Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Danny Ings has just scored his first goal

Ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,925 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I see a few of the Sunday papers are reporting Robertson is going to be offered a new double his wages new extended contract.

Well deserved if true and if it isn't true it should be.

I see a few of the Sunday papers are reporting Robertson is going to be offered a new double his wages new extended contract.

Well deserved if true and if it isn't true it should be.

Fully deserves a pay rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Then we can sell him to Madrid next summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I hope they give him Mad Albert's wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

He'll end up like Riise. Stagnating because he has no competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Still can't believe the amount if our fan base that wanted Rafa replaced with Hodgson in the first place, although it did come in as a useful filter for future opinions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Kinda wish Rafa got the Leicester gig before puel,money to spend, decent squad..top 8 every year under Rafa I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Still can't believe the amount if our fan base that wanted Rafa replaced with Hodgson in the first place, although it did come in as a useful filter for future opinions!

Don't think anyone wanted Hodgson to place him

twitter machine says Grujic contract extension agreed and loan to Hertha Berlin .

https://twitter.com/LynchStandard/status/1031116420581666816

Duncancastle Tragic sez Frankfurt is the destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

noodler wrote: »

He may not have been first choice but a number of those that wanted Rafa gone were certainly on board with Hodgson replacing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭Damien360

redzerdrog wrote: »

He may not have been first choice but a number of those that wanted Rafa gone were certainly on board with Hodgson replacing him

Rafa sealed his fate when we drew with a sorry Stoke team and he said after the match that it was a good result. What we didn't know was the goings on in the background with the owners/board.

I think he is walking into the same mistake at Newcastle. Very similar situation and he doesn't seem to open his mouth like Mourinho and lay the blame solely at upper levels. Pity, because he is a great manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Should be a great match today, the Hurling like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

Damien360 wrote: »
    Rafa sealed his fate when we drew with a sorry Stoke team and he said after the match that it was a good result. What we didn't know was the goings on in the background with the owners/board.

I think he is walking into the same mistake at Newcastle. Very similar situation and he doesn't seem to open his mouth like Mourinho and lay the blame solely at upper levels. Pity, because he is a great manager.

Ah Rafa definately complained about the owners and lack of money etc. He is well able to play the politics game publicly, he has Madrid DNA after all!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Outrageous squad depth from City! De Bruyne out injured and they still have Sane, Sterling and Mahrez on the bench!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Walker and Otamendi on the bench too. It's actually just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Knex. wrote: »
    Walker and Otamendi on the bench too. It's actually just silly.

Walker is in my FF. Im so annoyed right now :pac:

That doesn’t describe Benitez at all.

I am digging through his recent statements and there are plenty of statements from others about him leaving and being unhappy with Ashley, but I am struggling to find his complaints. Quite the opposite in the last few days. Maybe further back, pre season but I don't remember it. Alan Shearer has been very vocal on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/312592-marko-grujic-contract-loan-hertha

Marko signs a new 5 year deal and is sent to Hertha Berlin to get much needed game time.

Maybe the could do some sort of deal with BVB Origi and cash and Pulisic joins next summer.

Liverpool stand firm on Divock Origi as Borussia Dortmund eye swoop following Wolves collapse

Liverpool are standing firm in their valuation
    Pearce.
    Divock Origi is being pursued by Borussia Dortmund as Liverpool stand firm on their £27million valuation.

The Belgium international, who has two years to run on his contract, is expected to leave Anfield before the European transfer window shuts on August 31.

The ECHO understands that the Bundesliga outfit have registered their interest but have yet to table an offer for the 23-year-old frontman.

Dortmund boss Lucien Favre is desperate to bolster his strikeforce. After selling Pierre Emerick Aubameyang to Arsenal back in January, they signed Chelsea's Michy Batshuayi on loan but he has since left and will spend the 2018/19 campaign with Valencia.

Jurgen Klopp is prepared to sanction the sale of Origi to his former club but the Reds are adamant his exit will be on their terms and they are prepared to hold out for what they want.

Klopp spoke last week about European clubs trying to “dump prices to get good football players” after the Premier League transfer window shut.

“That will not happen. We are not in a financial need situation where we have to do that,” Klopp warned.

Liverpool put a 30million Euros (£27million) price tag on Origi last month and they still believe that's achievable.

The ECHO understands that Wolves were prepared to pay £22million plus add-ons for Origi earlier this summer. However, after discussions between the two clubs, Origi wasn't keen on moving to Molineux.

The Premier League new boys went on to sign Spanish winger Adama Traore for a club record £18million fee from Middlesbrough.

