Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ulster Bank League 2018-2019 Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Brian Haugh has been their 9 for 2 seasons. Into his 3rd with them

Alan Kingsley brought him in
    Ah thanks. Had seen the name before but it hadnt clicked how it was for me before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Stainalert wrote: »
    1A
    Cork Con v Shannon - Haven't heard much team news about Con but expect them to be strong. Tough ask for Shannon on their return to 1A but think Con will shade this

Garryowen v Dublin University - Expect Garryowen to challenge very strongly this year and just can't see Trinity competing this week given the players they have lost and the players away with Leinster A

Young Munster v Terenure - Terenure have lost a bit of beef up front and I would expect Young Munster to take full advantage of this

Would have to agree with these predictions, if Shannon can cut out the mistakes, they have fast enough backs that could cause some teams a problem. But Cons away will be a tough first opening game.

Garryowen looked strong in their game against Shannon in the MSC and were lucky to beat YM in the previous match.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 154 ✭✭iminterestd0

recent cork con side:

1. Gary Duffy
    2. Vincent O'Brien
    3. Dylan Murphy
    4. Brian Hayes
    5. Cathal O'Flaherty
    6. S Duffy
    7. Sonny Dwyer
    8. Evan Mintern
    9. Jason Higgins
    10. Aidan Moynihan
    11. Rob Jermyn
    12. Niall Kenneally
    13. G Higgins
    14. B Crowley
    15. Liam O’Connell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭madds

Number 137 wrote: »
    The 9 and 14 for Barnhall or Rainey?

Rainey's.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Will there be many clubs who will be affected by PPS this season?
    45 players cant exceed 100 points through that system.

What's pps for the uneducated among us?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭Tarf1234

D14Rugby wrote: »
    Will there be many clubs who will be affected by PPS this season?
    45 players cant exceed 100 points through that system.

Player points system - 1 point for a home grown player and so forth with 1 point being the lowest possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

D14Rugby wrote: »

See Appendix of this document http://www.irishrugby.ie/downloads/All_Ireland_League_Regs1516.pdf

Although unsure if points have changed since this.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Chico Flores

See John Foley has signed for Young Munster from Shannon

Thats a shock

Trinity Side to play Garryowen

15 - Robert Russell
    14 - Colm Hogan
    13 - James Hickey
    12 - Philip Murphy
    11- Hugh Twomey
    10 - James Fennelly
    9 - Rowan Osbourne

1- Bart Vermeulen
    2- Joe Horan
    3- Dylan Doyle
    4 - Alex McDonald
    5- Arthur Greene
    6 - Patrick Nulty
    7 - Max Kearney
    8 - Niall O'Riordan

15 - Robert Russell
    14 - Colm Hogan
    13 - James Hickey
    12 - Philip Murphy
    11- Hugh Twomey
    10 - James Fennelly
    9 - Rowan Osbourne

1- Bart Vermeulen
    2- Joe Horan
    3- Dylan Doyle
    4 - Alex McDonald
    5- Arthur Greene
    6 - Patrick Nulty
    7 - Max Kearney
    8 - Niall O'Riordan

That side will struggle this season.

Who is to return from Leinster? Jack Dunne, Jack Kelly, Michael Silvester, Dan Sheehan, Ryan Baird, Thomas Clarkson?, Giuseppe Coyne?

Hope Leinster take a look at Hogan, he is a quality fullback.

Who else is missing?

Who is to return from Leinster? Jack Dunne, Jack Kelly, Michael Silvester, Dan Sheehan, Ryan Baird, Thomas Clarkson?, Giuseppe Coyne?

Who else is missing?
    Yeah Trinity could struggle.
    Colm considering his involvement with Munster sub academy think he'll be looked at again for place down in Limerick

Highfield team to play Queens
    C O’Neill; Paul Stack, Luke Kingston, Brian Murphy, Paul Buckley; S O’Sullivan, Chris Banon; M Dillane, C O’Sullivan, Ian McCarthy, Dave O’Connell, F O’Sullivan, Colm Gallagher, Cathal Gallagher, Miah Cronin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭Stainalert

15 - Robert Russell
    14 - Colm Hogan
    13 - James Hickey
    12 - Philip Murphy
    11- Hugh Twomey
    10 - James Fennelly
    9 - Rowan Osbourne

1- Bart Vermeulen
    2- Joe Horan
    3- Dylan Doyle
    4 - Alex McDonald
    5- Arthur Greene
    6 - Patrick Nulty
    7 - Max Kearney
    8 - Niall O'Riordan

Who else is missing?
    Turner?
    Assume Vermuelen at 1 is South African

Mc Love wrote: »
    Thats a shock
    In what way?

