Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2018-19 UEFA Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Yes,RM are out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

That doesn’t make sense, does it need to be on the same “phase of play”, how far can VAR lads roll back the clock to stop a goal?

Would assume same phase. Goal stands. Bye bye Madrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Looked in to me, but if they're going to review decisions like that they need cameras with a better angle down the lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

And there I was thinking that only the GAA contested close line-ball calls :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Took too long but was the correct call, there was not clear and conclusive evidence that the ball was 100% out over the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,309 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

That doesn’t make sense, does it need to be on the same “phase of play”, how far can VAR lads roll back the clock to stop a goal?

Its Real Madrid ,special rules apply to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Shipping 3 goals.

Real seem to be really missing their best defender tonight.

How unfortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

So how far back into a play sequence can VAR intervene? How many phases of play is the limit?

The ball was out but it would have been a joke if VAR can intervene in that incident

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

A historic day, on the 05/03/19 Real Madrid didn't get an important refereeing decision. Remember this day, something to tell the gran children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,383 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Ramos looking like some eejit now taking the card the last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,025 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Very tough to absolutely confirm that it was out though - the commentators im listening to keep talking about the green space you can see between the ball and line, but its from a low angle, so it doesn't necessarily mean its over the line.

The ball can be not touching the line, but still not over the line - and it looked like perhaps from a top down view, the sides of the ball had not entirely crossed over.

I'm glad they've err'd on the side of the goal - especially when so much still needed to be done from there to the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Asensio pulls one back for Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,497 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Jesus. Christ. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Scon with a grand free kick

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Ahahahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

That is simply brilliant! Unstoppable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Amazing goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,497 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Arms not long enough Thibaut? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

They think its all over it is now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Holy fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,331 ✭✭✭Ardent

That was a cross lol

Edit: Another angle and it looks like he certainly meant it.

Wow. Madrid meltdown imminent.

Done, and done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

The RM goalie has the same surname as an ex-Chelsea keeper but that guy was really good. I'm enjoying this.

You have to applaud that no matter who you support. What the hell was I doing watching the other game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What's Dutch for "sacked in the morning, you're getting sacked in the morning"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Bale and courtois will be slaughtered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

loltastic

Wow. Madrid meltdown imminent.

You're over an hour late. If this ain't a meltdown I don't know what is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

VAR has to intervene there, Schone just clearly destroyed Courtois there!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

That free Kick was absolutely amazing.

ERG89 wrote: »

I was thinking in terms of the board. Reckon they might go for Mourinho.

ERG89 wrote: »

They're one of the few clubs capable of an off-field meltdown altogether more magnificent than an on-field one alright though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Delighted.

Its finally the end of Reals dominance or pact with the devil.

Its even better viewing because they've been played off the park over two legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Only turning on games now.....how is Sancho doing against Spurs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Watched Real in their last two games against Barca and they were fairly poor, albeit Barca a far better side. Can't say I'm very surprised however. They seem largely deprived of ideas for a while now.

Kroos, a player who was a massive part of their success, just seems past it. Insane decline. Ronaldo obviously massively missed, but jesus. Heads will roll again for the past few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Shambles.

Great to see Ajax back in the big time.
    The Dutch league has been pillaged for years by teams like Real.
    Refreshing in this era to see a team do well without spending billions.

I was thinking in terms of the board. Reckon they might go for Mourinho.

The only way you could make the situation even worse then is if you bought Icardi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Zinedine Zidane looking like the smartest guy in football tonight

gimli2112 wrote: »

Maybe the ex Spanish Manager realised after getting there and thought I must get out quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,331 ✭✭✭Ardent

No trophies for Real this season. Delicious.

Its baffling how Man Utd sold Blind and kept dross like Smalling and Jones.

Bale and courtois will be slaughtered

After what his agent said no matter what Bale does (even win this match) he was getting slaughtered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

gimli2112 wrote: »

And Sergio Ramos looking like the dumbest guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,637 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Spare a thought for poor Sergio Ramos tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Can’t blame Benzema there. Modric should have hammered it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Bale is going to get destroyed in the Madrid press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

lol at that effort