Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What washing powder does Una Mulally use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

BandMember wrote: »
    It shouldn't matter at all. You can't expect to achieve equality if you continually employ double standards.

Personally, it doesn't matter to me what gender someone is when I am forming an opinion of them. Never has, never will. I judge people on their merits (and demerits, if you will) - not on their gender. Until you can do the same, there will always be an issue because you will be making one.

originalequityvsequality.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭BandMember

Goodshape wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be? I think by definition, when you're talking about a gender-neutral topic like journalism, using gender-specific language of any sort would be sexist.

I freely admit I'd have less issue with it, simply because (as stated) it's already a male dominated profession, men aren't in danger of losing out, and a man calling a man a dick is not the same as man calling a woman a c*unt. In my opinion anyway.

Ah, there's those double standards in full flow yet again.....

Chewbacca wrote: »
    Is that opinion not sexist?

Seems like your "sexism" agenda is too strong and making your rebuttals weak.

All that's happening here is that the thread is being sidetracked from the OP. As I said in my first post in the thread, a classic tactic....

A) Id find the opposite to be true. Id wager if we analysed the various threads over a 1 year period, that men are referenced and abused more on this site than women.

That stands to reason as there are more prominent male journalists than there are female.
    B) Can you explain what you mean by "men unnecessarily dominate this profession". Are you suggesting male journalists are majorily hired due to their sex? Are you of the opinion that there should be a 50/50 ratio of sexes in the industry regardless of various factors?

I'm saying that there are more prominent male journalists than there are female, and that – as journalism is not a gender-specific profession in any way shape or form – that imbalance is unnecessary.

And I think it's highly disingenuous, again, to suggest that there are no historical or other factors at play which would create or contribute to that imbalance.

Is that opinion not sexist?

No, it's definitely not sexist to think that there should be a fair representation of both sexes in a profession such as journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

Does anyone else find her almost frighteningly dictatorial? Fair enough, she has her views and she's entitled to them and in some cases a lot of people probably agree with her. [...] But her whole attitude seems to be 'I'm right and everyone else is wrong'

I agree with the above, even though I do agree on occasion with Ms Mulally, but any respect I might have had for her vanished when she said that the cause of the New Year's Eve sexual assaults in Germany was...men in general...all men.

To be fair though, an attitude of 'I'm right and everyone else is wrong' is some thing that could be said of many other columnists too. That's probably one reason why they're columnists. :)

_

BandMember wrote: »
    Ah, there's those double standards in full flow yet again.....

Because I take less issue with "sexist" language used against men?

I mean, I guess so, yeah. But it's not like I didn't state my reasons for it.

Killing a few whales in Japan makes headline news on BBC.com. Killing a cow? Not a whisper.

You can see why though, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Killing a few whales in Japan makes headline news on BBC.com. Killing a cow? Not a whisper.

Are you calling women cows or whales? I’m not sure they like either.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Are you calling women cows or whales? I’m not sure they like either.

No, it's the women doing the killing! Murderous gee bags the lot of 'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

originalequityvsequality.jpg

So do you want equality of outcome or opportunity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Both please.

Take a quick look through the Tommy Robinson thread and you'll see quite a few posters who have Nazi sympathies. Unless you deny that Tommy Robinson is a Nazi, in which case it's likely that you'll be blind to it.

There are some people on here whose 'concern' is more than 'slight'.

Tommy Robinson is not a Nazi . A ****, a gowl, a ballbag and a ****-stirrer yes. But he's not a NAZI.

Do you even really know what a Nazi is?

Equality of outcome is impossible. Even in Communist/Socialist utopias you will always have disparities with the way people are treated or rewarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Omackeral wrote: »
    See the problem with a lot these left leaning people is that they deal in absolutes. You’re either this or your that. Nah, I don’t think Tommy Robinson is a nazi but I don’t think he’s a saint either. I think he’s a scotebag but I also think he has some valid points in some of what he says.

I'm sure he doesn't self-describe as a neo-nazi, but I find it hard to believe that he's genuinely moved on from his BNP, EDL days.

