Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question from a non motorbike rider

• 19-05-2018 12:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,840 ✭✭✭

I stumbled across an interesting comment on another forum about a motorcyclist being beeped at for filtering/overtaking by frustrated car drivers.

I'm in Dublin myself and as a driver I'd always give way, or at least give room and space to overtaking bikers. By this I mean slowing down or stopping early to let the filtering biker merge in front of me, or, if possible veering left (safely) to enable a handy overtake. I see other drivers doing this and if they don't it's usually because of a lack of mirror use and basic ignorance of what's going on on the road. Not malice.

Personally, I do this for a few reasons;

1 - A motorbike is one less car on the road.
    2 - Bikers (in my opinion) tend to be better drivers than car drivers. Often enthusiasts that are very aware of what's going on, so the slightest move to the left or deceleration is immediately recognised by bikers and acted upon swiftly and without any danger to anyone. (usually followed by a helmet nod or a gloved/boot wave)
    3 - They'll never hold you up due to modern bikes having exceptional acceleration from stop, even small engined ones (seemingly to me anyway).