Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone hanging around the house at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Maybe or maybe not. I know a fella who heard an intruder enter on his property at night. He heard the gate opening and then footsteps on the gravel outside. He left the house quietly and waited for the man to come into view. When challenged, the intruder (a member of a nomadic community) claimed to be looking for a dog and then left.

The fact that the OP has heard this a couple of times and the descriptions given would lead me to believe that it's maybe not.

Our own home / adjoining shop was broken into be a gang when we were young. We didn't find out until we all awoke the next morning. It was a big enough premises but they weren't running around rattling gates.

It could have been someone running along a footpath and breaking through the gate. But I very much doubt it.

It does happen though. In a similar case to your story. A neighbour of ours heard someone trying to get in through his back door. There would have been a good bit of cash in the house as they also had an adjoining business. Anyway, the man of the house grabbed his gun and made his way to the back door. As he got there, he could see someone outside move away. He opened the door and pointed his gun but before a bullet was fired... the burglar dropped "dead". Dead drunk. It was their 80 year old neighbour coming home from the pub and had gotten the wrong house!!! He picked up his neighbour and brought him home. If he hadn't have fallen down drunk he was probably getting a bullet. A lucky escape for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I live in a rural area, and the customary method around here for dealing with such occurrences is to poke the shotgun out a convenient window, and fire one barrel in the air immediately, followed by a loud assurance that the next barrel won't be wasted on the sky.
    It's never been known to fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

GoneHome wrote: »
    I have a somewhat similar problem OP but in my case I know who it is. We live in a very rural area with just a few houses dotted around, a local lad, early 20s, he has ahem what would be the polite way to put this "metal health problems", he hangs around the roads, sheds, fields, in the area, total nut job. I came home from the pub one Saturday night about six months ago to find him inside in my front garden, he pretended to not know where he was even though he's living only half a mile up the road! He got a swift "fcuk off out of here" from me and I warned him that if I ever caught him hanging round my house again I wouldn't be as polite! He is notorious for loitering around people's houses/gardens in the area which is really frightening for older people. The guards are aware of his carry on but still it continues.

I think this is the most likely too. Nasty though . Maybe a lock on the gate?

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Derek Acorahs yer only man.

Seriously though, country Roscommon can be a creepy auld spot at night. The granny who lives alone miles from anywhere got a tank of oil in and it was gone that night. They reckon a neighbour who spotted the tanker was the most likely culprit.

Never believed in any of the ghost stuff until at the funeral of a family member who died tragically. Fook me that was a weird time and turned a few of us non believers around.

So OP its probably just the ghost of yer man, no stress. Hope that makes you at ease.

Yeah; I had my spare gas bottle taken and guess who!

Graces7 wrote: »
    Yeah; I had my spare gas bottle taken and guess who!

Derek Acorah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

Derek Acorah?

" Sam....what is it Sam, what is it?"

"Butane?"

"Perfect sam lets knick it and fire up the grill"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Buy a powerful Mag Light torch from a Hardware store so you can light up where ever you need to from up stairs without having to put yourself in any grave danger and it would most likely cause someone to move off.

I think this is the most likely too. Nasty though . Maybe a lock on the gate?

PS if that does not stop them, add barbed wire atop.. I had to do that at one house... Worked a treat; even kept nosy public health nurses out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

PS if that does not stop them, add barbed wire atop.. I had to do that at one house... Worked a treat; even kept nosy pubic health nurses out!

Jesus Christ where do you live??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

What part of the country Graces7?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I think it's Mogadishu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

My parents live out the country side, theres a few houses dotted around the area but mostly surrounded by fields.
    A couple of times over the years ive heard noises outside the house, like footsteps, things being dragged/moved and noises in the shed. Id usually put noises outside down to wildlife or wind but some times the noise has been so obvious the only explanation is someone outside.

This morning at about 4.30 I went down stairs to use the bathroom. The bathroom is an extension part of the house, outside along the bathroom/extension is a long narrow path with an old wooden gate that leads onto a patio. While in the bathroom I clearly heard someone running down the narrow path, push past the gate and run around the extension onto the patio which leads onto the side of the house. Then the noise stopped.
    There is no clear view onto the patio from any window in the house so although I looked out and saw nothing, I cant see the whole area.
    I thought I heard a noise earlier in the night and went down to make sure the back door was locked as my parents have a habit of forgetting to lock it but walking past windows in the house I got a chill and feeling of being watched.
    Allot of the windows down stairs are quite big with no curtains or very light net curtains so if someone was outside, they can see right in but because its dark, I cant see out.

