Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v Waltzing Matilda, test 1 build up thread.

Murray taught a lesson for carrying on like a footballer there.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭fitz

Appalling call.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭kuang1

Murray was dead right there...100% don't blame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Clegg wrote: »
    That's not a knock on

But still moronic from Murray

I mean it's either a knock on or accidental offside, either way it's the same result and Murray gave away a penalty for nothing

Referee has changed his mind over who he wants to win :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I think we all know what needs to happen for us to win the next test.

Henshaw needs to shave that poxy beard off.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

How on earth is that a knock on in the line out? We pulled it back on our side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,084 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

It's like the Ireland we used to know

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Weepsie wrote: »
    Are they not only mid way through a season rather than at the very end of one?

Conversely in the November games they look poorer when they're at the end of a long season

Both teams are tired. The Aussies have been better in the air and their backs have been far more threatening. That won the game. Not fatigue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭A-Train

Ah that’s a terrible call against Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Murray you muppet.

Cannot speak to the referee like that.

Terrible call from the referee having said that. Aussie hand clearly stopping Murray getting it out.

I feel like the ref is riding us a little now...
    But I'm pretty sure that's because of my green goggles.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

awec wrote: »
    Shut up Murray

Lad's hips were in front of his knees. Impossible to support your own weight. Murray was absolutely right to call out an utterly ****e call.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭connachta

the result doesn't matter overall we were the best team on the pitch. Good building for RWC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Seve OB wrote: »
    It's like the Ireland we used to know

Dunno, Australia had a good say in influencing their game, they got their tactics right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,372 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Worth a penalty to tell the ref to fúck off there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

dregin wrote: »
    Lad's hips were in front of his knees. Impossible to support your own weight. Murray was absolutely right to call out an utterly ****e call.

Yeah but it's a bit thick to swear at the referee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Ireland have been crap today.

Oz defended well but Ireland showed all the old failings that I thought we'd progressed past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

connachta wrote: »
    the result doesn't matter overall we were the best team on the pitch. Good building for RWC

What game are you watching?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭mangobob

kuang1 wrote: »

No its true, but its like I said at half time. We were the beneficiaries of some poor calls in the first 40 and things will even themselves out in the second.

We are just poor and disappointing.

dregin wrote: »

Exactly wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,490 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Too predictable. One out runners. Easily defended all game.

No depth in attack

SlickRic wrote: »
    Worth a penalty to tell the ref to fúck off there.

He didn't tell the ref to anything off, he told him to look at the fecking time/clock.

Surprised it was only a pen against Murray. Easily could have been card

kuang1 wrote:
    I feel like the ref is riding us a little now... But I'm pretty sure that's because of my green goggles.

Nah I'm supporting the Aussies and felt like was riding Australia in the first 60 minutes (especially Pocock).

The last 20 minutes every marginal call has gone Australia's way. Murray cannot speak to the ref that way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Anyone who thinks it's ok for a player, especially a senior player like Murray to curse at a ref is watching the wrong sport.

Wewere not. Score line is pretty reflective of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Way too many errors today from Ireland. More than the entire 6 Nations it felt like. Think the Wallabies were a bit more up for it too.

Did any of the backline have a good game? Didn't feel like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Nah I'm supporting the Aussies and felt like was riding Australia in the first 60 minutes (especially Pocock).

The last 20 minutes every marginal call has gone Australia's way. Murray cannot speak to the ref that way though.

Why? Colour combo?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Exactly wrong

Yeah, I take it back. It was stupid, but eerrghhhh. So frustrating 😫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Good score

Sexton looks like a man who has played the full 80

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

We weren't. We deserved to lose. Australia beat us tactically. They destroyed us at the breakdown in the second half and killed us in the air throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Crooked from Cronin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,773 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

corny wrote: »
    Both teams are tired. The Aussies have been better in the air and their backs have been far more threatening. That won the game. Not fatigue.

Oh yeah, but, at the same time, it should be reasonable to expect that after a full season players are fatiguing quicker than those only half way through a season.

It was some bad errors that cost it really though. Missing touch before 2nd try. Carberry's miss.

Exactly wrong

Nope nope nope

connachta wrote:

?

Presumably you are an Australian supporter? Because Ireland were pretty poor.

Should win the series though.

Well a knock on here will be a fitting end to this game for Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Some of our top players offered nothing from the bench today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,372 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

kuang1 wrote: »

It's not over the last 10 minutes.

Stockdale released the ball on the deck, only to be penalised. then we let in a try after not being allowed to contest the breakdown on our feet.

Then on their line, the Aussies were blatantly not supporting their weight at the breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

What is the TMO on about here?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭connachta

Marmiooooooooooooooooon! :p

Aus well worth the win in fairness. Extremely positive going forward and worked really hard without the ball.

I thought the starting pack did really well. Herring and John Ryan were extremely busy. Carbery had an ok game at 10.

First half was as good a game as we've seen, serious contest.

Surprisingly, Aus' bench brought a bigger and more telling impact than ours.

Bench was very disappointing. The lads in the starting team supposedly getting a bit of game time outperformed the lads they replaced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Where's the knock on?

Ah ffs

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I don't get that call at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Great game

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭fitz

What a bunch of absolute bullsh*t