Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bi-Annual Final Marathon Then Retire Log

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭and still ricky villa

Week|Run (Km)|Time|Swim (Km)|Time|Bike (Km)|Time|Gym (hrs)
    1|37.83|3:07|1.20|0:38|0.00|0:00|0:44
    2|45.07|3:40|1.60|1:10|0:00|0:00|0:20
    3|52.32|4:14|4.40|2:22|21.33|0:40|0:50
    4|59.56|4:50|0:00|0:00|0:00|0:00|0:00
    5|66.77|5:26|1.50|0:49|9.20|0:20|0:41
    6|76.44|6:10|3.20|1:30|20.00|0:45|0:00
    Total|337.99|27:27|11.9|6:29|50.53|1:45|2:35

7|52.77|4:10|3.95|1:55|17.89|0:40|1:01
    8|59.99|4:50|4.00|1:56|17.91|0:40|1:05
    9|62.30|4:54|4.20|2:02|18.11|0:40|0:51
    10|26.90|2:09|0.80|0:21|10.90|0:27|0:41
    11|71.00|5:41|3.60|1:51|9.10|0:20|0:31
    12|71.79|5:47|2.80|1:21|18.27|0:40|0:20
    Total|344.75|27:31|19.35|9:26|92.18|2:47|4:29

13|71.61|5:39|4.60|2:23|9.28|0:20|0:44
    14|67.13|5:25|3.80|2:11|0.00|0:00|0:49
    15|80.28|6:25|4.00|1:58|9.03|0:21|0:47
    16|81.67|6:22|5.00|2:24|8.71|0:20|0:21
    17|80.55|6:24|5.20|2:33|9.82|0:20|0:40
    18|72.63|5:44|4.80|2:33|20.31|0:44|0:40
    Total|453.87|35:59|27.40|14:02|57.15|2:05|4:01

As recovery weeks go this was a blinder.
    6 runs, 3 swims, 2 bike and 2 gym. It's what I hoped I'd be able to maintain the whole way through the plan.
    18 weeks in and the weeks to marathon (and half marathon) day are shrinking. Am I going the right direction? I think so. Only the morning of the race will tell

Monday

Morning - Swim - 2400m
    Nice, long, consistent swim. Regretting not doing the Glendalough 1500 at the weekend. Then again, the cold shock would have nearly killed me

Afternoon - Run - 6 Miles Easy
    Found a new-ish loop!!! For someone who lives in a town that is 4km from end to end it is a joy when you join up a few routes and find that a loop can total nearly 10km

Tuesday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    The plan, if was doing the full distance, is in a recovery phase so this was handy enough

Back to straining at the leash to go a bit quicker. Patience

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    This is hard. It'a a max strength phase but I had a call to get back for for work so not much time to push myself

Wednesday

Morning - Swim - 1200m
    Glad I got this distance in as Wednesday I have to be in the office so it can be hard to do the morning family stuff, swim and get to work on time. I managed it though. My swim is in a very happy place

Afternoon - Run 6 Miles Easy
    As is the form now, this was the warm up for the later intervals

Evening - Run - What could have been?
    This started well, a one mile warm-up followed by what should have been 3 miles, 2 miles and 1 mile at threshold pace (hovering about the 4min km mark).
    The 3 mile portion though I had gotten into my head would be a 5km PB effort. To that end it worked, I held a comfortable pace but towards the end my stomach started cramping really badly. I kept going as I was holding under 4min pace and finished the 3 mile and kept going the extra 130m's to land at 19:11 for the 5km. Could I have gone quicker? Yes but I was conscious of not overcooking the rest of the workout.
    But, when I finished my stomach cramps went into overdrive. I tried everything, I was kneeling on the track, rocking on my back to try and shift it but it wasn't going anywhere. Seriously browned off I went home.
    I sat down with my wife and worked out what I have and haven't been eating lately. In truth my stomach hasn't been great the past couple of months. The only thing that fit was a change to my energy drinks. For years I've been buying Dextrose and Maltodextrin online and for years I've had no problems. Bright spark that I am I thought I would try a pre-mixed energy drink. It's the only thing I can think of that would cause my stomach to eventually revolt. I'm dairy intolerant so know to listen to the belly when it gives out.
    I'll knock that drink on the head and try something else less chemically. Pain in the aras though

Thursday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    Another easy enough session. TrainerRoad name their workouts after famous climbs, one day events that type of thing. There was lots of childish tittering from me as I worked through Bald Knob

Afternoon - Run - 9 Mile Easy
    I still want to hit my mileage goals for the week so added a couple of the miles missed from yesterday to today. It was nice to run a little bit longer than usual

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    Another easy enough session of what should have been painful. Most of the cable machines are down so I got a decent enough workout done without risking being totally mis-shapen

Friday

Morning - Swim - 1800m
    I really enjoyed this. Lots of changes, lots of use of toys. Sprints, drills, longish intervals, sod all rest, uneven sets. Enough to keep you very entertained.