A few weeks ago I heard noises like mams ceramic flower pots beside the front door being dragged. - Its directly under my bedroom - its a two story house.

Nothing ever seems to be missing from outside the house and there never seems to be any attempt by who ever this is to get inside the house.

Im just wondering if anyone has experienced anything similar? What could they be doing? and is there anyway from stopping it from happening?

While typing I can hear a bit of banging coming from the back of the house.

You need to turn the tables and take control. A few things you will need, a nice big lantern capable of holding at least 2 candles, nice big hatchet (can't be new), old bed sheet, 12' of rope.

Wait for a really dark night and when you hear noises, cut a hole in the middle of the sheet and wear it like a poncho, double the rope and wear it like a belt around your waist, you must ware nothing else. Rest the axe over your shoulder and carry the lantern lit.

Walk three slow circles of the house close enough to the house wall to scrape the axe along the wall and throw you head back alternatively laughing and crying manically.

You'll either gain spectators or lose neighbours, win win......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

PS if that does not stop them, add barbed wire atop.. I had to do that at one house... Worked a treat; even kept nosy pubic health nurses out!

I hope your pubic health has improved, Grace.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

You could use a phone/tablet and set up via CCTV app, and watch from the comfort of your bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

This morning at about 4.30 I went down stairs to use the bathroom. The bathroom is an extension part of the house, outside along the bathroom/extension is a long narrow path with an old wooden gate that leads onto a patio. While in the bathroom I clearly heard someone running down the narrow path, push past the gate and run around the extension onto the patio which leads onto the side of the house. Then the noise stopped.

A few weeks ago I heard noises like mams ceramic flower pots beside the front door being dragged. - Its directly under my bedroom - its a two story house.

Nothing ever seems to be missing from outside the house and there never seems to be any attempt by who ever this is to get inside the house.

Im just wondering if anyone has experienced anything similar? What could they be doing? and is there anyway from stopping it from happening?

While typing I can hear a bit of banging coming from the back of the house.

I'd say would-be burglar who got spooked on at least one of those occasions. I've seen that burglars will attempt to make blockades to give themselves more time to escape. Usually this will be with the front door (putting the door on the latch/whatever so it can't be easily opened) however I've personally seen one make a "wall" of flower pots down a lane in the event someone from inside turned up at the entrance to the lane as he was attempting to get in or out of the property. A typical scouting operation would also involve going to any outbuildings (e.g. sheds) and seeing if they are locked. Tools inside would always be useful.

Sometimes people who scout out targets to burgle leave markers out the front of the property. Something that shouldn't be there, and can be seen easily from the road/ public foothpath. Have a look and make sure there's nothing amiss.

It's possible that your parents have been identified as vulnerable to burglary and it isn't the same person you are hearing on the different occasions.

I'd take this really seriously. Groups of more professional burglars are very dangerous, particularly in the countryside.

On a bit of a lighter note

The sandmen scare easily but they will be back. And in greater numbers.

Wait, I meant that to be lighter. Woops. :o

Edit: Install exterior lights, motion sensors, etc. Motion sensors can be great, just don't install them near the exhaust pipe of any central heating you have as the heat can make them go off accidentally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

Get a outdoor camera installed and hide it well. Most likely explanation is you're just being paranoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Have you considered a motion detecting sentry gun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

The sensor lights are definitely the best starting point. Flour or sand sounds like a good idea what harm and a Camera on that footpath gate area if you are willing to go that far.

Or Option D: you could invite all of After hours over to have an overnight stake out we could all sit downstairs in the dark and wait for the noise between everyone we would surely come up with the reason behind the noises. Sure look think it over and come back to us on it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

F*ck sake everybody!!!

Stop scaring the poor girl.

OP, leave a few of these on the path and just go sleep.

You'll hear if you catch anything

bear-trap-27419320.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448

Just find yourself a good man op and send him down to sort it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Not being sarcastic, but this has scared the sh*t out of me.

And me:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

CIP4 wrote: »
    The sensor lights are definitely the best starting point. Flour or sand sounds like a good idea what harm and a Camera on that footpath gate area if you are willing to go that far.

