Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cameron Reilly Murder

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Lashes28 wrote: »

Given his age, could be another case of under 18's committing murder and showing no remorse. Two within 10/11 days is pretty f*cking shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

They have found his phone in a woman's house 10k from the scene after his friends realised his Snapchat were being opened.

Tbf I'm not surprised if it's teens they seem to have very little repercussions for their actions these days. And peer pressure has to be so much harder with social media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

They have found his phone in a woman's house 10k from the scene after his friends realised his Snapchat were being opened.

Tbf I'm not surprised if it's teens they seem to have very little repercussions for their actions these days. And peer pressure has to be so much harder with social media

Thats absolutely ridiculous. Some cretin opening his SCs and not saying anything?

Been a horrifiying few weeks on our little island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,999 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ush1 wrote: »
    Horrific, don't know what's going on with young people in Ireland.

The ones who watched will see his face when they close their eyes at night till the day they die.

It's not a 'young people' thing.

I'm sure there are pensioners living in Ireland today who were in 'the movement' or drugs trade back in the day who didn't think twice about putting a bullet in someone's head while someone pleaded for their life or dug a hole for a body in a bog somewhere. And they're now happily living out their twilight years without a bother on them.

There have always been nasty c*nts and there will always be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nobody coming forward is probably to be expected. If there are a couple of psychos in the group, then others would fear that they'll be next if they come forward.

As the Gardai conduct more enquiries and it becomes clear that they're getting close to making arrests and charging people, the witnesses will start to break and come forward.

It's sad obviously that nobody did come forward, but even if they were seasoned adults, it's amazing what a little fear can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It's not a 'young people' thing.

I'm sure there are pensioners living in Ireland today who were in 'the movement' or drugs trade back in the day who didn't think twice about putting a bullet in someone's head while someone pleaded for their life or dug a hole for a body in a bog somewhere. And they're now happily living out their twilight years without a bother on them.

There have always been nasty c*nts and there will always be.

These were 18 year olds and in the Ana Kriegel case it looks like 13 year olds. This isn't organised terrorists with an agenda or from the looks of it hardened criminals involved in the drugs trade.

This seems to be teenagers that when in a group will kill someone and leave the body to rot, then go to school the next day.

These were 18 year olds and in the Ana Kriegel case it looks like 13 year olds. This isn't organised terrorists with an agenda or from the looks of it hardened criminals involved in the drugs trade.

This seems to be teenagers that when in a group will kill someone and leave the body to rot, then go to school the next day.

Young or old. They're still cnuts though.

Even hardened criminals and terrorists started somewhere. Most of those had mammies and daddies.

I just don't buy the 'what is it with kids these days' line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Suckit wrote: »
    I wonder if it was anything like this.

http://zeenews.india.com/india/blue-whale-challenge-choking-game-and-other-deadly-online-crazes-2032167.html

While it is still horrific it would be more palatable if it was kids playing an innocent game that went wrong..

Doubt it - he was beaten as well.

This was murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Radio just described his phone and said they are still looking for it. :confused:

Might somebody have his login details, or might the radio not have been notified yet?
    Did you read it somewhere?

EDITED.
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/gardai-find-tragic-teen-cameron-12613283

Young or old. They're still cnuts though.

Even hardened criminals and terrorists started somewhere. Most of those had mammies and daddies.

I just don't buy the 'what is it with kids these days' line.

No offense but I similarly don't buy the sure there's always been bad eggs line.

Ah shur there was no-one doing any bad stuff back in the good old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There have been. We are in the safest time, in one of the safest countries in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Grayson wrote: »
    There have been. We are in the safest time, in one of the safest countries in the world.

Actually we have one of the higher rates of murder in Europe, and this report is before the Hutch/Kinahins war so its probably worse now

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/rate-of-homicide-among-highest-in-europe-265006.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭juno10353

Ush1 wrote:
    Ush1 wrote:

Lord of the Flies mentality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Will this thread be locked like the Ana Kriegel one ? It's an interesting thread, as was the Ana Kriegel one, on the why's and where's of the death of a teenager but its a sensitive subject particularly as it appears that other young people may be involved.

Once there's someone charged, it'll be locked and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Omackeral wrote: »
    Once there's someone charged, it'll be locked and rightly so.

That's fair enough I guess. Is that always the case on boards ? Not trying to be rude, genuinely curious/interested.

Actually we have one of the higher rates of murder in Europe, and this report is before the Hutch/Kinahins war so its probably worse now

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/rate-of-homicide-among-highest-in-europe-265006.html

You're comparing us to the safest countries in the world and we're only slightly higher.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That's fair enough I guess. Is that always the case on boards ? Not trying to be rude, genuinely curious/interested.

When anything is sub justice ( i think that's the right phrase), it cant be discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

You're comparing us to the safest countries in the world and we're only slightly higher.

Yeah its still a relatively safe country, but I thought we would have been near the safest in Europe. Id say gang wars and drunken brawls has to account for the majority of murder

Was the same with the Graham Dwyer/Elaine O'Hara case and is currently the situation with Ana Kriegel. It's to stop potential interference or persuasion of jurors I'd imagine. Some of the posts on these threads appear to have sources very close to the people involved only for them to be inaccurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

No offence but, I really really really detest this comment and your not the first to post it and wont be the last. Its like saying, ah sure we are grand whilst at the same time having lads with 200 + convictions running amok on our streets and reoffending without a care in the world. That is completely wrong and shouldn't be happening.

Irish people seem to settle for mediocrity when we could be far better.

Ah shur there was no-one doing any bad stuff back in the good old days.

Yep, exactly what I said.

I know there has been, but if it was my son I'd want to have more explanation as to a motive than there's always been bad people like drug dealers and the IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,263 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    No offence but, I really really really detest this comment and your not the first to post it and wont be the last. Its like saying, ah sure we are grand whilst at the same time having lads with 200 + convictions running amok on our streets and reoffending without a care in the world. That is completely wrong and shouldn't be happening.

People tend to say that in response to ill informed 'the world is getting worse, children these days have no respect like those of my day' type comments, and they are correct.

Sure things can improve but historical we are actually living in some of the safest times ever.

o1s1n wrote: »
    People tend to say that in response to ill informed 'the world is getting worse, children these days have no respect like those of my day' type comments, and they are correct.

Sure things can improve but historical we are actually living in some of the safest times ever.

I never said either of those things.

On the whole things may well be better but there might be a bullying type subculture that needs to be looked into further, and yes, I'm only 33 but don't remember two murders like these so close together committed by young people. There was definitely scumbags probably capable of it but I find the number of possible people involved and perhaps withholding information disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

Suckit wrote: »
    Radio just described his phone and said they are still looking for it. :confused:

Might somebody have his login details, or might the radio not have been notified yet?
    Did you read it somewhere?

EDITED.
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/gardai-find-tragic-teen-cameron-12613283

Confused myself. Yet rte and independent say in their news that gardai are still looking for phone. Shody journalism if they haven't updated their sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

They keep describing the phone as an iPhone 8x, there is no such iPhone.

Yep, exactly what I said.

Sarcasm detector turned off...

ChikiChiki wrote: »

If you want to think that's what I was saying work away. It wasn't though. I posted in the other thread about the leixlip murder the exact same thing. Except I did say that horrible thing will happen and that it's horrible when they do.

I should have realized that i need to put the disclaimer in every post because otherwise people will say I don't care about murders, not the victims, their families or anyone affected. I would have thought the fact that I do care was a given.

My point in saying that we are in a safe country is to point out that we are in a safe country. Murders like this a pretty fecking rare. They are horrible when they happen but they are rare and we shouldn't walk around in fear.