Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Reported. :mad:

We are just gonna cram our team full of young Brazilian lads by the looks of it so. Sounds good to me!

Father_Fintan_Stack.jpg

"You'd like that wouldn't you"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,396 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

yep - thought it is something I have often though of outside that example.

I alway wondered if there should be a 4th sub allowed for injured players, so as not to put a team down to 10 men through injury, but the immediate next thugh is clubs would get players to fake an injury so they could take them off and they would, amazingly, recover for the next match.

Saw a suggestion today that a temp sub could be used to allow a player to undergo a concussion protocol - 10mins was the time suggested - but 80 minutes gone, go up for ANY high ball them hit the ground, free sub for the last 10 minutes of the game; we know that would either happen or be assumed to have been done by your dastardly rival in that big game!

It is sad that issues such as injuries can be treated with such scepticism. Which football was more like rugby, with ethics and respect! Oh, wait.... https://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/european-rugby/11276718/Bloodgate-How-the-scandal-unfolded-when-Harlequins-met-Leinster-in-April-2009.html

That (bloodgate) is exactly why football would have issues bringing in such rules!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Unfortunately you are right.

Even if protocalls were brought on I could see clubs abusing them to their advantage.

But the point stands - it's a huge issue in football, no less so than other sports. And fact is it should be taken seriously.

Not that you were arguing against that.

For this case, I see people wondering why the Liverpool medics didn't appraise him - at that time it may not have looked serious, to anyone. Maybe it wasn't in reality, but it still may serve to highlight a lack of interest i the wider audience of football, which is hugely dangerous.

Well, he has a degree in being right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,396 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Well, he has a degree in being right.

Must have gone to the same college as my wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Ardent wrote: »
    Can't believe there has been so much discussion about Karius and concussion -

Ramos didn't hit him hard enough to concuss him. You can see that in the footage and in Karius' immediate reaction. The hospital report is all smoke and mirrors by the club - to what end I don't know.

Fair play to you Ardent, there isn't a shed of doubt in your speculation that an eminent brain specialist would sign off on a fake diagnosis.

It must be great to live a life where you can selectively choose and then interpret the facts of a situation to suit your personal narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

Believe what you want buddy.

You clearly do!!

Must have gone to the same college as my wife.

Should have said mother-in-law, would have been a nice throw back joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Heard ljinders is back as coach anyone hear? Not that he left though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/amp/news/first-team/304052-pepijn-lijnders-liverpool-fc?__twitter_impression=true

Club announces Lijnders' return in an undefined "senior coaching" role. Was very highly rated before he left so good to see him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,937 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Great news to have him back on the coaching staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Pep Lijnders returns to Liverpool, presumably as the Pete Best of the Fab Four :p Things Zeljko Buvac have gone very quite indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Should questions not be asked of the Liverpool medics on the line. Why didn't they pick up on it at the time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Talisman

Concussion is a serious injury but it isn't taken seriously in the sport. It's viewed no differently now than it was a decade ago which is totally stupid.

I remember the Arsenal game where Agger suffered a concussion and Hodgson refused to take him off because we were down to 10 players and had used three substitutes. After the game it was dismissed as just a knock but Agger had no memory of the game and suffered from repeated headaches for two weeks afterwards.

The incident never got the attention it deserved because Joe Cole getting sent off for a stupid challenge on his league debut for Liverpool took all the media attention.

Maybe the Karius incident can serve to highlight the need to take better care of players who take knocks to the head. Choosing to do nothing because some will attempt to cheat is not a valid reason.

The death of Marc-Vivien Foe in 2003 served to highlight the issue of sudden cardiac death in young athletes. Afterwards there was a major focus on the issue and training in the use of automated external defibrillators (AEDs) became the norm for all sports clubs.

It's pretty sad that a high profile player may have to die for the issue to get the attention that it deserves. Rugby Union is a far better organised sport in this regard but there is still an element of denial regarding protecting players from head injuries, I put this down to the fact that the people who have died from such injuries are at amateur/school level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Ramos lol

Real Madrid defender Sergio Ramos says an initial "arm grab" by Mohamed Salah led to the Liverpool forward's injury in the Champions League final.

Salah, 25, left the field in tears with a shoulder injury and has since had surgery on the problem.

Spaniard Ramos also collided with Reds goalkeeper Loris Karius, who suffered concussion in the 3-1 defeat in Kiev.

"I am only missing Roberto Firmino saying he got a cold because a drop of my sweat landed on him," said Ramos.