Or Option D: you could invite all of After hours over to have an overnight stake out we could all sit downstairs in the dark and wait for the noise between everyone we would surely come up with the reason behind the noises. Sure look think it over and come back to us on it :pac:

OMG!! I LOVE SLEEP OVERS!!! <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

It's no joke for a woman alone at night to be dealing with that, it's easy for me as a fairly built bloke with many years experience of getting into brawls (very bold indeed) to say go out and challenge 'nans brothers Michael and Martins sons joyce' but these types that roam rural areas looking for easy targets (usually elderly) are utter dirt.

I've already told my own misses if someone comes in uninvited late at night when I'm not there just pick up the sharpest knife in the kitchen and go straight for the chest or neck and ring me straight away, don't ring the gardai, ill ring them and take the rap for the 'self defence' and she can stay out of prison ......

Sounds great in theory but you never know how you'll react until you're in that position, I'd say just lock yourself into a room with a decent door, baracade it, ring the gardai and hope for the best.

Having had to wait over 30 mins for them to turn up whilst I struggled to hold a tank of a lad down who had attacked a guy on the street (very violently) I'd say font hold your breath though, unfortunately the gardai aren't known to break much of a sweat these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

CCTV, sensor lights, and a few rakes.

And then submit the footage to UNILAD for €100

Never thought i would say it but thank god for hearing aids take them out at night and the whole town could be in my sitting room and I wouldn't hear a thing

Now who's going to be the first smart Alex to say

What ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

lulu1 wrote: »

What ?

Is it not smart Alec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

It's most likely your Dad is back smoking/drinking/hiding your Christmas presents.

He's sneaking out the window to have a smoke bet there's a box of smokes hidden under the flower pot.

Could be coke too or whiskey is your dad the party type??

Either that or it's the badger hiding his smokes in the flower pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

Lulu hasn't the hearing aid switched on

sexmag wrote: »
    Is it not smart Alec?

What did you say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

This is why I keep a leatherface mask and a slashers beside the bed. If I hear a noise I'll put the mask on and run out house wielding the slashers ready to take heads. Most of the time it's only a cat or fox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Zero Point

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    So OP its probably just the ghost of yer man, no stress. Hope that makes you at ease.
    Well that's very reassuring :D

Have you ever been burgled before, OP, even years ago? Some of them can come back again even years later if they have had success before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

Could be the hedgehog as earlier pointed out but like many others I wouldn't take any chances. Sensor lights an absolute must! My parents live in a rural bungalow. In a fairly long passage way. Old farmhouse - rusty windowlocks half of which don't close right. My sister was sleeping in her room one night - parents were away. Dogs barking woke her and she swore she heard footsteps running away. Following day she mentioned it to the folks when they got home. They discovered footprints on the bed in the adjoining bedroom - would be burglar had climbed in that window & onto the bed in that bedroom. (The bed is underneath the window) Thank **** the bedroom door was actually locked as it was an empty room my mam had a habit of keeping locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

lulu1 wrote: »
    Never thought i would say it but thank god for hearing aids take them out at night and the whole town could be in my sitting room and I wouldn't hear a thing

What ?
    Alexa what use would she be????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Best option op is burn em burn em all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Agricola wrote: »
    Have you considered a motion detecting sentry gun?

You mean one of these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Malayalam wrote: »

But it might not be anyone. I live very remote, and often alone as my husband sometimes works away. So far this year at night I have been visited by hedgehogs, hares, wild cats, badgers, foxes, pine martens, minks, wild goats, wandering ewes and lambs, lost bullocks and a small herd of sitka deer that are leaving their hoof marks all over the place - and that's only the critters I know of, there could be more. They are all quite noisy in their own different ways. This place is far busier by night than it ever is in the day!
    PARlance wrote: »
    What we have here is a classic case of a townie being spooked by night sounds in the countryside. My advice, go out in the middle of the night, sit down for 10 mins and familiarise yourself with the darkness and its noises. Go back inside then once you haven't been murdered.

I'm with Malayam and PARlance on this. Probably wild life, that's all there is to it.

I live very rural, and husband is away a lot, in 14 years in our house I have heard many noises, and gradually got used to them all.
    Cows in a field next to you can make remarkably human noises like coughing, breathing out, or "rubbing" noises as they use a trunk, hedge, or pole as a scratcher.
    We had rats,crows, and bats in the attic successively.
    They all made dragging noises, you would have sworn it was a human moving furniture upstairs.
    The crows were the least scary as they chatter/argue a lot, so they are easily recognizable.

Rats and bats are just shuffles, dragging, bangs, steps.