I thought they had sorted out the issues there, it was apparently not great under the last management and John wasnt happy. Best of luck to him, at least its now Garryowen he's joining.

UCD side:

Conall Doherty; Tim Carroll, Andy Marks, Peter Kiernan, Cillian Burke; Matthew Gilsenan, Nick Peters; Sam Griffin, Sean McNulty, Liam Hyland, Emmet MacMahon, Tom Treacy, Stephen McVeigh, Alex Penny, Ronan Foley.

Midleton v Seapoint
    D Murray; M Daly, B Cottle, M Kokterik, R Hogan; S Lee, R Smyth; K Brierley, B Moore, G McIntire, D Broderick, J Gardiner, R Carey, S Hickey, M Cronin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

shoutman wrote: »
    See Appendix of this document http://www.irishrugby.ie/downloads/All_Ireland_League_Regs1516.pdf

Although unsure if points have changed since this.

Looks like you'd nearly have to try to break the 100 point barrier.

Next episode of the Club Scene is out https://open.spotify.com/episode/0wNYupLFmqdS1GeW1ALcK9?si=Ma1irugDRsGN9KEbbA2n9Q

Great banter between the lads, and good roundup of the history of the AIL.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Next episode of the Club Scene is out https://open.spotify.com/episode/0wNYupLFmqdS1GeW1ALcK9?si=Ma1irugDRsGN9KEbbA2n9Q

Great banter between the lads, and good roundup of the history of the AIL.

I wouldn't say it is great banter... it is a bit too Limerick at times. But it is a great service they are providing and great to have it.

Maybe you have to be from Limerick to get the banter, but I find the slagging between them funny.

Too limerick...that's harsh
    But yeah great to have something covering the league.
    Hasnt been anything like it since rob finished knockon.ie

kncokon.ie was great!

Too limerick...that's harsh
    But yeah great to have something covering the league.
    Hasnt been anything like it since rob finished knockon.ie

I get there will be "in jokes" etc but not running it down at all.

Delighted to have it.

Front Row Union also covering the league. from Ulster perspective
    will be providing previews plus more content as season progresses
    https://thefrontrowunion.com/2018/10/club-men-ail-1b-kicks-off-this-saturday/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

All-Ireland League proving a vital outlet for academy prospects

Massive decisions ahead-
    “There is a big gap between what some of the clubs prefer and an IRFU model that is based on geographical inclusivity at elite level with no relegation for two years, while maintaining an outline commitment to ensure that the upper echelons of the All-Ireland Leagues (AIL) are not only a pathway for aspiring professional rugby players but an environment where they would regularly compete when not required by their respective provinces.
    The clubs rejected a union proposal that the current limit of four professional players – two forwards, two backs – be increased to eight (four and four) with a compromise of six players, also rejected. These player proposals only apply in Divisions 1A and 1B. The participation agreements are due to be returned to the IRFU this week.”

CMcsporty wrote: »
    All-Ireland League proving a vital outlet for academy prospects

Massive decisions ahead-
    “There is a big gap between what some of the clubs prefer and an IRFU model that is based on geographical inclusivity at elite level with no relegation for two years, while maintaining an outline commitment to ensure that the upper echelons of the All-Ireland Leagues (AIL) are not only a pathway for aspiring professional rugby players but an environment where they would regularly compete when not required by their respective provinces.
    The clubs rejected a union proposal that the current limit of four professional players – two forwards, two backs – be increased to eight (four and four) with a compromise of six players, also rejected. These player proposals only apply in Divisions 1A and 1B. The participation agreements are due to be returned to the IRFU this week.”
    All the participation agreements are signed and the six players rule is now in effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭young munsters man

tomorrow is 28 years to the day the league started , that day we also played terenure at home in division 2, hopefully we get a performance and a decent crowd.

Stainalert wrote: »
    All the participation agreements are signed and the six players rule is now in effect.

Eeek!
    From a personal point of view I wouldn’t be pleased at facing down a professional athlete. & vice versa, but for vastly different reasons!
    e.g. Josh Murphy type v Father of two, who didn’t sleep the night and has a stiff back.

Ring fencing 1A&1B for two years as more pro’s are introduced is a good idea. However, this sounds like a Lady & the Tramp marriage proposal, without the happy ending.

isnt it a pity lads divsions 1a/b starting same day as leinster v munster and will be overshadowed by that game and european games in following weeks , bar local media

Eeek!
    From a personal point of view I wouldn’t be pleased at facing down a professional athlete. & vice versa, but for vastly different reasons!
    e.g. Josh Murphy type v Father of two, who didn’t sleep the night and has a stiff back.

