Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men's Health Week 2018: June 11-17

• 13-05-2018 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭

International Men's Health Week (MHW) always begins on the Monday before Father's Day and ends on Father's Day itself. During 2018, it will run from Monday 11th until Sunday 17th June.

It is celebrated in many European countries, as well as in the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and a number of other places worldwide. The overall aims of MHW are to:

1. Heighten awareness of preventable health problems for males of all ages.

2. Support men and boys to engage in healthier lifestyle choices / activities.

3. Encourage the early detection and treatment of health difficulties in males.

Continues at:
    http://www.mhfi.org/mhw/mhw-2018.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,604 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Great to see this type of thing happening. Fair play

• Boards.ie Employee Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mark
    Boards.ie Employee

International Men's Health Week is underway and we have an AMA with a Men’s Health Development Officer for the HSE who is also on the Men’s Health Forum in Ireland (MHFI) Board of Trustees. It's just gotten started, so if you have any questions, please ask away here: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057880937

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep Mark and no reflection on you as you folks in the Office™ went out and asked for it. However, the "Men’s Health Development Officer for the HSE who is also on the Men’s Health Forum in Ireland (MHFI) Board of Trustees" was about as much use as tits on a bull. A few questions were asked and hardly taxing ones and after a couple of copy and pasted replies he clearly read without much thought, if thought was present or available for him to plug into, he quietly buggered off.

So "Finian Murray, the "member of the all-Ireland, inter-agency Planning Group for MHW. He is also a Men’s Health Development Officer for the HSE and is on the Men’s Health Forum in Ireland (MHFI) Board of Trustees", thanks for fuck all Finian. You Sir, are a low wattage lightbulb who may think themselves a beacon, but it seems lighting an outside privy is a struggle. *slow handclap* :rolleyes:

Oh noes, I hear ye say, but he's a volunteer? True, but so what? There are lots of volunteers in life. Too many suckling on the public teat. QV... Hell everyone here posting our shite is technically a volunteer. Word to the wise Ted, if you sign up for something within your remit at least have the bloody decency to follow through. If you fail at that hurdle, I would disrespectfully suggest you're not the man, or indeed woman for the job and find another volunteer. If you ever read this and your ego is rustling your bustle, there's a reason for that.

Then again upon more delving I find the same Mr Murray has bought into the current "feminist" faith, but unlike those he follows, who at least are present in such debates, he...well... Wasn't.

It's bloody rare I would agree with our local antagonist El Duderino, but in this I agree with them 100%, too many of the voices for men are about as much use as an ejection seat in a helicopter*.

Hey Finion, go ahead, prove me wrong. I double dare ya.

*funny enough.... There was research into this back in the day, as the Black American folks say(and White Americans cringe say). One idea was to selectively blow the rotors before the seat engaged. Another idea was to have the seat fire sideways and the dumbest was to have the seat fire down. When chopper pilots pointed out that in combat their average approach height was under 30 feet, the project was quietly shelved. So there ya go... That's my nerd content for this evening.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Boards.ie Employee Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mark
    Boards.ie Employee

Hey Wibbs,

Yeah it didn't go well at all. On the copy and paste front, there's probably only so much he could have said in response to some of the questions, so some of the answers might seem a little "stock". AMA never really took off, but certainly not helped by his responses fizzling out.

Perhaps, as someone suggested in the bankrupt student AMA, there needs to be more of an intro blurb that will give people a jumping off point (though at the same time, we don't want to cannibalise questions).

Thanks for the feedback!

It’s a pity that thread didn’t get going. It could have been a fascinating discussion.

Unfortunately it seems that men are only vaguely interested in men’s health even in a week dedicated to raising awareness.

Now if the topic was women’s health, you could have had men in pages and pages of discussion about how it’s all one sided and ‘if feminists care about equality then why don’t they campaign for men’s health too?’ And ‘where’s the men’s health week, huh?

It’s a pity because I see men’s health as an important issue and an organised event to engage men in discussion has slipped to past. Shame.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Now if the topic was women’s health, you could have had men in pages and pages of discussion about how it’s all one sided and ‘if feminists care about equality then why don’t they campaign for men’s health too?’ And ‘where’s the men’s health week, huh?
    Keep playing that broken record of yours Ted.

The AMA didn't get going because the guy who agreed to put himself forward for the task wasn't up for it, "answered" two questions badly and promptly buggered off. Why would anyone ask another question when you're going to get silence? Even though a few hopeful souls did.

Now this guy is charged with a very important role and yet... A quick google and youtube of the guy and the impression of not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree springs readily if unkindly to mind. If that's the calibre of individuals in the mix as advocates for men's health in the HSE then no wonder men's health week went by without much fanfare. How could that be changed? Not easy. It's a civil service environment so in areas of lesser concern you tend to end up with figureheads who got the role because they turned up the most and budgets are kept to a minimum.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Keep playing that broken record of yours Ted.