I think that's a bit of a straw man in this discussion. We're not talking about giving one side preferential treatment in spite of their shortcoming – journalism is not something which either men or women are inherently better at doing, and yet men have a demonstrably easier time of it when expressing an opinion in the public sphere.

Men will almost always be debated, women will too often be dismissed as c*nts or gee bags, or in need of a good shag to calm themselves down.

When I say women should be given a break from that sort of sexist language, and someone shouts back "BUT WHAT ABOUT SEXISM TOWARDS MEN?!!?" – this is calling for everyone to have the same-sized box to stand on, totally regardless of need. It's calling for the image on the left.

It's not that nobody cares about your fragile male feelings, but really – you can already see over the fence just fine! You'll be alright.

I think that's a bit of a straw man in this discussion. We're not talking about giving one side preferential treatment in spite of their shortcoming – journalism is not something which either men or women are inherently better at doing, and yet men have a demonstrably easier time of it when expressing an opinion in the public sphere.

Whoa whoa whoa... strawperson

It's not that nobody cares about your fragile male feelings, but really – you can already see over the fence just fine! You'll be alright.

To get serious. Men die younger. Men suffer more workplace fatalities. Men make up the majority of homeless on out streets. Men are more likely to be victims of random violent assaults on nights out. Men find it incredibly more difficult to access custody over their children than their femal counterparts. Not everyone is on the same “box”

Quotas don’t work. Case by case in every case should be the way.

I'm not exclusively talking about journalists but sexes in general, discrediting your argument.
    But the rest of us are talking about [a] journlist(s). Moving the goalposts doesn't discredit my argument.
    It's not imbalanced by design, infering so is ridiculous. Is this how your mind works with everything?

Modern society wasn't designed around men? Dude. Read a history book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

When the topic relates to a women's profession and someone chimes in with "she's a ****" or "she's a gee bag" then yes, I would call that sexist.

Particularly when it's been demonstrated that similar discussions about men in the same profession do not resort to the same level of abuse, whereas a similar discussion about a another women does, the difference seems to be centred around the persons sex. Which is sexist, yes.

You need to look up sexist in the dictionary. The only person making this about sexism is you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

You need to look up sexist in the dictionary. The only person making this about sexism is you.

sexism (sĕkˈsĭzˌəm)
    n. Discrimination based on gender, especially discrimination against women.

discrimination (dĭ-skrĭmˌə-nāˈshən)
    n. Treatment or consideration based on class or category rather than individual merit; partiality or prejudice: racial discrimination; discrimination against foreigners.

I think that fits my use case perfectly to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Fair play. I can't even remember what I tweeted yesterday, never mind eighteen months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Oh I always remember examples of comical lunacy, Ray.

Running a close second would be her tweet asking why Minstrel chocolates were allowed to get away with being racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

I honestly worry for people like you, so obsessed and blinded by their hatred of islam that it crops up everywhere?

Una Mulally writes about Irish feminist issues? YEAH WELL WHY ISN'T SHE WRITING ABOUT THE MUSLAMICS IN ROTHERHAM?

If she claims to be a feminist she should care about what happens to young females who have suffered sexual abuse but she clearly picks and chooses what she is outraged by in terms of the oppression of women. You either support womens rights or you dont very few western feminists seem to care for genuine womens rights issues but extensive virtue signalling.

sexism (sĕkˈsĭzˌəm)
    n. Discrimination based on gender, especially discrimination against women.

discrimination (dĭ-skrĭmˌə-nāˈshən)
    n. Treatment or consideration based on class or category rather than individual merit; partiality or prejudice: racial discrimination; discrimination against foreigners.

I think that fits my use case perfectly to be fair.

It doesn't

I replied to this comment from you, "When the topic relates to a man's profession".....therefore not singling out one profession.

That's fair enough I suppose. But if you want to go broad, I'd wager if you analysed various threads over one year, you'd also find that men are referenced and praised more on this site than women. So it's kinda moot.

You have a big chip on your shoulder about men in the workplace.