Afternoon - Run - 8 Miles Easy
    I went to the local duck pond loop. I just fancied a small bit of a change. Arklow looks like it will finally get a sewage treatment plant if the planning applications are to be believed. I might be able to swim to the left of the river at last

Sunday

Afternoon - Run - 2E + 6M + 1E + 6M + 1E
    I had hoped I might be able to push on from this one but not everything went to plan.
    The warm up was, well, the warm up
    I held 4:16 per km for the next 6 miles. I fought a side stitch with popeye breathing towards the end of it but felt really good.
    Then into a mile of easy jogging and back to 6 more miles at current marathon pace.
    This went ok but I think the rest kind of prevented me from getting back up to speed. The rep wound up including two short breaks. The last section was a full 4km non stop but it proved I'm not quite ready to up the pace again just yet.
    No problem, I'm on the edge of sub 3 pace being the norm for M pace runs and there is a lot of M pace coming up.
    I'm happy with where I'm at

19|88.69|6:52|5.40|2:30|20.38|0:44|0:40
    Total|88.69|6:52|5.40|2:30|20.38|0:44|0:40

My biggest week yet at nearly 11 hours in total.
    Longest run total in a long time plus a decent amount of swimming too.
    I'm feeling good so a bit disappointed that this week is a recovery-ish week. But, I can't be thick about this. I've done it in the past. Trust the training and reap the rewards. Some African fella said something similar recently and he had a half decent run on Sunday

Monday

Morning - Swim - 2400m
    Good long session, feeling strong

Afternoon - Run - 4 Miles Easy
    Felt pathetic but you've got to have some down time

Tuesday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    I'm done with the Sweet Spot Base training phase so might try a ramp test next time. That'll put manners on me

Afternoon - Run - 8 Miles Easy
    This was the warm up for the interval session later. I moved it to Tuesday as I knew I had calls coming up in the afternoon/evening so wouldn't have enough time to get the track bits done

Evening - Run - Just over 2 Miles
    There's a reason you have rest and recovery days. My legs more or less shut down after two reps. It was worth a go

Wednesday

Morning - Swim - 1200m
    Bit of a squeeze getting this in and then the wind and rain put people off driving at a normal pace. We are the only country in the world that has the slow lane in the middle. At least that's what it looks like people think it's for

Afternoon - Run - 5 Miles Easy
    I had considered doing this as my interval catch up but it was blowy as feck so decided to go with the planned 5 miler and keep as sheltered as possible. I had a jacket with hood on in case of rain so on the way back the hood filled with wind. I was like a wind sock. Glad to get that one out of the way

Evening - Gym - 20Mins

The call I had pushed this for was pushed out further. No consideration for my training plan. I'm still holding some tiredness in my legs as the machine leg presses were hilariously bad. Lots of straining, grunting and man sounds but I still couldn't get the weight stack to move. Someone must have broken it

Thursday

Morning - Bike - 25Mins
    I went for the Ramp Test in the end. FTP is up another 2 watts. Nothing mega but incremental gains are still gains

Afternoon - Run - 3E + 3 x (3 min I w/2 min jog) + 6 x (1 min R w/2 min Rest) + 2E
    I finally finished this week's interval sessions. It was pishing it down but I managed to surprise myself with how I held pace (I @ 3:42 per km and R @ 3:24 per km). I may pay for this later in the week though.

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    The last Max Strength session and I felt it. Legs were tired so stayed more on the side of upper body workouts. Still, I was tired overall. Be glad to doing some lighter reps next week

Friday

Morning - Swim - 1900m
    Some red mist work. Anyone not familiar with swim smooth's approach these are basically the water equivalents of progressive intervals. Hard work but I'm holding together well lately. The pool was full so not much time or space for chatting which usually results in a better swim

Afternoon - Run - 6.5 Miles Easy
    I was fed up with wind so opted to do this on the treadmill after I had renewed my gym membership. Boring as hell and felt every step. Maybe it will improve my mental endurance but not sure I care to test it again.

Sunday

Morning - Run - 10E+2 x (2T+2 min rest) + 2E
    This was great. A kind of backwards version of what I had run a few weeks ago. I thought this way round was easier. The 10 mile warm up was an out and back and then back to the track for the T workouts. The first one went pretty easy. I held 3:59 pace without a problem. The next one I started to get niggles but slogged through it. There was one stop though which I'm not pleased with. But I talked myself into the last mile at a decent clip so not all was lost.
    A guy in work ran a 1:28 at yesterday's half. Fair play to him but I was wishing I was out there too. Another month until my half and I'm starting to believe I can make it memorable for the right reasons.