Origi, who had previously attracted interest from Valencia, finds himself below strikers Roberto Firmino, Daniel Sturridge and Dominic Solanke in the Anfield pecking order.

He returned to Liverpool this summer after a season-long loan at Wolfsburg where he scored just seven goals in 36 appearances.

Origi, who cost £10million from Lille in 2014, has scored 21 goals in 77 appearances for Liverpool.

He produced arguably his best form for the Reds en route to the 2016 Europa League final – scoring both home and away in the dramatic quarter-final triumph over Dortmund before his season was cruelly ended by injury.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/liverpool-stand-firm-divock-origi-15047571.amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Doubt very much that BVB will spend 25-30 million on Origi. He didnt rip the BL apart last year when withe Wolfsburg. I would imagine BVB would want a loan with the option to buy. Maybe then with first refusal on Pulisic.......

However I had the pleasure of speaking to Pulisic and his father last Sunday after the Dortmund Lazio friendly, was having a craic with Lucas, telling him to sell LFC to Pulisic and they said pretty clearly that he will not be going to England too soon. He has a contract with Dortmund and the lad seems to know he wouldnt be first choice in Liverpools front 3. At Dortmund...he is one of the first on the team sheet. His father thinks he has time on his side.....

I'd not be heartbroken for him if Solanke ended up on loan and he stayed. Might just get some games if Liverpool can go deep into four comps.

When the inevitable happens he’s probably the number one back up to Firmino.

Flabbergasted at our valuation of Origi tbh.

Edit : alleged valuation.

Flabbergasted at our valuation of Origi tbh.

Edit : alleged valuation.

€30m in this current market is not a lot for a striker (with PL experience).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

if he had a longer contract he would be worth it at least,if not sold he would need to play well to hold that value

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Damien360 wrote:

If we're selling to a PL club it makes sense but asking 30 million for a player who scored 7 in 36 games in the Bundesliga is a bit much.
    If we want Pulisic it may be a good way to do it.

ERG89 wrote: »
    Damien360 wrote:

If we're selling to a PL club it makes sense but asking 30 million for a player who scored 7 in 36 games in the Bundesliga is a bit much.

It works both ways. Any European club selling to PL ups their valuation to account for more money in PL increasing their profit. No reason why we should drop valuation to account for another market. Look at the Fekir situation. Not a single EU club would have paid his asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Maybe the could do some sort of deal with BVB Origi and cash and Pulisic joins next summer.

Liverpool stand firm on Divock Origi as Borussia Dortmund eye swoop following Wolves collapse

Liverpool are standing firm in their valuation
    Pearce.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/liverpool-stand-firm-divock-origi-15047571.amp

I'd be on board with that. Let them have Origi now for £20m and let us talk to Pulisic for next summer at £50m.

ERG89 wrote: »

Exactly.

This "new market reality" argument is being wheeled out for anything now.

A striker with Premier league experience? As in, has played in the Premier league???

Is that all it takes for 30m?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Brighton going well in their match today.:)

murpho999 wrote: »
    Brighton going well in their match today.:)

Stay away from Utd thread. About 4 pages back someone predicted a 5-0 win. It all went tits up soon after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

So who mentioned and jinxed.

Get Murpho

They’ll win comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Utd will win this without doubt - no questions asked! I gonna stick a tenner on it just to be sure!

Utd fans will complain about a lack of investment in the summer but they've had many summers of spending like ours just gone in recent years with feck all result.

The Red Cafe mods are busy this afternoon! :) Still we shouldn't crow as Palace awaits.

Absolutely, wouldn't shock me if we lost tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Some game of hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

All depends how fast we get going tomorrow.

A slack start and i could see Palace punishing us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Umaro wrote: »
    Some game of hurling.

Last 15mins only imo. Put a gloss over a bad specracle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Don't tempt fate with one of our bogiest team's tomorrow lads, jebus...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

The Red Cafe mods are busy this afternoon! Still we shouldn't crow as Palace awaits.
    noodler wrote:

That's the biggest difference between City and the rest. You're astonished if they drop a point against the poor sides but us losing to Palace or Brighton doing this against United is always plausible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Premier League back to normal. Teams losing, 2 games in and only 5 teams have 2 wins from 2, United have lost one game already, Arsenal 2 . This is good

We need 3 to go top tomorrow, Alphabetically that is .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Get Murpho

All is good.

No such thing as jinxes lads and internet posts have no influence on games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Hopefully Jose sticks it out until after we play them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Hopefully Jose sticks it out until after we play them.

So we can lose or draw?