Please don't tell me what I have.
    Do you firmly believe that there should be a 50/50 split in all professions? What are your reasons for this?

That's a massive question and I wouldn't be comfortable giving a yes/no answer or a quick explanation.

If you'll allow me to simplify it a bit – I do think there are too many male voices in journalism and that female voices are too often attacked and drowned out.

By proxy, you are triggered by any profession where there is not a defined and tangible 50/50 split and any imbalance toward male dominance is 'unnecessary'.

Please don't tell me what I think.

It doesn't

It does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Una Mullally is absolutely insufferable. She is indignant at everything and the ultimate whiner. She also clearly has the biggest of all chips on her shoulder as regards men.

Now I know by wading in this thread and criticising her, i will be pidgeon holed as some sort of woman hating paedo - but no. I saw a thread about Mullally, and i'm giving an opinion. Frankly, I dont like anyone who is so self righteous as she and I don't like people ramming their 'correct' opinions down my throat in such a virulent tone.

Having read the thread, I know evidence will be demanded of me, so behold some of the annoying headlines that encapsulate some of her more obnoxious recent articles.

*Young women already being written out of the story of repeal. The victory belongs to everyone but any analysis that does not place at its centre the feminist, women-led movement is bereft

- Completely unnecessary article. Where the bad men claiming that they 'won' the repeal vote, or what? Why not celebrate the fact that Irish society came together on this vote in a huge majority for womens rights? Instead it's 'women, won it!'. Reveals her mindset and her agenda.

*Una Mullally: Decency of Irish not limited to liberal Dublin

- Insulting headline. Dublin is hardly some eutopia of righteousness. Theres all types of people and they live in all types of places throughout Ireland. I know the article is intended to get at this point, but there is also the implication that people from outside Dublin were understood to be conservative, simple minded farming folk. They arent as cool as the Dublin folk and so tis a great surprise they could be possessed of the cool liberal attitudes of Mullally and co.

*Ireland’s cervical cancer shame shows women are still second-class citizens

- The cervical smear scandal was a disgrace that upset all right thinking individuals. It was clear to all once this blew up that changes need to be made and investigations undertaken. But no, 'women are second class citizens', and men are obviously first class and dont care about women getting cancer.

*Una Mullally: Rugby bodies must regain trust after rape trial. Disgusting WhatsApp messages and antics have eroded public respect for sportsplayers

- i mean... what? 'Rugby bodies must regain trust' - how is it their fault? Ulster and Ireland actually told them that they wont play for them again and had them oack their bags. The relevant rugby bodies dont tolerate that behaviour.

*Decent men are despondent. We need to put misogyny on trial. We need men to step up and challenge their own behaviour and the behaviour of their peers.

- These kind of arguments are just ridiculous. There are all types of men and we dont all subscribe to the same club with a clear code. Im not friendly with any men who display real misogynistic attitudes. It's just not kosher.

*Louise O’Neill: ‘The hardest place to maintain my feminism is in a relationship with a straight man’.

- Nonsense article on a morons book

*Male sexual dysfunction can no longer be ignored. Teaching women how to avoid predatory behaviour fails to address the core issue

- meh.

Finally, just because a man thinks a particular woman is a pain in the ass, does not mean that man is a woman hating misogynist. It means he thinks that a particular woman is a pain in the ass.

The long suffering, lemon sucking head on her.

[Img]https://www.independent.ie/incoming/article31175532.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/PL1635754una mullallypic m.jpg[/img]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I could never read an article by Una Mullally, Louise McCabe or Colette Browne, I've heard them on the airwaves or came across articles by each of them in the past and IMO the first two are man hating radfems and the third is a leftie do gooder which I despise nearly as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Inviere

Mutant z wrote: »
    One thing i really hate is when she refers to herself and others like her as liberals they are anything but they are totalitarian lefties which isnt the same thing at all

Like a sphere...go far enough to the left, and suddenly you're on the far right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

But like...is a lot of that vitriol not tongue in cheek..because the stuff they're coming out with is ridiculous?

