Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 3 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭babyjesus14

Sorry, he's on the ignore list now!

That's a bit odd alright. Who would you want to see in there? (Genuine question, I haven't a clue about the minors anymore!)

My preference would be for Moylan at full and Jamie Young at centre. And despite having tried 4 different full backs Harry Walsh has never been played there despite the fact he plays there regularly at club level and captained the Kieran's Juniors to an All Ireland win last year at full back.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Powerhouse wrote: »
    Because they are very busy in work obviously.
    Either debate like a mature adult or don’t debate at all. Up the standard of your posts or you’ll be banned from posting on this thread. Do not reply on thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Comerman

Either debate like a mature adult or don’t debate at all. Up the standard of your posts or you’ll be banned from posting on this thread. Do not reply on thread.

Or.......... Get a room the two of ye

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭suirway

citykat wrote: »
    The upside of that defeat on Wednesday is that clubs now have certainty regarding the restart of the league/championship. Maybe DJ was a CPA plant!

How so? Are the club dates still not totally dependent on how far Kilkenny seniors go?

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Dionysis

Kilkenny’s respect for the U-21 grade has been in free fall for the past 15 years. We have been paying the price for the past 10 years. 2008 our last win, and the last time our U-21 side produced a hurler of real class,ie Hogan and TJ.

Kk have been producing soft hurlers for a number of years now.
    For anyone not in Tullamore during the week, it’s hard to visualize just how poor and outclassed we were.
    The first ten minutes kk got loads of chances, butchered everyone of them... a combination of poor interlink play, selfishness and not passing ball between certain players.
    I looked down to the kk defence when the ball was in the forwards and there was a tussle between jack canning and I think Tommy Walsh. Canning was pushing Walsh around, Walsh reacted caught and flung Canning sideways. At last I thought to myself, our sides are beginn8ng to grow some balls. But that was a false dawn. Galway with extremely efficient with the ball in the first half. Converted pretty much every chance. Kk butchered pretty much every decent chance. Galway were asleep but found scores easier, as there interlink play and determination when it mattered were clearly far superior to kk’s. The second half was utterly terrible. Galway were 10+ points a better side. It was like watching an intermediate side play a senior side where the intermediate side got on top at sections of the game only for the senior side to turn it on for a few minutes and utterly destroy them with determination, e. With team play and sheer doggedness.
    Kk’s backs were a shambles. A number of them simply not within an asses roar of intercounty standard. Mossy was given a lesson at centre back. And at least two of the three goals came through him, and right down the middle through the full back Walsh, who is no full back. Kk hurling has gone soft, and everyone else has got tough.
    Leahy put it in at the end to show what he is capable of, but he didn’t do it for three quarters of that game. Donnelly wasn’t bad but as senior players that’s the least that is expected.
    Kk clumped together and showed no imagination. Galway fought like deamons, and the moment they got the ball, spread out. Kk never marked a man for the day, which made it easier again for Galway. Even the backs left the Galway players get the ball before they made any effort to stop them.
    Another example of a decent minor side plummet at speed post minor into mediocre players. Kk is fcuked for another 4 to 5 years as we have no backs and no forwards coming through.
    We’d have been better off have been beaten by 15 points but have two maybe three class players on the U-21 side rather than 18 average ones.
    Cody is not a miracle worker. Give him talent and he’ll convert to all Ireland’s but we are handing him weak as water dross. He’s a winner, and won’t stay around if the county board, don’t realise that this is a watershed moment and take significant action.
    The Galway senior team are similar and will hammer us if they put there mind to it. The younger players are simply not good enough, and are too soft.

Kilkenny’s respect for the U-21 grade has been in free fall for the past 15 years. We have been paying the price for the past 10 years. 2008 our last win, and the last time our U-21 side produced a hurler of real class,ie Hogan and TJ.