To put your mind at rest cctv with a night light would be good, and light sensors. Although I'm always trying to find the images of foxes etc... on the cameras cctv, and it's too time consuming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

No I dont lol, im just gona get some sensor lights for now, I dont even care who it is just want them to go away.

The lights wont help you.
    If they have been doing it for that long then they will simply break the lights.

Buy a cheap night vision camera that you can view the stream on your phone or pc. Point it towards the gate from inside the house.

eg. https://www.amazon.co.uk/QZT-Wireless-Security-Detection-Recording/dp/B079FR9WG3/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1528241839&sr=8-2-spons&keywords=night+vision+security+camera&psc=1

Next time you hear a noise just check out the camera and confirm its actually a person and not animals.

If you confirm its a person you can try and identify them using the camera or invest in a better camera and report to the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Every rural house needs a good shouty dog. They are loyal, good company and provide great peace of mind. Doesnt have to be a Rottweiler or even an Alsatian, but not a handbag dog either.

A Beagle, Wicklow Collie or Springer are ideal country dogs, but dont get a pure breed or those of ethnicity will have it on you.

Alexa what use would she be????

Are you deaf? No one mentioned Alexa :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Check with neighbours if any of them sleep walk.

When one of my cousin's was young his neighbour discovered him wandering around her house knocking on Windows while asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

A thread with mahoosive potential.

Best option op is burn em burn em all....

Burn what exactly ? The flower pots I dont see why op should have to burn the good flower pots sure they are doing no harm to nobody just sitting there minding their own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Thats so disturbing. Did you catch them doing it?

My brother did, I went out one night too. It was scary as it's very dark in that location, walking around in your jocks with a knife you wont use. I got the feeling the guy was in a ditch near to me but couldn't find him, didn't look too hard either.

I spoke loudly, told them i knew who they were and that everyone else did (least he think his secret would die with me)
    Called him a dirty so and so and never heard it again. Told him I'd go to the police. Had the dog down next time, zero issues.

It's weird I did put up CCTV cameras but got nothing.

I was not married at the time, the walking around the house woke my now wife up at the time, I told her it was a cow and she went back to sleep.

A cow on it's hind legs

He'd walk around the house regardless of who was there. You'd hear the stones crunching and he'd stop for ages before starting up again.

It's scary stuff alright, but it's important not to show fear (in my case) I thought he was hiding behind y darkness, so by calling him out and saying I'd go to the police I thought I was removing some of his cover, took the thrill out of it for him and set him up for a visit from the cops.

That was my case though, not yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭diggerdigger

italodisco wrote: »

I've already told my own misses if someone comes in uninvited late at night when I'm not there just pick up the sharpest knife in the kitchen and go straight for the chest or neck and ring me straight away, don't ring the gardai, ill ring them and take the rap for the 'self defence' and she can stay out of prison ......

Hmmm. Which plays out better;

1. Woman on her own, terrified, kills intruder in self defence, calls gardai, gets off OR
    2. your way; Woman kills intruder, and conspires with fella (with aforementioned history of brawling :) ) to pervert the course of justice, and you both go to prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Stoner it's not clear if you or your brother actually came face to face with this person, did you?

PARlance wrote:
    What we have here is a classic case of a townie being spooked by night sounds in the countryside. My advice, go out in the middle of the night, sit down for 10 mins and familiarise yourself with the darkness and its noises. Go back inside then once you haven't been murdered.

This is good advice, surprising for a countrysidiee like yourself Parlance!!

It's true, the person in the shadows has the advantage, unless the light is flashed in their eyes.

Coming from the inner city the rural nights are different. But you do adjust, your eyes and ears adapt.

All that said , our lurker was a huge west if Ireland farmer type with big "cow arms"

The embarrassment of being outed to the cops was a great deterrent

The other issue is that the locals all knew who it was but wouldn't tell the jackeen, I might be a Tom, but he's our Tom!

Joking aside, the locals had him sussed too. They'd see him out on the roads at night.

Note I knew the guy and acted on that knowledge, ever situation is different.

TheChizler wrote:
    Stoner it's not clear if you or your brother actually came face to face with this person, did you?

My brother did, told him to feck off if I remember correctly, something along those lines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Plant a Hawthorn tree in the garden and tie red ribbons to it. That will keep the superstitious ones away, anyway.

Ah that was three houses ago in the wilds of kerry. The house was caught up n an Irish territitorial right of way dispute and some very strange things went on up there. VERY strange. Kept the local Gardai busy..