. No issue with this. Sure look at No mans sky, Hellblade and Nier. All on Xbox or coming soon. Apples and oranges comparison.

What is desperate is showing a game with the aim to be deceptive for a couple of hours. You would have torn Xbox to shreds if the roles were reversed.

They never claimed that Hellblade or Nier was exclusive, the fact that both launched on PC the same day or close to as the PS4 would point to this. Same for No Man's Sky, Hello Games and Sony both confirmed that it was a timed console exclusive on the PS4 well before the game launched.

There is no transparency needed, at no point did Sony state, imply or suggest that Resi 2 Remake was a PS4 exclusive, they didn't even use any text like Xbox did to try and mislead.

People were on here the day after the Xbox conference trying to figure out what all the different tags actually meant on the trailers in terms of exclusivity and Xbox were doing their best to make sure all the big multiplats were keenly associated with Xbox.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,278 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Far as I can see only two people weren't sure what was and wasn't exclusive at either conference and the only reason they think this is because they're mutually trying to get a rise out of eachother. :pac:

And both Microsoft and Square Enix refused to confirm whether it was a timed exclusive or full exclusive for several weeks after it was announced. That was intentional obfuscation when they knew what the answer was, but didn't want to reveal if or when it was coming to PS4.
    "When people want me to say, can you tell us when or if it's coming to other platforms, it's not my job," Spencer told Eurogamer. "My job is not to talk about games I don't own. I have a certain relationship on this version of Tomb Raider, which we announced, and I feel really good about our long term relationship with Crystal and Square.

"I get the reaction I see. If I'm a PlayStation person all of a sudden I feel like, the franchise has gone. I didn't buy the IP. I didn't buy the studio. It's not mine. Where this thing will go over time, just like Dead Rising or Ryse, we'll see what happens with the game. I don't own every iteration of Tomb Raider.

"I don't own them building Tomb Raider on other platforms. I can't talk about the franchise that way. I can talk about the deal I have."

So, what, exactly, is that deal?

"I have Tomb Raider shipping next holiday exclusively on Xbox. It is Xbox 360 and Xbox One. I'm not trying to fake anybody out in terms of where this thing is. What they do with the franchise in the long run is not mine. I don't control it. So all I can talk about is the deal I have. I don't know where else Tomb Raider goes."

Is there a time limit on the exclusivity period?

"Yes, the deal has a duration. I didn't buy it. I don't own the franchise."

Can you tell us how long the duration is?

"No. It's not because I'm trying to be a headfake on anybody. It's a deal between us and the partner. People ask me how much did we pay. There are certain things I'm just not going to talk about because it's a business deal between us and them. Obviously the deal does have a duration. I didn't buy the IP in perpetuity."

Funny how when another company does it in a much more underhanded and insidious manner there are no complaints.
    Rise of the Tomb Raider came to PS4 only because of investment by Xbox. The project was almost scrapped due to Crystal Dynamics being in financial trouble so a deal was made that suited everyone. The game wasn't going to be made for any platform without the money.
    No one thought for a second that Resi 2 remake was PS4 exclusive, nor was there any indication at the event that it was. Say what you will about Sony but they never try and imply that non-exclusive games are exclusive or use confusing tags to give the impression.
    Yes, they did. In fact many still do. It's all over social media.
    ... MS tried to sneakily imply that these were exclusives.

You had this to say after the Xbox conference.
    I can only imagine what you'd say if Xbox didn't even state anything at the beginning or end of their trailers.

So Playstation get a pass in your book.

Far as I can see only two people weren't sure what was and wasn't exclusive at either conference and the only reason they think this is because they're mutually trying to get a rise out of eachother. :pac:

How to tell if a game is exclusive at E3:

Is it a sequel to a franchise that has only been released on a PS or MS console, if so then this is an exclusive.

Is it a sequel that has been cross-platform or is being published by a company who is not called Microsoft or Sony, then it's not an exclusive.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Can we not just assume all the companies are being as strategic and underhanded as they think they can get away with and not embarrass ourselves by trying to make out that Microsoft have higher morals than Sony or vice versa?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

2c2ijm.jpg

Rise of the Tomb Raider came to PS4 only because of investment by Xbox. The project was almost scrapped due to Crystal Dynamics being in financial trouble so a deal was made that suited everyone. The game wasn't going to be made for any platform without the money.

Yes, they did. In fact many still do. It's all over social media.