For anyone not in Tullamore during the week, it’s hard to visualize just how poor and outclassed we were.
    The first ten minutes kk got loads of chances, butchered everyone of them... a combination of poor interlink play, selfishness and not passing ball between certain players.
    I looked down to the kk defence when the ball was in the forwards and there was a tussle between jack canning and I think Tommy Walsh. Canning was pushing Walsh around, Walsh reacted caught and flung Canning sideways. At last I thought to myself, our sides are beginn8ng to grow some balls. But that was a false dawn. Galway with extremely efficient with the ball in the first half. Converted pretty much every chance. Kk butchered pretty much every decent chance. Galway were asleep but found scores easier, as there interlink play and determination when it mattered were clearly far superior to kk’s. The second half was utterly terrible. Galway were 10+ points a better side. It was like watching an intermediate side play a senior side where the intermediate side got on top at sections of the game only for the senior side to turn it on for a few minutes and utterly destroy them with determination, e. With team play and sheer doggedness.
    Kk’s backs were a shambles. A number of them simply not within an asses roar of intercounty standard. Mossy was given a lesson at centre back. And at least two of the three goals came through him, and right down the middle through the full back Walsh, who is no full back. Kk hurling has gone soft, and everyone else has got tough.
    Leahy put it in at the end to show what he is capable of, but he didn’t do it for three quarters of that game. Donnelly wasn’t bad but as senior players that’s the least that is expected.
    Kk clumped together and showed no imagination. Galway fought like deacons, and the moment they got the ball, spread out. Kk never marked a man for the day, which made it easier again for Galway. Even the backs left the Galway players get the ball before they made any effort to stop them.
    Another example of a decent minor side plummet at speed post minor into mediocre players. Kk is fcuked for another 4 to 5 years as we have no backs and no forwards coming through.
    We’d have been better off have been beaten by 15 points but have two maybe three class players on the U-21 side rather than 18 average ones.
    Cody is not a miracle worker. Give him talent and he’ll convert to all Ireland’s but we are handing him weak as water dross. He’s a winner, and won’t stay around if the county board, don’t realise that this is a watershed moment and take significant action.
    The Galway senior team are similar and will hammer us if they put there mind to it. The younger players are simply not good enough, and are too soft.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭suirway

Serious over reaction to the under 21 match here. Talk of county being finished for the next 4 or 5 years etc. Lads would do well to remember a few lessons of previous under 21 teams. Take the 2002 team beaten by Wexford in Nowlan Park. Again the talk was of no backs coming through and of young lads being too soft with Wexford having walked through the Kilkenny defence late in the game to get the winning goal. Yet who was in that same defence only Jackie Tyrrell, Tommy Walsh, JJ Delaney and Brian Hogan. They didn't turn out to be too bad did they!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

Anyoneo at minor match today

suirway wrote: »
    Serious over reaction to the under 21 match here. Talk of county being finished for the next 4 or 5 years etc. Lads would do well to remember a few lessons of previous under 21 teams. Take the 2002 team beaten by Wexford in Nowlan Park. Again the talk was of no backs coming through and of young lads being too soft with Wexford having walked through the Kilkenny defence late in the game to get the winning goal. Yet who was in that same defence only Jackie Tyrrell, Tommy Walsh, JJ Delaney and Brian Hogan. They didn't turn out to be too bad did they!

Return to my point made above, we’d be better off losing by 15+ points and having two maybe three class players coming 5hrough than 18 average ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

citykat wrote: »
    The upside of that defeat on Wednesday is that clubs now have certainty regarding the restart of the league/championship. Maybe DJ was a CPA plant!

How so? Are the club dates still not totally dependent on how far Kilkenny seniors go?
    They are now. Had the U21s stayed going, the club scene would not have restarted til they were gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭mullinr2

Dionysis wrote: »

Kk clumped together and showed no imagination. Galway fought like deacons, and the moment they got the ball, spread out. Kk never marked a man for the day, which made it easier again for Galway. Even the backs left the Galway players get the ball before they made any effort to stop them.