Not really. Look at the stuff people have said about her here. You ask for a source and none is given. It's the same with the Louise O'Neill thread. I've asked in there where she's shown a hatred for all men and I get no source. There's a certain type of poster who seems to genuinely find women annoying. They get worked up and say that their feminazi's or are dictatorial or hate all men. You ask for any evidence of this and you get nothing.

And I stand by the second part of my post. The vast majority of these sort of threads are started by people on the right. You hardly ever see people who are "liberal" starting these sort of threads.

There's some days it seems like half of the threads AH is bitching about women, muslims or the unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Una Mullally is absolutely insufferable. She is indignant at everything and the ultimate whiner. She also clearly has the biggest of all chips on her shoulder as regards men.

Now I know by wading in this thread and criticising her, i will be pidgeon holed as some sort of woman hating paedo - but no. I saw a thread about Mullally, and i'm giving an opinion. Frankly, I dont like anyone who is so self righteous as she and I don't like people ramming their 'correct' opinions down my throat in such a virulent tone.

Having read the thread, I know evidence will be demanded of me, so behold some of the annoying headlines that encapsulate some of her more obnoxious recent articles.

*Young women already being written out of the story of repeal. The victory belongs to everyone but any analysis that does not place at its centre the feminist, women-led movement is bereft

- Completely unnecessary article. Where the bad men claiming that they 'won' the repeal vote, or what? Why not celebrate the fact that Irish society came together on this vote in a huge majority for womens rights? Instead it's 'women, won it!'. Reveals her mindset and her agenda.

- Insulting headline. Dublin is hardly some eutopia of righteousness. Theres all types of people and they live in all types of places throughout Ireland. I know the article is intended to get at this point, but there is also the implication that people from outside Dublin were understood to be conservative, simple minded farming folk. They arent as cool as the Dublin folk and so tis a great surprise they could be possessed of the cool liberal attitudes of Mullally and co.

- The cervical smear scandal was a disgrace that upset all right thinking individuals. It was clear to all once this blew up that changes need to be made and investigations undertaken. But no, 'women are second class citizens', and men are obviously first class and dont care about women getting cancer.

*Una Mullally: Rugby bodies must regain trust after rape trial. Disgusting WhatsApp messages and antics have eroded public respect for sportsplayers

- i mean... what? 'Rugby bodies must regain trust' - how is it their fault? Ulster and Ireland actually told them that they wont play for them again and had them oack their bags. The relevant rugby bodies dont tolerate that behaviour.

*Decent men are despondent. We need to put misogyny on trial. We need men to step up and challenge their own behaviour and the behaviour of their peers.

- These kind of arguments are just ridiculous. There are all types of men and we dont all subscribe to the same club with a clear code. Im not friendly with any men who display real misogynistic attitudes. It's just not kosher.

*Louise O’Neill: ‘The hardest place to maintain my feminism is in a relationship with a straight man’.

*Male sexual dysfunction can no longer be ignored. Teaching women how to avoid predatory behaviour fails to address the core issue

- meh.

Finally, just because a man thinks a particular woman is a pain in the ass, does not mean that man is a woman hating misogynist. It means he thinks that a particular woman is a pain in the ass.

[Img]https://www.independent.ie/incoming/article31175532.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/PL1635754una mullallypic m.jpg[/img]

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

meeeeh wrote: »
    I would be banned but I saw similar stuff you abd your friends mention stated among Slavic neonazi groups. I intentionally said wannabes because it's not as bad but it's exactly the same vilification of the whole group of people for the crimes of some.
    Mod note: As always, the advice is if you think a poster or posters have a link to extremist groups, please report the posts and let the mods deal with the issue.

In relation to this post, please stop the allegations about posters being members of extremist groups. It's doing nothing bar derailing the thread and any repetitions here will be viewed dimly. Report the post and posts detailing this membership when you come across them.

This applies to all posters btw.

Now, Una Mulally, eh, well what can you say...

Buford T. Justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

- meh.

That reads a a big whinge fest.