The AMA didn't get going because the guy who agreed to put himself forward for the task wasn't up for it, "answered" two questions badly and promptly buggered off. Why would anyone ask another question when you're going to get silence? Even though a few hopeful souls did.

Now this guy is charged with a very important role and yet... A quick google and youtube of the guy and the impression of not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree springs readily if unkindly to mind. If that's the calibre of individuals in the mix as advocates for men's health in the HSE then no wonder men's health week went by without much fanfare. How could that be changed? Not easy. It's a civil service environment so in areas of lesser concern you tend to end up with figureheads who got the role because they turned up the most and budgets are kept to a minimum.

I will Dougal.

I’m sure your good self was involved in the thread in November when it was international day of elimination of violence against women.

Where’s the men’s equivalent you ask? It’s outrageous that there’s not a men’s equivalent so we can ignore it.

I happen to remember you saying your reaction to international men’s day was ‘meh’.

So while the faux outrage at the lack of success of the AMA thread ( I don’t now if there was much hubbub during the week as I was travelling around that week).

I can’t help taking your word for it that your instinct would be ‘meh’ to men’s health week anyway.

Bit of a diff between the health of half the population and some silly "international day", of which there are many. But you know that, then again you can't get away from your usual MO of deflection, misrepresentation, whataboutery that's hitting the level of plain trolling at this stage and has been for a while.

On that note and given your recent publicly stated attitudes to other members of this forum elsewhere you are on notice and borrowed time in this forum unless this stops. You've been given plenty of leeway but it's getting tiresome at this stage.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Bit of a diff between the health of half the population and some silly "international day", of which there are many. But you know that, then again you can't get away from your usual MO of deflection, misrepresentation, whataboutery that's hitting the level of plain trolling at this stage.

On that note and given your recent publicly stated attitudes to other members of this forum elsewhere you are on notice and borrowed time in this forum unless this stops. You've been given plenty of leeway but it's getting tiresome at this stage.

Lol. IMD was specifically focused on men’s health this year. But you probably didn’t know that because you could only raise a ‘meh’ for it.

But somehow you’re genuinely invested in this week dedicated to one of the same topics as IMD. Get up the yard.

Enough is enough. You have had your day in this forum. El Duderino permanently banned for a near continuous history of trolling the forum, digs at other posters(and not just in tGC), whataboutery, deflection and misrepresentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭iptba

https://www.jwatch.org/fw114396/2018/07/24/postnatal-depression-nearly-common-dads-moms?query=pfw&jwd=000020001524&jspc=
    Medical News | PHYSICIAN'S FIRST WATCH

July 24, 2018
    Postnatal Depression Nearly as Common in Dads as in Moms

By Amy Orciari Herman

Edited by David G. Fairchild, MD, MPH, and Jaye Elizabeth Hefner, MD

Fathers are nearly as likely as mothers to screen positive for depression in the postpartum period, according to findings reported in JAMA Pediatrics. The American Academy of Pediatrics currently recommends that clinicians screen both mothers and fathers for perinatal depression.

Researchers studied brief depression screens that parents completed in the waiting rooms for well-child visits at five community health centers in Indianapolis. Nearly 10,000 visits for children aged 15 months and younger were included.

Fathers attended nearly a third of the visits and completed the depression screen in 8% of all visits. The prevalence of depression among screened fathers was 4.4% — similar to the 5.0% prevalence among screened mothers.

The researchers, noting the long-term consequences of paternal depression on child development, conclude that pediatric clinics are "promising settings in which to address depression in both parents as part of a family-centered approach to care."
    LINK(S):

JAMA Pediatrics research letter (Subscription required)

AAP 2016 report on the role of pediatricians in supporting fathers (Free)

Background: NEJM Journal Watch Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine coverage of postnatal parental depression and adolescent depression in offspring (Free)

https://www.jwatch.org/FW114455?query=pfw&jwd=000020001524&jspc=

August 9, 2018
    In Men's Fertility, Fit Matters

By Joe Elia

Edited by Susan Sadoughi, MD

When attempting to jump into the gene pool, one's preference in underwear matters, according to a small study in Human Reproduction.

Researchers asked some 650 men attending an infertility clinic what kind of underwear they customarily wore. They were asked to choose among boxers, jockeys, bikinis, briefs, or "other" (a category that included boxer-briefs or mixtures of underwear types). Semen and blood samples were also collected.

The men were divided into those primarily wearing looser-fitting boxers and those mainly wearing tighter-fit underwear. The outcomes, in brief: a preference for boxers was associated with higher sperm counts and concentrations, and higher numbers of motile sperm. It was also associated with lower serum levels of follicle-stimulating hormone.

The authors say their findings coincide with the idea that tight underwear elevates scrotal temperatures, thus leading to testicular injury.
    LINK(S):

Human Reproduction article (Free abstract)

Background: NEJM Journal Watch Women's Health coverage of plastic-lined diapers & scrotal temperature in boys (Your NEJM Journal Watch registration required)