I agree, people are just to afraid to say it in case it might be true. We have no backs or forwards of real quality coming through

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Charlie69

You'll find it's usually the same few posters overreacting after a defeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭ttowncat

Was at the minor today. The overall performance was poor i thought and questions the favourites tag this team has for all ireland glory. Offaly brought their A game and a large number of KK players didn't fire, especially in the forwards. Hopefully it's just a case that they were hard to motivate in a game where they were very much expected to win.
    There was a stiff enough breeze with offaly in the first half that Offaly made the most of and KK's forwards struggled with. There didn't seem to be much good ball being delivered between players and there definitely didn't seem to be much good running and link up play. Conor Kelly and Ciaran Brennan were the main two attackers that brought the fight and a bit of class to the opposition. Brennan had an early goal disallowed for square ball(it definitely wasnt-very like DJ against Clare in '02) Conor Kelly was very influential at midfield, frees were good and he popped up and worked everywhere. Two other forwards of note were Eoin Guilfoyle and George Murphy- both had red helmets so hard to read which was which, and both produced moments of ball winning and scores. The backs didn't seem to click and most seemed to need two touches to do the simple things or sometimes took the wrong option. Best of the backs was Dempsey at full back particularly near the end of the game. Moylan had to go off at half time for whatever reason.
    With the breeze for the second half it should have been more straight forward for KK to see it out-Offaly with only two points against the wind for most of the second half until they got a lucky goal from a goalkeeper mistake. This goal brought it back very close and nervy for the last ten mins and KK made hard work of tacking on insurance points-even though KK had another goal disallowed for square ball near the end.

This minor team should be and are better than their performance today. Last week they had a very slow start against Westmeath before blowing them away in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Will need to step up in the final.know they beat dublin in the first round but the game was alot tighter than the score.should be a great curtain raiser before senior game

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Will need to step up in the final.know they beat dublin in the first round but the game was alot tighter than the score.should be a great curtain raiser before senior game

The Joe McDonagh is the curtain raiser next Sunday. Was told a few weeks ago that the Minor was going to be played on the Saturday unless that had changed since. If it was to be played as a triple header it would have to start at about 11.30am, we'd need to set off now !🀣

Charlie69 wrote: »
    You'll find it's usually the same few posters overreacting after a defeat.

Indeed. There's a few people on here who i don't think have ever had a positive post, it seems like they hate Kilkenny! I am convinced Donal O'Grady is one of them just can't work out which yet..... or maybe he has multiple accounts!🀣

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭ttowncat

dubcat51 wrote: »

Massive step up required to deal with Dublin's big effective full forward, luke swan as well the powerful athletic running and support from midfield that the dubs got a bit of joy from that first day out- because of this i'd be happy not to have the match in the wide open spaces of croker. Probably be on in portlaoise if not carlow

Yes swan is a good player him and hogan at full back both on football team.forgot about joe mcdonagh being on.step up required but this team is very capable to go all the way.cant afford to start like 21s the last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭northern lad

Went up to minor match yesterday. Kilkenny were denied at least one perfectly legal goal (there were two that were given as square balls). Both Offaly goals were unfortunately goalkeeping errors from a usually v. good keeper. Kilkenny fullback and centre back were excellent. The Offaly centre forward scored 2-5 from play v Laois in the quarter final but was held scoreless. Referee seemed very determined to give KK frees rather than any advantage when they started running at the Offaly defence in the second half. Step up required for final v Dublin for sure by a number of players who have been very good up to yesterday.. Decided not to name anyone as all players are U-17. Our 9 and 11 will / should have very bright futures

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Went up to minor match yesterday. Kilkenny were denied at least one perfectly legal goal (there were two that were given as square balls). Both Offaly goals were unfortunately goalkeeping errors from a usually v. good keeper. Kilkenny fullback and centre back were excellent. The Offaly centre forward scored 2-5 from play v Laois in the quarter final but was held scoreless. Referee seemed very determined to give KK frees rather than any advantage when they started running at the Offaly defence in the second half. Step up required for final v Dublin for sure by a number of players who have been very good up to yesterday.. Decided not to name anyone as all players are U-17. Our 9 and 11 will / should have very bright futures
    didnt go to the match but heard regular updates but offally were full value by all accounts.I was at the first match before our senior one and I was impressed with dublin that day it should be a good final.
    I do agree about our number 9 he looks a serious talent and hopefully we can keep 11 hurling because there is talks he'll go with soccer.

Couldn't make it yesterday due to family commitments. Glad to hear that 3 and 6 did well as that was our 4th different starting combination, though the Dublin full forward will be a test for anyone next weekend. Built like a rugby flanker and he can hurl.