20|81.31|6:32|5.50|2:38|21.21|0:47|0:40
    Total|170.00|13:24|10.90|5:08|41.59|1:31|1:20

Happily maintaining consistency. We'll see in about 4 weeks how well it's all working out. I'm feeling confident without being cocky. I have a goal in mind for the half and will not bend from it even if I suddenly start feeling super human. The ultimate goal is clear and I'm not going to be one to make a balls of that after so much work.

Monday

Morning - Swim - 2400m
    Tired during this one and reached for the pull buoy to make it through. My legs were understandably a bit worn out from the previous day's efforts

Lots of fatigue in the legs but they loosened up after a few minutes. Recovery runs directly after a hard workout are something I've never done. Though I'm starting to see the advantage since switching my weekend run to Sunday

Tuesday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    Back to the start of the sweet spot base training on TrainerRoad but with an added couple of minutes. Once I get back round to the workouts I had bumped to 22 minutes, I'll increase to 24. Wild man

20 miler at the weekend so the easy runs will be pretty short this week. It helps though as I'm on quarter end duty so working long hours. Calls have increased so it's hard to get the actual work done in between. Having shorter runs helps

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    Onto the next phase. Power Endurance. Basically it's more reps with a slightly heavy weight. Hopefully it adds up to a bit more strength without carrying too much fatigue into real workouts

Wednesday

Morning - Swim - 1200m
    Nice and tidy. Swimming is getting progressively easier. I'm not necessarily getting faster but I'm more comfortabel

Afternoon - Run - 3E + 2 x (2T + w/2 min rest) + 2E (Part 1)
    Work is mental at the moment so I'm trying my best to keep training ticking over. Intervals were split over today and tomorrow as the total distance has ramped up. I know I'd benefit more from doing this in one go but cookie cutter training plans rarely take work and family into account.
    Despite being a windy old day this was really solid. I'm holding 4min per km pace quite handily

Thursday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    Very basic and flat turbo workout, nothing too stressful on the legs

Afternoon - Run - 2E + 1 x (2T + w/2 min rest) + 1T + 2E (Part 2)
    Finishing yesterday's session. This was really pleasing as it was run on 'real' roads. No loops and a small bit of it along the Grand Canal. I always enjoy running down here.
    New watch debut too - I bought a 735xt. It's a lot smaller and feminine than I expected. I'm a modern man, I can pull it off

Friday

Morning - Swim - 1900m
    Lots and lots of drills so annoying big gaps in the Garmin file but another fairly comfy session. Though I was slower than usual.
    I should have gone to gym last night but couldn't face it. I put it down to just being tired from work but there's a cold coming.

Why Garmin insist on the watches defaulting to vibrate every fecking 5 seconds I don't know. I think I have it figured now. Turn all alerts on and then turn back on what I figure I'll need

Sunday

SFA
    I was working all day yesterday and felt worse and worse as the day went on. I should have run yesterday morning but would probably have done more damage.
    I didn't sleep last night as the sore throat and elbows from the wife for snoring interrupted throughout the night.
    I still thought maybe I would get the long run in but when I got out of bed and tried to move I felt like I'd been beaten up. Aches and pains everywhere and drowning in snot. This came on pretty quick so hopefully it'll move on just as quick. My self diagnosed OCD hates to see a gap in a plan but no choice. I might try a little trot today to loosen some of the pain in my legs but it'll be Uniflu for lunch instead most likely. On the plus side pseudo ephedrine is legal speed

So after the mother of all colds, I'm back running.
    It has not been fun and I've had to reel myself back in a few times as two weeks since it surfaced I'm still not 100%. Softly, softly, catchy monkey is the mantra

I had been working a quarter end in September so was prone to picking up something anyway but it landed on the Saturday with venom. I didn't run on Saturday as the plan had been to run Sunday anyway. But I worked 10am to midnight Saturday and came into work on Sunday in a fog of snot. Another 10am to midnight shift and the quarter end was done. So was I.

Benylin Night and Day was a staple of my diet which lifted the fog a bit. So much so that I felt I could attempt the quality day on Wednesday. But the wise old sages on the sub 3 forum talked me out of it. Best to hold on till the weekend. I ran a slow, very slow, 7 miles on the Wednesday and was bunched after it.
    Best to take another couple of days off

Sunday came and I felt better but still week. I started out with every intention of completing the 20 miles prescribed. Not a chance. 10km completed and that was a push.

Onto this week.....

Monday

I still have a dry cough but feeling physically better by the day. I'm not going to push things this week again (decision just made) and have dropped this morning's swim.