You had this to say after the Xbox conference.
    I can only imagine what you'd say if Xbox didn't even state anything at the beginning or end of their trailers.

So Playstation get a pass in your book.

Both companies get a pass as I genuinely don't care all that much about videos screened during E3 given that I have no allegiance to any one company.

I'm not getting into some long-winded argument with you but there was no indication from Sony's E3 that Resi 2 was exclusive, just because people on the internet failed to realise it does not mean anyone lied. Sony presented a trailer and not once was the word exclusive used, MS during their presentation did show a number of third party titles with various text such as exclusive in the title which is a sly way of trying to imply that something is Xbox exclusive.

No offence but everytime Sony do something you are here jumping in joy at a chance to slate them, yesterday you were complaining about the PS Pro having load fans and how we need a new quieter one before stating that you don't even own the console, and if anyone has a single complaint with Xbox you rush in defending them. There's no need to do so, just because someone has issue with a business decision of a billion dollar company does not mean that they despise it. I'd wager that most people in here have both consoles and all most of us want are the best games

People were on here the day after the Xbox conference trying to figure out what all the different tags actually meant on the trailers in terms of exclusivity and Xbox were doing their best to make sure all the big multiplats were keenly associated with Xbox.

It's really not that difficult.

And is it as clear as saying absolutely nothing lol, I think not.

Double standards lads.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Can we not just assume all the companies are being as strategic and underhanded as they think they can get away with and not embarrass ourselves by trying to make out that Microsoft have higher morals than Sony or vice versa?

I actually don't think that Sony care all that much for E3 or showcasing games there, it's Playstation Experience and Tokyo Gameshow where they come alive. All I want from Xbox and PS is the best games possible which is something that some don't. Healthy competition is what made the PS3 into possibly the best console in years and the biggest problem with the PS4 is that Sony have got a lil lax in brining over more out there Japanese titles.

Can you give me an article or a source detailing this because I can't find it anywhere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

One other big negative for Sony is at the PC conference they lost two big exclusives, Valkyria Chronicles 4 and the Yakuza series. Yakuza is a pretty big one to lose to PC, although I'm more surprised it took Sega so long to bring it to PC.
    And both Microsoft and Square Enix refused to confirm whether it was a timed exclusive or full exclusive for several weeks after it was announced. That was intentional obfuscation when they knew what the answer was, but didn't want to reveal if or when it was coming to PS4.

Sony kind of do the same with many of their games that are coming to PC at a later date. Nioh for instance was not announced for PC for months right before release.

keane2097 wrote: »

Totally.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,278 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Can you give me an article or a source detailing this because I can't find it anywhere.

The exact same conversation happened in last years thread if you want to save us the hassle of having to read through him posting a link to some unreliable article and you and everyone else saying they don't believe it. :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I actually don't think that Sony care all that much for E3 or showcasing games there, it's Playstation Experience and Tokyo Gameshow where they come alive. All I want from Xbox and PS is the best games possible which is something that some don't. Healthy competition is what made the PS3 into possibly the best console in years and the biggest problem with the PS4 is that Sony have got a lil lax in brining over more out there Japanese titles.

Actually, very good point there. E3 has been waning in relevance for the last few years.

The exact same conversation happened in last years thread if you want to save us the hassle of having to read through him posting a link to some unreliable article and you and everyone else saying they don't believe it. :o

It's just I seen him repeat the claim several times but any time I try looking it up, I can't find anything concrete on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

One other big negative for Sony is at the PC conference they lost two big exclusives, Valkyria Chronicles 4 and the Yakuza series. Yakuza is a pretty big one to lose to PC, although I'm more surprised it took Sega so long to bring it to PC.

They haven't really "lost" Yakuza to PC at all though - only 0 & Kiwami are announced for now. Sloppy seconds as they've been on PS4 for a while now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Doge

Definitely not. Looks like a heavily modified uncharted 4 engine. No way is that cgi.

The animation is a major upgrade on uncharted and the first game and considering they are the pinnacle in animation that's saying something.

I first noticed it with the replays in the Gran Turismo Sport beta.

Amazingly realistic lighting, animation and motion.
    And despite the hardware limitations of the PS4 they still made it look more realistic than any PC Racing sim visually.

I don't see it as a huge loss and Valkyria Chronicles has previously been on PC and Sony themselves are starting to publish games on Switch and PC so I imagine that going forward we will see more Sony titles getting released outside of the PS4. No doubt they will remain Console exclusives for the first 6 months a year before making the leap.