Ramos also claimed Salah could have played on in the match "if he got an injection for the second half".

Salah landed heavily on his shoulder midway through the first half against Real. Despite the injury he has been selected for Egypt's upcoming World Cup campaign in Russia.

Many Liverpool supporters blamed Ramos for the clash, which went unpunished by the referee, saying he inflicted a judo-style move on his opponent and a petition was raised calling for Fifa and Uefa to punish the Spain international.

An Egyptian lawyer also filed a lawsuit worth £874m against Ramos for the "physical and psychological harm" caused to the people of Egypt.

Two major errors by Karius helped Real to victory and doctors who assessed the German in the USA say it was "possible" the injury "would affect performance".

Ramos, 32, told AS: "Bloody hell, they have given this Salah thing a lot of attention. I didn't want to speak because everything is magnified.

"I see the play well, he grabs my arm first and I fell to the other side, the injury happened to the other arm and they said that I gave him a judo hold. After that the goalkeeper said I dazed him with a clash.

"I spoke with Salah through messages, he was quite good. He could have played if he got an injection for the second half, I have done it sometimes but when Ramos does something like this, it sticks a little bit more.

"I don't know if it is because you are at Madrid for so long and win for so long that people look at it a different way."

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/44374242

Ah yes the old solider routine (or is it Black Knight?). Salah didn't just shrug and leave the arena cos he felt a bit off. Clearly it was too much for him.

Salah could have shrugged it off and played on he took the easy way out just like Karius is blaming it on a concussion to many players in our squad just want to take the easy way out and blame it on something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Salah could have shrugged it off and played on he took the easy way out just like Karius is blaming it on a concussion to many players in our squad just want to take the easy way out and blame it on something else.

Ah here thats madness the last important liverpool player to do that was torres and look how his career panned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Oul Ramos whooer biting his tongue until just the right moment to hit back. The ****baggery is overwhelming at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,051 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Fuckin' hell...
    Karius hasn't blamed anything on concussion. A hospital simply released their official, professional diagnosis that he was concussed.

And Salah, maybe he could have, maybe he couldn't have. From what I saw it sure looked like he wanted to play on, but simply couldn't. No complaints from me about that anyway.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Fuckin' hell...
    Karius hasn't blamed anything on concussion. A hospital simply released their official, professional diagnosis that he was concussed.

And Salah, maybe he could have, maybe he couldn't have. From what I saw it sure looked like he wanted to play on, but simply couldn't. No complaints from me about that anyway.

Read what Ramos said those are his words about Salah.
    I spoke with Salah through messages, he was quite good. He could have played if he got an injection for the second half

Read the thread and see those who don't believe Karius and the hospitals statement.

Fans and Ramos are saying our players are weak and need to find something to blame.

You can spin things every way the only thing you can't spin is the result and that we lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Personally i would love ramos in a team. Gets the win over the line and doesnt give a **** what happens as long as it benefits liverpool. Too many nice players in this liverpool team. Only player that can honestly do the dirty work is milner. Taa,hendo etc arent going to pull someone down.

Ramos is a cheating thug

As with Suarez, the do anything to win attitude is great when he's on your team, not so much when he gets away with stuff against you.

Read what Ramos said those are his words about Salah.

Read the thread and see those who don't believe Karius and the hospitals statement.

Fans and Ramos are saying our players are weak and need to find something to blame.

You can spin things every way the only thing you can't spin is the result and that we lost.

Idiots will always have conspiracy theories. That's just a fact of life. But if you're not going to believe a hospital's official professional statement, there's not much point believing anything.

And your interpretation of Ramos words is very different from mine. Mine is "we chatted by text, there's no ill will, we're all cool. I think he could've played with painkillers as i've done it myself." Because logically that makes much more sense in context than Salah being like; "ah i couldn't be arsed playing on, get me off there boss", whilst leaving the field in floods of tears.

We lost to a better team who did what needed to be done to win. The above have **** all to do with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

I was talking about that earlier and Diego Costa is another example, you hate him playing against you but love if he plays for you. Determined to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,555 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Bloody hell lads we need to get over this. Ramos is a top player who is also very clever. Any team would take him.

If he was on our team and his actions had won us a European cup by taking our Bale or Ronaldo and concussing their keeper then there'd be plenty of people on here defending him and saying it's part of the game.

Concussed or not, Karius is not good enough and we need to upgrade.

Not me. I hate the hard man mentality. You end up with a degraded game in the end, no one wants a return to 70s Leeds do they?!

Suarez wasn't a hard man.