How did Jack Buggy go? He's someone i rate but he missed a couple of months through injury so could do with the game time.

brookville wrote: »
    didnt go to the match but heard regular updates but offally were full value by all accounts.I was at the first match before our senior one and I was impressed with dublin that day it should be a good final.
    I do agree about our number 9 he looks a serious talent and hopefully we can keep 11 hurling because there is talks he'll go with soccer.

Well Ciaran Brennan has rowed back on the soccer this year to concentrate on hurling. And from what I hear he's quite strong academically and is going on to do his Leaving. Hopefully if we win the Minor this year he will get a taste for it and we will have him long term as he is a serious talent!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

From what I'm told Brennan has chosen hurling over soccer

Good soccer player but better hurler.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,876 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Very good news from what I've seen of him. I hope he's given the space and patience to develop now, and not subjected to the usual kk fan treatment where he's written off as not up to it for a bad performance at the age of 19 in February or whatever.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 157 ✭✭Hawkeye6

Well done to the Kilkenny footballers who have once again won the British Junior Championship beating Warwickshire 6-12 to 0-9 at the weekend. They now qualify for the All-Ireland series. While other counties are struggling with their football, many even getting hammered in provincial finals. Kilkenny (despite the lack of media hype) are playing the game and adding the silverware. In fact the GAA/Media are raving about Sligo beating Lancashire in a thrilling Lory Meagher, Kildare hammering London in the Christy Ring and Donegal beating Warwickshire in the Nicky Rackard. All British opposition beaten on Irish soil. Yet Kilkenny beat British opposition on foreign soil in their weaker sport and the coverage is non existent. (The football board are not innocent here either!). I think the thoughts that Kilkenny can win football silverware is a sore point and you have counties like Fermanagh and Wicklow who have never even won a provincial football title and Waterford and Wexford who are starting the downward process in football to where Kilkenny went over the last 20 plus years.

The British Junior Cup is also called the Sam McGuire, so lets hope we can get Bob and Liam to join Sam in Kilkenny this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Ah here you can't be comparing the British Junior football championship to Fermanagh and Wicklow not winning an Ulster or Leinster title

Fair play to the lads like but come on that's just a bizarre comparison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Hawkeye6 wrote: »
    Well done to the Kilkenny footballers who have once again won the British Junior Championship beating Warwickshire 6-12 to 0-9 at the weekend. They now qualify for the All-Ireland series. While other counties are struggling with their football, many even getting hammered in provincial finals. Kilkenny (despite the lack of media hype) are playing the game and adding the silverware. In fact the GAA/Media are raving about Sligo beating Lancashire in a thrilling Lory Meagher, Kildare hammering London in the Christy Ring and Donegal beating Warwickshire in the Nicky Rackard. All British opposition beaten on Irish soil. Yet Kilkenny beat British opposition on foreign soil in their weaker sport and the coverage is non existent. (The football board are not innocent here either!). I think the thoughts that Kilkenny can win football silverware is a sore point and you have counties like Fermanagh and Wicklow who have never even won a provincial football title and Waterford and Wexford who are starting the downward process in football to where Kilkenny went over the last 20 plus years.

The British Junior Cup is also called the Sam McGuire, so lets hope we can get Bob and Liam to join Sam in Kilkenny this year.

This makes the Leinster hurling final even more interesting with both counties firing on all cylinders in both codes. Heady times!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

So what are our expectations sunday?are we happy to give a good account of ourselves and lose by five or 6 points or can we get a win a blow the whole thing wide open.Its being a long time since we were such outsiders in a leinster final.
    we'll obviously need a better return from our fowards and not being so reliant on tj.I wonder will aylward start or kevin kelly must be nearly back although it's unlikely he'll be thrown into start.
    I'm hopefull cody can get the matchups right and we can have a right cut off galway but we'll need everyone going well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭randd1

What's the story with stand tickets? Are they being sold in the Park this week?

I went to buy them last Thursday in Centra and Supervalu, but all they had was tickets right in the corner. I'll take them if needs be, but I'll have two lads around 70 with me and neither have the greatest eyesight so corner tickets wouldn't be the best for them.

I presume there'll be a few tickets on sale at some stage in the Park, they tend to be decent ones too.