Ring fencing 1A&1B for two years as more pro’s are introduced is a good idea. However, this sounds like a Lady & the Tramp marriage proposal, without the happy ending.
    There has been professionals playing in league for years. And there would be plenty of guys playing 1A/1B who would relish playing the pros.
    isnt it a pity lads divsions 1a/b starting same day as leinster v munster and will be overshadowed by that game and european games in following weeks, bar local media
    Maybe but will clubs have wanted to start earlier and had players lost to A sides which is something you have complained excessively about?

There has been professionals playing in league for years. And there would be plenty of guys playing 1A/1B who would relish playing the pros.

Aye! But now there are 6 of 'em!!
    & why does no one think of the Fatties!

maybe start it bit earlier an break for the european game,  i dont know what the solution is but the league will be overshadowed the next few weekends no doubt ,
    i dont mind fellas being lost to A games, we are missing a number tomorrow but thems the breaks, there might be days when we have lads released and opposition dont, that can go for and against you and can even out over a season,  semis and finals should be sacrosanct,

anyway sheep best of luck to nenagh for the season ahead hope ye do well , id love to see ye promoted

maybe start it bit earlier an break for the european game,  i dont know what the solution is but the league will be overshadowed the next few weekends no doubt ,
    i dont mind fellas being lost to A games, we are missing a number tomorrow but thems the breaks, there might be days when we have lads released and opposition dont, that can go for and against you and can even out over a season,  semis and finals should be sacrosanct,

Summer League anybody?

isnt it a pity lads divsions 1a/b starting same day as leinster v munster and will be overshadowed by that game and european games in following weeks , bar local media

so you'd play the AIL when? during the summer?

Fatties wont be too concerned and there has been plenty of games with 4/5 pros playing before....
    maybe start it bit earlier an break for the european game,  i dont know what the solution is but the league will be overshadowed the next few weekends no doubt,
    With celtic cup being played in september if you started the league earlier then you would lose players to that and we all know how much you would complain if you lose players to A/Development teams.
    The league will always or virtually always be overshadowed any way....
    And you cant complain about players being pulled by the side that pays their bills etc.
    And semi finals/finals can only be sacrosanct if theyre played with nothing else on and at end of season that isnt possible.

dont know what the solution is - maybe start it week or two earlier , an play provincial cup matches during european breaks
    fact remains though AIL aint gonna get a lot of attention the next few weeks

With celtic cup being played in september if you started the league earlier then you would lose players to that and we all know how much you would complain if you lose players to A/Development teams. 

if you read my prior post i dont have problem with it during regular season, 
    And semi finals/finals can only be sacrosanct if theyre played with nothing else on and at end of season that isnt possible.
    they can  last seasons semi finals and final didnt clash with any european games or a games. 

dont know what the solution is - maybe start it week or two earlier , an play provincial cup matches during european breaks

and? It's a amateur league competition...

if you read my prior post i dont have problem with it during regular season, 
    they can  last seasons semi finals and final didnt clash with any european games or a games. 
    young munsters man would you use the multiquote and not bolded text.....
    Its not always possible to have everything not clash. And you cant complain about losing players .... you have a squad of 40 and you just have to use that squad. Just deal with it.

grand we wont bother promoting it so!   ive been to lot of games in this league, its a fantastic competition standard of football is often excellent, it deserves a bit of coverage an promotion - thats just my view

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Yeah some ridiculous scheduling. At the moment Munsters are still due to KO at 2:30 at home to UCC the day Munster play Gloucester at 1 in Thomond. Good luck getting people through the gate that day. The IRFU don't care about clashes with pro games. There're also regularly clashes with 6N games.

and in fairness local media here really cover the league well, think the new clubscenepodcast is very good

Fatties wont be too concerned and there has been plenty of games with 4/5 pros playing before....

I've never seen 5 pro's play in a League side.
    It must be a rarity?

Yeah some ridiculous scheduling. At the moment Munsters are still due to KO at 2:30 at home to UCC the day Munster play Gloucester at 1 in Thomond. Good luck getting people through the gate that day. The IRFU don't care about clashes with pro games. There're also regularly clashes with 6N games.
    All games are set for the default time on Saturdays at 2.30pm or Fridays 8pm. Up to clubs to request changes to that by making agreement with their opposition on day in question and applying for change

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

and? It's a amateur league competition...

You're trying to get people through the gates. That's not going to happen when you've got games clashing with Euro games (in the same city) or international matches.

Reality is that it will be very rare for a club to field 6 full time professionals in one match. Only very few clubs have that many full-timers on their books and even if they do they all have to be released by the province. Might help the likes of Buccs and one or 2 of the Ulster clubs but that is probably it.