I would say Leeds fans would in a heartbeat.

That Leeds side was also very skillful. Giiles was a great player.

Do you remember Souness for Liverpool?

Hard as nails, dirty when he wanted to be but a great player and a winner who captained a very successful Liverpool side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭RainMakerToo

murpho999 wrote: »
    Bloody hell lads we need to get over this.

i still argue that Alan Smith never got a touch on that indirect free kick at Anfield in 1989!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

i still argue that Alan Smith never got a touch on that indirect free kick at Anfield in 1989!

Yeah but Harry Kane did.

I'm with you.

Beardsley's disallowed goal in the 1988 FA Cup final as the ref didn't play advantage. It cost us a double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭Ardent

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Idiots will always have conspiracy theories. That's just a fact of life. But if you're not going to believe a hospital's official professional statement, there's not much point believing anything.

Much better to engage your brain rather than believe everything you're spoon fed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Ramos is a good player & I do think to an extent we do need more of an edge in our team. But it isn't Klopp's style.

But Ramos takes it to the extreme by going out to injure players. Salah pull wasn't that bad but he regularly elbows players & has tried unsuccesfully to break Messi's leg about 5 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Salah did play on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,297 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Liverpool need Benfica and Basel to fail to get the the CL to get into Pot 2 in the CL draw this year.

Much better to engage your brain rather than believe everything you're spoon fed.

Obviously, and imo that means objectively realizing the integrity of a medical professional's opinion is not going to be easily bought for the sake of some silly conspiracy on what is a very small issue in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Sofa Spud

Liverpool need Benfica and Basel to fail to get the the CL to get into Pot 2 in the CL draw this year.

As long as we get drawn with Real so we can show them karma's a bitch!

So would you take him?

Yaya offers to play with any of City's rivals in the top 6 for £1 a week.

For £1 a week I would bring him onboard as a squad player no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

Thats why a ref should be micced up so everyone can hear what is being said to him. What if karius said i took a blow to the head and the ref said you are back on your feet so must be fine. Dont think it will ever be known what wad said between them both. But it does highlight he could have said something and was ignored.

As a ref myself, that would never be said. Player safety always comes first.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Sofa Spud

So would you take him?

Yaya offers to play with any of City's rivals in the top 6 for £1 a week.

For £1 a week I would bring him onboard as a squad player no problem.

Hmmm - just feels like he's the past and the transfer committee looks to be focused on young talent that have just about had time to prove themselves at a high level.

The fact that he's touting himself for a quid a week says it all, and whatever about not having the legs for Klopp's style, would Klopp be prepared for a potentially disruptive ego in his dressing room?

I'd have him, City heads hate Liverpool nearly as much as they do Man Utd so this would go down very well! Not sure how many games he'd actually get though.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I'd have him, City heads hate Liverpool nearly as much as they do Man Utd so this would go down very well! Not sure how many games he'd actually get though.

He can't run anymore and by the sounds of it would be an awful influence in the dressing room. Not a hope klopp will go near him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Haven't really caught up on the thread over the past few days, but this from Ramos did give me a chuckle.
    On Salah: "****ing 'ell this Salah thing has been blow out of proportion. Seeing the play, he grabs my arm first and I fall to the other side, his other arm gets injured and I am being blamed for doing a judo move on him. Then the goalkeeper says he is shocked by a clash with me, only thing missing is for Firmino to say that he got a cold because he got a drop of my sweat."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

https://twitter.com/AnfieldHQ/status/1004092504298442753

Moses Simon the target as back up for the front 3. Will cost only 10m.

Looks like we should have good money left to get a top quality GK & maybe Fekir/Or another creative AM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Klopp has built a side characterised by stamina and attitude. Signing Toure would seem contrary to everything Klopp requires of his players

MD1990 wrote: »

Looks like we should have good money left to get a top quality GK & maybe Fekir/Or another creative AM.

If Klopp hadn't been planning on a top quality GK before the CL final I reckon we won't be getting one tbh.

A replacement for Migs that challenges Karius might be as good as we'll get, presuming Mignolet leaves. Considering his contract extension not too long ago that mightn't happen either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Toure would add nothing in my view. Not the kind of player that suits our style. Midfield is much stronger with the 2 new additions alreqdy anyway. Plus I reckon he could add something to the dressing room that is simply not needed.

Might suit Rangers.

MD1990 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/AnfieldHQ/status/1004092504298442753

Moses Simon the target as back up for the front 3. Will cost only 10m.

Can see a keeper coming in for sure.