Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Decent reception for Karius. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Great reception for Karius

He will let in 6 now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Knowledgeable crowd giving Karius a good reception.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Sofa Spud

Ah jaysus, fair fcuks to the fans for that reception for K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ah now Danny give me a chance here will ya?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

There’s the glory shot instead of the pass

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭internelligent

So eh...... who's the keeper for Torino?

Hendo didn't look to happy with that!

Poor effort.

Slightest bit of pressure on Henderson and he hoods it.

Lallana really needs a new style guru. Looks like he did a full stretch while standing under a freshly painted door frame.

Nasty from Jones...would’ve walked in a league game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Henderson so funny, only 4 feet from Jones but every time he passed him the ball Henderson just passed it back to him, done it 3 times. Jones must be thinking what the f . He was standing to Hendersons side though, could explain the need to go sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,380 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

ShaqAttack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,952 ✭✭✭✭banie01

What a ball from Shaq!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Lads Shaqiri looks... unreal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Incredible ball from Shaqiri. Unreal. Sturridge in the right place at the right time for him.

Shaqatak! Brilliant lofted ball. Sand wedge

Shaqiri better than Coutinho.

Are you watching Southampton?

Who played long ball to Shaq ? That was what made it, was it Henderson ?

I do love a player with poise.

A bit like Salah, lots of little touches and really granular control of the ball.

Shaq really is sharp with those balls

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Superb pass, great movement, nice finish, super subs. S&S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Shaq has to start somewhere for me, he's an awesome player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Big Shaq is really giving Jurgen a selection headache lol

There's one for everybody in the audience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Not a bad pre season all things considered,
    nice bit of investment from the owners, not too many injuries, good results and decent performances.

Very optimistic going into the new season.

Shaqiri has done well since he came in but he really has a way to go before nailing down a starting spot.

Hopefully he keeps it up and it’s not just a case of new club enthusiasm.

Shaqiri may have had the best new signing pre-season since Andre Voronin. That good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

There's one for everybody in the audience

Except Karius, if rumours of recent squad numbers are to be believed.

Vicxas wrote: »
    Big Shaq is really giving Jurgen a selection headache lol

Was just gonna say that (hopefully!) the commentator cliche of the season could be 'Klopp has headaches when deciding who starts in midfield'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Id start shaq with wjini and kieta in midfield. Might be too soon for hendo. Maybe milner for wjini?

Gini has been the most consistent midfielder in pre season it will be tough on him if he is dropped for the West Ham game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Gini has been the most consistent midfielder in pre season it will be tough on him if he is dropped for the West Ham game.

He is a goal threat too unlike hendo, he will surely start

I think it'd be madness to go gung ho and start with 4 attackers on the first game of the season.

Milner, Wij, Keita behind the main men. Plenty good enough to be getting on with.

The amount of firepower we'll have on the bench, as well as options to close the game out, is not to be sniffed at.

Alisson
    TAA--a fit CB--VVD--Robertson
    Milner--Wij
    Keita
    Salah----Bob---Mane

Karius, Clyne, another fit CB, Lallana, Fabinho, Shaqiri, Sturridge

Looks good to me.

The times we play means we could be way off pace if we lose, we could be 3pts off pace, 6pts off pace, 9pts off pace going into games. We play late every weekend. We'd be playing games under the pressure of knowing everyone else won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Benfica win first leg 1-0

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Speak Now wrote: »

Booo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Who played long ball to Shaq ? That was what made it, was it Henderson ?

Grujic or Henderson I think

Edit: definitely Henderson

Shaqiri may have had the best new signing pre-season since Andre Voronin. That good.

He wishes.

Voronin was the pre season world champion, Baloon d'Or winner, and Olympic champion all rolled into one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Shaqiri has had a brilliant pre season. Be hard to leave him on the bench playing like that.

Great pre season for Sturridge as well. Looks super sharp but the usual caveats apply with him unfortunately.

Might take a while for Fabinho to adapt to a new league and Klopp's methods. Can see Keita and Hendo being the preferred choice to start the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

The times we play means we could be way off pace if we lose, we could be 3pts off pace, 6pts off pace, 9pts off pace going into games. We play late every weekend. We'd be playing games under the pressure of knowing everyone else won.
    Try stepping out of the darkness and into the light - change your perspective and think positively.

If Liverpool play later doesn't that put the other teams under pressure to perform and get results? If they lose then we still have a game in hand. If they stumble and we pick up 3 points in our fixtures then it places them under further pressure for their next game.

The pre-season performances and the results in the corresponding fixtures last season should help allay your fears for the opening league fixtures.

West Ham (H) W 4-1
    Crystal Palace (A) W 2-1
    Brighton (H) W 4-0

Liverpool are a more daunting opponent now than last season and there is scope for improvement because we now have options from the bench.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Played them off the park too if the stats are anything to go by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

For context, it people don't want to read back 6 pages - if Benfica go out in this last qualifier, we move up to the 2nd Pot in the CL Group Stages.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

Have really enjoyed pre-season. A few observations.

While only 1.5 games in, Alisson's distribution is class. Nerves of fans still there though - what seemed a few ropey moments at the Aviva led to deep breaths. On rewatching on tv, he was reasonably solid. Will take a few error free games for us to start to relax.

A few here and elsewhere have said Robertson hasn't been as impressive as expected. I think he has been excellent, solid, leggy, and whipped in great crosses. A good sign our standards and expectations of him are so high now.

Clyne has not impressed me massively however. Solid enough defensively but continues to be poor going forward. His final ball in the attacking 3rd can be dreadful. If only we could morph him with TAA.

Keita is exciting. Can lose the ball but it's because he is prepared to take risks and move forward quickly. With the more cautious Henderson or Gini or Fab (perhsps the only disappointment, he needs time to adjust to the pace i think) in midfield, it could be a great balance. He will help turn defence onto attack.

The three up top - a good pre-season and thank God they are all fit and ready. I think they might take a few games to get full sharpness, but the goals will be there. Salah scoring despite not playing terribly well and the movement between the three continues to excite. Unfair to ask much more than having all three fit really! And Sturridge- he better not break my heart but I'm a huge fan and his sharpness is very much there.

But Shaq. This guy looks the business. Strong, quick feet, terrific left foot, great passing vision (the ball for Sturridge last night) and oh yeah the overhead kick against Utd. BOOM. If his missing ingredient was attitude and commitment, well then we have the Chef to fix that recipe. Klopp makes good players great. He makes great players greater. Bench strength in the CL final was awful. Now we have depth and talent.

The best pre-season in a long time?

Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

I wonder if Belotti would fancy a move? Looked a handful last night, good return in a mid-table team, goal every 2.5 games roughly. Powerful, hard working, just our type...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Grujic or Henderson I think

Edit: definitely Henderson

Could not have been Henderson, he only passes sideways ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

We're in as good shape as we could have hoped to be ahead of a season. Squad looks deep enough for the challenges ahead of it, doesn't appear to be any major sagas or dramas in the background.

That doesn't guarantee us a damn thing of course once the competitive games start - but if it goes tits up we certainly can't fault our approach to the transfer market or prep for the new season. Good vibes right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Dickerty wrote: »
    I wonder if Belotti would fancy a move? Looked a handful last night, good return in a mid-table team, goal every 2.5 games roughly. Powerful, hard working, just our type...

He's off to Napoli