Tuesday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    Nothing too hard on the body, just ticking over

Same as yesterday. Feeling stronger again but not 100%. Not even 80% if truth be told

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    Trying to get back into a routine. This felt good and left me feeling physically stronger and not like the weak kitten I've been feeling like lately. Beefcaaaaaaake

Wednesday

Afternoon - Run - 8.5 Miles Easy
    This was an odd one. My wife has picked up a job but it's on the other side of the country for 5 weeks so I'm kind of a single parent. It should only really affect my morning swims and the odd evening. It might upset the midweek quality session but I'll work something out.
    She was due to drive west this afternoon so said she'd pop into my job on the way. This was vague so I went out for my run thinking I might get the easy portion of the quality session done this afternoon and the intervals this evening.
    I kept looping back to the office but she took a while to find the place so wound up with the odd total of 8.5 miles.
    The evening quality session got dropped as I was just too tired. Playing it safe

Thursday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    Squished this in this morning before work. With dropping the child to the minder and leaving for work I can just about squeeze this in. Once I'm back to biking more regularly though I'll need to do some lunch cycles. Commuting isn't possible as I've a 180km round trip but might look at commuting from the folks when time allows. That'd be a 3 hour round trip so not too shabby. Just thinking out loud

Afternoon - Nothing
    I had planned to run but we've had visitors over from the US all week and I was in demand today so couldn't nip out for a run. I didn't feel up to it either if I'm honest. Then it started pishing it down so I was ok with taking this as a rest

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    Again, squished it between finishing work and collecting the child. I'll rejig this too so I can get a bit more out of it once running isn't the main focus

Friday

Morning - Swim - 1200m
    Nothing special. Just happy to not be afraid of getting wet again. HR is starting to calm down but I'm tired from the little I've done this week so taking it easy.

Afternoon - Bike - 22Mins
    I'd planned a run but it was pishing it down again so erred on the side of caution and hopped on the bike

Sunday

Afternoon - Run - 60 min E + 8M + 1E
    A pessimist would call this tanking the 8 miles at MP
    The optimist in me sees this as 8 miles accumulated at MP after a pretty bad cold. Completing the distance any way I could and living to fight another day.
    It went fine for the first hour and I handled the first 2 miles at MP quite well but my body was screaming at that point. I was disappointed but have got to realise I've done sod all running in two weeks and this was a challenging run to try and complete. I have the half to do in two weeks and if anything this might have reeled me back from going for the 1:25. I'll see how I feel but as I sit here now I'm ok with completing it at marathon pace and no more than that. It would be an official PB and might push me a bit further up the start pens come December

20|81.31|6:32|5.50|2:38|21.21|0:47|0:40
    21|47.59|3:42|5.50|2:31|19.84|0:44|0:20
    22|21.27|1:45|0.00|0:00|0.00|0:00|0:00
    23|59.66|4:41|1.20|0:35|30.59|1:06|0:40
    Total|298.52|23:32|17.60|8:14|92.02|3:21|2:20

Looking at that it doesn't look great. I'm terrible for looking at holes in plans and bemoaning what could have been.
    But, I've been an idiot in the past and trained through colds. A two week cold turns into 6 and I never fully recover.

The new Garmin tracks resting heart rate which is interesting.
    I don't have the watch long enough for any real trends but can still see my HR spiking towards the end of September as the cold took hold, climbing until Wednesday two weeks ago and then up and down for another 10 days. This week has seen a steady levelling off and back down to the low 40s. Sometimes science can put me in my place and prove rest is the best healer you can ask for.

Monday

Morning - Swim - 2400m
    All done with a tempo trainer and pull buoy to save my legs

Pace has increased microscopically for the last time. Not easy to detect on an easy run though

Tuesday

Morning - Bike - 22Mins
    Getting cold in the morning's now. Will be interesting to see how much I can tolerate trips to the pain cave in this weather. Be strong

Afternoon - Nothing
    It's the wife's birthday tomorrow and I had to go on a mission for a last minute pressie that suddenly became available. Easy miles are very short this week so I've no problem spreading a missed run out among the other days

Wednesday

Morning - Swim - 1250m
    Lots of changes and lots of drills. The reason for the odd number is that I couldn't be ar$ed trying to round it up or down.
    The workouts on Swim Smooth come in a certain format and I try to refine them up or down to fit my needs. Bringing this one to 1200 or 1300 would have meant too much fiddling with the plan. I'm bad but not that bad

Afternoon - Run - 1 Mile E + 8 Miles M + 1 Mile E
    This went really well. I ran the M miles at faster than I should with one eye on the half coming up on the 28th. Pleased to say it all went to plan, averaging 4:12 per km.

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    Legs were not happy this evening. Lot of pain in my hip/back on the right side. My right side is traditionally the only one to ever give me trouble. Thankfully I am generally injury free but these things tend to come up and bite you when you least want them to. Took it very easy on the legs today.