Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The non Late Late / Ray Darcy / Meeeeriam summer thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Watching Gone Girl. It is pretty 'meh'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

EPAndlee wrote: »
    Watching Gone Girl. It is pretty 'meh'

I thought Gone Girl and Gone Baby Gone were the same film until this week :o

It turns out Ben Affleck directed one and starred in the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Radio5

Skid X wrote: »
    I thought Gone Girl and Gone Baby Gone were the same film until this week :o

It turns out Ben Affleck directed one and starred in the other.

They were both decent enough as movies go. If pushed I'd say Gone Baby Gone was the better of the 2. In any case both are better than next Friday night's offering 9.30pm offering on RTE 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,724 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I've had the sense that RTE is drawing inspiration from ITV's model for some time now.

Y'know, replacing things of value to the viewer with cheap, lowest common denominator mindless nonsense. Very visible with the current formats & guests lists of LLS & RDS.

Today it's all been confirmed with the constant ads for An Evening With Elton John, and An Evening With Shirley Bassey & David Walliams.

It's very, very disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,879 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

‘Rocky II’ starting on ITV in about five minutes.

AAADRIAAAAAAAAN!!

Mrs brown is bad enough but add Picture This to the situation and its just absolutely painful to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

RTE are gone to f*ck. Next Friday they have The best of the LLS. Followed by the Joe Dolan / Orchestra tribute AGAIN. Never a word about him when he was alive but they are fairly milking him now.

I'll give 'em a pass tonight for Blazing Saddles.

Jaysus, that was some half ar$ed version of "Ain't no pleasing you" by Chas n Dave on Jools. Looked like they didn't want to be there at all. "I wonder where he is now" was a lot better.

It's best of the Late Late time!

For 5 mins, till Would I Lie To You starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,521 ✭✭✭AllForIt

It was a good interview with Martian. She's lovely too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Sorry Lads im only going to watch the episode with Jason Byrne, so i can remind myself that we pay for the pleasure of watching his comedy on rte

Jason Byrne?

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Was it as long as 2 minutes with Tommy Tiernan?

Foo Fighters are on sky arts then download festival 2017 for anyone who wants to rock out for the night

I've seen that Shirley Bassey RTE ad 87 times now ... Am I in a Black Mirror episode?

The thing is, Shirley's great - but she doesn't have the range

https://twitter.com/_maleficentt/status/744893210967814144

Creed is on Itv

I've seen that Shirley Bassey RTE ad 87 times now ... Am I in a Black Mirror episode?

It's mind boggling. It's on as much as I've ever seen any ad for anything. It's been on in every single ad break in every single world cup match, and that's been going on for ten days.

Normally that kind on filler, which is what it is, doesn't get mentioned til the evening it's on.

It's essentially got the Imelda Mae repeat slot. Amazing.

Creed is on Itv

Oh god...never could stand Scott Stapp :cool:

Took me a while to get that one

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

RTE 2 showing Apres Match Of The Day, Ireland England Euro 88, I'd rather if they showed the undubbed analysis of that game.

Guitar heroes at the BBC on Yesterday. Clapton (Like him or not) giving it welly.

Waiting for the Spanish Armada documentary to come on. It starts in Spain and finishes in Sligo just 2 miles from here.

‘This Is Spinal Tap’ on Sky Greats right now!

Stonehenge :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Intravenus De Milo is an all-time classic album.

That’s too much perspective right there :D

Derek Smalls = Lukewarm water/Kirk Hammett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,266 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Brutal line up on BBC4 tonight, was expecting decent tunes.

M

Scarface on ITV4 at 11.50, "say hello to my little friend" so to speak.

"say hello to my little friend"

Didn’t realise Ray D’Arcy was back so soon.

*sigh*

Fr Noel Furlong has a sh!te line up tonight

Whiplash on RTE 2, good film but if it taught me one thing it's that drum solos are f*cking boring.

‘Dumb And Dumber To’ on Channel 4 right now.

Remember how we all pined and pined for a DAD sequel for over 20 years knowing it would be terrible and not hold a candle to the original?

Just sayin’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,521 ✭✭✭AllForIt

That show must be a year old , I watched it when it was broadcast. They could be both dead by now.

‘Dumb And Dumber To’ on Channel 4 right now.

Remember how we all pined and pined for a DAD sequel for over 20 years knowing it would be terrible and not hold a candle to the original?

Just sayin’.

It's what Hollywood does, gives us unnecessary remakes and sequels

Bullitt is starting on rte now

M

Bullitt is starting on rte now

I did love the Ford Puma ad featuring Steve...

Brutal line up on BBC4 tonight, was expecting decent tunes.

Repets of repeats. Although I enjoyed the Dolly Parton Emmilou Harris Linda Rhondastat thing last night..
    Beautiful voices,

‘Rocky IV’ on ITV1 right now.

James Brown.

USA vs. Russia.

The powerhouse acting of Dolph Lundgren.

What’s not to like?

Mick Hucknall is on TV3 singing to a crowd who seem happy to clap along.

What's not to not like?

There's feck all on tonight so threw on this years download festival

‘Rocky IV’ on ITV1 right now.

James Brown.

USA vs. Russia.

The powerhouse acting of Dolph Lundgren.

What’s not to like?

No spoilers, but that young Creed lad has some avenging to do in Creed ll . Love them Rocky / Creed films.

M

Before I die I will watch all the Rocky filums.

Ah, you should AD

Do it

Best of the late late show, if anyone wants to relive the torture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Best of the late late show, if anyone wants to relive the torture
    I just flicked over to it...to see Dignam and daughter ferociously violate the song 'Under Pressure'. But I suppose Christy is the salt of the earth so I should let him away with it...

Room 101 on BBC 1.

Despite Frank Skinner being on it, it's the only thing I've seen on BBC today that hasn't featured Football's Coming Home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Room 101 on BBC 1.

Despite Frank Skinner being on it, it's the only thing I've seen on BBC today that hasn't featured Football's Coming Home.

Had a quick look,Frank was discussing bra cups instead of world cups :)

Isn't that Love Island bullsh1t finishing this week.

Missed Tommy Tiernan's interview with Michael Healy-Rae when it was first broadcast, have to say Healy-Rae came across well.

Paint Your Wagon with Lee Marvin and Clint Eastwood is on TG4,

you might remember it from The Simpsons

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Watching banged up abroad on Pick