Women being written out of repeal. She says that men and women contributed to it. Your complaint is that we should celebrate that men and women contributed to it. Errr.. What's the problem here?

Rugby bodies need to regain trust. Well, yes they do. A lot of people thought the behaviour of those lads in the whats app messages was nasty. Here's the last bit of summary from the article. Plus the article was written before they were dumped by their teams.
    The IRFU and Ulster Rugby cannot expect to quietly close this whole saga and move on.

They need to be proactive in making it clear to people who follow rugby – particularly women – that this sort of behaviour and culture is not the background noise of the sport, and that the inflated “respect” that rugby players enjoy in Irish society is actually earned.

Decent men need to face down mysogny. Your complaint is that you don't know any assholes. That's offending you. Really?

As for the one about Dublin and the countryside. It has always been seen that Dublin was more liberal. She's just saying that there isn't a liberal city and conservative countryside. You actually seem to agree with this.

Now, all of those articles may be things that you disagree with and that's fair enough. I don't agree with everything she says either. But I haven't seen any of the claims that others made. That she wants to censor people or be dictatorial or that she is a "feminazi".

Is Una Mulally missing out on spitroasts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Is Una Mulally missing out on spitroasts?
    I may be sick in the head but fu5k it I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

She's a <snip>
    Mod note: Vladimir Poontang, don't post in this thread again,

Buford T. Justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I don't agree with everything she has to say, but I think she's a better and fairer journalist than what most people on here are prepared to admit.

I'd imagine most of her biggest detractors here haven't read a single article by her in good faith, if at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Ramona Chilly Peddle

The stunt she pulled in the white moose cafe was pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭FingerDeKat

[IMG]https://www.independent.ie/incoming/article31175532.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/PL1635754una mullallypic m.jpg[/IMG]

Sometimes I love the english language :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus. After Hours really has turned into a cesspit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Does anyone else find her almost frighteningly dictatorial? Fair enough, she has her views and she's entitled to them and in some cases a lot of people probably agree with her.

But her whole attitude seems to be 'I'm right and everyone else is wrong' and she appears to be on a mission to try and shape society totally around her view of how things should be with no ability to view anything from any other angle but her own. As a journalist I find her very strident and blinkered, and very few of her articles recently seem to have any balance.
    Pretty bad to accuse a cancer survivor of being dirty.

Mutant z wrote: »
    Herself and Aodhan O Riordan would make an excellent match they are as just as intolerant of opposing opinions as each other.

Hardly. Una has the good sense to be a female homosexual (not a Lesbian since the disgraceful attacks on asylum seekers on the island of Lesbos 6 weeks ago). Ironically Aodhan O Riordan is hetereosexual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Does anyone else find her almost frighteningly dictatorial? Fair enough, she has her views and she's entitled to them and in some cases a lot of people probably agree with her.

But her whole attitude seems to be 'I'm right and everyone else is wrong' and she appears to be on a mission to try and shape society totally around her view of how things should be with no ability to view anything from any other angle but her own. As a journalist I find her very strident and blinkered, and very few of her articles recently seem to have any balance.

Nicola Sturgeon must be her hero. She is a little dictator, forcing her will on the people as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

Ironically Aodhan O Riordan is hetereosexual.

And has the good fortune to have an exceptionally intelligent and attractive wife.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Nicola Sturgeon must be her hero. She is a little dictator, forcing her will on the people as well.
    What an odd 'go to'. Why on earth would anyone think of Nicola Sturgeon ever?

Hardly. Una has the good sense to be a female homosexual (not a Lesbian since the disgraceful attacks on asylum seekers on the island of Lesbos 6 weeks ago). Ironically Aodhan O Riordan is hetereosexual.

At least Una has the courage of her convictions. For that I admire her. Even if I don't agree with everything she writes.

Old Aodhan folds faster than a lawn chair....

Squatter wrote: »
    And has the good fortune to have an exceptionally intelligent and attractive wife.
    Who is worth about twenty million quid ...
    He has nothing going for him at all except being tall (well he's got her).
    Why isn't he the after hours hate figure instead of Una?